We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irritating but still a 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Irritating but still a 5”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from just over a week at Jalousie Plantation, celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary . Some things irritated me, :- we were not told about the renovation work prior to visiting the Hotel, I happened to see comments on Trip Advisor .The work was taking place on the pool and on the Spa near to Sugar Mill room 7
- Sawing and hammering started at 9am and finished at 9.30pm
-another irritation was being charged $13 USD for a bottle of sparkling water, $7 for still water.
-cheapest bottle of wine $50 USD , steep.
However all this said we had a fantastic time, the staff are all brilliant, helpful, and friendly and efficient. The venue a world heritage site between the 2 Pitons is unbelievable.
You will notice I have scored 5 for everything because eventhough I was irritated at some things overall this was one of the best vacations I've ever had. St Lucia is a wonderful island.
A must go destination and a must go Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyreman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good day,
Thank you for visiting The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach and sharing your feedback with us.
I am glad to know that you enjoyed the facilities, and that our friendly and efficient staff enhanced your holiday experience.
In reference to the work taking place at the resort, we have been, and continue to be, very transparent with our direct booking guests and with travel agents and tour operators about the continuing enhancement works at the resort. I am sorry if that information was not communicated to you. Work is finished on the main pool and this facility is now in use. The work taking place in the spa is nearing completion. Although the workmen strive to keep noise to a minimum, it appears that your stay coincided with a period where the level of noise was higher than usual and for that I am truly sorry.
We try to provide wine selections to suit every palate and budget but also have to factor in the cost of shipping these wines to St Lucia and also the taxes and duties we have to pay to bring them to the hotel. We continually review our list to ensure there is a broad and affordable selection.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit to share firsthand the improvements made you in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    197
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
219
814
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place is amazing. I can't imagine spending our honeymoon anywhere better.

The service was top-notch all over. The shuttle drivers knew our names, the service at the restaurants was extremely welcoming and, of course, our butlers were great, leaving us flowers and notes in our room. Everyone, from the staff at the gym to the bartenders in the Cane Bar, was extremely friendly.

Our room (villa 701) was wonderful and beautiful, with a living room, two bathrooms, the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in and two (!) plunge pools out on the large balcony with a view of the beach and the Pitons.

We loved all the activities the resort has to offer, from the very cool rainforest walk to snorkeling, kayaking/tubing, the Cane Bar, the spa, and of course what's probably the best beach in St. Lucia. They even had 2-3 organized events while we were there. You could spend a whole week there and not even need to leave the resort.

The food was good - not quite great - if a bit expensive. The Great Room was elegant, but we enjoyed the atmosphere and local menu at lunch at Bayside the most. Laying on the beach and ordering from our lounge chairs was great.

Our only complaints were the mosquitoes (I was fine but my wife got bitten quite a lot) and the expense of transportation off the resort. We enjoyed going to some of the other resorts, restaurants and seeing some of the tourist sites, but be prepared to spend $30 minimum just to leave the resort. Some of the other travelers on TripAdvisor found secret ways to get more for less $.

I would 100% recommend St. Lucia and Sugar Beach for a fantastic honeymoon. Guests from some of the other resorts came down for some of the activities and wished they had chosen Sugar Beach.

Room Tip: Don't be scared of getting a villa and taking the shuttles - we really enjoyed the trips through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good day,
On behalf of the entire team, I would like say how happy we are that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us, and thank you for providing us with your feedback.
I am delighted that you were happy with your decision to honeymoon with us and that our team exceeded your expectations on all fronts.
The culinary team work hard to maintain a high level of consistency. I am happy that you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings in both restaurants.
With reference to the mosquitoes, the island’s tropical climate means that we have the perfect habitat for these pests. Jalousie does have a very comprehensive pest control programme in place, which involves fogging and spraying guest accommodations in the evening. However, some guests prove particularly attractive to these creatures and we always advise guests to carry repellant with them to prevent bites.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful location, but the hotel is currently a construction site. Pool is closed to guests as there are 20+ men working on it. Same for other areas of hotel....Restaurant, spa, etc. construction everywhere. But I suppose it will be beautiful at some point. For now, it is very noisy and not so relaxing.

Think twice before booking. Otherwise, it's a beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Bungalows on the brach are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank May E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Good day,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach.
I am happy to note that you enjoyed our stunning World Heritage-listed location and see that we are trying to ensure that we have the amenities and accommodations to match such a world-class location.
Unfortunately, you vacationed with us at a time when our swimming pool was closed for remodeling and therefore not available for guest use. I truly apologize for the inconvenience caused. The work on the pool is now completed and it has been open and in use for a few days now drastically reducing the number of workmen in that area. In fact, the only work being done in the pool area is soft landscaping which does not produce any kind of disturbance to our guests and which will be finished in the coming days.
Our restaurants have and continue to operate as normal. We are putting the finishing touches to our new breakfast restaurant at the ground floor of the Great House and this new venue should be completed by the end of this month. The bulk of the work is now interior work and should have little or no impact on our guests.
In addition, the manicure and pedicure station is nearing completion and it is only soft work remaining to be completed in that section as well.
To give you a fresh perspective, we have uploaded some new photographs on the photo gallery, which were taken of the pool just a few days ago. Our guests are thoroughly enjoying its new design and contemporary feel. Once again, I would like to thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you again to share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Jalouise (now Sugar Beach) this past August and we couldn't have made a better choice. The place was absolutely incredible, service superior and unbelievable views. We rented villa number 319 which overlooked the bay and gave us some beautiful sunsets. The food at the restaurants was delicious, although a bit pricey. We typically like to visit local restaurants for our meals but in this case, we ended up spending almost all our time at the resort. A suggestion would be to buy the meal plan, which will certainly save money in the long run.

The staff was extremely friendly, always smiling and going out of their way to make sure the guests were completely satisfied.

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa with a view of the beach/bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good Day,
On behalf of the entire team, I would like say how happy we are that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us, and thank you for providing us with your feedback.
We are committed to making the holiday experience of our guests satisfying and outstanding by providing first class services and amenities. We are glad that you were pleased with all our services and offerings.
I will communicate your feedback to the entire team and commend them for a job well done.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We got from Jalousie Plantation for our honeymoon in August, and we couldn’t have picked a better resort. It was absolutely amazing from the staff, food, beach, service and accommodations to the breathtaking views.

We had an amazing view of the Pitons in room #505 which provided amazing sunsets on our back porch.

We spent most days at the beach under a Tiki Hut; we never had trouble finding one. It’s a very intimate resort which is perfect for a honeymoon. There are not too many people and we never had trouble finding a place on the beach. Most days we skipped lunch at the Bayside restaurant (This is where lunch is served on the resort) and ordered off the beach menu. The beach food was amazing and our favorite items we ordered were calamari, basil salad and pizzas.

The snorkeling is great and the beach is so nice that other resorts bus their guests in to use it. They do have to stay on a small section of the beach so guests of Jalousie get the Tiki Huts and plenty of beach space (another great benefit).

The food is great; nothing like eating at a five star restaurant every night in The Great Room. Definitely book the meal plan otherwise you will pay $35-40 for an entrée, $15-20 for an appetizer in The Great Room and $12 for most drinks. Also, we thought we might get charged an 18% service and tax fee at the end because it’s on all the menus as a separate charge but that is also included with the meal plan.

Everyone is so friendly and love to make small chat like what you did that day, if you’ve ever visited the island and what you think about it. No matter who you saw on the resort; everyone went out of their way to make sure you were enjoying your visit.

The tours at the resort are rather pricey. Instead, use Real St. Lucia Tours. They are half the price and the owner and his drivers are amazing and will help customize your itinerary.

Make sure to bring cash; everyone wants cash once you leave the resort. American Dollars are accepted everywhere and I don’t recall seeing an ATM.

Definitely vacation at Jalousie. It’s a great place that won’t leave you disappointed.

Thanks to all the other TripAdvisor travelers that helped us pick such an awesome resort and helped us save money along the way with our excursions.

Room Tip: Do you research and look at the rooms on YouTube. Many travelers have made videos. We stayed in #505...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good day,
Thank you for your very valuable feedback about your stay at the Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach.
I am happy that all of your expectations were exceeded and you had a wonderful time. I am pleased you enjoyed our amenities and accommodations as well as the relaxing and comfortable atmosphere. We are committed to ensuring our guests have stays that are fulfilling and memorable for all the right reasons and I am delighted that this was the case for you.
We are glad that you enjoyed the food as our culinary team works hard to ensure guest satisfaction. Although there isn’t an ATM machine on resort, if our guests desire to have cash, we provide that service and charge it back to the room. It appears that you were not aware that we provide that service. If that was the case, I am truly sorry.
I will communicate your feedback to the entire team and commend them on a job well done especially Aquinas.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just married at Jalousie in July and the week after we returned we canceled our Europe trip and went back to St. Lucia. Our same butler, the ever-smiling Linus, was standing there with cool drinks upon our arrival and we broke into applause. The beautiful clear pool beckoned at our room and the place was as breath-taking as ever. Even with the renovations going on, the staff was fully informed that we were returned guests and greeted us like old friends. Every effort was made to make our visit memorable, from the beautiful, torch-lit private dinner on the beach (cooked once again by the wonderful Chef Prescod) to the extra towels, to an evening jaunt around the lush Pitons to see the bats fly. This place is the epitome of romance and luxury. Flowers everywhere, hummingbirds, lanterns and the ever present crystal blue Carribean. This is the premiere property for location and scenery in all of St. Lucia, nestled between the towering Pitons. Every single person working at the place is friendly and smiling and helpful. Even the construction workers told me to have a nice day. The renovations will be done soon and it will be more beautiful than ever. I watch my wedding video over and over, just soaking in the beauty of this special place.

Room Tip: The 800s villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to write this glowing review about your recent stay at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach.
We are glad that you found Jalousie to be a place where you enjoy vacationing.
For the second time around, I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and that the courtesies and services you experienced positively contributed to a relaxing vacation. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the ambience and atmosphere of the resort.
Our team is passionate about what they do and I share the same sentiments as you about their level of friendliness. Chef Prescod will be delighted to know that you were amazed with his cooking.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and business. We look forward to your return visit soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Remember when you your were a kid, someone sent you a postcard of a far exotic place, a cove in between two mountains accessible only by boat or 4x4, where the water is clean and clear and you get to play in the sun all day. OK so fast forward several decades, grab your better half and book your trip to Sugar Beach. This place is amazing.

The facilities are impeccable, and the staff is unbelievable. There is a reason it is TA travelers choice top pick for 2012 in the luxury category. Beautiful villas equipped with every amenity you could desire, plunge pools, patios, decks to enjoy the most incredible sunsets. You can spend your day down bay-side in the Palapas with tasty beverages and vittles readily available. Or do nothing up at the villa and still feel amazing

The food in this place is everything you want while on vacation. The Executive Chef, Chef Cupertino and the Executive Sous-Chef, Chef Victor run a tight ship making the Great Room a world class dinning experience.

The Cane Bar is a must, a flight of Rhum will get you going and the game room is funtastic.
We spent 4 nights there and did not want to come home. Every morning on the patio, coffee with a spectacular view and every evening, cocktails with friends and loved ones sharing the postcard to always be remembered.

I want to thank the entire staff that catered to our group in the 500's and yes Fabian, Empty vessels do make the most noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejsanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to provide your feedback about your recent stay at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach.
We are genuinely concerned with every guest experience and do all we can to ensure that the services and amenities that we offer provide great satisfaction to our guests needs. I am pleased that you were satisfied with our high standards.
I will communicate your feedback to the entire team, especially Fabian and congratulate them for making your holiday extra special.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and business. We look forward to your return visit soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
9.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Property: Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, West Indies, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing