We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon, 10 stars!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Where do I begin? My husband and I researched for months on where we should go on our Honeymoon. We landed at the Jalousie because of all the rave reviews, which they were all true! A couple months before our Honeymoon, I read a review that the pool was being renovated at the time we were going to be there. I contacted the guest relations dept. And spoke with Lisa Jones. She was amazing to work with, and upgraded our room to a luxury villa from the sugar mill because I was a little upset that the pool would not be finished.
We had a taxi pick us up from the airport and take us to the resort ($75 each way), and he dropped us off right at our doorstep. We were greeted by our butler with cold drinks, and firefly phones. Our villa was AMAZING!! The bed was very very comfortable, and the view of the ocean from our bed was breathtaking. We had our own plunge pool, which was very refreshing during the day! The claw foot bathtub was also one of my favorites!
Just be sure to wear majuro repellant at night, and fog the room before you go to sleep, we got a couple bites, but they weren't too bad. The rainforest buzz at night put us right to sleep. Its very calming, and relaxing.
The service at the resort was top notch. Everywhere we went, almost every employee remembered our names, and were always willing to go out of their way just to make us happy. When you arrive at the beach, the staff lays down towels for you on the loungers (which are so comfy) and brings you water and a cold hand towel.
There were only 2 restaurants to choose from during our stay, but I believe they are building another one. The Bayside Restaurant was good, and dinner menu changed almost every night. Only thing that bothered us were the ferrel cats. There are a couple that linger around the dining area, and even come up to your chair and beg for food. Other than that, it was nice eating right on the beach.
The Great Room was absolutely delicious. Every single night. The menu changed often, and was out of this world! The restaurant manager was also very friendly, and would always ask how our honeymoon was going. The only recommendation is changing the breakfast menu at least every couple days.
The spa was so good that we went twice during our stay! Danielle was awesome, totally recommend requesting her for a Swedish massage. The sulfur seduction was also a great experience. They take you to the walk In volcano, and massage you with volcanic sulfur mud. Then you go to a waterfall, and head back for a back massage. It was awesome! Not to mention how amazing the rainforest spa is, with separate tree huts for you and your masseuse!
I cannot say enough nice things about this resort, and can only imagine it getting better and better with the new pool and restaurant. We are definitely planning on visiting again, and are counting down the days until we can!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank asssleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Good day,
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your honeymoon at The Jalousie Plantation, soon to rebrand as Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are pleased you felt you made the right decision choosing our resort as your honeymoon destination and that the reviews your read on TripAdvisor assisted you in booking with us.
We are delighted that our highly trained and professional team created a remarkable experience for you and your new spouse; I will commend them for a job well done.
Thank you for your glowing comments about The Rainforest Spa. We definitely agree that this is a truly unique one of a kind place that is made even more special because of the friendly and qualified therapists who deliver extraordinary service. I am delighted that you had the opportunity to indulge in a relaxing massage during your stay.
In reference to your comments about the two cats that frequent the Bayside, we try our utmost to discourage them from entering the restaurant and actually feed them in an area well away from guest facilities. Unfortunately, not all guests share your abhorrence for these creatures and continue to feed them at the tables in the restaurant despite our repeated requests for them not to do so. We continue to work closely with the St Lucia Animal Protection Society to control the cat population on the plantation. We undertake regular spaying and neutering and seek to find new homes for the friendlier felines in an effort to keep the population to a minimum. One of the two cats you mentioned has already been spayed and is due to be found a new home shortly. The second has proven to be wilier, but we are continuing our efforts with her. I am sorry they made you feel uncomfortable.
Once again, thank you for your generally wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards,


André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,374 - 1,380 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

My partner and i travelled to st lucia in september 2012. We were greeted at the airport by a private taxi. Took about 45 minutes to get to jalouise. On arriving we were taken to reception and told our room wasnt ready. Within 2 minutes we were told we had been upgraded to a luxury villa which was a nice surprise.
The villa was huge and had amazing views of the pitons just heavenly. Our butler informed us that he had made a reservation for us at the bayside restaurant but could change the time if it didnt suit us.
The food and service in the bayside restaurant was very good indeed. Our only complaint was the bbq on the friday night. We felt there wasnt enough meat on offer. A steak or sausages would have been nice. Food as always hot and well presented.
Ok now for some negative points. Even though we had been upgraded we originally booked a supierier sugarmill room but these were closed due to nearby construction work. We had booked these rooms so that we could be near to the restaurants, bars and beach and also the swimming pool. To our dismay the swimming was closed and would be for 8 weeks. We were not informed before we left for our holiday. Also we were not able to make full use of the all inclusive package that we had paid for. It was too noisy to sit on the beach so we spend most of our time sat outside our villa. So here we had to pay for drinks from the mini bar or order room service if we wanted a cocktail. Really dont think this is fair when we wanted a room near the bars.
On a plus side its a stunning resort if a little hilly. Shuttle drivers are very polite and efficent. The buttlers are hit and miss but monty is amazing. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Very interesting talking to waiters and waitresses in the bayside restaurant about their lives.
Also we werent very impressed by the construction noise. The swimming pool was being worked on 24/7 while we were there and having cement mixers driving through the resort for the last 3 days of our stay was not relaxing at all.
Was it a nice place yes. Would we go again, definatly not with all the work going on.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank foxtrot100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach, soon to rebrand as Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
It is always nice when we receive such positive comments about our staff I am happy our team members, especially those mentioned, positively impacted your holiday.
Thank you for your great comments regarding our service levels and for the constructive criticism in the areas that felt needed improvement.
We are particularly happy that you enjoyed our food offerings and ambience at the Bayside restaurant with the exception of the Friday night barbeque where you felt the selection of meats on offer was limited. Had you made us aware of your feelings and let us know that you preferred different meats, I am confident that our chefs would have gladly prepared others dishes more suited to your palate.
I am disappointed that you were not informed about the closure of the pool prior to your arrival on property. We have been, and continue to be, very transparent with our direct booking guests and with travel agents and tour operators about the continuing enhancement works at the resort. We issue monthly updates informing them of all projects that are taking place at least six weeks in advance of the commencement of works. In the case of the pool, the first notifications were issued as far back as May 2012. I would like to apologize for the communication breakdown and inconvenience caused. The pool is scheduled for completion by the end of this month bringing us one step closer to our rebrand and re-launch as Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort on November 30.
In respect of your comments about the all-inclusive package and the mini bar, we would have happily included all the sodas and beers as part of this package for you had you made us aware of how you felt. You may wish to be aware that as of 2013, soft drinks and locally bottle beer and water from the mini bar will be included as a standard in-room amenity for all of our guests, whether or not they are on a meal plan. We will also be including room service as part of our meal plans with a delivery and service charge attached.
Once again, thank you for your comments and your business. We look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.
Best Regards,


André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We got married on the 14th of September while spending the week at Jalousie, not only was the resort AMAZING but our wedding was perfect!
From arrival at the Jalousie Plantation all the staff were amazing, friendly and always incredibly helpful. Our villa was fantastic and totally blew our minds, the pictures did not do it justice.
We met with Shantal on our first full day to organise the details for the wedding. Again she was very knowledgeable and incredibly helpful. All of the paperwork was organised within and hour and then we were taken on a tour of the resort to pick the ceremony and reception location. We were very relaxed with everything as we knew it was all in good hands.
Our photographer Ashley was fantastic and we have all the pictures we could have hoped for.
I would advise to go all inclusive or at least half board as it isn't that easy or cheap to leave the resort and the food is quite pricey.
The water sports are awesome are worth having a play :)
We will be going back to the Jalouise Plantation in future it was the perfect place to start our life as a married couple

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarlingSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Good day,
Thank you for choosing The Jalousie Plantation (soon to be rebranded as Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort) as your wedding destination.
We are very happy that to hear that you had an amazing wedding at our resort and that Shantal helped to ensure your wedding day was all that you dreamed it would be. She will be delighted with your glowing comments and to know that she helped to deliver the kind of attention to detail that every bride and groom deserve. Congratulations on your big day.
We are also glad that all your overall expectations were exceeded and you enjoyed everything that Jalousie has to offer.
Once again, thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you next year for your first wedding anniversary celebration.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I'll keep this short and sweet--the other reviews are very accurate. Island is gorgeous, property is gorgeous, staff is fantastic! Couple highlights and areas for consideration:

1. The bed is incredible! At one point I traveling for business weekly and spent about 250+ nights a year in a hotel. The bed is by far the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in! I felt like I was floating in a cloud when I woke up each morning. The sheets are AMAZING!

2. This is definitely a resort for honeymooners and couples; however, if you are a confident solo traveler you will still have a nice time. Couple dining options I found to be nice as a solo traveler included a late afternoon snack at the Bayside Bar and the menu at the Cane Bar. If you have dinner at the Cane Bar, request a copy of the menu from the Great Room. You can enjoy the same incredible food without sitting through the formal dining experience by yourself!

3. Head to Toe In Seaweed Spa Treatment - I know what you are thinking--EWWW, smelly!! Not true! The treatment was, without a doubt, the most indulgent spa treatment I've had in YEARS! It is exactly what it sounds like, and it is DIVINE! Request Lucita as your therapist--you will not regret it!

Thanks to the entire Jalousie team for an incredible, albeit short, vacation! Looking forward to a return trip very soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swtthg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach.

We are glad that you enjoyed the experiences we created for you and that you were very comfortable and pleased with everything you encountered at our resort.

All of our guests share the same sentiments you have about the comfort of our beds and the luxurious feel of the sheets we use. We know how important it is for our guests to have a quality sleep experience and we took a great deal of time choosing mattresses and linens that create a cloud-like feel.

Thank you for your comments about your dining experience. We try our best to provide dining options to suit varying tastes and to deliver these in different locations on our resort. Our guests never grow tired of the options or feel like they are obligated to sit in the same restaurant throughout their stay. I am happy that you had the opportunity to experience some of our different dining locations.

Our Rainforest Spa is top-notch in all aspects. Our therapists are well-trained professionals. Lucita will be glad to hear that she was able to provide you with the best treatment that you have had in years.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments and business. We are looking forward to your return visit soon.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We booked here to celebrate my 40th birthday and so looked forward to it having researched the resort. We were not disappointed! From the welcome cocktails on arrival to the mega friendly staff all over the site..everything was beyond expectations! The location is to die for....the views are unbeatable...and the facilities are second to none. Nothing was too much trouble for staff. Food was excellent but could get a bit expensive if you aren't on half board or all inclusive. They are having some major refurbishment/re-branding at the moment but it is being co-ordinated well and didn't really spoil our enjoyment in any way.
Highly recommended resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beanie1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to share your feedback about your 40th Birthday celebration at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach, soon to be rebranded as Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We are a team of passionate individuals committed to guest satisfaction and are therefore delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have to agree that our location is unbeatable and the quality of our services, accommodations and amenities are as equal to the views. Our staff will be happy to know that they created an amazing experience for you.

Our current enhancement project is slated for completion at the end of October 2012 and we are looking forward to introducing new and past guests to all of the improvements we have made.

Once again, thank you for choosing Jalousie to celebrate this special occasion. We look forward to your return visit.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Jalousie Plantation is THE place to go if St. Lucia is your destination and/or you are seeking the best all-around service during your vacation. My wife and I spent 7 days here and hardly left the resort. We were extremely impressed with the staff and their commitment to our having a fun, relaxing, and enjoyable trip. We did not feel the need to do any snorkel adventures because the beach at the resort was so convenient and full of sea-life! We did the Zip-lining which was just up the hill and across the street from the resort entrance. We also hiked the Gros Piton, which was more difficult than I had hoped and expected (not an ideal honeymoon adventure). We did the Sunset Cruise which was beautiful, relaxing, fun, and exciting (we saw Flying Fish and had lots to drink including rum punch, champagne, beer, and wine).

Back to the resort. We had a beautiful, clean, and luxurious room. There was only one night where we had a bug problem in our room (we found 3 cockroaches on the floor, but this was partially our fault) and after that, the room was spotless and bug-free. I would recommend some sort of bug repellent for your body (especially your legs and feet) because while at a meal, you are somewhat stationary and there are some small mosquitoes that will find you! All areas of the resort were well maintained and clean. There was some "light" construction while we were there, but it was far from light and yet did not bother us at all! The shuttles would be delayed on occasion, due to construction vehicles or equipment, but it was never an inconvenience.

Our butlers were courteous and helpful. They adjusted our dinner reservations, arranged for shuttles, and scheduled and arranged plans for all of our excursions without hesitation. The wait-staff was extremely attentive and proper. We were greeted and thanked at each visit to the restaurants. The food was always prepared to our liking and never arrived too soon or too late, always the appropriate temperature, and elegantly displayed. The food was amazing! We had glanced at the dinner menu before travelling, but did not truly know what to expect, nor could we have! The menu changed daily with many specials highlighting fresh and local options each day! Innovative, creative, and adventurous, the food quickly became one of our favorite parts of the vacation! The bars at Jalousie were fun with many specialty cocktails that were fun and delicious. The local beer (Piton Beer) was alright; not too much flavor, but not boring and tasteless like a domestic US beer like Bud or Coors.

We were impressed and will definitely be back for an anniversary or family vacation!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Sugar Mill Room (907) and loved it! Great views, quickest access to the main resort s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the standards and quality of service you experienced at The Jalousie Plantation—soon to be rebranded as Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We are pleased to know that you had a great honeymoon and that the staff extended courtesies that positively impacted your stay with us.

Jalousie is not only known for its stunning location but also the amenities and accommodations that we offer to our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed all of our services especially of food and beverage offerings. We are also glad that you were able to participate in activities that you enjoyed—including the Piton climb, we know it’s tough!

Although the problem was resolved to your satisfaction, I would like to apologize for the bug issue in your room. The island’s tropical climate means that it is the perfect habitat for these pests. We do have a very comprehensive pest control system in place and regularly spray all of our rooms, however we always advise guests to carry repellant with them to prevent bites.

Thank you once again for your review and considering a return visit.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just returned from our second visit to Jalousie. We needed a quick recovery week and Jalousie was the perfect place. The lovely management gave us villa 505 which was where we were last time (in Nov 2011) with its stunning view of sea, beach (over the near vertical drop the other side of the terrace!) and both Pitons. We were welcomed with cold rum punch by our butler, and it was plain sailing from then on - lazy mornings taking the shuttle to breakfast, lazy afternoons reading and admiring the view and lazy evenings eating lovely meals in the great room. We had a wonderful time and look forward to a third visit when the building work is finally finished!

Thanks Jalousie team!

Room Tip: 500's have stunning views of sea and pitons. 503 is rated the best view in the caribbean by trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quoinbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to post your review about your second visit to The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to say how delighted we are that we met and exceeded your high expectations in all areas.

We are committed to making your holiday experience fulfilling and memorable by providing first class services and amenities, and it is gratifying that we managed to deliver once again.

I will communicate your feedback to the entire team and commend them for a job well done.

Your feedback and your business are very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,316 reviews
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
1.2 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
761 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $488 - $3,392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 96 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Cottages, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. Two stunning white sand beaches, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing