We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Jalousie Plantation is THE place to go if St. Lucia is your destination and/or you are seeking the best all-around service during your vacation. My wife and I spent 7 days here and hardly left the resort. We were extremely impressed with the staff and their commitment to our having a fun, relaxing, and enjoyable trip. We did not feel the need to do any snorkel adventures because the beach at the resort was so convenient and full of sea-life! We did the Zip-lining which was just up the hill and across the street from the resort entrance. We also hiked the Gros Piton, which was more difficult than I had hoped and expected (not an ideal honeymoon adventure). We did the Sunset Cruise which was beautiful, relaxing, fun, and exciting (we saw Flying Fish and had lots to drink including rum punch, champagne, beer, and wine).

Back to the resort. We had a beautiful, clean, and luxurious room. There was only one night where we had a bug problem in our room (we found 3 cockroaches on the floor, but this was partially our fault) and after that, the room was spotless and bug-free. I would recommend some sort of bug repellent for your body (especially your legs and feet) because while at a meal, you are somewhat stationary and there are some small mosquitoes that will find you! All areas of the resort were well maintained and clean. There was some "light" construction while we were there, but it was far from light and yet did not bother us at all! The shuttles would be delayed on occasion, due to construction vehicles or equipment, but it was never an inconvenience.

Our butlers were courteous and helpful. They adjusted our dinner reservations, arranged for shuttles, and scheduled and arranged plans for all of our excursions without hesitation. The wait-staff was extremely attentive and proper. We were greeted and thanked at each visit to the restaurants. The food was always prepared to our liking and never arrived too soon or too late, always the appropriate temperature, and elegantly displayed. The food was amazing! We had glanced at the dinner menu before travelling, but did not truly know what to expect, nor could we have! The menu changed daily with many specials highlighting fresh and local options each day! Innovative, creative, and adventurous, the food quickly became one of our favorite parts of the vacation! The bars at Jalousie were fun with many specialty cocktails that were fun and delicious. The local beer (Piton Beer) was alright; not too much flavor, but not boring and tasteless like a domestic US beer like Bud or Coors.

We were impressed and will definitely be back for an anniversary or family vacation!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Sugar Mill Room (907) and loved it! Great views, quickest access to the main resort s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the standards and quality of service you experienced at The Jalousie Plantation—soon to be rebranded as Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We are pleased to know that you had a great honeymoon and that the staff extended courtesies that positively impacted your stay with us.

Jalousie is not only known for its stunning location but also the amenities and accommodations that we offer to our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed all of our services especially of food and beverage offerings. We are also glad that you were able to participate in activities that you enjoyed—including the Piton climb, we know it’s tough!

Although the problem was resolved to your satisfaction, I would like to apologize for the bug issue in your room. The island’s tropical climate means that it is the perfect habitat for these pests. We do have a very comprehensive pest control system in place and regularly spray all of our rooms, however we always advise guests to carry repellant with them to prevent bites.

Thank you once again for your review and considering a return visit.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    201
    65
    29
    17
See reviews for
225
851
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunningwell, Oxford
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just returned from our second visit to Jalousie. We needed a quick recovery week and Jalousie was the perfect place. The lovely management gave us villa 505 which was where we were last time (in Nov 2011) with its stunning view of sea, beach (over the near vertical drop the other side of the terrace!) and both Pitons. We were welcomed with cold rum punch by our butler, and it was plain sailing from then on - lazy mornings taking the shuttle to breakfast, lazy afternoons reading and admiring the view and lazy evenings eating lovely meals in the great room. We had a wonderful time and look forward to a third visit when the building work is finally finished!

Thanks Jalousie team!

Room Tip: 500's have stunning views of sea and pitons. 503 is rated the best view in the caribbean by trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quoinbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to post your review about your second visit to The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to say how delighted we are that we met and exceeded your high expectations in all areas.

We are committed to making your holiday experience fulfilling and memorable by providing first class services and amenities, and it is gratifying that we managed to deliver once again.

I will communicate your feedback to the entire team and commend them for a job well done.

Your feedback and your business are very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We are so happy with our choice! This resort has set the bar pretty high for our future trips. We are already excited about returning for an anniversary in the future.

After an all-nighter (we got married the day before in Toronto), a 5 and a ½ hour flight and a 45 minute transfer (which was all very smooth) it was extremely nice to be dropped off at our Grand Luxury Villa (thanks for the upgrade!) with Jason our butler waiting for us with rum punches and cold towels. After a quick tour of our villa and check in done right there, we enjoyed the plantain chips and dip, fresh fruit, champagne and bottle of rum that was left in our room for us. Jason had even made us dinner reservations for that night – the whole process was so easy and got our vacation started on the right foot.

Even though the resort was almost full, it never seemed busy and there were private spots all over the place. We enjoyed hanging out on our back porch with our giant plunge pool (900’s serious of villas and ours was very private), the beach was never crowded and beautiful – the view and location really can’t be beat with the pitons right there. We ate at both the Bayside and the Great Room and never got sick of the menus as they changed every day. The food really was amazing, we loved all the fresh fish we ate while there (cooked and raw), the fresh homemade pastries at breakfast and our lunch served on the beach. The service was good overall and we never waited long for anything, everyone was so friendly and the people also really made this place so special. We enjoyed a couples massage at the resort’s spa, which I highly recommend. The clay stream hut, the walk through the treehouse to our private cabana and watsu pool soak was very relaxing and first class. Even though we could have stayed on the resort property for the whole week, we ventured to the Sulpher Springs and mud baths, waterfalls, we climbed the Gros Piton and went deep sea fishing – all very good choices and we were always happy to come back. There is also good snorkeling from the public beach right beside where we say lots of clown fish, a small octopus, an eal, sea snakes and a ton of different fish.

I would say that what I appreciated the most about this resort was all of the little details, for example, water bottles and a cold towel brought to you every morning on the beach in addition to a “treat” every afternoon, homemade everything in the restaurants and everyday is different and fresh and overall having whatever you want, whenever you wanted it. Although the renovations are going on for the pool, we were not disturbed by them one bit and as we are beach people anyway, this in no way affected us. We are very lucky to have found such an amazing place for the perfect honeymoon and can’t wait to go back and be spoiled all over again.

Mrs and Mr Happy

Room Tip: We were in the 900 serious of Villas which were very private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent honeymoon at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach—soon to be rebranded as Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

First and foremost, I am glad that you were pleased with your decision to choose Jalousie as your honeymoon destination and that you were completely satisfied with all of our services and amenities.

Our culinary team is passionate and eager to satisfy our guests with their food quality and presentation. They will be delighted to hear that you were happy with the dining experiences they created for you. I will commend them for a job well done.

We are always concerned with the wellbeing of our guests and therefore have tried to create experiences that we know they will enjoy. I am happy that you had the opportunity to try many of our recommended activities, especially the Gros Piton Hike. There is no better feeling than when you have reached the summit!

The renovation of the main pool will be completed at the end of October 2012, and is the final step in our renovations before we adopt our new name.

Once again, we are glad that your honeymoon was all that you dreamt it would be and thank you for considering a return visit. We look forward to serving you again!

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week trip at Jalousie. Plantation where we had an out of this world holiday. From the outset I apologise for the length of this review but I hope you will find it informative!

We had considered a transfer by helicopter however, the helipad at Jalousie is no longer in operation and so we opted for a private transfer for the 45 minute journey from the airport to the hotel. Like everyone one else we were taken straight tour villa where one of our butlers, Jose, was waiting with much needed rum punch! The scenery and location of this hotel are truly second to none. There was some renovation and construction work being undertaken during our stay but we were made aware of this before we travelled and felt we were adequately compensated by way of an upgrade. We felt the works were being carried out as sensitively as possible with the swimming pool being completely screened off. Yes it was a bit noisy on occasions but with the gorgeous vie w of the Pitons it was easy to filter this noise out! In fact the construction workers were pretty pleasant and went out of their way to acknowledge us when we saw them.

We stayed on an all inclusive basis which I recommend as this is an expensive resort.  To give a flavour we had a bottle of sparkling water on our first night which cost the equivalent of £10 and a glass of house wine is a similar cost! It should be noted that a 10% service charge and a further 8% tax is added to everything.

We were concerned that on the all inclusive package  the menus would not change regularly enough to hold our interest - boy were we wrong! The lunch and dinner menus in both the Great Room and Bayside restaurants changes on a daily basis.  Furthermore, if you have a special request or special dietary requirement be sure to ask as the Chefs are very accommodating.  Having had a look at the sample menus on the hotel's website we did expect that we may have to pay a supplement for things such a fillet steak but to our surprise no supplements were charged except in relation to smoothies containing Whey.  The steaks were huge and of excellent quality and if you like Sushi this is the place to stay as if features on the menus daily. Assistance is on hand to choose a good wine to accompany your food by Danielle the Sommelier.

The food in the Great Room and the way in which it was presented, in our opinion was Michelin Star quality.  I'm a crockery geek and the array of crockery they have to enable the food to be presented in the best possible way was very impressive. Many items on the menu are organic which for us was great as we eat mainly an organic diet at home. The atmosphere in the Great Room is formal and the only slight downside is that he lighting is dim you can only just about see your food and makes it difficult to see a change in the floor level onto the veranda as a result of which I had an ungraceful fall - no major damage caused luckily and I understand this is being looked into my the management. A special hello to Glyndia (Miguiel's sister) who really helped me out. Dining in the Bayside restaurant is less formal and the quality and presentation of the food is very good. Georg, Ernie and the rest of their team took very good care of us.

The background music and live music in the Bayside restaurant and the Great Room is outstanding.   The live bands were all fabulous.  so much so that we bough 4 More's CD, I did not stop dancing to the band which played at Bayside on 13 September and the husband and wife who played Palm Court on16 September they were amazing.

The fitness centre is extremely well equipped, in fact you have some equipment we do not even have in our gym at home!  The fitness programme in respect of classes is very impressive and was unexpected as classes are not usually provided by hotels or if they are a charge is usually payable. During our stay we participated in the all over body work out both with Cannis and Todd and Zumba and sunset stretch Cannis.  They are very knowledgeable and knew how to challenge us even though had not met us before.  The fitness centre was very clean as were the changing facilities.    

On the beach the sun loungers nothing like I have seen before and are extremely comfortable.  The good thing is that there are plenty of the them.   The beach staff were very accommodating and attentive - nothing is too much trouble for them.  If you want a drink you just put up a red flag which they respond to very promptly. They also give out complimentary water and drinks on occasions. The beach team is great and enthusiastic and a special mention goes out to Danny.  

The beach is well maintained and he beach vendors were friendly and not overbearing .  Who cannot help but smile when the coconut man comes by!  Also we loved the Hammocks and the Beachfront bar. Wednesday is "Cinema under the Stars" evening with comfy bean bags to sit on and popcorn. It was great!

I can only describe the Rainforest Spa awesome!   The design is out of this world.   I had to pinch myself whilst I was having a shower whilst looking out onto the Grand Piton - it was surreal.  The relaxation area was a great place to gather one's thoughts, the steam room was like something I had never experienced!  Nervanka's back massages...on a scale of 1 to 10....15!  

Butlers, Jose, Montgomery, Alston and Jason who looked after us in the 900's were great and catered to our every need. The Fireflies are brilliant for getting in contact with you butler and each other and in fact work all over St Lucia not just on the resort! Being in the 900s we needed shuttles to take us just about everywhere on the resort (save for the fitness centre which was an easy joy with just a couple of slight hills to negotiate). we found that we never had to wait for long for one especially if we had booked one in advance with our butler. The drivers are all great with a good sense of humour. A special hello to Terry and Cheeko.

The Cane and Late Night Bars are extremely chic in respective of decor and atmosphere. Bar tenders Miguiel and his colleague are fabulous and great hosts. Again, the drinks are not cheap, but being on the AI package we had nothing to worry about as the choice of premium and local drinks is very extensive and will not disappoint. Thursday is "Black and White" party night with a limited range of complimentary drinks for everyone all night hence, this was the only night of the week that it was really busy.

My husband and i celebrated our wedding anniversary while we were at Jalousie and a very special mention goes out to Shantal who arranged a fantastic vow renewal ceremony for us. The ceremony was offered to us on a complimentary basis because we were staying for 2 weeks however, we were impressed by the fact that not a single corner was cut. We had a beautiful flower laden arch where the ceremony was conducted, a very generous bouquet and button hole were delivered to our villa and sparkling wine was presented to us after the ceremony was over. We were also presented with a certificate confirming our vow renewal by the presiding Registrar. Again, the Registrar was complimentary and we loved her - he words about marriage resonated very deeply with us.

As a surprise for my husband I had arranged dinner on the beach that evening. I had agreed the menu with Shantal before we left the UK and Chef Sydney did us proud. The lobster was some of the best we have every had. I would recommend the experience of private dining during your stay.

If you are a fan of modern artwork do take some time to look at some of the great works which are primarily in and around the Great Room, Cane and Late Night Bars and the Bayside Restaurant as they are pretty impressive.

As you can see from this review our stay was perfect however, if we were to be picky and suggest areas which can be improved the would be housekeeping as sometimes the service was inconsistent in terms of what we were given only a daily basis. Furthermore, consideration should be given to providing guests who are on the AI package a larger range of drinks in their rooms which fall within the AI package.  It was a bit of a nonsense being able to have all the soft and alcoholic drinks we desired on the beach etc but having to pay for the very same drinks  in our room.   After all the AI package is not cheap! Finally, more R&B in the Cane Bar.  We found the music on the Thursday  party night too up tempo and the DJ said that he had to play this type of music despite the fact on our first Thursday no body was dancing. I appreciate it is difficult to cater for everyones tastes in music however it would be nice he was able to play special requests which would hopefully result in people also dancing and more of a party atmosphere rather than guests who are not on AI just coming along for the free alcohol.

As others have said mosquitos are rampant so make sure you take enough spray although, the hotel does provide repellent for the rooms and check out the snorkelling as it is pretty impressive as it these rest of the island.

Needless to say we are planning to return and very much look forward to it.

Thanks for reading my review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BajanSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review following your recent anniversary stay at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach, soon to be rebranded as Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. I am certain that your review will assist other travelers when planning their own holiday.

I am happy to know that we exceeded your expectations in all areas and you had a fabulous time. We at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach are very passionate and concerned about our guest experiences and therefore strive to ensure that the highest level of service is always provided.

Our committed and dedicated staff will be happy to hear all the wonderful comments that you have shared, especially the individuals that you have mentioned. We will commend them for a job well done.

Regarding your comments about the areas that need improvement, we are continuing to review our service standards in these areas to ensure that the expectations of our guests are not only met but exceeded.

Once again, thank you for choosing The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach. We look forward to seeing you again and sharing a new and enhanced Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort experience.
Best Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in this resort approx 3 years ago. The location is outstanding and would recommend the helicopter transfer direct from the airport.

We have stayed in St Lucia on two occasions and this was our favourite...We had a villa with plunge pool, and as previous reviewers stated it is hilly however a bus is only a call away

Room Tip: plunge pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank msw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to write about the experience you had three years ago at The Jalousie Plantation, Sugar Beach.

We are pleased that you found our location to be stunning and that Jalousie is your favorite St Lucia resort.

As you may be aware, the resort has undergone a major transformation since your last visit and we would welcome the opportunity to share these improvements with you first hand.

The undulating topography is one of the things that make Jalousie so special and the views so spectacular. Luckily, we have a team of highly professional and friendly drivers who always ensure that our guests are picked up in a matter of minutes to take them to their desired locations.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
9.9 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,147 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
884 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Property: Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing