We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
123
98
47
19
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
98
47
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetit pitonchef davidpiton viewwalk into townst luciaceiling fansmall hotellocal beachshrimpbotanical gardensfish cakesmosquito nettingstanding fansnorkeling equipmentblack sand beachsoufriere baybreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 294 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2010

The Hummingbird is a charming small resort, excellent restaurant with about 10 rooms. We stayed in a large suite, loved it, beautiful, clean, comfortable bed, great bathroom, and loved the patio! We sat out every night and watched the Sunset from our patio. Amazing views of the Pitons, simply beautiful area, a little piece of heaven on earth. It has a very local feel, which we loved and the staff was wonderful. The only thing we did not like was there was no A/C. The hotel was booked, so we were unable to move. There is a breeze however, with some mosquito's.

It is located on a beach, its ok .. locals and quite a few kids hanging around the beach, busy the time frame we were there. They do have a new beach bar, which is charming and very comfortable right on the beach, you can sip a cocktail and watch the sunset. We went to Jalousie Beach and it was very nice. We did some snorkeling and had lunch, took a water taxi, it was only maybe a 10 min. ride, very enjoyable.

Joyce the owner, is a special person and you can feel her touch through the whole property, clean, warm, and very comfortable.

The restaurant is one of the best we have ever been to on the islands. Consistently fabulous!

The Pool area is small, perfect for the size of their hotel, it was NY's so it was loud and quite a few kids around. The upkeep of the pool was ok, maybe just because they were so busy.

It was truly a nice visit to a little local place that we will smile and speak kindly of, and hope to go back to some time. Loved watching all the little Hummingbirds, from our room, pool, restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palmlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We had a great week here over Xmas 2009. The resort is a small collection of rooms situated around a pool and patio area offering outstanding views of the pitons. It's also wonderfully located for stunning sunsets.

We stayed in a budget room, which was great, massive bed, plenty of storage and a great view. It had a ceiling fan and standing fan and a mossy net, but if we go back we will get an aircon room, to keep the mossies out and keep cool, it stays pretty hot at night. However the rooms was great and no problems with the shared bathroom which was cleaned daily.

The owner Joyce introduced herself to us on our first night, a lovely friendly lady who has just received an MBE for her 30 years in tourism. she and her husband were always about, good company and helpful, the rest of the staff great too. lovely smiley Daniel and Sheryl stood out. We took guitars and got them all singing one night.

The restaurant food was fantastic, the best that we ate and we tried a few different places. The beach outside the hotel wasn't the best for bathing but just around the corner each side of the bay you have the choice of the Jalousie or Anse Chastenet which are stunning. They are reachable by speedboat and there are lots of local guys hanging around the beach offering to take you there. they charge around $10 us dollars per person return but you can knock them down, we got a ride for five of us for $30 dollars return.
There are restaurants on both beaches, pricey but stunning locations so worth it. The sea is crystal clear, especially on the Jalousie side where the is a protected reef for snorkelling, I saw so many beautiful fish.

Outside of there we visited Marigot bay by boat also, quite a pretty harbour type place but not great for swimming.

the hotel was good value considering it's location and easy access to neighbouring resorts and beaches where people pay $800 dollars a night to stay.

We visited the volcano's which was great and fond deux plantation which was very pretty.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahj100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We recently got back from St Lucia. We liked the resort. The grounds and rooms were clean and well kept up. We stayed there for 10 days. There were mosquitos in the rooms, but they did have mosquito nets. When we smarted up, we closed the windows for an hour in the evening and used a mosquito coil to clear the room before going to bed and then used the mosquito net for additional protection. The ceiling fans were very helpful.

We had the piton view room that shared a bathroom which wasn't a problem. The meals at the resort were good. It got expensive if you eat all your meals there. We usually had breakfast and either a late lunch or early dinner if we ate at the resort. Charmaine was our favorite waitress. Breakfast offered eggs and bacon or ham, omlettes or waffles, plus fruit, toast and coffee. The lunch and dinners had an island touch.

We rented a car for only one day to do the Zip Line experience at Dennery ( 1 hour drive). While we had the car, we had dinner and a late lunch at Mango Tree Resturant. It's a 5 minute drive or a 45 minute walk. Highly recommended for the view and the food. Another place we ate in Soufreire was Skippers. Good food for a late lunch (5PM).

Great snorkeling from the beach to the right side of the bay. We went almost every day. Nice coral and many fish and 1 Hawksbill Turtle. The pool was a welcome place to rinse off after being in the ocean. The beach was nice, but the volcanic sand got hot in the afternoon. The local people that used the beach were very pleasant. I enjoyed talking to them and finding out more about their country.

There is a small building just around the wall from the resort that sells cold Heinicen or Piton Beer for $2 US. There is a grocery store about 8 minute walk in town for snacks and drinks if you're interested. If you need additional cash, there's an ATM machine at the bank in town. We took public transportation back to the airport in Castries. Instead of paying a taxi $65 US, we paid about $8 US to get to Castries and $8 additional to get to the airport for 2 people.
BiggPapa

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BiggPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We reserved a room from our home in Canada, and once in St.Lucia we tried to cancel our reservation 3 days prior to arrival. It took 4 months after we got home to get
the full stay reversed off our credit card. We didn't even stay there, we just used
our credit card to reserve the room. Even though they had 72 hours cancellation
notice they still charged us for the entire stay. Finally we got it reversed. Just
watch your credit card statement for unauthorized use.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank casper01RedDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Stayed in the "view" room with 4 poster bed, netting and lovely linens - gorgeous view of Piton, Soufriere, Bay and pool. Everyone at the Hummingbird is helpful and friendly - make yourself at home is the motto. Restaurant has wonderful food, colorful table linens, dynamite view and tropical flowers everywhere. The hotel is directly on the beach with the best local snorkeling (start at the small pier and head out along the wall/shoreline). Better than Anse Chastanet. I took water taxis to Anse Chastanet for the diving operation there (Scuba St. Lucia) each day - much more fun than a land taxi and quicker too. Scuba St. Lucia is totally professional and organized with shore and boat dives, good equipment and you can chill at the local beach restaurant between dives. I would go back to the Hummingbird any time - alone, with a companion or as a group. You can walk to town in about 5 minutes or stay at the hotel and listen to the surf. It was paradise. As a single woman, I felt completely safe there. A room safe holds your passport and extra cash while you are out and about. The owner is Joyce and she knows how to make a guest happy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seastarlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews