We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant at the Hummingbird Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014

While in St Lucia last week we wandered over to the Hummingbird resort for an excellent meal in their restaurant. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant looks over the swimming pool to the beach and an amazing view of the Gros Piton across the bay in Soufriere. We ate the fresh fish catch of the day which was cooked to perfection and the whole evening was very pleasant

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Thank carolmfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 276 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our first trip was Feb 2014 at Jade mountain resort. Nothing like having your own pool in your room with butler service 24/7 at $1,500 u.s a night. I was referred to the Hummingbird while scuba diving and went our last day to check it out. This quaint hotel with clean, non extravagant rooms, but awesome bedding and gorgeous views from the beach level hotel ( which was much better than being 1,000 ft up at the Jade to the beach) is only $135 u.s a night!! What? . I loved the fact that its pool was situated in the middle of the property with clear views of the Pitans and other coastal cites that wrapped around the coast and the gorgeous clear ocean blue water which was only steps away if you chose the ocean over this beautiful pool. The pool was close to each room or bungalow and was very clean with the perfect temperature. The people were all the kindest, the service was prompt and the food will ruin anything you've had in the past, yes that incredible. Did I say that seafood salad I had on our first trip while leaving the Jade in Feb 2014 was the most incredible meal I have ever had. We came back in June 2014 and stayed at the Hummingbird. The whole vibe of this hotel with beautiful hummingbirds going from one colorful exotic plant to another with no noise except the faint ocean splashing on the white sand directly in front of the hotel extremely relaxing. Even if you don't stay at the Hummingbird, the Michelin 3 stars three stars (it deserves) : "Exceptional cuisine, worth a special journey" is worth stopping in for Lunch or Dinner since the World Class Chef David Simmonds lives on the property. It will be one the highlights of your St Lucia trip. It was for our first one so much we came back 3 months later :) .

Room Tip: I've seen all of the rooms and they all have great views however I like the bottom floors, the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 825terrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Being very fast paced and task oriented people, we were definitely in for a shock at the amount of time that everything took on the island, and even at the Hummingbird resort. We arrived for check in and it took 2.5 HOURS from arriving at the desk, to actually getting into our room! We were tired from driving down from Castries, and definitely didn't appreciate the wait to freshen up and secure our luggage. At first, we were a little relieved that they always have a security guard on duty- but then began to question why they would even need one- and found out quickly, that just on the other side of the concrete wall with glass shard cemented to the top, it was very rowdy- and a bit scary. Upon this discovery, we were very glad that we did not have our children with us. As soon as we would leave the gate to the beach, we would be approached to purchase "Bob Marley" and hassled to take taxi rides, even though we said multiple times that we had already secured one. The view from the hotel (pretty much anywhere on the property) is gorgeous. The rooms though, are a bit run down, and our A/C unit was dripping water into our room the ENTIRE time we were there- we knew that the resort was aware of it, because there was already a towel on the floor underneath it, folded up and sopping wet... I guess this was their solution to the issue... the drip was very annoying when trying to sleep. I also recommend making sure you have a mosquito net to sleep- the rooms are definitely not sealed, even though there are doors and windows, and with Chikungunya going around, you just don't want to risk it- we did see several mosquitos in our room. But again- make sure you ask for the net HOURS in advance- so you'll have it by the time you go to sleep. The food was actually very good- maybe not worth the super high price tag, but it was good once you received it- dinner would take at least two and half hours to complete because of the slow pace of the people there. I was warned that the island life moves much slower, but we thought it was a bit too exaggerated of a slow pace to be productive on any level. In comparison to the other local resorts, we thought it was more well priced, until we found the state of the rooms... a place like this could never charge that price in the US... And if you plan on leaving the resort grounds, be prepared to be confronted and asked for money for no reason- and do NOT pick up anyone who says they will give you directions- please be smart, they will stand in the middle of the road to stop you. The place definitely needs some direction on taking care of their travelers.

Room Tip: A/C is pretty much necessary, unless you're from the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beHonestevery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Hummingbird. The great food, the great service and amazing view. It was just steps away from snorkeling. When we arrived there was a rainbow in the mountains that was breathtaking. The staff really looks out for you and arranges any place you want to go touring. We will miss you Danielle, Jimmy and the rest of the staff

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We just got back form a week in Soufriere, St Lucia at the Hummingbird resort. The trip was a graduation present for our kids both 21. Joyce and David were incredibly welcoming, as were all the staff. We felt so comfortable and relaxed the entire time. Special thanks to David who befriended my son - not to mention his generosity with the rum tastings :) The Hummingbird is a relaxed, small hotel for people who want to experience the local vibe while still having plenty of opportunity to tour Soufriere's beautiful Pitons, waterfalls and rainforest. The restaurant is lovely and with breakfast included and great fish on the menu it's a lovely way to start and end the day. We found the beach hard to resist most days - incredible views of the Pitons and easy access to other beaches and resorts including Anse Chastenet and Sugar Beach. Note - the pool is small but with warm sea and beach a step away we used it only once. We stayed in room #3 with balcony and full Piton and bay views but no AC (not a big deal for us). Our kids stayed up in the cottage with AC, living room and kitchen and amazing views of Pitons and the bay - easily sleeps 4. If you're looking for a well-priced, locally-owned place to chill Hummingbird is for you!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 have balconies with beautiful views. The cottage is also a great option for family or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rzmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We visited the restaurant at Hummingbird on the second night of our honeymoon in St Lucia. We both left disappointed. We had certainly been spoilt for food the day before (at Orlando's - go there if you get the chance) and were expecting similar quality as this place had been recommnded to us by our hotel. It wasn't up to scratch at all. Everything was just pretty average. Not awful, but definitely not anything special. For the price, we were expecting food that was a little more exciting. There are plenty of other places in Soufriere to eat that offer much better value and much better food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Pigs_On_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, General Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Good Day,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to the Hummingbird Beach Restaurant.

Firstly I would like to apologies for the experience you have described as we strive to provide our guest with the highest level of standard.

It is clear that your experience here with us was not memorable however I have discuss with the relevant department to ensure that every client receives a flawless dinning experience here at the Hummingbird Beach Resort.

It is with great pleasure that I welcome you back here in the not to near future asI trust that the issues you experienced have not left an enduring mark. We would welcome the opportunity to share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.

Once again thank you your comments and your business as we look forward to serving you better.

Warmest Regards
Joan A. Stowe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I just stayed here for the first couple days of our honeymoon. We wished we had stayed for longer! The room had a king bed and that was very nice! They do not have AC but there was 2 fans that kept us cool. The view is insanely beautiful. The food here was very good. We had some of our best meals of the trip including: shrimp and garlic sauce, fish tropical and mushroom penne. Our breakfast was included in our room cost and was very good. Note: Local salt fish breakfast is not included. Prices for food were a little on the high side for the island (about USD$ 20-30 for entrees) but the quality was there so we didnt mind. There are TONS of things to do in Soufriere. Later in the trip we went north and were surprised to find that most of the tours available went to Soufriere for day trips which was about an hour and a half distance. We loved the beach just outside the Hummingbird gate. It is a local beach but it was quiet and clean. We swam here a lot and had a great time. We met the owner of the Feel Good water taxi and he took us around the bend to Anse Chastanet to snorkel and then on a short jungle hike to one of the many waterfalls. Loved the location and atmosphere of this hotel and surrounding area. Our first few days in Soufriere were SO much better than our resort experience. If you like a little adventure I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 have amazing views on there balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shadow124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
980 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.9 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,214 reviews
16.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Gros Islet
2,226 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Cochon
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Beach Resort

Address: Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $133 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hummingbird Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hummingbird Beach Resort is a small, intimate resort, located in the scenic town of Soufriere on the south western part of St. Lucia, home to the famous pitons – a world heritage site. Hummingbird Beach Resort has eight (8) beautifully decorated rooms, most of which offer magnificent views of the ocean and the pitons. We also have a Country Cottage which accommodates a family of four (4) comfortably, it is fully furnished and offers breathtaking views of the pitons. We are world renowned for our French Creole Cuisine, award winning cocktails and beautiful batik studio. We are located on the beach and also have a fresh water swimming pool. We do arrange a wide range of tours and excursions. Spa treatments can be made available on request. Let us host your dream wedding or wedding reception dinner. Our tropical island setting and renowned hospitality combine to make your Caribbean wedding and honeymoon an unforgettable experience. Make the charming Hummingbird Beach Resort your choice of accommodation in Soufriere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hummingbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Beach Hotel
Hummingbird Beach Soufrière
Hummingbird Beach Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing