We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leisure Inn(Soufriere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
118
96
47
19
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
96
47
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef davidpetit pitonpiton viewwalk into townst lucialocal kidssmall hotellocal beachshrimpbotanical gardensfish cakesmosquito nettingstanding fansnorkeling equipmentsoufriere baysmall poolmaster bedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 287 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The scenic southwestern corner of St Lucia is well-served by upper-end resorts, charging handsomely for the chance to withdraw within the fences and be isolated in pretty high comfort.
For a fraction of the cost, our five-day stay at the Hummingbird, on the edge of the village of Soufriere, was much simpler, giving us exposure to the local atmosphere with its appeals and drawbacks.
Positives: the room are wood and stucco -- adequate for a couple -- with comfortable four-poster beds under the mosquito netting that is most likely vital later in the summer than our March visit. The terrace restaurant looks out over extensive greenery and flowers and the eponymous hummingbirds, across the small but adequate pool and over the bay. The included breakfast is very simple -- in particular, baked goods seem not to be high on the skills of the island chefs generally -- while dinners were straight-forward and tasty. Salads were furnished from the owner's organic garden across the road.
The adjacent dive shop is not formally a part of the hotel, but is well-furnished for boating, scuba and excellent snorkeling.
Service through the week was uniformly friendly and accessible, if timed to the casual pace that pervades the entire island -- service in our room was missed one entire day, for example, and water pressure and temperature were occasionally chancy. Car service is essential -- the quality of the roads is third-world dismal, complicated by left-side driving -- but seriously expensive.
In context of the need to calibrate expectations.
One explicit warning is that the hotel adjoins a parking lot and fronts on a public beach -- which meant traffic and work noise through the day, and one night a large beach party with ear-pounding noise until a frustratingly late hour. And "colorful" would be a generous way to describe the village; on our walks into town, the ratio of pan-handlers to friendly locals ran about four-to-one.
One small alert: the hotel uses British plugs for electrical appliances, not European. And bring plenty of sun protection.

Room Tip: Lower-level rooms have small gardens -- upper level have small balconies. Choose accordingly. Sea views are key.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on a whim for some lunch. Had such a warm welcome by the staff. Great views from the dining room of the Pitons and the sea. Fish cakes for starters were like little curried fish and corn fritters, wonderful. Good value too. Loved the batik, wished I'd bought some!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank CandyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed in a standard room with air-con (4). Nice sized room with plenty of wardrobes and bathroom. A little sparse for furniture and no kettle, but when we asked we were given a kettle, tea-pot and a couple of chairs. So just ask if you are missing anything. The air-con was very useful but don't know if a ventilated room upstairs would have been just as good. We were on the ground floor and didn't have a view or windows. I did sit on the porch which was nice as it was in the garden. The food was BRILLIANT. 5 stars for the chef. We thought we'd eat in different places but ate an evening meal there 2/3 of the time. I thought the general standard of St Lucia cooking was great with fabulous fruit, veg and fish, we didnt have a disappointing meal anywhere. The local low key restaurants are also great. The swimming pool area is nice with loungers, and also chairs and umbrellas which is great. The garden was gorgeous and full of hummingbirds. The hotel has direct beach access but also has a secure door at night. At first the beach seems small but you soon come to appreciate that Soufriere is probably one of the nicest, most authentic and prettiest parts of the island and the little bit of beach is quiet and peaceful. would have been nice to access a plastic chair on the beach. There are some loungers which you can take onto the beach. A word of warning, no one prepared me for the midges. Perhaps the garden makes it worse? No repellent seemed to work and therefore go PREPARED. I think this is a problem all over the island but where there is a breeze it might be a bit better. There are midge coils and sprays in the local supermarket. Anyway I was bitten everyday!! I would go again but with 50% deet which I didn't take thinking an expensive eco friendly alternative would do. It doesn't.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alisono27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a standard room (#9) for 4 nights at $118 including taxes per day. Very nice room with wood louver windows along most of two sides affording great ventilation and partial view over pool and across the bay to Petite Piton. Very friendly and efficient service. Elpedia ("Pidi") of the restaurant staff brought us two payaya from her home as none was available during our stay for breakfast. Jovan, the young bartender, was great to talk with and has a great future in the hospitality (or any other) business. David, the chef, does a great job with dinners. Usually we'd tend to sample other local restaurants, but in this case found no need to. The adjacent beach has a stunning view of the bay and Petite Piton, and was pleasant to use. We had a wonderful encounter with some local young kids who (as is typical of the Caribbean) were among the majority who can't swim. We showed them how to float on their backs, much to their amazement. More than seeing the sights, moments like this are why we travel.

We also met two women at the bar who were staying elsewhere but who invited us along on an early morning birdwatching trek they had arranged with a local government naturalist. We hiked up a steep, rocky trail to the top of Mount Tabac above Soufrierre. Again, something totally unplanned but something we've almost gotten to expect by being open to people around us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the Hummingbird in early December. Our room was simple yet clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The grounds have abundant blooming plants and hummingbirds. It was relaxing to sit by the pool and enjoy the view. And local attractions like the Tet Paul Trail are short drive away. We particularly enjoyed the food - Chef David knows how to prepare seafood! This resort is in a good location and the staff is outstanding.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews