We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a cozy bungalo tucked away in Souffriere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hummingbird was a wonderful place to stay in Souffriere. The people were so kind and treated us like friends. We had a quaint little bungalo-style room with amazing views of the ocean and mountains. We were a short walk from town and a short drive from attractions (drive up volcano) and luxury restaurants. The hotel had everything we needed: great food (seafood and chicken pasta stood out), full bar, and a pool. We did stay off the beach as it was full of local kids playing loud music and games, but the view from the pool was just as nice. More than anything, the value for the accommodations really stood out. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank exploreandadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, General Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for making the Hummingbird Beach Resort your home away from home, it is our utmost pleasure knowing that you stay here was enjoyable as we pride ourselves on ensuring that the highest standard is delivered at all times. Our staff member are continuously trained to be professional at what they do. So this has proven to us that our hard work is paying off. The resort is ideally located , so easy access to town and attractions around soufriere... We say it an authentic traditional St. Lucian vacation.... We look forward to welcoming you back to the hummingbird beach resort as you are now part of our Hummingbird family. Once again thank you..

Warmest regards
Joan Alexander Stowe
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 269 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

lovely garden, charming rooms with great balcony, good snorkelling, nice food, hummingbirds...

the place has style. if you like big chain hotels it probably won't be your thing. but if you're possessed of a bit more character than that, you'll dig it.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, General Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review , the Hummingbird Beach Resort is a small but intimate setting located in the town of soufriere with the view of the world famous piton and Caribbean Sea.... We sell ourselves as an authentic traditional St. Lucian vacation as our main goal is to ensure that our clients are satisfied at all times..... Our professional staff makes this possible and it bring smiles to they faces when clients write such positive remarks. Thank you for choosing the hummingbird beach resort as we look forward to welcoming you back...

We await you next vacation

Warmest Regards
Joan Alexander Stowe
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I debated for a long time before booking this hotel due to the varied Trip Advisor reviews. I was pleased with our decision to stay here, but understand why there are different reviews for this hotel.

To provide some background, in our extensive travels, my wife and I have stayed in wide range of lodgings, including luxury hotels with overwater bungalows in Bora Bora, Maldives, etc. We now bring along our 2 year old son.

The people at the hotel were very friendly and handled every request, including pack and play with mosquito net and lots of milk for our child. The views are absolutely amazing and the pool is a nice spot to relax and enjoy the scenery. The restaurant and bar have delicious food and drinks.

I think the reason for some people's negative reviews are unrealistic expectations. Other hotels in the area are $200-1,000+ and rates for this hotel are much more reasonable. That needs to be considered when evaluating the hotel, which I do not think some people did. In addition, with the public beach, it is also not an enclosed all-inclusive that isolates you from everything.

I could understand some of the downsides that other people mentioned, including being hassled on the beach and slightly worn rooms. But, overall, we think the positives outweighed the negatives and are glad we stayed here.

One last tip. We had room 4, which has air conditioning. Other rooms (at least some, but maybe all), as well as other hotels in the area, do not have A/C. Our room was downstairs and has a Piton view from the porch, but the view is not quite as good as the upstairs rooms.

Room Tip: We had room 4, which has air conditioning. Other rooms (at least some, but maybe all?), as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Ryan9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, General Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

With no doubt you choose the ideal resort for your St. Lucian vacation, although the resort only has 10 rooms it is nestled on a small slope overlooking the world famous Piton and Caribbean Sea with direct beach access, we are a fully operational resort with restaurant and bar on location, our food speaks for itself as you dis mention that you enjoy the food, we serve French creole cuisine and is one of the best on island. It is always a pleasure hearing that we achieve a sense of accomplishment knowing that our clients enjoyed they stay with us and would like to that you again for choosing Hummingbird Beach Resort. As we also say we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to simply beautiful st. Lucia......

Regards
Joan A Stowe
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A gem squeezed in between big resort chains, this hotel offers it all for a more than decent price. It has amazing views of the bay, Soufriere and the Petit Piton, it is close to the beach and has a nice pool where you can relax and admire the views. The cuisine is excellent, with freshly caught local fish as main delicacy. Cocktails are delish. But what really makes the difference is the super friendly staff who are genuinely trying to help and they always do it with a smile. And then there is Joyce, the owner. She is often around talking with her guests, making sure that people are happy and well taken care of. She is an amazing source of interesting information about her native island and the surroundings, all in all a very pleasant person to talk to.
So do stay at Hummingbird, and try the food, and talk to Joyce. You will enjoy it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ralubl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, General Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback from your stay at The Hummingbird Beach Resort. Our team is very pleased that you were captivated by the scenic beauty of the resort as well as the reputable Caribbean cuisine especially the freshly caught fish and exotic cocktails. Our staff members are dedicated to providing a genuine sense of hospitality on every occasion and it is a privilege to know that you truly felt welcomed at our resort. Mrs. Stowe is a very outgoing person who makes it her duty to ensure that all guests experience a paramount level of customer satisfaction and appreciation. We are glad that you had a chance to interact with her and the rest of the Hummingbird family. Once more we thank you for sharing such a positive review of The Hummingbird Beach Resort and we look forward to welcoming you in future.

Best Regards,
Joan Alexander Stowe M.B.E.
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The positives about this hotel are; the closeness to the beach (one of the few in Soufriere where you are on the beach), the very friendly and helpful staff, the pool and the restaurant. I cant speak highly enough about the helpfulness of the staff. The whole town is ultra friendly. What I would suggest though is get the suite with air con, our room didn't have it and although they said there would be a sea breeze, there wasn't enough to cool the room but the free standing fan helped. If you have your doors open you get invaded by mosquitos. Mosquito nets over the beds but we still got numerous bites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank qatarkiwifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, General Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for expressing your thoughts on your stay at The Hummingbird beach Resort. We are glad that you acknowledged the resort's location as well as its amenities and the hospitable staff. The people of Soufriere are a loving people and we are pleased that you had a chance to interact with them and get a more local feel of our island. We regret that your room may have been a bit uncomfortable due to the lack of air conditioning and the presence of mosquitoes. We are currently taking the necessary measures to ensure that situations of this nature are eliminated. Once more we wish to thank you for staying with us and we welcome an opportunity to serve you better in future.

Best Regards,
Joan Alexander Stowe M.B.E.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my first trip to St. Lucia and I brought my two daughters, ages 4 and 9. Having never been to the island before, I was a little nervous about being a single mom with two daughters. I also searched online and with travel agents forever to figure out the right place for us to stay! Of course, staying at a macked out luxury resort sounded nice--if not pricey--but I was worried if we stayed at a big resort that we wouldn't actually experience St. Lucia: worried we'd never leave, worried we wouldn't get a real feel of what the local culture is about, worried our experience would be about being served and not travelling.

In any case, I selected the Hummingbird Resort and could not be happier about our experience there! It was just the right amount of luxury for us with beautiful views of the Pitons, lush trees, and excellent accommodations and staff. At the same time, this is a family-owned business and small-scale--which means, for us, we felt we actually got to know people and felt really taken care of in a very personal way. Also, because we weren't spending an absolute fortune on daily resort rates, we felt very free to explore soooo many of the beautiful places on the island. We did the mud baths, bathed in waterfalls, went snorkeling, went shopping in the markets. Everything we could think of. We were free to explore any of the resort beaches, and were so absolutely welcomed everywhere we went.

We were also very fortunate that the owners of this lovely establishment are local islanders. We could feel good that we were supporting the local economy and not sending off our US dollars offshore to a giant corporate chain hotel. At the same time, it was superbly international, with other guests from London, New Zealand. We were very amused one night when a sailing yacht filled with 2 families sailing around the world pulled up to the Hummingbird and joined for dinner. Even local St. Lucians chose this place to stay. I think that says something!

But I can't end this post without mentioning the restaurant. We ate at many of the 'famous' restaurants on St. Lucia, including Dasheen at Ladera and at Sugar Beach. But hands down, the food was absolutely the best at the Hummingbird. The food preparation was authentically fresh and soooo delicious. All 3 of us agreed it was the best restaurant on the island. I particularly enjoyed the local breakfast one morning of fried fish with creole sauce, onions and salad. You have to order it 24 hours in advance, but it was well worth it.

Seriously, the food was amazing. I'm still thinking about it:)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, General Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Hummingbird Beach Resort and St.Lucia as your vacation destination. Our resort is conveniently located in the town of Soufriere within a fifteen minute drive from the most picturesque beaches and attractions in the Soufriere area. Our team takes pride in providing a genuine sense of hospitality to all guests. Therefore, we are ecstatic that you were satisfied with your selection. The management and staff at our resort are elated that you felt justified by patronizing a locally owned resort as it is guests like you who enable us to attract visitors from all corners of the world. We are glad that you expressed your level of satisfaction with our restaurant. Our culinary team is devoted to providing a unique dining experience on every occasion and it is very uplifting that our service exceeded your expectations. Once more we wish to thank you for staying at The Hummingbird Beach Resort and we look forward to serving you in future.

Best Regards
Joan Alexander Stowe
M.B.E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

For a great light lunch and excellent views and service go to the hummingbird restaurant....no complaints. We went twice for lunch after a long day at the beach. The cocktails were amazing the creole fish and the home made cheese cake were exceptional!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank klongville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, General Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for expressing your thoughts on The Hummingbird Beach Resort and making our restaurant your choice for fine dining. We are very pleased that you had no complaints due to the breathtaking views and superior standard of service. It is uplifting that you chose to dine with us on more than one occasion and we eagerly anticipate another opportunity to serve you.

Warmest Regards,
Joan Alexander Stowe M.B.E.
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.9 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,184 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
16.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Beach Resort

Address: Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#9 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $137 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hummingbird Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hummingbird Beach Resort is a small, intimate resort, located in the scenic town of Soufriere on the south western part of St. Lucia, home to the famous pitons – a world heritage site. Hummingbird Beach Resort has eight (8) beautifully decorated rooms, most of which offer magnificent views of the ocean and the pitons. We also have a Country Cottage which accommodates a family of four (4) comfortably, it is fully furnished and offers breathtaking views of the pitons. We are world renowned for our French Creole Cuisine, award winning cocktails and beautiful batik studio. We are located on the beach and also have a fresh water swimming pool. We do arrange a wide range of tours and excursions. Spa treatments can be made available on request. Let us host your dream wedding or wedding reception dinner. Our tropical island setting and renowned hospitality combine to make your Caribbean wedding and honeymoon an unforgettable experience. Make the charming Hummingbird Beach Resort your choice of accommodation in Soufriere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hummingbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Beach Hotel
Hummingbird Beach Soufrière
Hummingbird Beach Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing