We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Hotel with breathtaking views and fantastic food”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful Hotel with breathtaking views and fantastic food”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We came here for our 10th Wedding Anniversary after being recommended by my parents who had come for their anniversary 8 years previous. It is in a beautiful setting overlooking a small bay with the Pitons behind. If you want state of the art hotel rooms with air coditioning, TV and telephone and large swimming pool in the complex and local wildlife nearby in a park, This is NOT for you ! The rooms are found in the jungle hills with all the flora and fauna right there with you and decorated with beautiful art work but no technology! The Tree house, New tree house and Petit Piton Restaurants are all fabulously decorated with art on the walls and sculptures and serve amazing food including a vegetarian menu. They are situated up high overlooking the bay. Down the many steps to the beach you will find another restaurant which in the evening has a Grill menu or Apsara, which is a mix of Caribbean and Indian food. There is also another bay where there is a grill at lunchtime and a bar where the cocktails are fabulous ! The staff are the most friendly and helpful we have met in a long time. It was so peaceful, great if you just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. It is an active resort too, if you want it to be, partly because of all the steps ! There are Yoga and fitness classes during the day on the beach at the pavillion. Kayaks, mountain biking, snorkling and scuba diving are also available. Could not fault the resort at all. We had an amazing time and would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontagueClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    199
    63
    44
    39
See reviews for
120
721
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I just wanted to write a review because I used trip advisor so much to choose our destination. My fiance and I traveled to St. Lucia together and we got married there also. First and foremost I would like to say how much Cory (my fiance) and I enjoyed the staff at Anse Chastanet. Everyone we encounted at the resort was so lovely. Of the staff we really enjoyed Peter Jean Paul, Marilyn, Janel, and Dave. The only person at the Resort we didnt quite enjoy was a lady named Cedelle, who just didnt seem to be a very happy person... everyone else was just so lovely. It was a very relaxing and magnificent vacation/wedding/honeymoon. I would go back in a heartbeat. There are a lot of stairs and if you are in shape you should have no problem with the stairs. We thought of the stairs as our exercise on vacation. They also have a shuttle that you can take down to the beach. Our wedding was just beautiful and the photographer was wonderful. We couldnt have asked for better pictures. The food was pretty good, now I say this being pregnant and having had no taste for anything but cantelope before I left. If you can do it, I would reccomend doing the all inclusive meal like we did. If we hadnt the food would have been pretty expensive. We were in 15A and im not sure what the other rooms looked like but we really liked ours. It was great. Had a view of the jungle and the ocean. Some other rooms looked as though they had great views of the Pitons. The beach was great, we always had a beach hut, and the water was wonderful. The sand was really neat too, because of the volcano erupting or something a long long time ago the beach has black sand. The service was great, sometimes we caught ourselves waiting on the bill... but then we thought- "whats out hurry, its beautiful and we having nothing to do but chill" We met a friend John Bismol on the beach and his motto was "maximum chill" and I think that goes for the whole people... and we loved it. The ride to and from Anse Chastanet from the airport is quite an adventure. If you are pregnant or suffer from car sickness TAKE MEDICINE beforehand. Overall this was an awesome trip and I would tell anyone to go. If you cant have fun here... Well, i dont think you can have anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolAnnCoxArdmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Islip, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Anse Chastanet in August and had an amazing trip. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The grounds are absolutely breathtaking and ifu have a chance to check out jade mountain which is another resort just above anse chastanet, please do so. Its worth it( especially at night). My boyfriend and i snorkeled and went on a couple of excursions. It can get a bit expensive so if you are on a buget be sure to know before hand exactly what u want to do on this trip. They offer a complementary hike of Anse Mamin which was great. Our tour guide jungle, was very knowledge and friendly. Also make sure you have a drink called "coco loco" trust me. I thought the food was ok but loved the deserts. Our room was gorgeous and the fouth wall was missing. We had a tree in our shower, it was spectacular because apparantly only one room in the whole place has that. Make sure you bring lots of bug spray and itching remedies. All in all it was amazing. I will be going back and staying there in the future. It was an unforgettable vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniemouse584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This is the worst hotel I have been to in a long time and I have over a million air miles. Everything here is design to milk money from unsuspecting tourists. Even the road in is kept in terrible condition. The service is so horrendous we switched hotels. I have never before switched out of a hotel in my entire life and that includes the time I found pubic hair and blood on my bed at a low end hotel in Olympia Washington. When switched to a 'more expensive' hotel down the road and it ended up costing us less because there were no nickel and dime charges.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sasadango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This was our second trip to Anse Chastanet and was even better than the first. The staff is wonderful and there is very little turnover - several remembered us from our last trip last year.

We were in room 7F, the one many of the staff said was the best in the resort and we agree. Waking up each morning to the open wall and view of the Pitons cannot be beat.

The food was very good an varied. We alternated between the main restaurant that served European-inspired dishes and the restaurant on the beach with an Indian/St Lucian menu. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the food at both. Given the resort's location (and the bumpy road leading to it) I'd highly recommend the meal plan.

We are divers and the scuba operation is very efficient and friendly. The dive boats are roomy and provide shade and the dive masters go out of their way to find interesting things underwater.

Be advised that the resort is on a hill and the walk up and down from the rooms to the restaurant and the beach requires some serious walking, but they do offer a van for those who prefer to ride.

We'd highly recommend Anse Chastanet - we already made reservations to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vettetraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

In love with this place. The tiki huts on the beach, the food, the staff & the cottages. We had an unbelievable view of the beach and surrounding mountains. This place is perfect for a romantic, relaxing, getaway... The views are incredible, the beach area is fantastic - and you will love the food. So wonderful!

We bought the meal plan - and it worked out perfectly for us.. I would recommend this!

We had a couples massage - and enjoyed every second of the relaxation. It was raining that morning - so made it even more peaceful.

We still talk about the "Welcome Drink" tropical fruit drink they gave us - it was SO DELICIOUS!

Good luck with the steps - make sure you are in shape!! :) Enjoy... we are jealous of anyone going, we want to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HausLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This was my second stay at Anse Chastanet, and it was, unquestionably, just as good as the first one (which happens to be when I got married!). The staff are incredible - so friendly and accommodating. Without question, they help to make each and every vacation a memorable and relaxing one. Diving is spectacular - even when visibility is not at its best. I would highly recommend Anse Chastanet to anyone traveling to St. Lucia. It's secluded and enables you to make your vacation your very own.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
737 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Property: Anse Chastanet
Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing