We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise minus air conditioning...”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 23, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at Anse Chastanet from 16-23 August 2005. We had a magnificent time. The room view, food, scuba diving, hiking, and service were all excellent. An ideal vacation to get away from it all.

I would say that the only downside was no air conditioning, which took a few nights to get used to. Once we got rid of the mosquito netting (which blocked the fan), we slept much more comfortably. We sprayed down with bug spray at night, which prevented most of the bites even without the netting (I still managed to get a line of bites on my forearm, but otherwise came away unscathed).

As many have mentioned. You will have to hike up the mountain to get to your room from the beach, but the view and ambience are well worth it. If you like to be surronded by nature, with few reminders of the outside world, of cell phones and internet and tv, this is the place for you.

I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jessi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2005

We stayed at Anse Chastanet in Feb 05. Before we booked we read the reviews - good and bad! We are so glad we did decide to stay here and not at the Jalousie Hilton. If you want a soul-less resort, with all mod cons that could be anywhere in the world then this is not the place for you. The best thing about Anse Chastanet is the setting and feeling at one with nature. Yes it was hot and humid and noisy at night but you felt as if you had travelled far away from home and far away from just about everything. We were in one of the highest rooms (the "7" rooms) with the best balcony and an amazing view of the Pitons, the bay and all the wildlife. We just sat every evening with a book and a drink, and watched the sun set. Having no TV or distractions was actually a good thing.
The beach was fantastic and the resort staff were great. Having been to Turks and Caicos the year before which is extremely barren we really appreciated the natural beauty of St Lucia and would recommend hiring a car for a day or so to see other parts of the island (the road to the hotel is as bad as they say so is not for the faint hearted driver).
I know a break at Anse Chastanet doesn't come cheap and maybe it isn't the most stylish hotel ever but I would recommend it on the basis that at the end of my holiday I went home feeling it was one of the best I had (on all levels) and the value of that is priceless.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank KLAXERN25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2005

We just got back from a wonderful stay at Anse Chastanet. Words can hardly describe how absolutely wonderful the resort was. Going to bed at nite w/ a mosquito net surrounding a St Lucian handcrafted king size canopy bed w/ the sounds of the frogs was so romantic and relaxing. We enjoyed having coffee every morning in our room with it's 4th wall missing overlooking the rainforest and ocean. We even had a few bird friends accompany us everyday in our living room.

If you are looking for total relaxation with a romantic ambiance while enjoying the outdoors than Anse is the place for you. If you can not appreciate rustic luxary and need a/c, phones, & tv I would not reccomend it. We were in the hillside deluxe rooms at the top of the mountain so we had a super long walk.. After a few days it was not so difficult and well worth the breathtaking views and the breezes at nite.

We had the total romance package and would totally recommend it or atleast some type of meal package b/c the meals/drinks/activities can really add up. The service was amazing, the staff knew who we were and always said hi to us by our names(and we had not even told them who we were). The food was to die for. We really looked forward to seeing what was on the menu for dinner every night and then eating it at the Tree House.

Our days were spent lounging on the beach and doing activities such as Diving. We stayed on the beach every day until after the sunset. St Lucia is a tropical paradise that is not bombarded by commercialism like some of the other islands. We recently were in Tahiti and can compare it to the likes of French Polynesia especially the island of Moorea. We will definately be going back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank sydrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Montreal, Canada
119
Reviewed July 12, 2005

We visited Anse Chastanet at the end of June 2005 continuing into July for a one week stay. The resort is breath taking in it's natural beauty and pristine surroundings. We often found that we had the beach almost completely to ourselves. Take advantage of the free water taxi from the dive shop to go over to their second beach. You can actually have a few hours completely alone without even seeing another person (It's like being on your own private beach). The free tours offered by the resort were made interesting by Meno who always manages to make exploring a fun and comedic experience.

All in all the staff was wonderful. Always aiming to please. Special thanks go to Cornel for all the trouble he went through for the private dinner on the beach. But most of all we'd both like to thank Monica and Shanta for all their help and for making us feel like friends as opposed to being just guests at a resort. I think that's one of the most endearing qualities of this resort. The fact that you can travel thousands of miles from home and end up feeling like you're a member of their family.

The rooms were well maintained and decorated with traditional St Lucian flare. Most of the rooms have screens now so bugs at night aren't as much an annoyance as previous reviews would suggest, although we'd still recommend you bring some Off or bug repellent especially if you do any of the islands rainforest tours. The higher up the hill your room is the more strong the breezes are at night. (The more comfortably you'll sleep) All in all the lack of air conditioning wasn't missed.

If you're thinking about Anse Chastanet for your vacation we'd definately recommend this Resort if you want to getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and see the Carribean the way it was before tourism really took off. The people of St Lucia are proud of their history and way of life. Anse Chastanet is a chance to experience the people of St Lucia as much as it is a resort with staff. Look beyond the staff training and you'll see the true face of the people, don't be surprised to come back home having made a few friends you'll actually miss and think of fondly.

We'll definately return to Anse Chastanet for our full Honeymoon or our Aniversary, and I'm sure we'll go back often. Special thanks to all the staff for sharing their touch of paradise with us.

The Keirl's

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mobile, Alabama
112
Reviewed June 8, 2005

After reading tons of reviews about Anse Chastanet we decided this is the honeymoon destinations for us. We are from Alabama so we are very adapted to the climate. We did see some people from Ohio with bug bites. We were aware of no air coniditioners and lots of stairs so we knew what we were getting into. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and the grounds were well maintained. We had the total romance package. I suggest that if you are going to Anse Chastanet get a package. No surprise charges. We did everything in our package and still had some time to enjoy the beach and daily sunsets. We ordered as many drinks as we could handle which is included in the package. Dave at the Beach Bar did a fabulous job. Thank you DAVE. The food was wonderful every meal was great. Loved the grilled fish and lamb. Can't complain about anything. We will definitely go back. Most favorite experience was the open water dive. I did the resort course and then a dive by the pitons. Aaron was an excellent instructor to dive with and the dive shop team were very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2005

My husband and I spent a week at Anse Chastanet. To summarize our stay, we loved the setting and the people while the rooms left much to be desired, considering the resort's price tag.
Anse Chastanet is located in a beautiful bay surrounded by tropical rainforest and spectacular views of the Pitons. The staff were simply the best and the friendliest people we have ever met. The snorkeling is incredible.
On the downside, we felt that the room (we stayed in a deluxe hillside room) was in need of renovation. The bathroom fixtures were dated and there was mildew in the shower. It rained several times during our stay and each time the staff had to bring buckets to our room as water was coming in through the ceiling - hardly the thing you expect if you are spending $300 + per night.
Finally, while we both are used to living without a/c, we felt that the heat and humdity got the better of us at times. Maybe we were just unlucky because despite our hillside accommodation, we could not feel the slightest breeze from the ocean.
All in all, Anse Chastanet is located in the most beautiful surroundings, the staff are wonderful but considering you are paying quite a bit of money to stay there, we would have expected the rooms and amenities to be a little more upscale.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank uli34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
13
Reviewed May 24, 2005

I absolutely love St.Lucia!! It was fantastic!! I had a lot of fun and it was just so interesting. From the the minute I arrived I knew I was going to have fun. My husband and I stayed at Anse Chastnet which was very beutiful. We went on safari tours, to the beach and also to the Gros_ Islet Friday night street party. If you plan on going to St.Lucia, I strongly sugest that you attend. It was soooo much fun!!!!!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
752 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $366 - $829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing