We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed at Anse Chastanet for a week of diving on the all inclusive package. It was fantastic. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were treated like royalty. The dive operation and operators were there for our every need. They made it so easy the diving was good the coral were so healthy lots of critters to see. The food was incredible lots of selections and very well presented. Everyone at the resort were so friendly and helpful I don't think I have ever encountered such a friendlier staff. Any problem was taken care of immediately. The views from the rooms were just spectacular and they cooled down at night to a very pleasant temp. Go all inclusive it is the only way to go!! So if you want great diving, great food, and friendly people this is the place to be!! Loved it and would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed in one of the superior hillside rooms, a beautiful octagonal room - we were in 6B (Tamarind) which meant we woke up to a stunning view of the pitons every morning. The breakfast location is also lovely, in a treehouse, so the birds come to say hello! Food wise, we thoroughly enjoyed the gourmet dinner with wine pairings. It's quite pricey but great for a special treat. The excursions were fun and well organised from the hotel - we went on the zip lining and the whale watching trips. Sadly we didn't get chance to do the others we'd booked as my mum was taken ill at home and we had to fly back early - the staff at Anse Chastenet couldn't have been more helpful in liaising with the airport to get us home as quickly as possible. The hotel is in an amazing location on the hillside but, by its very nature, this means it is also well over a hundred steep steps up from the beach. In the humidity this was quite strenuous so I wouldn't recommend it for anyone with mobility problems. Light sleepers may also need to take earplugs - the hotel's 'back to nature' ethos means the tree frogs are very audible from sunset to sunrise! That's the only reason I've given an 'average' mark for sleep quality. The bed was very comfortable, we were just woken several times by the frogs!

Room Tip: 6B (Tamarind) had a fantastic view of the pitons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickyTap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you are looking for a nice get-away with amazing food, warm friendly staff and interesting activities nearby, you will love this little boutique resort. If you are looking to be surrounded by other guests and staying in a hotel that could be anywhere, this is not the place for you.
This a wonderful escape and we were shocked on how amazing the food was. We normally do not do "all inclusive:" options. We originally did not. Once we had 2 meals, we knew we would not find better food with out significant effort leaving the resort. We were impressed and surprised by the daily changing selections.

Room Tip: 2A and 2 B have better views that are not obstructed. If you have more cash to go super deluxe, try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELLE_BEE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Anse Chastenet is truly a tropical paradise, and we enjoyed the island vibe. We experienced exceptional service, an overabundance of delicious, gourmet meals, and were treated every day to magnificent views of the resort, ocean, sunsets, sun rise, and the awe inspiring Pitons.

Our room was made up impeccably every day into a romantic place to return to thanks to our "floral designer" housekeeper Berniece. Every staff member we interacted with seemed to enjoy providing service to guests, which was a real change from some places we have been in our travels. There are several hundred variety of birds on the island, and they did wake us up a little early some days.

My husband's dive group went out several days and the dive masters, boat captains and other staff were professional, knowledgeable, and very personable to everyone on their boat. There is good snorkeling right off the beach as well, which I took advantage of as I don't dive.

The beach huts were a perfect way to spend lazing around, and we took advantage of our all-inclusive plan (we didn't include alcohol last time but would in the future) for regular meals as well as time spent at the beach. It was definitely worth the short jaunt to Anse Mamin, which is a little quieter separate beach but with all the same amenities as the main beach area. Very attentive staff there as well.

The food is delicious and there are Indian influences in many of the dishes. Desserts of all kinds, and every tropical drink we could think of were available. With the rough drive into and out of the resort, the all-inclusive plan is really the most efficient way to purchase meals.

Reading about the resort before choosing it is important because all their descriptions are accurate. The resort (and sister property Jade Mountain) is built into a hillside and there are no elevators or escalators. There are a lot of steps down and back from the beach, but plenty of lovely landings to stop and admire the view while you are headed up. For those times when we ate too much dinner, there was a shuttle to drive us up to our rooms which was very nice. The rooms on the hillsides are quaint and spacious but don't have A/C, however we were able to get a second fan which helped.

The plantation mountain bike ride was fun, with plenty of areas to challenge more experienced riders. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining about the history of the plantation.

All in all a gorgeous setting, lots of gourmet food, and gracious staff. We are looking forward to a return trip in the next couple of years!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michellee5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Took off for a long weekend and ended up at this hotel - great choice. Lots of americans staying when we were there, inc plenty of honeymooners.
Delicious food and service - the staff here are exceptionally gracious and friendly - lovely older women serving your meals with a smile and a cheeky gleam in their eye - could not fault them.

Ate very well, plenty of choice - the resort is quiet and peaceful and would probably suit those who are seeking relaxation. On the final day had fully body massages which were superb and made the flight back to UK turn into a brief interlude
.
Some of the nicest staff that I have met in any hotel worldwide - a credit to the place. Would return in a shot

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BullThistleFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

First off, let me say that we had a fantastic time at the Anse Chastanet. The food was fantastic and the hotel staff was just as great as the food. We did the full meal plan, but not inclusive drinks as we don't drink enough to get our money's worth from it.

We stayed in room 7E, which is the highest room on the mountain, and what the staff calls 'The View Room'. The view is incredible. From one side, you look out into the Caribbean, and from the other side you look across and down the coastline and into Soufriere itself. You are at the top of a VERY tall hill (a bit more of that in a minute), and the views are just spectacular. Almost all of the rooms are 'open air' meaning that basically the only thing between you and the rest of the world is a couple of slats of wood. No windows, no walls, no nothing, just open air. We did not have any issues at all with bugs, but there is mosquito netting around your bed that turndown service puts out each night.

We took several of the resort-led trips (one for the hike to the falls, and one to the plantation next door) which were really fun, especially our guide, Meno (sorry if I got the spelling wrong). He was fantastic, and always smiling. We also did the 1-day-a-week zip line which was OK (was nice to kind of cross the island to get there. The zip lining was just fair to good), and spent the other days at the beach. The beach situation was really nice, and the cabanas were some of the best we've seen in the Caribbean.

So, this brings up the 'not for everyone' piece. There is no air conditioning except, I think, in the lowest, beach villas. It was late May when we were there, lows in the mid-70's and highs in the mid-80's (which I think is pretty standard year-round). Coming from Texas was a bit of an adjustment just because we have air conditioning everywhere. All I can say is that for 5 of the 6 days we were there, it was hot, and at times we had to plan our day around finding a cooler spot. In our room the temperature never got below 80 degrees or so. For someone who would prefer it be an ice box to sleep, it was a bit of an adjustment. Light sleepers or late nighters probably won't be fans of the birds chirping and tree frogs croaking starting at about 5am each day. Open air means no air conditioning and no sound barriers to the rest of the world. It is extremely peaceful, relaxing and soothing, but not your typical 'set the thermostat to whatever you want' and 'sleep all day in a tomb' kind of a place. The one day is lightly rained and was overcast was cooler, but most days it was fairly still and you almost had to carry a portable fan around with you when you moved to different places in the room. Again, something you have to get used to.

Also, there is this hill. It's a big hill. It affects how you plan your day, so it's pretty considerable. From the beach to the main dining area/bar was about 180 steps. From the main dining area to our room was another about 170 steps. I am guessing that it is about a 250 foot vertical rise between beach and our room, give or take. That's like climbing the stairs of a 20 story building to go from beach (or beach restaurant) to the room. Or a 10 story building to go from the bar/upper restaurant to your room. One thing is that it keeps you in shape! We felt like we were in better shape going then coming, even though we ate a ton of food during our stay. But, it is something to consider and factor into your choices. They offer a ride up the mountain, but it is usually easier to walk.

Room Tip: 7E is 'the view room'. The most expensive of the rooms. It was fantastic and had plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Fstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a super day there, starting with my reef dive in the morning with scuba st. Lucia, lunch after and the chicken quesadillas were not only big but very tasty, after my second dive in the afternoon, we hAd a wonderful swim and more pitons, overall a great day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
987 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,311 reviews
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
781 reviews
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $329 - $895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing