We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wnderfulresort”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 31, 2014

truely a spectacular resort, beautiful setting, close to the excusions and staff very pleasant and accomodating.Make sure to kayak as the view out in the water overlooking the Pitons and the hotelgrounds gives you a "wow" reaction!. food excellent . the only concern was there is not just simple bfast of juice and cereal fruit other than paying the 17.00 price.we also stayed up North at St. James club which also had a very positive appeal.I do recommend that you start your visit at Anse Chastenet and then cruise up to St James bay for a real nice all inclusive relaxing end to vacation. You need 2 wks on this beautiful Island to explore it all!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
There are newer reviews for Anse Chastanet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is by far the best location to stay - cannot believe you'd go all the way to St lucia and not want to enjoy the stunning view of the Pitons every day.
Also a convenient location for the Botanical gardens.
The food is excellent and great for vegetarians.
The staff are friendly and genuine.
Go to the stunning Anse Mamin beach just a couple of minutes walk along from Anse Chastanet. It is paradise. Great beach bar with great cocktails and burgers.
Behind Anse Mamin is a plantation and a lovely hiking trail and you are rewarded with amazing views across the resort and pitons.
You must do the hkie up to Gros Piton - not too strenuous. Take good trainers. Takes 3 hr 20 if you are fast or 4 hrs average.
Dont miss a half day or sunset sailing trip - exhillerating. Kayaking is great too.
Worth pottering in to Soufriere for the morning - real Caribbean atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

There is no question that Anse Chastenet is located in a gorgeous bay with astonishing views of the Pitons. The superior hillside rooms, the '7' rooms are magical. No windows, but for the back wall , the rooms are open to the outside. You feel a part of nature, like staying in an elegant treehouse. Large, high ceilinged, with fans on the lanais and above the king bed which is surrounded by white cloud like netting. The most romantic room we've ever been in.
Being so high above sea level, bugs aren't an issue. Just soft, warm breezes around you as you sleep.
The beach bay is beautiful, with deep cushioned lounges in pairs under a grass covered roof set inside a round table. The beach staff were extraordinary; guiding you to the cabana of your choice and laying fitted toweling on the beds, large beach towels and an ice bucket with a large bottle of local spring water. The roofs of the cabanas are so densely made that even in the odd shower, you were dry and comfortable. Some guests, however, were prone to putting down their books at a water front cabana then leaving for several hours. When we complained, Beach steward, Abo, knew which guests were likely to be more than an hour and would accommodate us at those spots. As we've seen at other resorts, a few posted signs asking that guests respect others by not saving cabanas for more than an hour would be helpful.
The resort offered beach food and beverage service which meant that should you choose to eat at the table in your cabana, the same beach restaurant menu was available and service exceptional. And rather than staff interrupting your relaxation by asking if you'd like a drink or food, each cabana has a yellow flag on a pole that you would plant in the sand whenever you needed service.
We loved the Happiness Team at the beach were a delightful surprise. Junior and Oliver dropped by your cabana twice a day to spritz you with eucalyptus water and give you cooled, lemon grass scented cloths.
All the staff at Anse Chastenet were accommodating and charming.
Now to the criticisms, few as they are. The food, while good, is inconsistent. If you arrange the all inclusive package, you can expect a bottle of wine in your room fridge when you arrive, but beyond that, you have to purchase a bottle of wine for your room, or order drinks at the main building bar and get them up to your room; not an easy feat for guests mid way up the considerably steep hill. Just didn't seem to be a lot of sense in that arrangement. If you're all inclusive, then you should have a bottle of wine included rather than having to order and carry glass by glass.
The climb up the roadway to your room, if you're at the midway point up, is arduous as is the climb from the beach to the main building level. Shuttles are available but you should be aware that it's a difficult go getting up to your rooms should they be on the upper reaches of the resort and those are the rooms with the astonishing views.
Though we appreciated the spirit, the rooms are tech-free which means no wi-fi, TVs or the one thing that troubled us, way to contact with the reception so if you needed something in your room, be prepared to walk to the main building. The hotel's more expensive, big sister, Jade Mountain provides guests with a local cell phone to contact their own butler for any needs. We actually had to look up the local phone number of the resort and call them when we needed assistance. It struck us as not only inconvenient but somewhat irresponsible should guests find themselves in dire need of help.
You should also be prepared for the low room lighting. The dozens of wicker chandeliers in the rooms have the gold bulbs that are bug proof; a great idea but it makes getting ready for the evening a challenge. It's romantic but impractical at times. What would be very helpful is make up mirrors that have lights. There is no reading light either so bring your own. And you'd best select your wardrobe before it gets dark because the closets aren't lit either.
We also felt we'd spent a week sitting on uncomfortable chairs. The main bar lounge is furnished with low wicker chairs that have seen better days. It's impossible to sit up; slouching is the only option. The dining chairs too were uncomfortable so we were constantly adjusting and moving. It's not a major issue but given the 4 Diamond, 5 Star rating it boasts and how much time you want to spend on this type of vacation relaxing comfortably, you should be able to do just that.
There is no pool either. The beach is lovely but if you want the pool environment, you're out of luck.
We'd return if for no other reason than the magic of the superior hillside rooms and the property itself. But we do question the value for the considerable cost. A few improvements and it would meet the 5-star expectations it boasts.
Finally, it's an adult resort. Though children are clearly welcome, as we saw families, if your kids need other kids and you want kids programs, you won't get it at Anse Chastenet. Nor should you - it is geared more to adults.

Room Tip: The '7' rooms; best views, large, no exterior wall; magical.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bearswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

After the 1 1/2 hour drive down from the Northern part of the island where we had spent a few days it was a surprise to see that the last mile or so up to the resort is not paved. Apparently the owners do this on purpose with efforts to detour the locals. So if your one that gets a bit car sick, prepare yourself....

I felt we were rushed after getting out of the car to go to the reception area--later to find out our room wasn't even ready! I needed a moment to just be still from the car ride and the woman helping us was rushing me to follow her down the stairs...not sure what the point of that was, again since our room wasn't even ready. Just seemed a bit unorganized since we weren't told where we were going and to leave our bags, etc...a bit more communication would have been appreciated.

After filling out the required forms we were told we could use the beach until the room was ready. We never got a tour of the property or a map...so we were on our own to figure it out. I felt this could have been handled better...

Be prepared -- it is 130+ steps from the lobby to the beach. There is a shuttle service which most seemed to utilize - we did not so I cannot comment.

The chairs at the beach are amazing --super comfortable. There is a staffer that sets up your own private hut with the towels (which are also very nice) It is a great romantic setting for people looking for a peaceful and relaxing experience. There were only a handful of children there when we stayed -- that was the only human noise to be heard on the beach, everyone else was quiet and respectful to themselves.

Ordered food for lunch - very very good.

We inquired about the status of our room and learned it was ready - we were originally told someone would let us know but that never happened.

The room was very nice and spacious. The only problem is the location. It is the 1st room above the restaurant where breakfast is served. So if you get this room be prepared to be woken up around 6 am by the staff setting up, etc. We were not prepared for the "people" noise. Obviously the room is basically in the jungle so the animal sounds were expected and quiet peaceful.

We enjoyed the open air feel of the room and the lack of technology - dont come here expecting to connect to WIFI or watch TV -- come to relax. The rooms are definitely outdated and could use some reno's for what you pay to stay here. i.e. a simple bathroom update would make a world of difference.

Be prepared for the hill walking up to the rooms, between that and walking up and down to get to the beach, we definitely got a great workout in!

If your looking for a different experience, a open air room exposed to the elements this is a great choice. In all we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: 1 side of the hill is a view of the Pitons, the other is the jungle side rooms. Avoid the 1st room...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LC0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We followed recommendations to visit Anse Chastanet after spending three days at Villa Beach Cottages. Short drive to the region, and up the mountain (a fairly arduous drive in a little SUV) to Anse Chastanet. The view is breathtaking, and the place is a little rustic, but well cared for and just wonderful. Hard to get the combination of rain forest living and a beautiful beach at the same property, but if you can make the climb it's very achievable here. Our room was nearly perfect. They do not cater to US power needs (bring your own converter). The living room/dining room/living area is essentially open air, up against the trees, with a beautiful view of the Pitons and the beach. We took countless photos. Your bedroom, bathroom and a large walk-in closet are behind screens and louvers, and artfully draped mosquito netting covered the bed. Ultra-romantic, and very comfortable. We had a little difficulty keeping cool at night with the ceiling fans, and an accessory fan was a bit noisy, but only a small matter. Food is better than average at the restaurants, and the bar is active and we could get a very good martini (they had been lacking prior to getting here). The beach is pretty magnificent. Services are easy to get at the beach as well, and there is an active dive shop, snorkeling, kayaks, boards, and a water taxi to get around. The reef is amazingly beautiful and unspoiled. I can't say enough about the service. St. Lucians are basically great people, all nice and with no touristy edge. The staff was very concerned, and happy to help you.

We will return. We were interested in Jade Mountain (top of the mountain and managed by the same organization) but could not get up there to see it. We were quite happy at Anse Chastanet, however.

Room Tip: get the view of the Pitons - high floor maybe a little better.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdpinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

One of the reviewers called this a Paradise and I have to agree.

My husband and I were with friends and I were there for diving and just to enjoy St. Lucia. We had no idea what to expect other than the reviews on Tripadvisor and other sites, so knew it was a resort of great reputation.

We had no idea how fabulous everything was, from our accommodations (on beach level) to the food, which was to die for! My friends and husband are divers and loved the diving and really liked the dive masters and boat captains. I loved the snorkeling, which is right along the resort's main beach.

There is a second beach, which is a little bit of a walk but so worth it! We had the best hamburgers I have ever, ever eaten at the grill. Banana ketchup is the best and they make their own johnnie cake buns!

The rooms are amazing and all have art works that are created by artists of re-known, as the owner of the resort has artists stay in residence and their works stays behind when they leave.

Of course, Jade is the crown jewel and sets above AC on a hillside. You can eat up there and stay within your meal plan. We did several times, enjoyed the view of the Pitons from the dining room and upper deck. The suites are incredible and all have infinity pools, so when you look down from the restaurant, you can see the pools and bridges to the suites. A very interesting setting and building site, for sure.

We loved the staff and everyone was so kind and helpful. I can't say enough about how much we were made to feel welcome.

The only wireless is in the reception area, so I made the hike several times a day to check on a sick dog at home, and I did get my exercise. I think I counted 143 steps from the beach, so be aware that it's a hike to and from the beach areas.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

All in all it was a nice stay. Cheaper than some places and for good reason. While the area is amazing, great views, nice beach, immersive wild life, good service, they charge prices of 5-star resort - which they are most surely not. I went in knowing the rooms were a bit rustic (stayed in superior hillside), and they were (also looked like a 5yr-old designed them). I think my biggest issue with the place is that they could make very minor investments in the rooms, the quality of the food, likely years overdue, which would go great lengths to justify the sky-high prices they charge while you're there. We spent little time in the rooms, but frankly, they are making enough money at this place, that they could afford an update to make this a more well-rounded experience...

To put this in perspective, we spent the second half of our trip at sugar beach, spending only ~150 more a night for their most basic room, and were charged less for drinks/food/activities while there. Meanwhile, you felt in every aspect that you were getting what you paid for: a 5-star experience. Not so at Anse in many respects.

I guess the main point here is, don't avoid it if your looking for a budget room (i think the beach side rooms are pretty cheap and offer an inexpensive way to access a nice property), but if you are going to spend between 600-1000/night, not sure this place warrants those prices. (Jade Mnt on the otherhand looked worth it). Anyway, if you do go, try the hiking and biking at the other beach, it was a nice experience and really good staff - worth checking out.

Room Tip: If you stay on the hillside, try to get a piton view. we got a room with piton/sea view and it was p...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nyc8210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
947 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
748 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $296 - $769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing