We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went to dive, and were very happy”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We traveled to St. Lucia September 7-15 and enjoyed the beautiful setting at Anse Chastenet resort, diving with Scuba St. Lucia. Anse Chastenet is located on the Southwestern side of the island, just north of the town of Soufriere, far away from the “action.” Best known for its stunning views of the Piton Mountains, this resort has earned the reputation as one of the most romantic Caribbean destinations. Honestly, we were probably more interested in the diving. Kenton and Keifer were our dive guides for the week and quickly realized that safe and fun diving was the order of the day—every day—and it seemed they had nearly as much fun with the group as the group did them.

We spent five days of three-tank boat diving and all the shore diving you can stand. The dives were excellent, even those near shore where we found octopi and frogfish, along with lots of other sealife. Due to the resort’s location, which is in the Soufriere Marine Management Area, we never saw another dive boat, save one trip north to dive the wreck of the Lesleen M, a 180 foot freighter purposely sunk as a dive site in 1985. The wreck is very open and nearly encrusted with many species of soft corals. It’s home to eels, several schools of small fish, a juvenile spotted drum, etc.

Other dive sites included Anse Chastenet Reef, Pinnacles, Fairyland, Piton Wall, Jalousie, Coral Gardens and, one of our favorites (we did it twice, it was so fun!) Superman’s Flight. One of the Superman movies featured a shot of Superman flying down one of the Pitons into the water and the place he splashed is now named for him. Keifer had us all doing the Superman pose and “whooshing” our way into every dive.

The food was excellent, the staff pretty typical for the Caribbean--kind of hit and miss but, overall, acceptable--and the rooms both eclectic and luxurious. Each room is different and those higher on the mountainside (there are plenty of steps to navigate to work off those delicious deserts) feature open walls to enjoy the ocean breezes.

We, however, did stay in the rooms on the beach, which feature A/C. Down among the trees and beautiful tropical flowering bushes, the breeze was non-existent. We'd have roasted but, as it was, we were very comfortable. The bathroom is not air conditioned but it wasn't a big deal.

A few non-divers (and divers) took advantage of some of the side trips offered and visited Soufriere, the Sulfur Springs and a botanical tour through the old plantation property that surrounds the resort. We even chartered their 60 foot, double-decker catamaran, the Lucky T, for a sunset island cruise. Somehow, a conga line formed, the crew joined in and a good time was had by all.

Room Tip: Air conditioning at beach level. I liked that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DVenturesMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband... in an attempt to treat me to a romantic getaway, booked several days in this resort. The trip from the airport where we landed was very long. There was a closer airport... perhaps that should have been pointed out. The taxi was very expensive. Strike one. I was car sick from the drive and heat... Find out that the beautiful room he had booked had no air conditioning. In the Caribbean! Are they nuts? Strike two. It is @9 or 10pm or so... we've been told there's some food left out in the room since there's nothing open in the resort at this hour. The food was left out on top of a table, covered with some plastic wrap. It was disgusting. Strike three. We sat out for a while to cool off... mosquitos! Strike four. So, let's see... heat and mosquitos. Charming! We were exhausted, so... just took a cold shower and went to bed... only to be awakened by a loud kitchen crew checking in for work about 6am. All windows are open... you hear each and every sound. Strike five. Couldn't go back to sleep because of the heat... OK, let's go have some breakfast. Ha! We had to climb incredibly steep stairs to the dining area to, at best, a mediocre breakfast... Strike six. OK, let's hit the beach.... White sandy beach? Ha! Try coarse and dark. Rocky beach. Some ppl may like that, so I'm not giving it a strike. Spent the day at the beach, thought maybe things will improve as we get used to the heat. Lunch was served downstairs... but, dinner you had to climb to the top again. Dinner was just as underwhelming as breakfast. We were tired from the early wake up and had mentioned to the hotel that their ppl had awakened us if they could please be quieter. They promised to mention it. Second day... same thing. Up at 6 am again. We skipped breakfast. Too exhausted to climb. Had lunch instead... not great, but ok. We decided to try a restaurant off the premise for dinner... This is where it gets interesting... They are not helping us find a place. We kept getting the runaround... Why didn't we like their food? That sort of thing. We're getting a weird feeling... So, we booked a tour of the area... we asked around in the tour and were able to get a taxi to come and fetch us to take us to a restaurant for dinner. We finally had our first decent meal in St Lucia! I wish I could remember the name of the restaurant. We decided we wanted to leave and go elsewhere... Long story short, it was a major hassle... suffice it to say, we had to leave by boat. Incidentally, with another couple who overheard us and had also had enough. Look, the place has great views. Period. Spend your money elsewhere. It's simply not worth it.

Room Tip: I traveled before November 2012...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mambisa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I loved this place! The rooms were great, the food even better, and the staff were perfection.
We were able to be upgraded to the Deluxe Beach rooms with air conditioning. There really is no view from these lower rooms but you make it up in size of the rooms and location. It is only a few steps to the beach and scuba shop. 10c was our room and it had an extra large patio. The hillside rooms have stunning views and that cannot be beat. If you need the air conditioning I would recommend getting the lower beach rooms.
All the restaurants have a great menu and absolutely the best food I have ever had at a resort. Emeralds is their vegetarian spot but we could order off their menu while dining in the Treehouse. My favorite was Apsara, the Indian themed restaurant. Others in the group (10) liked the Trou Au Diable (beach grill) but all agreed that the Treehouse was the most tongue tingling! We did get a chance to go to lunch up at Jade as well as enjoy a sunset happy hour....what a beautiful place. The rooms are to die for, the staff exquisite and the food beyond compare. Jade Mountain is certainly a piece of art that just happens to be a 5 star hotel.
Thank you to Caroline and all your staff for making our stay so memorable! Special thanks to Octavia, the house cleaner, Janelle and Marilyn the waitresses and all the staff that were always so friendly, warm and helpful!
Make sure you know exactly what your meal plan includes. We initially thought we had beverages but then told we did not, then we were told we did, and then later in the day told we that was a mistake and that we did not. Of course they comped us the beverages we did already have but it was rather confusing going back and forth explaining the the group what the latest was.

Room Tip: Hillside for views, beachside for convenience and air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kt10518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a fabulous resort and well worth a return trip in the future! I brought a group of ten down for diving and we were upgraded to the Beach rooms with air conditioning. Caroline made it a point to see that we were all doing well and comfortable. The Beach side rooms are, obviously close to the beach and dive shop so are convenient for that. They do not have a view at all so be willing to give up that for air conditioning. Friends that were staying in the rooms with a view said they would have gladly given up the view for the air.
We were able to enjoy a happy hour up at Jade Mountain resort with the group and timed it around sunset so we could have the best possible photo ops. What a beautiful place. If you have the opportunity to stay there, even for a night, I would recommend it.
The food at all four restaurants at Anse Chastanet was beyond belief. 5 star dining while on a dive trip was amazing. The one complaint I had was the confusion about the meal plan we were on. I was under the impression we were on the plan that included beverages but found out we were not. We were then told that was a mistake and that we were on the plan. Then we were told we were not. The confusion was more upsetting than anything else and going back and forth was sorting to get annoying as I had to keep updating 9 others in the group as to the latest decision. Beverages are rather pricey (5$ for a can of pop and 16$ for a glass of wine).
The staff are all fabulous and some stand out. Marilyn the waitress was great and entertaining. Octavia, providing our housekeeping was friendly and helpful, and Janell, also a waitress was splendid.
Scott, the manager of the dive shop and all activities was great! He was always available and did everything to make our diving easy and fun. The dive shop staff are all friendly and extremely helpful. Fabian, one of the captains even repaired my mask for me! Of course, the dive masters are what make the trip so great. Dave and Keither are the best. Thank you to you all!

Room Tip: Beach rooms have air conditioning but no view. We had room 10C and it was big with an extra large pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kt10518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The rooms are huge and wonderful, as long as you appreciate hand made everything, including all the furnature. The views over the bay are stunning, each morning we awoke at 05.00 just to watch the sun rise, cup of tea in hand.
Absolutely stunning! The fact there are no windows, just openings some with shuuters for privacy meant that you actually feel that you are living right in the flora and fauna of this beautiful island.
The staff are increadible, so chilled but so helpful.
The food quality was also excellent, just be careful of over zealous birds trying to join in.
While we where there, we did have an occassion where our daughter chose to have cereal, although she had to swap boxes as when emptied out it was also full of red ants. However, this was all part of living in the middle of such beauty and did not trouble us what so ever.
We have a policy of never going the same place twice, so that we see as much of the world as possible. However, Anse Chastanet may just see us again some time....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Anse Chastanet! It is very beautiful and everyone was extremely kind. We stayed during the first week in September.

ROOMS: Unfortunately, the power went out in our first room (a standard room). That night they moved us over to a Hillside - these didn't have as much privacy. But then we were upgraded to a Premium Hillside suite, and that room was incredible and easily made up for it. The staff worked hard to minimize the impact on us. We had already planned to go on one of the walks in the following morning. Afterwards, we packed up our stuff and then headed to the beach. They moved our things to the new room while we were enjoying the beach. It really could not have been a smoother process! The owners even emailed me when we returned to apologize for any inconveniece.

The premium hillside room (7E) had views of both the ocean and the Pitons - each view had it's own sitting area. The shower was about 100sq ft with views of the Pitons. Beware it is open concept! This room was larger than most of the apartments I had as a young adult. Words can't do it justice, check out the pictures!

With the fan on, I was never hot. In fact, I was cold and had to get the extra blanket out of the closet - yes, in all 3 of the rooms I stayed in. Also, someone mentioned a converter below - and it was located in the closet.

ACTIVITIES: Sailing was absolutely awesome! We sailed towards the Pitons and snorkeled in front of Sugar Beach hotel. I highly recommend this of all of the activities there! The guided walk with Meno was also excellent - he told us a lot about the local plants and animals. Yoga on the beach was great too - we took 5 classes!

ANSE MAMIN BEACH: This resort has an incredibly beautiful second beach! And the best part is WE WERE THE ONLY ONES THERE! There was a grill and bar, and the staff was very friendly. But for the better part of 2 days - we were the only guests!! I guess the others either didn't know about it or were too lazy to walk over to it. The food was better at this beach grill than at the main beach. The beach lounges didn't have the thick cushions like at the other beach, but who cares when you have it all to yourself! It was the perfect place to relax and recuperate! My husband enjoyed the hammock. Also, the shore is less rocky and steep here than at the main beach - which makes it easier to get in and out of the water.

THE FOOD: was good not anymore expensive than any other island hotel restuarant. We enjoyed the Tree House restaurant, but it's nice to have a wider selection, especially for those of us who choose to eat all of our meals there. Even then, the beach grill staff accommodated my request to add chicken to the penne pasta :)

Lastly, someone previously mentioned it being difficult to have charges removed. They gave us our bill the night before to review and asked us to let them know in advance if anything was wrong. It was correct and we did not require any modifications - even though we charged to mulitple rooms during our stay.

Overall they are very accommodating and go above and beyond to ensure that you are enjoying your stay there. This is definitely not your 4Seasons or Hilton type hotel - it's so much better! If you want a butler (and tons of people) go to Sandals. This is your peace and quite, back to nature, just want to be left alone resort.

Room Tip: The deluxe hillside (octagon) rooms have the least privacy. Premium Hillside are the best if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location, location, location! The luxury cottages are spread on the hill overlooking the bay, top chefs offer fine dining and staff is friendly and free snorkling and sailing gear to discover the beautiful nature of the bay. Still remember the beach staff who served me with complimentary fresh fruits, lemon grass cold towel and eucalyptus spray. Top!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DutchAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
971 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
747 reviews
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $389 - $928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing