We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

No pool, no aircon, no tv, no telephones in the room, 125 steps to the beach (not counting the walk up the hill) - but just about the best hotel we have ever stayed at!

We stayed for two weeks all-inclusive in August and can truly say that the food we enjoyed at Anse Chastenet is the best hotel food we've had anywhere. I've had individual meals that were better, sure, but not consistently at this quality. With the three restaurants there's plenty of variety and that's not counting the lunchtime bbq beach grill at Anse Mamin that's also part of the deal. The staff are absolutely superb and go to every effort to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. The location is unbelievable, particularly at Jade Mountain (cocktails at sunset!), the beach is spotless (it's raked every morning) and the sea is beautiful, warm, safe and inviting - I'm still relishing the swim before breakfast on the last day!

If you can, get an all-inclusive deal so that you leave all your money worries behind - and then relax and make the most of your time in paradise. There's plenty to do plus a few freebee small excursions thrown in. I took a 6 dive package with the great outfit at Scuba St Lucia and saw a seahorse!

Before we went we were concerned that it may be too hot with no air-con, but our hillside room (it seemed more like a cottage) had no windows and two walls which were basically open with wooden slats so there was plenty of fresh air and the three ceiling fans helped keep us cool. You'll need ear-plugs though as the tree frogs and cicadas in the rainforest make a right din!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ducktees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    199
    63
    44
    39
See reviews for
120
721
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our honeymoon was just as the title says .. paradise. Without rambling about how great we felt this trip was, I'll try to get into specific details for anyone thinking of this destination. My wife and I were so pleased the whole week about our decision to come here. We will certainly be making a return trip as soon as we can. It was so amazing and can't say enough great things about this resort and its staff.

So first some summary/setup. We came to Anse Chastanet on the Total Romance package which is all inclusive. I highly recommend this package as we did not have to spend a penny unless we wanted a specific bottle of wine or bought gifts in the shop. You do not have to pay for food or drinks (including alcohol) with this package, and you are given vouchers for various excursions / activities. I also believe that it can get pricy to go the "a-la-carte" route.

On the trip in, its roughly an hour and a half into the resort from Hewanorra airport. You are picked up by the resort and travel through Soufriere and by the Pitons. Not a bad drive for weaving through the terrain. At the very end you go off the pavement and onto more of a gravel road. This is bumpy, so if one has back problems this would be difficult. Overall, not a difficult trip at all to get to the resort which is tucked away in a remote location so a little work to get there is expected.

Upon arrival, you are greeted by a moist mint towel and refreshing local drink. The staff immediately begins to take care of you and they truly work to make your experience a great one. The resort is a sister resort to Jade Mountain and the two resorts share a private beach. The beach is well kept and the water is very clear. The resorts are situated on a hill and then the beach is at the base of that. The beach has huts all along it with chairs for you to lay out on. We had rain occasionally (it was August) during our stay. Honestly though it did not bother us. The scenery is just breathtaking and you can stay underneath the huts on the beach and remain dry. There were many days with sun so the rain was really no factor. It could rain for 20 minutes and then be gone.

The rooms were out of this world. We stayed in 14B, and this was also our first experience with the open room concept. Have to say I'm a big fan of the concept now after that week. It made the views outside unreal. Our room had one entire wall missing, which is slightly different than others that have the louvered windows all the way around in an octagonal shape. My recommendation for rooms in general are go as high as you can. The views just get better as you go up and the walk up becomes normal after the first couple times. To touch on the open concept again for anyone skeptical (I was), I can say that everything I worried about was not a problem. First I was concerned I would get too hot without any AC, and this was August. However the nights get cool enough and the breeze makes it quite comfortable. In addition you have a fan over your bed for extra air circulation. Second I was worried about bugs/critters for my wife, and she was fine with the random gecko that might be on the wall. Nothing crazy came in that was on the floor or in our bed. There is actually a net that goes around the bed which looks nice and keeps anything out at night. I will recommend bringing insect repellent and an after bite remedy. There is not a TV, but you won't miss it.

Touching quickly on the food I'll say it was great. There was a wide variety of cuisine and usually multiple options for meat. My wife and I enjoy trying new food so this was very fun for us. Meals were artfully done but very much full in flavor. We ate most nights at the Treehouse Restaurant.

Lastly the resorts's excursions are a great selling point as well. We were anxious to get to relax but wanted to have some things to do throughout the week. Included in the Total Romance package were multiple excursions which was great. Even if they weren't included I would recommend paying for them. You go only with those from either Anse Chastanet or Jade Mtn so the group is usually pretty small. One in particular we did that we really loved was a Jazzy Sunset cruise. There is a catamaran boat that takes you along the coast at sunset, and you sit on the upper deck and get to listen to a saxophonist accompany jazz music. Thank you to the crew that runs this we had a great time! As you come back to the resort at night they turned on more upbeat music and everyone is just dancing on the trip back and having a good time. So I would highly recommend this excurision.

Overall the trip was great, but obviously not for everyone. You have to be willing and wanting to remove yourself from technology and just enjoy the environment. You also need to be comfortable with the open room concept and walking up and down a hill. I will say they can provide shuttles though if you need. If you are looking for something that puts you into a lush jungle with great scenery and a spectacular beach this will go above and beyond your expectations. This resort is a unique place and if you enjoy a little adventure you will not be disappointed, even if it rains.

Room Tip: We stayed in 14B which had a wide view of the jungle hillside and the ocean. We were north west fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great location but expect to pay OUTRAGEOUS amounts for ALL soft drinks even on half board. There's no information telling you that dinner only includes food, in fact a waiter told us at the start of our holiday that drinks were included. At $6 for every can of coke, over a week's holiday for 4 people we were rather shocked to be told at the end of the holiday that soft drinks weren't included in HB.

Another rip off - don't use the hotel's offer of a cab from the airport, the price again is OUTRAGEOUS. Use a local cab-it was literally half the price !!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FowlerSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I read over a 100 reviews on this place before I finally decided on it. I thought I could provide a very thorough review to help others who may be in the place I once was.

First off, I never take the time to write reviews but I was so blown away by this place that I just felt the need to tell everyone.

We stayed for one week in a deluxe hillside room.
My fiance and I had a unforgettable experience at this place and would definitely pay the big bucks to do it all over again.

Rooms
The reviews are true there is no air conditioning in the rooms and they are more like rustic tree houses than hotel rooms. It took a little bit of getting use to but I feel like the room gives you an authentic experience. There are also no tvs. You are on vacation you don't need it. My fiance and I spend all our time at home watching tv this forced us to spend qaulity time together it was quite wonderful.

Food
Exceptional!! I am a very picky eater and I did not have a single meal I did not enjoy. They had 5 resturants that had different menus every day our only regret is we didnt have enough time to try everything. When you go to the caribbean you expect mediocre buffet food at best. At anse chasanet everything is a la carte prepared fresh and every meal was like dining at a fine dining establishment. However, I think it's essential to pay the extra and get the all inclusive package as the meals seperatley would be quite pricey. As well, be weary of "caribbean time" I think coming from a big city you're use to service and food being very quick and efficient. They encourage you to slow down and take your time to really enjoy yourself.

Service
The staff here at anse chastanet really know how to go above and beyond to meet your every need. I have a few points of service i'd love to share.
We somehow locked ourselves out of our bathroom at 3 in the morning they glady sent a handy man to our room 5 minutes later.
We also managed to lose our safe key on the beach. It would of costs $80US to drill the safe. We were quite distraught but 3 staff members raked the beach for an hour until they found it. If thats not service I don't know what is
I also mentioned to the chef that I loved the coconut macaroons they made, he couldnt get me any before I left (because they weren't made yet) but he had vaccum sealed fresh shredded coconut sent to my room so that I could make them myself at home!! These are some of the examples of the staff going so out of their way to accomodate us that made our stay so unforgettable.

The staff also perform turndown service twice a day. Once in the morning to freshen things up and make your bed and once again at night to layout the mosquito net and light the candles to keep the bugs away.
There is also full service on the beach. You lay in the cabana and just plant the provided flag in the sand when you need anything and an attenedant will glady bring you any drink or food you want that was one of our favourite features of this hotel!

Grounds
This resort is NOT a party hotel. If you want to go with a bunch of friends I recommend the sandals I hear they're awesome for that. This resort is definitely a honeymoon resort everything is set up for a romantic experience. From candle light dinner everynight with tables only set for twos.
There were amazing views of stars and they light up pathways on the beaches at night so you can go for romantic walks.
The beach itself is not that big compared to the bigger chain resorts i've been to but we never had a problem getting a cabana to lay in (cabana use is also free :)
Note:* there is no pool, but who needs a pool when you have the ocean?

Activities
The snorkeling along the beach is beautiful, if you can swim over to anse chasanets sister island you get to see giant sea turtles.

I've never been scuba diving before but I took thier very reasonably priced course. It was simple to understand and very straight forward I loved it so much I paid $40 extra and got an additional guided boat dive. Our tourguide was amazing he made a point to find things that we would have never seen otherwise.

I would also highly reccommend the walking tour of sourfriere them hotel offers for free every saturday morning. I love getting to know what carribbean islands are really like and I feel like you can only really do that when you step outside of the resort. Our guide was extremley knowledgable about the nature on the way and he's actually from the town of Soufrire as well so he was able to give us a very thorough tour of the town.

If you want a little bit of party during your stay I suggest the friday night fish fry. They take you to a neighbouring island where you can buy all the local foods and have a drunken good time.
tip: get your money exchanged at the hotel it'll be cheaper and easier because the locals usually priced things in their currency.

Additional notes:
There are loud tree frogs at night it was weird the first night but eventually we got use to the sound and actually missed it when we returned home. If you are a light sleeper you'll need earplugs.
There are also lots and lots of stairs. 105 from the lobby to the beach I counted one day out of curiousity.
If you're in reasonable shape you should be fine. After a few days you get use to them.
The hotel is located on top of a hill the ride from the airport was up twisting and riding roads followed by a very bumpy hill up to the actual hotel if you get motion sickness bring gravol.
I don't think this would be an appropriate family resort. Everything is catered to adult tastes.

I hope this review was helpful. If you are looking for a unique caribbean getaway but are tired of the cookie cutter places this is the place for you. If you enjoy gourment food and execptional service this is the place for you. Enjoy! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mkhuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Let me start by saying that this hotel isn't for everyone. The hotel is located in a rustic area, surrounded on all sides by jungle. There is no AC and no TVs in the rooms and with St. Lucia being so close to the equator it is going to be hot. Anyone that is unable to handle going up or down stairs on a daily basis should honestly look for another hotel.
That being said, my wife and I had an amazing time on our honeymoon here. The views are simply breathtaking, the snorkeling/scuba diving is world class, and the food was delicious. We opted for an all inclusive package which we would highly recommend to anyone staying at this resort. Having all of our food and beverages paid for in advance made for a stress free trip, especially when we saw how much our food would have cost at the end of each meal. With the beach area being such a great place to lunge for hours on end, having our mojitos and daiquiris (both were some of the best we’ve ever had) prepaid for was a huge plus because between the two of us we had over a 200$ a day bar bill. Again, can’t stress enough that I would go with the all inclusive food and drink packages.
The locals couldn’t have been any more friendly and hospitable during our stay. We expected this from the staff at the resort, who didn’t disappoint .Even the taxi drivers, tour guides, and local beach vendors fell into this category which was a pleasant surprise. We are already planning our next trip back to the island.
I would recommend anyone who was not put off by the first part of my review. In my opinion, everything this hotel has to offer far outweighs anything that it doesn’t. Our room, 7A had without a doubt one of the best views at the resort.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7A, anyone considering one of the Hillside rooms should spend the extra money on u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The lack of air-conditioning in the hillside rooms and the unbelievably loud frogs ALL NIGHT made it impossible to sleep. It was August and rainy season and it rained a lot. I didn't realize frogs get even louder when it rains! Scaling the hill to get back and forth from the room to the beach was a chore, but I suppose it was good exercise. This resort tries very hard to be "all that" and is very expensive. The grounds are beautiful, but the facilities seem a little run down. If you are not in the air-conditioned beach side rooms, there is no place to escape the heat except for The Spa, which was pricey but the therapists were well trained. Neither restaurant or bar is enclosed and the bugs feasted on me. This wasn't the vacation I thought it was going to be. At least my husband enjoyed the diving (I do not dive, but the snorkeling was very nice right off the beach).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeToGetAwayNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great service. Food excellent quality but menu god restrictive towards the end of the week.
We stayed in the beachfront rooms which were well worth the upgrade for convenience and Aircon. They are spacious and well furnished.
My wife checked out some of the hillside rooms and said they were looking a bit tired.
Diving and snorkeling was good and rental equipment well maintained and good quality.
The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, although the Dive guides were less so than some places I have been

Room Tip: See comments on rooms above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank radish20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
737 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Property: Anse Chastanet
Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing