We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but beware of ongoing construction!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Landings St. Lucia
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Doug1318
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful but beware of ongoing construction!”
Reviewed January 30, 2010

The good news: Beautiful rooms and very nice beach with excellent swimming; accommodating hotel staff and plenty of them. Food was average but the outdoor restaurant has a fantastic view.

The bad news: It's an ongoing construction site with two large building in mid-construction. They call it "light construction" but there's nothing "light" about two dozen workers, hammers, saws, dump-trucks, and back-hoes no more than 100 feet from the large pool. We liked The Landings but suggest you wait to go until construction is truly complete. And don't rely on the hotel to tell you went construction is done.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    183
    49
    10
    14
See reviews for
407
290
10
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

A wonderful stay. I had a beautiful room with amazing views over the caribbean sea. Staff were courteous, friendly and efficient. Food was delicious. Excellent spa. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ag991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

When my husband and I first arrived at The Landings, we were surprised immediately by the "courtyard" style entrance to our villa. When you open your door you are greeted by a balcony with lounge chairs. Then you walk through another door into your private slice of heaven.

We had a two bedroom, three bath (yes, three baths) villa that overlooked both the harbor and the beach (it was officially a harbor view room, but you could lounge on the front veranda and see the sparkling Caribbean Sea). Along with a dining table and chairs, the back balcony had a "plunge pool", which is another word for an over-sized whirlpool. The best part about it was that it was bathtub temperature (you could make it hotter if you preferred) and the "jets" were always running so it was calling us day and night! We used it very often.

The suite/villa/condo unit that we called home for the 5 nights we were there was perfection. It was truly luxurious with a full kitchen featuring top of the line appliances and fixtures, washer/dryer, walk-in closets, marble floors throughout, pillow-topped mattresses, three flat screened tv's, cable for free internet (which I used with my laptop), and beautiful, comfortable furnishings. The place was new, immaculate and we never wanted to leave!

We ate several meals at the Beach Club, which is a lovely, waterfront, outdoor restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was good, and we shared some of our fish with a cat and her three baby kittens who were hanging out in the nearby bushes. The cat was named Chelsea by the staff and she and her family made our meals feel homey since we have pets at home. What a lovely surprise, and the kittens were absolutely adorable! They did not meow or bother any of the guests, but allowed us to offer them some loving and food. Perfect!

While I lounged on the comfy chaises on the beach, my husband embarked on some exercise with the free sea kayaks. He might tell you that was his favorite part of the trip. Really. For some reason he just went crazy for them. He kayaked all over the inlet, waving to and chatting with people on their yachts who were anchored in the nearby waters. When he didn't kayak, he enjoyed the gym at the main building. I admired its shininess, but did not partake in any sweat inducing activities in there. Instead, I relaxed by getting two amazing massages. One on my own and own as a couple's massage on our last night there. Even my husband had to admit it was fantastic. The spa is beautiful, like everything at the resort. First class all the way.

The people at the spa, and throughout our stay at The Landings could not have been more accommodating. They all addressed us by our names and greeted us with smiles. Tim, the head concierge, was particularly kind and went above and beyond his job by helping to make me feel comfortable enough to try the zip-lining excursion in the rainforest. Not only did I do it, but it was great fun. I'm so glad he helped me build up the nerve.

As for other things to do on the island, it seemed limitless. Most activities are an hour or more drive from the resort on windy roads, but we found it to be worth the effort. We visited the famous Piton mountains, which miraculously rise out of the sea like upside down ice-cream cones. They were stunning. The "drive-through" volcano was something to marvel over. The black water was bubbling up out of the ground and white steam was billowing into the sky. It is not due to erupt for another hundred years or more so there is no cause for concern. The botanical gardens are breathtaking. Keep in mind that every day the weather was in the low 80's with a constant cool breeze to make it even more pleasant. While in the gardens the breeze greeted us as we made our way through paths showcasing hundreds of varieties of flowers and plants. We didn't want to leave and suggest packing a lunch and enjoying your time there if you enjoy pretty, bug-free scenery. I suppose there were bugs, but other then some sand fleas that found us, we didn't see any creatures that weren't mammals.

Near The Landings we went to the International Pony Club for some horseback riding. On a scale of 1 to 10 we admit that we are both 1s in the riding department and were given the appropriate horses. We walked on a path toward the Atlantic Ocean, which is just minutes away from the resort and the Pony Club. Once at the beach, our guide took the saddles off the horses, propped us back onto them, and in while wearing our bathing suits, we went for a dip into the Atlantic Ocean atop our steeds. It was incredible. The horses seemed quite comfortable doing this. I think they actually enjoyed it. For us, it was one of those unbelievable moments. The scenery was gorgeous. It was one of those, "I can't believe we are here doing this" moments.

The nearby town is called Rodney Bay and that is where you will find the grocery store. The Landings shuttles guests there twice a day. We bought some treats to keep in our room (ice cream!) and dined there three nights. It is a $12 taxi ride each way. We had great, thin crust pizza at "Key Largo", a fantastic, top-notch meal at "Big Chef's" (rivals any fine American restaurant- my sirloin steak was scrumptious), and a quaint Italian meal at Antonios where the chef chatted with us.

The only other thing I can tell you is to fly into the Viggie airport, even if it means you have to make a connection. It is only 15-20 minutes from the resort. The other airport is a windy 1 1/2 hour trip.

Overall, the place was quiet but not snobby. The other guests were friendly but not intrusive and the same could be said about the staff.There weren't any local vendors harassing us at the beach to buy things. We simply relaxed. We will return next year for sure and this time we will check out the nearby Pigeon Point fort (which is just down the street). We might even choose to do some water activities or take a short boat ride to Martinique for a different day (French island only 17 miles away). Regardless of what you want, this is the place! LOVED IT!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahappierlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We had a 3 bedroom villa with a harbor view and I have to say I think this is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in. The terrace was enormous and stretched across the entire villa and had beautiful views of the harbor. The rooms were large, modern, clean and luxurious. And the kitchen was super nice even though we barely used it.
The staff was very very friendly and courteous. The concierge was quick to help us get a reservation and plan a few outings.
We didn't check out the spa but the prices seemed reasonable. The prices were also reasonable at the hotel boutiques.
The beach was beautiful. Great service and you can get food delivered to you on the beach.
The hotel location was great, right near Rodney Bay and all the restaurants. We got a Jeep Wrangler to ride around in and it was perfect to enjoy the beautiful weather and explore the island.
I highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandingsDirector, Director of Sales and Marketing at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, March 19, 2010
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much! What a great idea to rent a jeep to explore the island! Hopefully you can find a time to escape New York and come back to visit us again soon. Thank you for your kind remarks!

Cheers,

John MacMullen
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Often promotional materials for resorts fail to live up to expectations; not true of the Landings, St Lucia. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the views are magnificent. The rooms are luxurious, sparkling clean, and bright. Ours had a private front porch with view of the ocean and a back porch with view of the harbor with a hot tub, as well as a full kitchen, and in room laundry. Beach was clean with rafts and kayaks available as well as on-beach drink service. The service was wonderful and all staff was polite, friendly, and took the utmost pride in their work. The food was very good and our every need was attended to with a smile.

Truly paradise. It was very hard to go home, but hope to return soon. Highly recommend the tours and ziplining experience

In response to the woman who had such a poor experience, perhaps things have changed since her visit. The resort was not overcrowded at all and we received VIP service throughtout. For me, part of the joy of traveling is to experience the culture and people of the destination. If you really need to have every US amenity at your finger tips, stay in the states. I have extremely high standards and found this resort to be top-notch. We were fine without the NY Times for a week. TV and internet is available to keep in touch with the world.

Loved the Landings!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmi113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandingsDirector, Director of Sales and Marketing at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, March 19, 2010
I'm so glad to hear that you had such a great experience at The Landings. St. Lucia is truly paradise and the people of St. Lucia are so welcoming. Our staff is committed to ensuring that every guest has a wonderful stay at The Landings as well as on the island of St. Lucia. It looks like they were successful in making your vacation a wonderful one. We hope to see you back again soon!

Cheers,

John MacMullen
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
194 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed at the Landings over the Christmas / New Year's Eve. The experience was OK, service was very good, rooms are very nice. The food / beverage service was very sufferable as we like to be pampered, i.e. to have appetizers at the beach, to have drinks delivered in a timely manner to our beach chairs. We felt let down that the only restaurant in the hotel to serve lunch became a buffet for all of our stay - we are not the buffet crowd and if the resort is targeting the luxury market they should keep in mind that customers of luxury are demanding and want the best.

Very important things to know about this property;

1. The hotel is a good 1.5 hours drive from the airport, in a bumpy, windy, and up-and-down road.

2. The beach is fair. Nothing special or "caribean" about it. The water is not transparent and definetely not turquoise (think brownish green). The sand is dark.

3. Most of the people at the property were the unit owners and clearly they were not trying to make acquaintances or to have a casual chat. Everyone tended very much to their own business.

4. For being 4 hours flight from Miami plus the horrible 1.5 hour drive from the airport we did not think St Lucia and the Landings were worth it. It is a poor poor Island with almost no local food (other than bananas) and basically no local seafood. No shops of any interest to us and the supermarket is really shabby. The restaurants around Rodney Bay are good, but again even in the best ones the meat and seafood has been frozen. the Pitons were magnificent but just a photo op.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhantomOP_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

After a dizzying 2 hour van trip from the airport to the hotel, we were warmly welcomed and golf-carted to our gorgeous unit--everything in the unit was top-notch. Plasma TVs in every room, Miehle appliances including washer/dryer, beautiful finishes, two huge balconies--one with jacuzzi, beautifully equipped bathrooms, everything you needed in the kitchen--cooktop, stove, microwave, fridge--all brand new. We had pre-ordered groceries prior to our stay and found everything neatly put away in the refridgerator. One set-back of our unit was that we one side faced the tennis courts which were brilliantly lit for evening play--not an issue unless they forgot to turn off the lights later at night. The service at the resort is excellent. Every employee we encountered was tripping over themselves to make our stay comfortable. Everyone was always smiling. The beachside restaurant (open for breakfast, lunch and dinner) was the only one we visited at The Landings (there's another more formal restaurant) and it was very accommodating and food was delicious. The chef often went around and chatted with guests. At lunch there was the choice of a $10 grill--hot dogs, hamburgers, chicken, or a prix fixe buffet which was about $25/person. The beach is stunning and there is a lot to do--my kids, ages 14,13 and 7 used the windsurfers (free to use, $55 lesson if desired), kayaks and catamarans (free) almost everyday and also went tubing and waterskiing ($15/person). There were plenty of chairs for everyone and umbrellas and towels. The place where you could pick up your beach towels also had sunscreen, books and snorkeling equipment that your could borrow. Friendly staff roamed the beach taking drink orders (try the 'lime squash') and the restaurant was on the beach, open air/covered. There was a free ferry service to take you to the other side of the bay or to Pigeon Island, a nature preserve for hiking and sightseeing. My daughter, an avid rider, was extremely happy that there was a local man and his son with horses that she could ride on the beach and in the water adjacent to the resort. The pools were also very pretty and situated throughout the resort. The concierge needs to get a better list of restaurants and menus available. Although there is a free shuttle from the hotel to Rodney Bay, it is a $30 roundtrip taxi to get there in the evening for dinner, which the hotel arranged. Many good choices for dinner in Rodney Bay and not too expensive. There are many excursions that you can take from the hotel that they will arrange. My husband and two older daughters went zip-lining and loved it. They also went on a horseback riding tour by International that they enjoyed immensely. Wish I had gotten to the spa--it looked very luxurious.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goldab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
17.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
9.6 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
19.3 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
737 reviews
2.6 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
822 reviews
17.5 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Property: The Landings St. Lucia
Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom all suite villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. Free Internet Beach Largest Suites north of St. Lucia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing