We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Landings St. Lucia
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Loved The Landings, stayed last year but never got round to writing a review. The apartment and views are outstanding! Friendly staff on reception and in restaurant. You do need a car to get around or you can easily get taxis to the town (quite expensive). Will definitely go back was one of my favourite holidays ever.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 932 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2014

I was in that group of group of Americans from a Financial Firm (not insurance). The hotel was pretty much packed with our company and their families. The behavior was really mild, most (95%) people staying at the hotel had young kids with them. People were just enjoying the beach and pools with their families.

However, this particular "Financial Firm" does these type of trips all over the world at 5 star resorts and its not something new. So penalizing the Landings for our stay would by like saying "All 5 star hotels in the world, beware! There might be a group of Americans staying at your hotel!"

Ok now for specifics on Landings . . . "Peter from London" was right about the lack of food choices and the difficulty of trying to get into town for other options. It is a $30 round trip cab ride to go to another expensive restaurant in town. I believe these rooms are usually something a family of 5-6 would rent out and buy groceries for the week. If you are not a make your own lunch or dinner on holiday I would look at other Hotels. Breakfast buffet came with our room and it was good. I would give the food here 3 stars.

The hot tubs in the suites are awesome! It rained there a lot when we were there, and it was nice and cooled things down a bit.

The beach is nice, even with our "large group" I never once had a hard time finding a chair at the beach. The pools . . . now that's another story. There are 3 and yes if you go to the smaller ones, you will have a hard time finding chair (during peak hours).

All in all we had a good time at the Landings. Not a 5 star hotel by any means, but you get huge suites for a great price.

If you are fit or like hikes, I do suggest Pigeon Island worth the $5 entry fee.

Room Tip: You do NOT want to be in the rooms that are in or by the hotel lobby its about a 5-10 min walk to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaKarnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Our agent, Kenwood, did not advise us that the Landings was host to wave after wave of noisy groups from a single insurance firm based in the USA and Canada who took over the whole resort and reduced it to the level of a cheap UK holiday camp, and nor did the Landings advise them of this, which has taken place for the last five years. They boast two restaurants, one, on the beach could not cope with the massive influx, and soaked diners becasue the roof sections do not join up, and the other, was closed 90% of the time the groups were not there. So there was no choice, and the nearest alternatives were a $30 round trip to Rodney Bay. The service was simply appalling, but after two weeks of misery, the Landings at least addressed that by refunding all our meal costs. The view over the marina looks out on to abandoned development of the Landings, unfinished apartment blocks from many years, and a rusty container park. Charming! A 5* experience? Definitely not. Feel very ripped of and the agents not responding!

Room Tip: Sea view, the Mrina view overlooks the desolate unfinished building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great resort for families looking to have lots of space and wanting to relax on beach and in pools. Service was very poor (slow at restaurants, unaccomodating to requests at front desk, understaffed at times) compared to other properties we've been to. Pools small, rooms very nicely appointed and spacious. Bring your own liquor and take to beach or pools. Overall good resort, just wish better service and closer to airport than the 2 hr shuttle ride.

Room Tip: There's a substantial size difference between the 2 and 3 bedroom villas, so if you can use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at the landings in March 2014 for two weeks with our one and a half year old, and as a place to stay with young children it is absolutely perfect. We stayed in a two bed apartment so baby had its own room with cot provided which was great. We could prepare meals in the kitchen and we had our own little jacuzzi/plunge pool looking over the marina which was lovely. We were on the ground floor and had a nice patio, however we were aware of the gardeners walking past several times a day. Good to know that they are looking after the property but it just seemed a little excessive. The apartment was nicely decorated and felt modern without being "cold". The beach was really nice. We ate in the beach side restaurant quite a lot and we liked it, nothing particularly adventurous on the menu but decent food well made. We found the staff to be very helpful in all areas of the hotel and particularly in the beach restaurant. They made a real effort to engage and entertain our baby who is very sociable which was lovely to see and we really appreciated it. We were aware at times of the staff seeming to bicker a bit about who should do what, but it did not bother us at all. The hotel is a bit out of the way so we did end up renting a car for a week as we are active people and like to get out and see things. That was a great thing to do, so glad we did it. We booked the car through the hotel and were very happy with the service. I went for a massage in the spa which was great. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katejdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Clean, modern, comfortable. Spacious 3 BR villa equipped with kitchen, washer, dryer. Buffet breakfast is excellent. Water sports on site. Beach is not huge, but very nice. Close to Gros Islet, but not walking distance. Easy walk to Pigeon Island. Both US and UK style electrical outlets...nice touch.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra for beach front, Marina is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClubMedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were given the most incredible gift of 2 weeks stay here in one of their premium apartments for our honeymoon. The apartment was exceptionally clean, beautifully decorated and furnished, and the balcony overlooking the little cove and beach was pretty much where we sat for the entirety of our honeymoon while we were there!

The room service was absolutely amazing. It was restaurant quality food at the end of a phone, delivered hot to your door, which the option of rum cocktails if needed! The rum cocktails, by the way, are dangerously and wickedly alcoholic. One or two of those were enough for me!

The staff were wonderfully friendly, and one night where we were dangerously low on cigarettes (we have since quit...) we asked where we could go to buy cigarettes without heading to the local supermarket. The advised that there was unfortunately no-where about, and it was approaching late evening. We decided to make do, and that we would head into the town the next day. We sat on the balcony after having had room service (again) and they called to us over the bay that they had found an American chap who had a carton of cigarettes, and they had asked him whether we could buy a packet from him, which he was happy to do!

Absolutely incredible service to go out of their way like that, and how lovely to call to us from the restaurant across the way.

Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReginaPhilangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
17.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.7 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
17.5 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $299 - $1,795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom all suite villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. Free Internet Beach Largest Suites north of St. Lucia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing