We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Landings - the land of staggeringly bad service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Landings St. Lucia
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Landings – the land of staggeringly bad service!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Landings – the land of staggeringly bad service! The General Manager states that The Landings “is a distinctive hotel”. He is right but sadly for the wrong reasons. He states that what sets the hotel apart from others “is careful anticipation of your needs”. He adds that the hotel’s “desire to be of service is paramount” and “we delight in doing everything to make sure that you will come back to us”. The only thing that The Landings “carefully anticipates” is how to make a guest’s stay as painful as it possibly can be on what is a pretty property and pretty beach in the Caribbean. If its “desire to be of service is paramount”, it fails miserably.

Onto countless experiences during our stay, although let’s remember -- to keep all of this discussion in context -- that this is a hotel which charges 5-star prices and markets itself as a luxury resort. So if they are going to charge 5-star prices and market itself as a luxury resort, then it probably is not unreasonable as a guest to expect a level of service at least somewhat or even remotely commensurate with the prices they charge and the way in which they market themselves.

Let’s begin.

First, communications. Internet connectivity at The Landings was available only in one’s room and at two other locations on the entire hotel property. Why? Because the hotel has chosen not to properly outfit its property with Wifi. Moreover, where one can get internet connectivity the connectivity often failed. The phones in our room, they often went dead. Furthermore, when they did work and we called the front desk or concierge, there frequently was no answer. The front desk or concierge phone would just ring and ring. Suffice it to say the communications infrastructure of the hotel was terrible and there was no one on the end of the line at the hotel when the phones actually did work and we would try to call for assistance. Management liked to blame the communications problems on the weather. The problem with that explanation was that other high-end hotels on the island were not experiencing the same communications outages, and yes, we checked. And I am not sure how the weather explains why no one answers at the front desk or concierge desk. Also, the weather was only bad one of the eight days we were there. The real problem is that The Landings simply has failed to properly invest in its communications infrastructure and guests pay the price. As an aside, the one time we asked the front desk of the hotel to make us a dinner reservation at one of the hotel’s two restaurants, the front desk said they did but when we showed up at the restaurant – surprise -- that restaurant had no record of our reservation.

Second, the rooms. To be clear, the units are very nice, the nicest part of the hotel. That said, the servicing of them is poor. When we arrived at the hotel and checked into our two bedroom unit we found one of the two toilets did not flush properly, one of the two bathroom sinks did not drain, there was no soap in one of the two bathrooms, there was no soap for the kitchen sink, and the entire unit was humid because the air conditioning was not properly cooling it. In short, the hotel either does no quality control checks on rooms before people check into them or they do a remarkably poor job preparing them for the next guest.

On an ongoing basis, housekeeping consistently failed to leave enough towels in our room and frequently failed to pick up all of the dirty towels left on the floor in our two bathrooms. We even left notes for housekeeping requesting basics, liking leaving enough towels or enough bottled water, and yet housekeeping consistently failed to respond.

Third, food at the hotel and the beach at the hotel.

There are two restaurants at the hotel. Curdled cream was a daily part of our breakfast coffee. Moreover, the restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch at the hotel actually ran out of coffee one day. Yes, I know, hard to believe but true. On another occasion it ran out of lemons. And one day when they were serving pulled pork sandwiches for lunch at their lunch buffet, the restaurant employee overseeing that area of the buffet chewed me out for taking a roll by itself because they were for those guests eating the pulled pork. I actually was grabbing a roll for the pulled pork but to have actually had to defend myself for grabbing a roll at a lunch buffet that I was paying for was patently absurd.

On the beach, guests can get served drinks and lunch. Sounds great. The catch is that the hotel, at least when we visited, dedicated one member of the staff to cover the many guests who are ordering food and drinks on the beach. The result: it takes far too long to get served. The waitress or waiter is not at fault for this, instead the hotel is for dedicating insufficient resources to cover guests on the beach. Sadly, where the waitresses or waiters who serve guests at the beach are at fault is in consistently screwing up guests’ food orders. On countless occasions, my family and I while on the beach would clearly spell out uncomplicated orders for food and yet no matter how many times we repeated ourselves the given order more often than not would come back screwed up.

Also, the hotel does not even offer a snack menu. If your child is so unusual that he or she wants a late afternoon snack, something that is snack food rather than ordering off the lunch or dinner menu, you are out of luck. We eventually were successful at getting the hotel to find chips and salsa by the hotel’s fancy dinner restaurant but that took unnecessary effort. (It also would take too long to get served them even though presumably they were not baking or frying the chips on-site.) At times the restaurant folks looked at us, when we asked about grabbing a late afternoon snack, as if we were from another planet.

The bathrooms near the beach for guests, by the way, are not cleaned sufficiently often. Why? Again, because the hotel clearly is not dedicating the appropriate resources or, as consistently evidenced during our stay, has done an awful job training its staff.

Fourth, activities.

Well before we arrived in December we had asked that the hotel make us tennis lesson reservations during our stay. After far too many back-and-forths than necessary (it should not have required more than one back-and-forth), the hotel at my request finally sent me an e-mail confirmation of our tennis lesson reservations. I thought we were all set. Fast forward to our arrival. On the first day of our tennis lessons the tennis instructor at the hotel shows up and tells us that the hotel miscommunicated to him our request and as a result he was unable to accommodate our needs for the week of our visit. Unbelievable! This was after I could not have been more clear, including in writing, with the hotel about what we wanted and after the hotel confirmed that it had made arrangements consistent with our request.

One of the things you learn when staying at The Landings is that you need cash to do a number of water sports with outside vendors who walk around and visit guests on the hotel’s beach to drum up business. They either do not take credit cards at all or make it unnecessarily difficult to accept credit cards, even though guests probably generally do not carry their wallets to the beach on a beach vacation at a beach resort. Now we had no idea that credit cards would present a payment problem (as the hotel gives its guests no advance warning, and we had not encountered this problem at other beach resorts), so we were cash-light. So what did we do so my family could do various water sports activities? We went to the hotel’s front desk and asked if there was an ATM on-property. The answer: no. We then asked the hotel what we would need to do to get cash. They responded that we would need to go into town to visit a bank or an ATM machine. As I am sure you would agree, this, of course, is not exactly how one likely wants to spend one’s limited vacation time in St. Lucia. We then asked the hotel, which they did not volunteer, if we could get a cash advance, something commonly doable at higher-end hotels all around the world. The hotel said yes but imposed a US $100 limit/day per family. Clearly better than nothing but the water sports available at the hotel that were run by outside vendors tended to cost – surprise -- more than US $100 for a family. In short, the hotel did nothing to “make it easy”. Remember, The Landing’s General Manager states that what sets the hotel apart from others “is careful anticipation of your needs” and the “desire to be of service is paramount”.

Other basics. To reiterate, the Landing’s General Manager states that what sets the hotel apart from others “is careful anticipation of your needs” and that the hotel’s “desire to be of service is paramount”. How about making it easy for your guests to do the very activities that are available at the hotel? Is that so hard to anticipate? Or how about having a little shop at the hotel which sells basics like snacks – since you don’t offer them at your restaurants -- or other sundries? We were told by the hotel that for these we would need to go into town to a supermarket or elsewhere. Again, as I am sure you would agree, this, of course, is not exactly how one likely wants to spend one’s limited vacation time in St. Lucia. Oh, I almost forgot, St. Lucia has a rainy season. It also happens to be located in the hurricane belt, so yes tropical storms occur there. Why do I bring this up? Because a hotel that states it “carefully anticipates (guests’) needs” likely would stick an umbrella in guests’ units. Sure enough, during our visit it rained frequently and yet there was no umbrella available to use. Yes, if we wanted an umbrella we would need to make a trip into town to buy one. And then there was paper, yes, blank paper to write on. Most hotels supply this, no? You guessed it….no paper (and pen) provided. Perhaps it is unreasonable of me to think that a hotel might anticipate that its guests may want to jot down a note or two in their unit.

Ahh, to finish things off, the check-out process. When we asked for a print out of our bill for our stay, we were told that the hotel could not give us a print-out because their reservation system was “down”. When we asked for a confirmation of our taxi reservation from the hotel (a reservation it made at our request) to the airport, we were told that no such confirmation was available. And yes, when we were finally able to see the hotel charges for our stay, there were mistakes.

After reading this review, one might fairly ask, “well did you complain to the hotel about these various issues during your stay in order to make the hotel aware of such issues and give them an opportunity to try to improve their service?” The short answer is yes, on multiple occasions. And, by the way, not once – yes, not once -- did hotel management ever offer to do something special for us as guests in order to at least try to “make things right”.

In sum, while it has nice units and a pretty property and beach, The Landings has abysmal service which unfortunately badly impacts the entirety of one’s experience staying at the hotel. Management is completely incompetent. Its staff is inadequately trained. The only thing that The Landings “carefully anticipates” is how to make a guest’s stay as painful as it possibly can be in what is a beautiful setting. If the hotel’s “desire to be of service is paramount”, as the General Manager of the hotel asserts, it fails miserably. If one is going to visit St. Lucia and spend the kind of money one has to to stay at The Landings, sadly, one is better off choosing one of the many alternative luxury resorts on the island.


Review by A & L, New York, NY

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank acrg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Reviewer, we would like to thank you for your detailed comments about your stay with us here at The Landings St. Lucia.

Firstly, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay and from your review, there were many. We pride ourselves in delivering a 5 star luxury resort experience and unfortunately, we didn't deliver to your expectation. We are indeed surprised by your review, considering that several managers, including our Senior Sales Manager and our Reservations Manager approached you many times during your stay, asking for your feedback, to which every time, you responded “all is fine”.

You are indeed correct about the WiFi on property at the time you stayed with us. During your stay, whilst much of the property did have complimentary wireless, we were up upgrading the system so that all remaining areas would offer complimentary wireless, which is now the case. Our Front Desk and Concierge staff work diligently to ensure all their daily duties are fulfilled including answering the phones in a timely and professional manner. Your experience with us not answering telephones promptly is not a typical complaint. Our communications infrastructure is amongst the most advanced on the island, with 4 phones in most suites along with phones in many public areas.

Thank you for your comments on how nice our accommodation and beach is. We do offer some of the most spacious and luxury accommodation in the region and are on possibly the island’s best beach. We take note of failure of housekeeping during your stay, this is not common as our suites are normally immaculately prepared and looked after.

Regarding your comments about our food, again, you were approached on many occasions and all reports are that you had no complaints. It is regrettable now to hear of your dissatisfaction after the fact. Our associates and managers go out of their way in making sure that all guest experiences are positive and memorable. It would seem that your dissatisfaction was not important enough at the time to make you want to say something to us. It is always difficult for us to fix things that we do not know are broken, and would have preferred to assist you whilst here. Such is our challenge. We also find some of the comments surprising as our kitchen is always prepared to make snacks should any guest so desire one during the afternoon. Sorry also about your dissatisfaction regarding your tennis lesion.

With regards to the tennis, you arrived late for the class and whilst the coach was waiting, another person came who wanted a lesson and so the coach thinking you were not coming accepted the walk-in client. When you did show up he offered to postpone the walk-in so you could have your lesson, but you decided to leave instead.

We note all your other comments, and thank you again for taking the time to compose such a lengthy report. Although it is truly not typical of our many reviews and results, we will certainly ensure that any of the noted failings are not repeated. We hope to host you again in the future to show we can match quality of location and accommodation with quality of service. Either way we hope you come back and enjoy the beautiful island of St Lucia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    189
    50
    10
    14
See reviews for
427
300
10
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

first, our 3 BR condo was excellent. Its not clear from the website (at least to us), but it is fully equipped with a dishwasher, washer/dryer, coffeemaker (coffee packets as well), etc. Our room 103 was next to the Beach Café, had lovely landscaping with hot tub and then led three steps to the beach. We were also provided with two cats. Although given the location not very private, it would be a great condo for a family, especially with small kids.

Great location, you can easily walk up to the fort. Beach was nice, we had no problem with crowding at all. Breakfast was included, and was very generous whether buffet or a la carte. The fitness center was well equipped, although the temp could be turned down about 5 degrees.

Because of the kitchen, we bought food for lunch, as well as drinks. The Beach Café was very good for dinner and lunch, but we would have tired of it if we hadn't gone into town. We thought drink prices were pretty standard for a good resort. The restaurants in town are outstanding, and worth the $15 taxi each way.

The staff are wonderful, especially with children.

The reason why this is not 5 dots for us is really the front office. We had a wake up call missed and a restaurant/tax reservation not made. Finally, although it is within their rights, we were not allowed an hour grace after official checkout so that we could enjoy the resort (and spend more money). They offered an hour grace for $75. This is not how a five star resort handles this situation. Finally, we reserved a no frills car for $100 back to the airport; it showed up on the bill at $150 for a premium car. Please.

That said, please enjoy your stay, we had a great time at the Landings and St Lucia.

The Landings is not a 5 dot resort in our minds because of some front office issues

Room Tip: Because of the marina, there is a long walk from rooms near the lobby to the beach. For couples, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoHawks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write your review. We think that you described tour villas perfectly including the "volunteer" cats. We attempt to tell our guests about the hotel cats, which are well cared for, including spaying or neutering. We seldom have a negative experience about these wonderful critters. The Landings is a proud supporter of St. Lucia Animal Protection Society, or S.L.A.P.S.
Sorry about our mistake with reservations and your requested late check-out. We have discussed with our front office team and I am confidant that some aspects of your experience won't be repeated with future guests. We are truly appreciative of your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you sincerely from all of us at The Landings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed an a beautiful 2 bedroom suite with beach view. Interior beautiful and views stunning. Jacuzzi on the balcony overlooking the ocean and the sunset. Beach really nice. Beach restaurant not so good in terms of food and service. Surprised by this as the property is high class. Room service food quality a lot better though. There is a fine dining option as well but we did not try it. Check out is 11.00 but we got to stay longer for no extra charge. We will try to come back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Beachview on top floor great! 323 perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelistAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us, and for your review. Glad also that you were able to stay a little longer in our villa and that you "will come back as soon as possible". We are waiting for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Landings is a gorgeous property that sprawls a bit. Being close to the ocean/restaurant is a big advantage if you are a beach person. We loved our room and the decor. The beach is terrific and we utilized every water activity they had to offer. The people working the beach, security, sports, towels are friendly and happy though food service on the beach is too frustrating to even consider.
It takes well over an hour to reach the resort from the airport. I thought the drive was beautiful but wouldn't want to tackle it myself after a long flight. I highly recommend, if hiring a car, to do so from the resort and take a taxi to the Landings.
The gym is FABULOUS which to me is really important. We didn't love the food except for the fresh smoothies offered at the bar and ended up using the kitchen in our room a lot. The people who work there are terrific. The hitch with the Landings is that you have this great property, plenty of employees but I feel the direction or instruction to them is a bit unclear. For instance, I asked the general manager when the hot tubs would be fixed (not all rooms have them) This was on our fifth day. He had no idea they weren't working. We rented a car, made a restaurant reservation, booked an excursion, all with the concierge and every one of these items somehow got muddled and messed up. (no car, no reservation when we got to restaurant, one extra person booked for excursion than requested) We had better luck doing things directly and so we did. It's hard to get mad when everyone is so nice but here is one example. I call to find when the shuttle to town will be. 3pm. I get off the beach and rush to make it. I'm the only one for the shuttle so the shuttle is cancelled, something they didn't mention when I decided to leave the beach. Sometimes the little communication frustrations like this made us annoyed but mostly they didn't and my kids already want to rebook for next year.

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautiful but some are far from the beach. Just ask! We were close to restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank arbella8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
It is wonderful to get such detailed reviews from our guests, especially the Senior Reviewers on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your time and especially thank you for staying with us. Soory for the mistakes we made in communicating to you about excursions and information. I have shared your comments with our Leadership Team. The Landings has three swimming pools, 88 heated and LED lit plunge pools and more than 30 fountains. We work rigorously to keep everything in top shape. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and am confidant that our Team is ready and eager to welcome you back. Best regards from all of us at The Landings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Landings is a superb location, with well-appointed rooms and facilities. The staff is attentive and incredibly hard-working. The beach staff is great -- but don't expect speedy service if you're sitting out on the sand for the day. The restaurant offerings are slim, with just two choices -- but the service and food at the Palms is fantastic. The beach restaurant is great for a quick bite--and the staff is super friendly. If you're up for boat travels, look for the Shy-Loh -- a great captain and an incredible day trip to the Pitons, and local sites. The Landings is definitely a beautiful destination. All they need are a few shops to buy some swim stuff and they've got a great place.

Room Tip: The entire hotel is just a few years old, so you cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you to our NY friends and thank you especially for your great comments about The Palms. We think you did it right in St. Lucia by staying with us and booking a "Shy-Loh" excursion too!. We hope to welcome you back soon. From Lyle and our Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rougemont
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed in early Dec 2013, the property appeared largely vacant, but as we came to learn it is mostly an older crowd that tends to stay in or lounge at the beach reading. The rooms and grounds were incredible, well maintained and you could not ask for more out of the rooms. The hot tub was a great add on and a perfect way to end an evening. We stayed in a two bedroom, one king and two twins. It had a full kitchen with top of the line appliances. The food was 1st rate for every meal. Staff were largely polite and helpful but I felt like they wanted tips for any service. If you are looking for an exciting, fun filled vacation with tons of things to do this is NOT the place. Very little activities or things to get into, but if you wanting a relax, do nothing getaway it cant get much quieter than The Landings. The beach was a disappointment, nowhere near as blue as you would expect in the Caribbean, but still better than the States, but the sand did not have the usual moss issues that other places in St. Lucia have.

Room Tip: Beach view, esp 2nd or 3rd floors. The surrounding mtn areas are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wetracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We agree that our food and beverage is first rate....thank you for your comments! Thank you especially for taking the time to write about your stay. We truly appreciate hearing from our friends who have stayed with us. We thank you and want you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Landings has many superb attributes and this really is a 4.5 star review. Spent Christmas week 2013 with my and another family there.

The accommodations are very spacious and were the best we have ever had on a family vacation: a very large two bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, living room, and large terrace with an outdoor Jacuzzi. The furniture, appliances, and other finishings were top notch, electronics were similarly excellent – there are both local and US outlets in the rooms, you don't need adapters, but might want to bring a mini travel surge protector with multiple outlets and usb connections – and having a washer dryer in the third bathroom was an added bonus – you really can travel light! There is no WiFi in the rooms, only in the lobby or at the beach restaurant (that is something the hotel should remedy). There is hardwired internet available in the rooms via a hotel-supplied Ethernet cable, so if you bring your own wireless router or airport express, you can provide wireless for any of your devices. It was the perfect accommodation for my family which consisted of me and my wife and two adult children. Our unit overlooked the marina and out to the ocean. The walk from the unit to the beach was about 5 minutes, but it was a very pleasant walk and we booked late so could not get one of the units that were beachfront.

The staff is truly professional and really understands the concept of professional service and cannot do enough for you. They were genuinely interested in making sure you had a good time on vacation and that all needs were met. They were simply excellent in all respects.

The beach is a lovely sand beach including the ocean bottom. The hotel is on a protected inlet and as a consequence the water is constantly calm, warm, and delightful. Beach chairs are comfortable and cushioned. It appeared to me that they had enough umbrellas for everyone. You do need to stake your spot out by about 915 if you are a large group and want to be together. Plenty of water sport equipment. The beach can get a little crowded but it is still ok. Waitstaff on the beach is attentive.

The gym has new and modern equipment: elliptical machines, treadmills, Cybex stations, free weights, and a Smith machine; all first rate. I’m told the spa was also excellent.

A few negatives. There are two restaurants at the hotel. The beach restaurant has varied buffets and a la carte dining; it’s also where you have breakfast and lunch. The food was generally good and satisfying, but not great. The Palm restaurant, which is in the main lobby area, had slightly better quality food and presentation was excellent, but it was way too expensive – basically New York prices - and we ate there only twice. Most people we met at the resort did not eat at the Palm because of the price. The hotel could definitely use a smaller venue to serve sandwiches and lighter fare.

There is no shop of any kind at the resort. No place to buy sundries, snacks, drinks, clothing – if you forgot something at home, or even sunblock. The hotel will shuttle you to the nearby shopping area where you can fully stock up your kitchen, but it is inexplicable that it has no shop at all.

Unlike all the other staff at the hotel, the Concierge was not particularly useful. I had written to the hotel a month in advance for assistance in chartering a powerboat for a day. Despite many emails to and from the Concierge, I could not get them to provide me with information about anything other than sail boats. I finally just stopped trying, went on TripAdvisor, saw the ratings for various charter companies, and booked a day with Exodus Boat Charters. Exodus provided a 36 foot power boat, picked us up from one of the docks in the hotel marina, and we had a great day.

One pet peeve – the hotel, like many others, gives you towel cards which you exchange for towels when you go to beach. One per person, though you can request more. This is just silly. If the reason is so that guests take their used towels and deposit them in large bins when leaving the beach to make the work of the staff easier, all they need to do is have a sign that says. “We would appreciate it if you bring your towels back at the end of the day.” I can’t think of any other reason for having these little laminated cards. Plus the towel shack closes at 430 so you can’t get the cards back if you stay out later – as many did. Also it did not prevent the hotel from occasionally and for a little while, running out of towels.

All in all, this is an excellent resort. It’s not for people craving a lot of action or activities, but for families, groups of friends, or just couples, it is just right.

One travel note: the hotel is 1 hour and 30 -45 minutes from the international airport. It’s a long drive.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - more open views to the marina and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTMSAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hello to “Excellent Accommodations, Staff, and Beach - 4.5 stars”

We think you described us perfectly. Thank you for your nice words about our associates. You mentioned some concerns about our Concierge and we accept that we should have done better. Sorry that we slipped. Please send me an e-mail direct if there is anything I can do, especially in making sure that your next stay with us is fantastic. info@landingsstlucia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
17.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.7 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Property: The Landings St. Lucia
Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom all suite villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. Free Internet Beach Largest Suites north of St. Lucia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing