We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale luxury property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Landings St. Lucia
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I stayed at the Landings for 4 nights while on busines in Saint Lucia. It is a very beautiful upscale, yet laid back property. They are all condo type units with kitchens and several bedrooms. They are very beautiful rooms and very up to date. The only thing I didn't like was the way it was laid out to walk to the beach.

The staff was super nice and friendly and accomodating. The restaurant was very good and offered a nice variety.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelbyeLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 943 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed in early March and had a wonderful 5 days at The Landings. Our 2 room apartment was very spacious and well appointed. The staff were very friendly and relaxed, but attentive at the same time.

The resort is well located and seems to miss some of the occasional flash rain that hits more southern parts of the island.

There are some walks in the area, as well as the local town which has some shopping and dining options catering to a range of budgets and tastes.

The beach is white sand and the bay is calm and warm.

All-in-all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The people here are absoutley amazing and they all are soooooooooooooo nice!! The beach is amazing and the view of the island is spectacular too..even though the service takes a year, but the people keep you so delighted! i would highly reccomended this for families! sorry for bad spelling

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didomenico1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We just visited The Landings in January and have to say it was one of the best places we have ever stayed. We are seasoned Caribbean travelers and have stayed at the finest resorts- so our expectations are high. In more recent years we have preferred suites and larger accommodations for our comfort level. We also love amenities and relaxed luxury. The Landings had it all: gorgeous suites - with all the most modern amenities- and large expansive terraces- great food- and room service- wonderful tennis- gorgeous beach with wonderful calm waters to swim in- three swimming pools- state of the art exercise room- magnificent spa- and staff that was only there to make our stay even more wonderful. I probably shouldn't be writing this- because I don't want too many people discovering this place- but it is really really special. And if you want a quiet- relaxed- luxurious- "home away from home"- getaway- without being cramped in a small hotel room- this is the place for you. It is truly extraordinary- and so are all the people who work there: Kent, Daniel, Dean, Faith, we could go on and on...thank you all for making our time in St. Lucia so special. We hope to see you again. Suzanne & Peter - Boston MA.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We just got back from a 4 night stay at the Landings. We were upgraded from a 1 bedroom to 3 bedroom and were thrilled. We had a beautiful harbor view and a unit that was about halfway from the lobby to the beach. I'd recommend requesting a unit that is closer to the beach, though. The room (condo is more appropriate for word choice) was just amazing and the kitchen was fully stocked (there were even small things like ice cream scooper and garlic press!). We ate at the casual restaurant for dinner and the food was average, at best. I ordered a seafood curry and my husband ordered a way overcooked burger and it cost $60 USD with water & 1 beer, which I thought was a bit high considering the quality of the food. The service all around was very friendly. My only run-in was with a woman at the spa. I made an appointment, but called to change it because I had food poisoning the night before and didn't think vomiting on the massage table would be appropriate. When I told her I had food poisoning, her response was silence, followed by "what do you want me to do about it?" I told her it would be great if she could move the appt to the following day. She said ok, then hung up. It was an odd exchange. Everybody else (including the other women at the spa) were very friendly and accommodating. One of the women at the front desk even called to check on my baby (she helped us get to the hospital the night before because my baby got very ill...we had lots of health issues on this trip). We rented a car from UVF and had no problems driving around the island (although the road is windy to Soufriere). We paid $50 per day, which is less than a one-way taxi to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usckim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We are just completing the fifth day of our five-day stay here at The Landings and we would describe it as pleasant.

The rooms are spacious and clean and modern and we were pleased to have been upgraded to an even larger space upon check-in. The benefits of a full kitchen including fridge and stove allowed us to eat most breakfasts and lunches at home and the in-unit washing and drying machine came in handy on our last day. For the money we paid, the space was beyond acceptable. The private hot tub/plunge pool was a great perk. I would recommend asking for a room closer to the private beach and pools than the one we were in which was next to registration. We had a car and would drive to the on-property beach most days as it is a pretty far walk. The service overall was good (the maid service did a wonderful job), though not outstanding compared to other Caribbean resorts we have stayed at in Turks and Caicos and Aruba. In general, it seemed the employees, particularly concierge, didn't really go out of their way to accommodate specific requests/needs, such as related to tours or restaurants. For example, in the five days we were here, no employee offered food or beverage when we were at the pool or beach. This could be because many of the people who are on property actually reside here. About half of the units are in the rental pool and we felt that this property had a different vibe than other hotels we have stayed at.

We would not recommend driving to this resort. The roads from the airport in the southern part of the island are rather bad and there are large open ditches along most of the road sides for drainage. It was a harrowing experience and if we were to do it again, we would get a taxi or shuttle from the airport and have our car delivered to the hotel. Also, contrary to the Landings website directions, THERE IS NO LANDINGS SIGN off the main road. We were lost in the area for over an hour, which could have been avoided had there been a sign off the main road, as indicated on their website.

From what we've observed, the property is family friendly and given the large amount of space, we can certainly see how this property would be great for those with families.

We did find it odd that the on-property fine dining restaurant was not open daily and did not begin seatings until 6.30 PM, especially given that we were visiting in the peak season. We would recommend dining at The Edge Restaurant in Rodney Bay and The Cliff at Cap Maison.

Given that we had a rental car, we were able to see a large portion of the island. It was startling at times to witness the amount of extreme poverty.

The Landings is clean, modern, spacious and satisfied our needs. However, be aware, if you are a highly discerning traveler, The Landings fails to rise to the level of an elite luxury property, because it does not provide elite service and does not offer many unique features.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank connecticutnewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Our family (two adults, two kids 13 and 10) stayed at The Landings St.Lucia the first week of February 2011. It was our first time to St.Lucia and we had an absolute great time.
First, the destination: we picked St.Lucia because of its unique topography and the diversity in potential activities; aside from the beach & sun, you can hike the rain forest, climb the beautiful Gros Piton (a Unesco protected site), visit a volcano, make a day trip to Martinique, sail on a boat used in Roots and Pirates of the Caribbean, and so on. The downsides to St.Lucia are that we like to play in the water and "body surf" and on most beaches we encountered there weren't much waves and certainly nothing like we had experience in places like Barbados (of course this is a plus if you are traveling with a toddler); also, if you are an avid snorkeler you might be disappointed - even the best snorkeling spots are average at best and since St.Lucia is a volcanic island the sand is not "sandy white" and the water is never as crystal clear has it can be on some of the other islands so lack of good visibility underwater can be frustrating.
Second, the area: Rodney Bay is great for a number of reasons; it's only about 20min from Castries where cruise ships stop for a day of visiting and shopping (including several duty free stores); it offers several decent options for grocery (supermarket prices are about 15-20% higher than what we're used to) and of course it has a many restaurants to pick from when eating out. We ate at Delirius a couple of times and food was excellent and the place was always busy. For those interested, it's also near a decent golf course and the historical site of Pigeon Island. The downside is that it's a good 1h30 drive from Henaworra international airport which makes for a long journey when you include flight times but the roads aren't too bad and the view is very pretty so it actually didn't really bother us. We can't really comment on the bar scene as that's not really our thing (but it didn't look like the place was hopping at 9:30pm the time we were finishing dinner).
Third and last, the Landings Resort: we were initially looking at renting a villa and since this was our first time to St.Lucia we opted instead to go for accomodation where we could do our own cooking; all inclusive resorts are not a fit for our family because we drink very little alcohol and our experience with food quality at all inclusives has been average at best so we'd rather cook our own at least for breakfast and lunch/snack (but we even cooked dinner a couple of times and watched movies we brought with us). The rooms at The Landings are so well finished and equiped that you could live there year-round. At The Landings, we initially booked a "harbor" view on our travel package; we knew there were availabilities after checking their website the night before our departure so we negotiated an upgrade to an "ocean" view when we checked in. Let's just say that the room and the view were well worth the $100 per day more the upgrade cost us (we thought that to spend a few thousand dollars for 4 people to come this far it would be a mistake not to take the upgrade...like running 99% of a marathon but not finishing it!). And negotiating the upgrade on site was a lot cheaper than booking it upfront...
Our two bebroom was huge with both rooms equiped with en-suite bathrooms, flatscreen tv's (great for the kids), lots of storage, washer-dryer well tucked into the hallway's powder room and most importantly for us a fully equiped kitchen with all stainless appliances, china,cutlery and decent wine glasses (and let's not forget the marble counter top!). Lastly, we were told by several people locally that The Landings is arguably on the island's best beach so localswould come by on Sunday to enjoy the water and the sun (all beaches are public in St.Lucia, as in Barbados). This wasn't a problem for us as The Landings is clearly marked for guests and residents and there is 24-hour security patrol on the beach.
The piece de résistance is the view from the main living room/kitchen and the large balcony offering a breathtaking view of the Caribbean sea framed between Rodney Bay and Piegeon Island. I intentionally woke up early several times to see the daylight hit the ocean and the horizon...We literally had smiles on our faces each time we entered the main room and this is a case where the actual product you experience is at least as nice as what the website is promising. At the end of each day, we watched the sunset from the comfort of our balcony's hot tub, cooling it off with a cold Piton beer...
We also took advantage of the very nice on-site gym and the two tennis courts (they lend rackets - good ones - and you need to pay $10 for the balls). We didn't use the on-site spa but it looked very well furnished with a steam room etc.
Some additional comments on The Landings: it's a relatively small and very quiet resort (all 120 rooms are owned by individuals and some of them like the one we were in are simply put back in the rental pool by the owner). If you are looking to get entertained with evening shows this is not for you. Also, the main lobby was a good 5-7 min walk from our room which didn't bother us but some people might need to hitch a ride in the complimentary golf carts.There are only two restaurant options on-site, we ate a couple of times at the more casual Beach Club and food was good. We didn't try the formal dining option in the main lobby building. Also, there is a free shuttle 3 times daily to Rodney Bay for shopping and dining but its last pick-up is at 4pm so for dinner you need to use the cab service provided by the hotel which is not cheap (about $30 US) for what is only a 7-min ride each way. We rented a car for a couple days which we felt gave us more bang for the bucks as we could go for grocery shopping, sightseeing and eating out.
All in, the people of St.Lucia are very friendly and staff at The Landings were both professional and friendly. It was noticeable enough that at a complimentary cocktail event offered by the Resort, I asked the Landings' GM if he was able to handpick only the best people because of the recession and he said St.Lucians are just genuinely like that - customer service 101 comes to them naturally.
Just to be clear, this is not a "cheap" destination for those seeking all inclusive bargains - we had been to Barbados a couple of times before and it's not cheap there either. However, if you're looking for the comfort of a home away from home, with breathtaking views and plenty of things to do to stay active, St.Lucia and The Landings are a good fit. For us, it was a perfect fit!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank saos97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
17.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
962 reviews
9.7 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
0.9 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
19.3 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $330 - $1,963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom all suite villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. Free Internet Beach Largest Suites north of St. Lucia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing