We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding Sushi experience”
Review of The Edge Restaurant Bar & Sushi - CLOSED

The Edge Restaurant Bar & Sushi
Price range: $0 - $69
Cuisines: Sushi, Caribbean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An outstanding Sushi experience”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family & I went to The Edge on a whim whilst walking through the marina looking for a place to eat. They were jam packed & there was no seating outside in the main seating area at the front of the restaurant. Therefor the waitress lead us through the bar to a seating area with about 8 stools facing into the kitchen where the chefs prepared the Sushi - needless to say we were thrilled they were full & that we got to sit right in the action!

We ordered a sharing Sushi platter recommended by one of the Sushi chefs & it was delightful! It came served on a huge wooden boat - it looked absolutely fantastic! & tasted divine!

We then had a cooked Chicken & Beef Teryaki with rice - simply divine.

The bar picked up during our visit & so it was a buzzing atmosphere.

It was truly a unique experience - which we will be repeating during our month stay here in Rodney Bay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephDare-Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    72
    36
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A special dinner”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This dinner was a celebration of our 30th wedding anniversary as well as a successful ocean crossing for me. I reserved a table on the water and informed the restaurant staff of our celebration. The staff went all out to make our night memorable. I ordered the 5 course dinner and wine pairing, and each course was fabulous. I have eaten in fine restaurants all over the globe, and I can honestly say that I will remember this dinner for years to come. To the Edge restaurant staff - thank you so much! To travelers to St. Lucia - do not miss this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nobarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our group of 7 went to this restaurant on recommendation. Now, none of us are strangers to up-market restaurants but the experience here left us eager to leave. The setting and initial ambience are good, the menu full of how wonderful the experience is going to be and how great the chef is (he has his own trademark - "Eurobbean" food). Sadly all let down by average food and rubbish service. From initial mix-ups with drinks to a wait of an hour before getting any food to the desserts being served in 3 phases over a 20 minute period, by the time the last dessert had been delivered and eaten we just wanted to pay and get out. Apparently "the kitchen is busy tonight" - presumably dealing with 6 covers in a restaurant with over 20 empty tables. And you do pay through the nose with food and wine prices that took my breath away. There are any number of simpler, cheaper alternative venues serving tasty food in the local area - we tried some and recommend that you try one of them instead.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BadtravellerSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must visit in Rodney Bay”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great sushi but with many other choices. Excellent location in the inner lagoon
Professionally trained , knowledgable staff. Extensive wine menu . Open for breakfast
, lunch and dinner. Wonderful creviche starter and lobster bisque and interesting combinations of
Main courses. Alotbof talent in this place. A must

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farme32r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Sushi +”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We randomly found this restaurant on a walk-about in the area. After we entered the establishment I immediately liked the very laid-back/casual atmosphere, ambient lighting and natural decor.

The staff was very well acquainted with the menu items and answered all of our questions to our satisfaction. We started with the sashimi appetizer, followed by the creole style tuna and chocolate pork tenderloin. Presentation was stunning and the taste of both of the entrées were exceptional.

We followed that with the dessert sampler, which according to the menu came with a subset of the dessert items, however our elegantly decorated plate came with a bit of each of the items from the menu. Our particular favourites were the rosemary cheesecake w/grapefruit and the banana tart.

The second night we upped the ante with the assorted sushi #2 plate to start. That particular evening they offered a fresh spiny lobster (2+ lbs), which we ordered up grilled. We also got the beef tenderloin (rare) as mains, Both were served up exactly as expected and very well presented.

Overall experience was this is a hidden gem in Rodney Bay, worth visiting more than once if you're there for a week. We spoke to the chef for several minutes at the conclusion of our second meal, which was also a treat. He cares about the customer's experience (food and more) and has an interesting background.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edge Restaurant Bar & Sushi also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing