We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I stayed at the BGBR with 5 other people. We shared two bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, and a kitchen/LR/DR with each other. I enjoyed my stay at the BGBR solely because of the company. The resort was exactly what I expected. The service was great, the actual buildings / pool / beach / restaurant weren't anything to be amazed with. They keep the grounds really nice, but it's really just a big charade in my opinion. To add to this, St. Lucia was experiencing a drought when we were there, so of course that didn't help (water was turned off at night and was turned back on in the morning some nights). There were termites in our dining room table, and the beds were like a rock. The pool was mysteriously closed at night time (which made no sense to me, as we spent most of the day at the beach) despite having the lights on (maybe it's for the ambiance?) We ate at the restaurant (Hi-Tide) our first night, and the service was exactly as slow as expected. To add to that, two of my friends ordered a Turkey BLT, and only got the BLT (without any sort of explanation). My pasta with parmesan and crab was *alright*, but not worth the price. The incline to get into the water at the beach is extremely steep, making it awkward when you're getting out of the water. There are a TON of islanders trying to sell you things, so be wary of that. In terms of St. Lucia as a whole, I was a little bit disappointed (but I think this stems from my stay at the BGBR). I will not be going back there again. Stick with Sandals or a more exclusive place. It's exactly what I was expecting, but for the price we paid (we had a timeshare) it was worth it. I got a tan, and I saw another "tropical" island. Maybe I'll be back in the fall.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avidtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Assistant Managing Director at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2010

Re reply to avidtravelero6- NYC

It is always such a welcoming privilege to receive comments from our valued clients whether it is negative or positive. The negative reviews encourage us to re strategize where we have gone wrong if in the event we did, to ensure that history does not repeat itself. We pride ourselves in providing 100% guest satisfaction to our valued clients, as they are the only reason we are in business. To all our clients who have written positive comments we are forever grateful.

We sincerely thank avidtravelero6- NYC for taking the time out from their busy schedule to write this comment and are very pleased to learn that clients enjoyed the service whilst at our Resort. It was noted from the review that avidtravelero6 is an Interval International client. Bay Gardens Beach Resort has consistently earned scores of over 95% from customer satisfaction surveys from Interval International clients which are significantly higher than the world average for Interval International properties.

1. With reference to the issues raised in clients’ comments, please note, we have one, if not, the most beautiful gardens in the entire Rodney Bay area and we pride our selves in taking great care of our grounds which is certainly not a charade as posted by client.

2. As indicated, St. Lucia is presently experiencing a drought. Consequently, letters were sent to our valued clients informing them of the situation, please see contents of the letter below:

 Thank you for selecting St. Lucia’s only 4-Star luxury beach resort for your holiday. We value your business and sincerely hope that you will find your “home, away from home” comfortable and enjoyable.

We regrettably wish to advise that we have been experiencing lower than normal rainfall from September 2009 and as a result, water supply and distribution is being affected island wide. To cushion the situation, we have already put systems in place at the Resort to ensure that you our valued guest/s, are not inconvenienced due to this condition.

The situation is being monitored and in the meantime, we kindly request your patience, understanding and assistance in helping us conserve this very valuable and precious resource.
Rest assured we will do everything possible to ensure your comfort, whilst the country grapples with this situation.






3. Clients indicated that water was turned off at night and turned back in the morning; this is certainly far from the truth. Not once have we rationed or stopped the flow of water to our clients at any given time, despite the fact that the entire island is going through a water crisis.


4. Regarding the termites on the dining room table, please note the table has a glass top and there is no way, termites can live on glass. Our rooms are also fumigated regularly, as required by the Health & Safety standards of St. Lucia.

5 This is the first time we have received a complaint regarding our super king beds. Please note that our “Bed of Dreams” brand mattresses are produced by a world renowned locally owned manufacturer who produces the beds for the majority of the hotels on the island. St. Lucia would not have earned its reputation as a world renowned holiday destination of the main manufacturer of beds on the island produced a substandard product.

6. In all international hotels, the pools are closed off at night to undertake cleaning and re- chlorination. Due to the high level of clients utilizing our pool on a day to day basis, we need to ensure that we take all the necessary corrective measure to enable us to have our pool in top condition for the following morning.

7. Regarding the food, we do apologize if for any reason our valued clients felt the service was slow, but please note as all qualified chefs would admit, a BLT (Bacon, Lettuce and Tomato) does not come with turkey. However, if clients had specifically requested turkey with the BLT, we sincerely apologize on behalf of our team members for this oversight.

8. Concerning the incline to the beach, we sincerely wish there was something we could do to rectify the situation but this is nature and unfortunately, we have no control of the natural environment and the waves bashing against the seashore. However, the designed swimming area for our valued clients is raked on a daily basis to ensure there is no debris that will affect our clients.

9. With reference to the islanders trying to sell things to visitors, please note all beaches on the island are public but we provide security services to ensure our clients are not harassed in any way by the peddlers on the beach.

Again, we will close by saying that coming to St. Lucia was an eye opener for this client and staying at our hotel was worth the price paid as a time share visitor. Also, the beautiful tan that everyone is gaping at was done in Paradise.

We thank our valued clients for staying with us, especially with your admittance “it was worth it”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,160)
There are newer reviews for Bay Gardens Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,953 - 1,959 of 2,160 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2010

My beau and I just returned from a WONDERFUL vacation at Bay Gardens Beach Resort in Rodney Bay St Lucia. We have been fortunate to travel a bit throughout the Caribbean, and are used to the slightly different standards of hotel expectation and I can say this property exceeded all expectations. We had booked an oceanfront room and were upgraded to an oceanfront suite on arrival. There were a few signs of typical wear on the property, but nothing that made it uncomfortable or tired feeling. After visiting other hotels on the beautiful Rodney Bay, we were COMPLETELY pleased with our choice. Absolutely idyllic beach - mostly very quiet - only 2 days during our 9 was the beach visited by "cruisers" docking in Castries - on those days there were more harbor activities available - fun to watch. Our first breakfast experience at Bay Gardens was a little less than wonderful, but we found the lunches and dinners absolutely delicious. There is a grocery market within walking distance, good to stock up a bit if you like, the other restaurants in the area were OK, not amazing (a bit pricey) Our only real complaint was that the pool area, while posted for use of hotel guests only, was often used by other than guests and this fact was known by staff. One day we listened for 6 hours to a young baby scream, and found out she and her mother were locals, not hotel guests. The beach is public, and I completely appreciate and commend the hotel for keeping it so, such a beautiful beach should never be made unavailable to people who live in St Lucia. Any and all other issues were always handled quickly and so pleasantly, even when we couldn't figure out the air conditioner and toaster, someone was immediately available to take care of us. Less nightlife than we expected, but after a long day in the sun, who has the energy! Lots of opportunities for activities, we were content to enjoy the sun and local rum! Beautiful, well cared for property, we had an amazing and restful vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I just got back from a week in St Lucia this March. The hotel itself is beautiful, and the pool is wonderful. Important things to know first though:

1) St Lucia is having the worst drought in its history. It is not green like the pictures - it is brown and yellow. Most of the hiking trails are closed due to fires. Because of this, the water pressure in the pipes is low and stagnating, so you cannot drink the water and have to buy bottled. Also, most hotels are turning off their water for several hours each day or even leaving their pools empty. The Bay Gardens does NOT turn it's water off (better for guests, worse for the island). The St Lucian down the beach, which is gorgeous, and I think otherwise a better place to stay, turns their water off from 12-5pm each day. That means good luck if you need to go to the bathroom!

2) The beach in front of the Bay Gardens is filled with rocks and sharp shells at the water's edge. That means that when you get in the water, it is really sharp on your feet, and there is a sharp drop where it suddenly gets steep. My mother and I walked the 15 minutes down to the other end of the beach (apparently that is the longest beach walk you can do in St Lucia - to walk on a long beach you need Antigua or Barbados) - the beach in front of the St. Lucian is sandy with a gradual slope, much easier to get in and out of, and more comfortable to swim in. This meant having to spend $30 each day to rent an umbrella and chairs on the beach, since we were not at our own hotel. Even in front of the Bay Gardens though, umbrellas are limited - people get up early and stake out a spot.

3) The restaurant / bar "Hi Tides" at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort plays loud music all day and often until after ten pm. so if you're looking for quiet, this isn't it. You can hear it in all the rooms surrounding the pool. My guess is if you have an ocean front room, you cannot hear the music.

4) The beds in the suites have pillowtop mattresses. The beds in the normal rooms do not. Probably not an issue for most people, but I have back problems, so our regular bed was really painful for me.

5) Sitting on the patio having breakfast overlooking the pool is wonderful! Plus, the pool is one of the best in Rodney Bay. Swimming in it during the evenings was a fantastic way to relax at the end of the day!

6) The staff is incredibly nice and helpful, always ready with a smile with any request.

7) The entire area seemed pretty empty. I don't know if it was the time of year, or because other people knew about the drought, but often there'd be only 2 other people in a restaurant. However, cruise ships come in once or twice a week, and during those days, the entire beach is packed with rows and rows of chairs and people.

8) If you go out to dinner anywhere in Rodney Bay, bring your bug repellent! Getting attacked by mosquitoes can ruin an otherwise lovely dinner!!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubblyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We really enjoyed this resort due to the clean and well appointed rooms (we had a 2 BR suite with a kitchen), the excellent location, and the very well managed and friendly staff. We pepared a lot of our own meals but did eat one dinner and one breakfast in the hotel restaurant ---- the breakfast buffet was very good while the dinner was mediocre and expensive. Fortunately it is a short walk to purchase food and there are MANY restuarants in the neighbourhood ----- not cheaper but better food.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PowderBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

My husband and I traveled to St. Lucia for our honeymoon. We really didn't know what to expect, except I had read most of the reviews on this site and done some of my own research. We were so excited to see the resort and experience all they had to offer. We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon and stayed through to the following Saturday, so about 10 days total.

Overall we couldn't have had a better experience. The hotel was clean and well kept. Our room was very nicely sized. In terms of the room our only issue was that the stove top didn't work. It wasn't a big deal, but it should have been in working order. We did leave a few dollars for the housekeeping services each day, and the one day we left for an outing and forgot the service really lacked.

The grounds were great. The pool area was nice, and very quiet. So it was great for relaxing and reading. But the resort is right on the beach and that is a bit more lively. We spent the majority of our time on the beach. There was always plenty of room and the view was awesome.

We did drink and eat a little at the resort and didn't find the prices to be bad at all. Very reasonable given what we find in California. The food was tasty (we were fans of the noddle bar) and the drinks were pretty good. Service tended to be slow, but it is island time! We are so used to the hussle and bussle of our life that it was just fine to slow down...except in the case where we needed a glass of water badly.

The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. We really appreciated that. The resort location couldn't have been better. We were able to walk to the grocery store (bring a backpack or something to carry everything), as well as enjoy all the restaurants and bars along the main street.
As for honeymooners, I wouldn't say the hotel is the most romantic you'll find, so if that is what you're looking for you might check out other resorts in the other. But for us, it was the perfect combination of convenience, fun and perfect location. Great experience and we are looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funinthesun2202010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

The location of this hotel is terriffic. Always a chair on the beach , pool or bar. And so convenient to restaurants in Rodney Bay. Highly recommend Big Chef. We did not have a suite- just a room. Was disappointed at first. Room was 1st floor by the lobby and a handicap room which we didn't need. They could not change us for a few days so we unpacked and went to happy hour 2 for 1 drinks at the beach bar, Nicholas was great- recommended "Happy Day Bar" Went there another night had a good time- 2 women cooked barbeque- It was delicious. Anyway, our room turned out to be great Very convenient to our car for shopping not long haul or stairs with groceries. Balcony had lovey view of garden and inlet and very private and shady. Beach and pool were really just steps away and we could sit on the patio or veranda by the lobby if we wanted to .Manager's party on Wed night was fun- met nice people and had free cocktails and hors doevres. We had a rental car from the airport- the roads are very windy- My husband loved driving them I was scared. We hired a taxi( arranged at the tour desk) and Lloyd took us to see the sights for one day. It was geat because we really would not have know what to see or how to get there and Soufiere( well worth the visit) was a long ride. We explored the north end on our own the other days and drove to Marina for breakfast and many restaurants in Rodney Bay- you could walk there- I loved the Island and this hotel-

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

A nice resort with everything you need. Great location, good beach, nice property. The staff is friendly and service is good. Daily activities and evening entertainment. Great place for families. Food is good and a number of restaurants within walking distance. Internet access on their computers and dependable WiFi around pool and beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdwahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
16.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
949 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
9.1 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
0.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $172 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing