We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stockport
1 review
“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL”
Reviewed June 8, 2009

The staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly throughout our stay. We had a beachfront apartment which was well worth paying that little extra for, the view was stunning. There was ample space in the room for what we needed, and the bathroom was lovely and was cleaned daily. The gardens were well kept and maintained daily, the pool was lovely and always clean.
The reason for our stay was that it was a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday, which was on New Years Eve. I arranged for a champagne breakfast on the morning of his birthday, and all the restaurant staff came and sang happy birthday to him which reduced him to tears!!! We booked for the New Years Eve celebration at the hotel which was wonderful, the food was plentiful and varied - something for everyone, it was to a very high standard and even included ice sculptures. At midnight we all went onto the beach where there were fantastic firework displays going off around the resort - absolutely breathtaking.
I recommend that you take a walk up the road and try some of the restaurants - we had some really nice meals all to a high standard.
You do need to take into account that the pace of life here is very different to in the UK, so don't be surprised if you have to wait a while to get served at the bar in the hotel - they haven't quite grasped that we really do like a drink !!!
We truly had a a holiday to remember, and will definately be coming back. Totally relaxing and laid back. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys beach holidays and those who just want to relax. There are plenty of other activities and trips that you can go on - we only did a couple - a day at Pigeon Island, a visit to Castries, and a trip to the rainforest. If you have any spare cash I recommend that you pay to take the helicopter ride back to the airport. Can't wait to go back next year.!!! Lindsay & Mike

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    665
    110
    34
    26
See reviews for
575
1,074
60
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We recently returned from celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort.
My thanks to Cheryl Gustave and the staff for making our stay just like coming home.
From arrival to departure we were treated just like family.
We spent many pleasant days on the beach and wonderful meals in the restaurant. Especially the buffets.
We also went on many tours of the island.
I would highly recommend the family of Bay Gardens facilities.
We are already planning our next trip and are looking forward to celebrating our 50th at the Beach.

Helpful?
Thank firebeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Lucia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed at the BGBR from the 24th April - 16 May 2009. The transfer from the airport to the hotel is long however i'm not sure this is helped by the long queue you have to go through at immigration and a long flight. On arrival we were treated to a glass of bubbly and cold towels. Our suitcases were taken to our room whilst we waited in the hotel lobby. Our room was decorated with flowers on arrival and we were shown around our room. We were in room 811 which is a beachfront suite this is on the top floor and I think has one of the best views as the almond trees in front of the hotel allow you to see up the beach and across to the view of Pidgeon Island. Our room was very clean and maid service although late on some days was always adequate. We got married in St Lucia and the staff at the hotel could not do enough for us they even ensured we had breakfast on our balcony the morning after the wedding, ensured room service was prompt on the wedding day and pressed my husbands suit. Staff to mention Desmond and Kilroy who were on the concerige desk and Jackie on reception however all staff were friendly and couldn't do enough. We stayed at the BGBR on a bed and breakfast basis the breakfast is good which is different everyday so you don't get bored. We had no problems with our safe or items going missing whilst we were in St Lucia. There are loads of good resturants in the area and Spinnakers is a great meeting place for all our wedding guests everynight. We will be returning to St Lucia and BGBR although we were married in St Lucia and this is always going to hold special memories this is not the only reason for returning. I am already planning the next trip.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We arrived at this hotel after a very long one and half hours drive from the airport we had paid for private transfer which we are very pleased about because it was just us and we went straight to the hotel.They gave us a welcome drink and we had to wait a little for a room but were told they had up graded us to a beach front suite ,the room was beautiful ,fresh and clean ,roses petals on the bed and it was cold!!it had lovely patio as well to watch the sunset over the ocean which we did most nights.The service at the pool bar was first class and reception staff were great they even went to the bank to change money for us (the second day we waited an hour in the bank to be served)We had no issues with the safe.We didnt see many vendors on the beach lots of security about even throughout the night.All the staff made us feel welcome and were very friendly the only issue was waiting for washing powder but caribbean time is alot slower than ours and ordering food would be longer than in uk but it is all part of the experience.The hotel is located at the end of a road which is full of hotels and resturants spinnakers is good come with free cats to help you eat your meal very cute fire grill is good but wasnt sure on the banana ketchup Big chefs steakhouse was the best for us beautfully cooked steaks fresh cooked sauces the best steak we have had in a long time does get fully booked though.
We are definatley going back cant wait

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
770 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

My husband & I left another resort where we got married to visit Bay Gardens for 3 days for a short honeymoon. We were given a room on the top floor and were told that someone would bring our bags to the room. We had to call down several times to get our luggage which eventually appeared more than 1 hour later.
The room and bed were nicely decorated for us. There was even a congratulatory basket with fresh fruit and a lovely small floral arrangement. The view from the balcony was stunning.
Our stay was pretty hum-drum. There was nothing special to this hotel. Granted it had recently opened and there was still construction works along the paths underneath our balcony, it felt like bare walls without a soul. There was no charm and no vibrancy to the place.
The restaurant lacked any sort of personality or intimacy. Breakfast was bland. Service was slow. The buffet lunch however was really tasty but again, a lack of ambiance to enjoy your meal.
The beach was clean and well-kept, though there're lots of vendors/hagglers who frequent the beach, though they're respectful even if you're not interested in their wares.
Overall we were not impressed by this new resort, which was abit disappointing as we were looking forward to a romantic and memorable honeymoon which it was not. This is just an average 3-star hotel. We'll pass on staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We stayed at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort for 7 nights at the start of April. Our room was a pretty standard hotel room on the ground floor. The decor was okay (although nothing special) and it was clean enough. It had a small fridge (although you had to share space with the minibar items) & a small room safe for valuables. The 'air conditioner' did not cool down the room at all so it was quite hot to sleep at night. One evening we left the patio door open to try and catch a little of the breeze and the minute we turned off the lights we got a call from the front desk telling us that our door was open. Didn't know for sure if that was a warning but figured that it was their way of telling us it was unsafe to sleep with it open. We were on the north side of the property right next to the canal that separates Rodney Bay with the 'sleepy fishing town of Gros Islet' and that sleepy town has a big long, loud party every night so if you have kids make sure you're on the other side of the hotel. The location was at the end of the road so it was quiet traffic-wise which was nice. It is also right on the beach (unlike most of the other hotels in Rodney Bay) so the location couldn't be beat. Just a side note, there aren't a lot of sidewalks on St. Lucia so get used to walking on the road with cars going past you so close you could touch them. When I booked the room with the hotel they told me they would take a three night deposit on my credit card. When we went to check out they said that there hadn't been a deposit taken and charged me the full amount. As soon as I got my credit card statement I could see that they had charged the deposit amount and the full amount so I had to call the hotel three days in a row to get someone to reverse the charges. Once I finally got a hold of someone they did it right away for me but it was hard to get someone with the authority that was available and they won't call you no matter how many messages you leave so be persistent. All in all, it was an okay hotel stay. No one is going to go out of their way for you but they are pleasant and helpful if you ask.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAACalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Regarding the guests below and their unfortunate incident. We too had our safe tampered with and money taken from it, which is not a pleasant experience on holiday.
Unlike the other couple, I only have praise for the hotel, in response to our plight.
On arriving back to our room and not being able to get into the safe, I went to reception and one of the staff came and opened the safe.....which at the time I must say rang a few alarm bells!!!!
Having checked the contents we realised that money had been taken and immediately went to speak to the Manager on duty, who informed us he was calling the Police. Within a short time the Police arrived at our room and took statements.
The Assistant Manageress Cheryl was absolutely brilliant she was constantly supportive and kept us informed of all the appropriate steps which were being taken. She seemed genuinely upset about the whole situation.
We arrived back from the beach one day after the event and there was a basket of fruit and bottle of champagne in our room....compliments of the Management. Cheryl also arranged a special dinner for us , which was lovely.
Although the matter wasn't resolved before came home, (it was still being investigates by the Police), I do feel that the hotel did as much as they possibly could to try and sort the matter out and investigate as many options open to them as they could.
I feel that had it been a bigger chain hotel, we may possibly not have received all the attention and support which BGBR gave us.
We have travelled alot and used these safes all over the world and never encountered any problems before, but will be quite wary of them in the future.
The hotel itself is lovely, immaculately looked after, spotless clean, lovely rooms, pleasant staff and right on the beach. There are other hotels on this stretch of beach but I would say that this looks the best.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
16.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
0.1 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
9.1 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Property: Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing