We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt at Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston TX
1 review
“I felt at Home”
Reviewed March 6, 2009

If you are looking for a home away from home, Bay Garden is the place to be. At first I was a bit hesitant about the rooms but as soon as our cab pulled in to the hotel, my husband and I were treated like royalty. The General Manager Berthia Parle even planned our week for us. Every time we came back to our room, there were new gifts in our room, from champagne, to flowers, to love birds made out of towels. The little touches like that made our trip even more enjoyable. During our stay, Hurricane Omar's waves were to strong for us to go down to the beach... no worries, the staff of Bay Gardens had a personal masseuse to come and give use massages on our patio. it was an experience to remember. For the most part, our stay was very quiet and relaxing. We were not to far from downtown Castries and a quick cab ride to the Friday Street festival. ( I can not remember the mane of the town). We had such a good time we did not want leave. Again, if you are looking for a great staff and good hotel, this is the place to be. Also, be sure to try the Frozen Habiscus (check spelling). I ordered from the hotel restaurant, pure heaven on your pallet!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HendeFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    658
    106
    33
    22
See reviews for
555
1,061
58
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I was vacationing with with my 3 daughters ages 14, 19 and 22. We chose this hotel based on the location and we weren't disappointed. We loved the activities at the beach but when we'd had enough we could walk 100 feet to our beautiful pool. We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite with a full kitchen. The rooms were very generous in size and comfortable for the 4 of us.
We walked a couple of times to the grocery store for our snacks and breakfast supplies. We preferred taking our time in the morning and enjoyed sitting on the balcony while taking in the view. Usually our lunches were by the pool.
We enjoyed many great meals at the nearby restaurants and felt safe walking to them in the evening. As well, the older girls enjoyed the nearby clubs which were a short walk away.
The Bay Garden Beach staff were friendly and on our last evening there we took in the luau buffet at the hotel.
We taxied to Pidgeon Island for a few hours one afternoon and our driver came back at a prearranged time to pick us up. This historic site is a definite must see and offers magnificent views and a beautiful beach right next to the Sandals Resort.
We would definitely return to the Bay Gardens Beach Resort and my daughters and I felt we had chosen the best hotel on Reduit Beach.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srfdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
203 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We spent the first week of Feb at the Bay Garden Beach Resort. it is a beautiful resort on a busy beach but being located at the very end allows you some relief from the traffic. Everyone at the resort was helpful and attentive. Amanda our room attendant and Julian at the restaurant made lasting impressions. Many others did as well but I didn't get their names. As you will see from the photos from our room...the website doesn't lie about the views.
We didn't come into contact with many Americans, I think they were mostly staying at the Sandals resorts. The crowd at BGBR were mostly Canadian and English. It made for some interesting and lively conversations on the beach and at the pool bar.
One thing to note...on Sunday most of the restaurants, including the BGBR have buffets for all meals. I guess it makes it easier to keep the staff low when turn out is uncertain.
We have been to many islands in the carribean and this was undoubtedly the most welcoming. To a person, housekeeper, waiter, tourguide, beach vendor, security....EVERYONE asked us if we were having a good time, thanked us for coming and said they hoped we would come back.
Beach vendors were plentiful, but respectful if you said no thank you. Hey, they have to make a buck if they can.
We will be back to St.Lucia and the BGBR..

Helpful?
1 Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberporth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We stayed at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary! We hoped it would be a great holiday but it was more than that. We had a holiday of a lifetime. We felt special from the moment we arrived and we were spoilt in the best possible way for 2 weeks. The staff were superb and the hotel and ameneties first class, simply the best.
Alan & Glenda Jones

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alglenAberporth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Just returned from a fantastic holiday in St Lucia, the Bay Gardens Beach Resort in Rodney Bay was great. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. The staff were all very attentive to our needs but in a low key way which made for a very relaxed feel to the resort.
There's entertainment put on if you feel like a bit of a knees up, or you can sit back and chill, the choice is yours. If you feel like going out there are great places to eat or drink just a few minute's walk away or you can take a stroll along the beach.
We're both hopeing to return next year finacial climate permiting.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Following TA reviews and a recommendation, we chose this hotel for our 10 day stay in St Lucia. In a nutshell, we were definately NOT disappointed, as our expectations were met in just about every department.
The hotel and its facilities are spotlessly clean and well-,maintained, with super garden areas and pool surroundings. We stayed in a deluxe beach view room, and found it large and well-equipped with in-room safe, TV, CD/DVD player, fridge, kettle, iron, umbrella, hairdryer (and even bathroom scales, if you need those on holiday!). We opted for 'room only' (wanting to try out the various surrounding bars & restaurants) so we often did our own self-catering for breakfast/lunch on the balcony. Maid service was excellent, as she even washed up all our own picnic crockery.
Mention must be made of the excellent staff attitude. Although we found all St Lucians across the island to be friendly, helpful and courteous, the staff were even more focused on making the holiday great. For example, when we accidentally locked ourselves out of the safe, the response and solution were instantaneous. Everyone (from security guards, gardeners, bar staff, reception staff etc) went out of their way to engage in conversation, often with great banter. Plus, management were fully visible, accessible & interested, at both the manager's' cocktail party and at all other times.
The hotel's location is great. being right on the beach - and at the end, which avoids much of the cruise visitor crowds which descend onto some parts of the beach on some days. The slight downside of this 'end' location is that it is further to walk to the main supermarket, and some restaurants - but not unmanageably so. There is a free mini-bus shuttle service between this hotel and its sister (Bay Gdns Hotel), which is right next to the supermarket, so you can use this to get around. They even laid this on for us on request, when the driver was technically taking his lunch break.
We only dined at the hotel itself on 2 occasions, both for 'themed' events, when the food was buffet style. A wide variety was on offer, but as with many such buffets the world over, the quality was variable and temperature not hot enough for our tastes. We cannot comment on other hotel meals.
Responding to a few comments made by other TA reviews:
The only 'noisy' night we experienced was on Friday from the Gros Islet fish-fry jump-up, just across the entance to the marina. But as we went to it anyway, so what? It did go on to about 1am, but not so much as it stopped us sleeping (& our room was at the Gros Islet end of the hotel). These type of events have been going on in many Caribbean islands for years (being well-supported by locals, not just tourists), so they are part and parcel of the experience.
At no time did we feel uneasy about walking the streets after dark when we drank & ate out (on 8 nights). We were approached a few times by street-sellers, but found them ok to deal with, either with banter or a firm 'no thanks'.
Our only 'negative' observation about restaurants/bars was that many were pretty quiet, with customers seemingly completing their evening out by about 10pm. Probably due to the economic situation, as it seems many hotels were not full anyway. That said, the combination of sun and Piton beers tended to make us weary by not long after 10pm anyway! Eating out is not cheap, but much of that perception is due to the poor £/dollar exchange rate. Quality we found to be generally good. We only felt ripped off once, when we stopped at La Haut (near Souffriere) for afternoon tea & cake. Great views, lovely place, but £15 (20US$) EACH for tea & one slice of cake!!
Recommendations - Spinnakers bar/restaurant on the beach is a must. The Iguanas garden bar is a hidden gem - very few customers, great music and 2-for-1 happy hour all day every day. We chartered the Wild Dreams boat (often anchored at the far end of the beach) with Thomas & Courtney for a 5+ hour round trip to Marigot Bay, snorkeling etc exclusively or just our 2 friends & us for US60$ each including drinks. More to our preference than the more costly crowded catamarans, and these 2 guys are knowledgable characters!

There are other hotels along this beach, but they look very tired (even run-down at one part) from what we could see, and at first impression the BGBR stands out - and on this occasion, first impressions were proven to be right. Interestingly, we stayed at the Southern Palms in St Lawrence Gap in Barbados a couple of years ago (Rated no 1 there) and we felt the BGBR compares very well. Whilst everyone is entitled to their own opinion, (thats what TA is all about), we could see no reason why BGBR shouldn't aspire to a similar ranking. We loved it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

I have just a few days left of my 14 day stay here and am moved to write about this place and its staff. A wonderful place. Clean, hospitable and nothing is too much trouble for anyone from management downwards. I loved it and would highly recommend it to all. Email me at paauguste@aol.com and I will tell you more. You can ask me because I am the fussiest person my husband knows (smile). I just hate the thought of returning to england but needs must. I intend to return with my adult children in the summer and again at christmas.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — housekeeping everyday when i wanted a lie in. You can ask for privacy but lable kept blowing off door so they would knock to make sure
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank paauguste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
16.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
928 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
883 reviews
2.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Property: Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing