We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Lovely hotel, great location with the beach on the doorstep, close to shops although free shuttle provided so one could choose to walk or not. Staff very helpful although A/C not working in gym during my stay so not very keen on using it in the heat!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to pool therefore great for lazing around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Christelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on our property, your comments are very much appreciated and valued.

Let me once again apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the A/C in the gym being down and we have since then rectified the issue. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and we would personally like to welcome you back to your new home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,192 - 1,198 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights.

Experience was mostly positive. However, their were a couple of issues as explained below.

Good Things :-

1. Good fast wifi. It was a big plus!
2. Clean big room
3. Excellent service. lot of smiles, ma'am word being used and everyone at hotel looking to help you.
4. Excellent check in and the lady even came with me to show me my room
5. Room has fridge, safe, iron, iron board, coffee pouches, milk, heater for hot water for making cafe.
6. Excellent location of hotel both with proximity to beach or to action or night life.

Bad Things

1. Hot water was a issue one of the mornings. I had to go for work without a shower henceforth. Rest of the time , hot water was ok.
2. Lot of mosquitos in the room. But a special candle was given to me to light to ward off the mosquitos
3. The bathroom door was not good enough to stop water seeping out when showering resulting flooding of bathroom all 4 times I took a shower. Hope the hotel gets these doors maintained.

Overall, if ever I am back in St Lucia..I will not hesitate to stay here again.

Do I recommend this hotel..Yes absolutely. ( book 2-3 days in advance as rooms here seem always to be full!!)

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room. I stayed on a garden view room which was nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued to our entire team.

We are glad that you got to experience our Wi-Fi which is available everywhere on our property including the beach and the spacious and comfortable rooms. Our staff pride themselves in providing the best in comfort and happiness for every single guest.

In keeping with that, it will be our priority to look into the hot water showers during the morning, and our special candles help the prevention of mosquitoes. We are currently looking into our bathroom doors and seeing what is the best solution for that.

We hope that we can welcome you back soon and thank you once again for recommending and choosing us. We understand there are many other choices and we really value your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Great staff, extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent location, right on the beach; it is definitely worth paying extra for a beach front room, ours was 805, right in the middle with uninterrupted view of beach, Caribbean sea and amazing sunsets.
The rooms: plenty of space, big plumpy pillows on beds, bed linen and towels changed regularly. A free, easy to use safe, plenty of storage space, drawers and hanging with plenty of good quality wooden hangers, a hostess tray with full size kettle, tea, coffee, milk etc, fridge, (TV and DVD player but who uses those on holiday??), ice bucket, alarm clock, good AC plus ceiling fan, furnished balcony, 2 case stands (how sensible for a room for 2 people, how often have you been in a room with only one?). Bathroom had all the usual mini bottles plus tissues and cotton wool balls and loads of towels and flannels provided, beach towels changed whenever you wanted. Tap water seems OK to drink, but if you aren't sure, just boil a kettle and decant the water into your bottles and put in fridge.
Restaurant: only the beachside area was open and it was lovely to sit in the open-sided area for breakfast, Happy Hour and dinner. Staff, again, are great. Two lovely cocktails for the price of one, your toes in the sand and a front row sunset view, what not to love? Meals were good, a beach BBQ and Caribbean buffet had good choices; the menu is comprehensive but, as we found everywhere, the cost of eating out in St Lucia is quite expensive. Most evenings there was some sort of entertainment in the restaurant area, a musician or dancers/fire-eaters etc.
Beach: sandy beach and clean, clear water; easy to walk into the sea and it became deep reasonably quickly, no huge tide differences. Plenty of sunbeds and shade. Buy lunch on the beach from the fruit boat which pulls in or the ladies selling wraps, plantain chips etc. Get your drinks from The Wizard (cheaper than the hotel). The hotel staff did bring along cups of water during the day which was a very nice gesture.
Good quality water sports equipment, pedaloes, hobbycats etc for free use. Life along the beach is interesting to watch: see the guys who weave baskets and hats from a palm leaf frond, boats going into and out of the marina, frigate birds soaring above, locals fishing from small boats, the shell diver with a red float attached to his ankle, the fruit boat.
Area around the hotel: Spinnakers is a beach restaurant next door, we ate there once and it was fine. A couple of other restaurants just along the road, again, the ones we used were fine. You would probably want a taxi for the ones further into Rodney Bay town.
The hotel grounds are kept beautifully. The paving around the pool area does get slippery and as we were there in the rainy season we did have to walk with caution; I think they need to insert some textured paving slabs as a pathway between main buildings.
I would recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lyndam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued to our entire team.

We are glad you had such a wonderful experience and got to see the stunning sunsets from your room. Our top priority is to make sure each and every guest is comfortable and happy and that starts with our warm welcome and spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Another priority is your safety and we make sure that at every point in your vacation that you don't have to worry about anything.

Once again thank you for choosing Bay Gardens Resorts and we hope that we can welcome you again to your new home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the BGBR for 5 nights in August, 2014. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary, so came without our children. We love to travel and experience new places. We usually take one good vacation out of the country every year or two, and believe in researching hotels before we choose. We are in our 40s, are budget conscious (like a good deal), but also like a little luxury on our vacations. We also like to spend time alone, but don't mind a place where family and children are.

The resort was nice. I would give it a 8 out of 10. I do believe that it is a must to have a beach front room on a top floor - especially if it's just you and your significant other. When we made our reservations we booked a beach front room, and made the request to have a top floor room. We were very disappointed when we checked in, and were told that only first floor rooms were available. We went to our room, and although quaint, just didn't feel like anything special. I did like that there were flat screen LCD TVs, nice marble counter tops in the bathroom, a fully stocked kitchen (with dishes, pots, pans, glasses, etc.), a comfortable king size bed, and an iphone docking station (After all, I chose it because of these amenities and location). It was clean, and that's also very important. But it was also very basic. The furniture was a bit dated, the paint colors feel like the 90s, and you can see a little wear and tear here and there. It's really not what I would call a 'modern' feel. But to be honest, we were truly upset because of the view. Being on the first floor (there are 3 floors) meant that we basically had a view of bushes and trees (this was room 902). If we looked over the shrubs and around the trees we could see the beach umbrellas and people walking by... but of course they could see us too. This meant that we would not be able to open our windows, which we LOVE doing when on an ocean, so we can hear the waves and get a nice breeze. I'm sure some people prefer a first floor beach front room because it's close to the beach. I would think families with children would love that. Also, seniors who don't like stairs might prefer that. But for us, we wanted a bit of a view and some privacy. We asked the ladies at the front desk if there was any chance that we could be moved to the top floor. They said they would check, and let us know if anything came available. So, we slept night #1 in our first floor beach front room, not feeling at all hopeful.

Day #2 during breakfast, one of the ladies, from reception, Olive, came to our table and said, "Guess what?! I have a top floor room for you!" We could not believe it! We thanked her so much, and immediately made the change. And I have to say - our vacation took off from there! Olive, thank you soooo much for looking out! I know people say the room is not that important because you don't spend a lot of time in the room on vacation. But we completely disagree! Our room on the third floor (910) made the complete difference in our vacation! It was fantastic! We were able to see the wonderful blue and turquoise waters of the bay! We definitely enjoyed our balcony. We opened our windows every evening for the breeze and the sound of the ocean. It was truly a game changer! And it's amazing how a view can make the rest of your room look better too! Suddenly, our room felt more modern (smile). I would have rated the hotel lower had we not moved to this room, but because we did - I can truly refer this resort without hesitation, on the caveat that you get a floor 3 beach front room. And I cannot say enough about Olive who followed through on her word to move us if possible. Thank you!

Once we got our room situation in order we were able to enjoy the rest of the resort. The beach is nice. It's not to be compared with the waters and sand of Turks and Caicos (the bluest water, and cleanest, luxurious beaches we've ever seen). However, if you're looking for a beach where you can wade and swim in clear, clean water (no seaweed) and where the sand is soft and powdery - this place hits the mark. The beach chairs and umbrellas are free to BGBR guests. We never had a problem finding an umbrella with a good view of the ocean. The beaches are public, so anyone can sit on them, but only guests can use the BGBR umbrellas and chairs. There are chairs for rent for other visitors too. The vendors didn't bother us at all. Once you declined politely they left you alone. And in fact, we bought roti from one vendor who we ended up looking for daily (the roti was excellent). Her name is Liz. If you find her - she's legit. Her roti is very good. The ocean itself is very calm on this part of the island. You won't see any surfers or boogie boards here. But it's nice - perfect for swimming and just 'lazying' away your day. The water just kind of laps on the beach throughout the day. It gets a little stronger when the tide comes in, which is nice for a few small waves.

We also enjoyed the pool area. The pool is beautiful. And the setup of the jacuzzi in the middle of the pool is unique. It was generally quiet here, so a nice book and cool drink make this a pretty cool place to hang out.

We found the restaurant to be so-so. The food was good, but the prices are very expensive. Thank goodness our breakfast was free (we had a half-board package). We did room service two nights, and were pleased with the food and service. The good thing about the food situation though is you are near so many other options. That has to be a major plus with this resort - the location! You can walk within 10 minutes to Rodney Bay, the area with bars, restaurants, and shops. And if walking isn't your thing - you can take the free hotel shuttle back and forth. That was a winner! We found some great places to eat - for half the prices of the hotel's food (Spice of India and Wings-N-Tings were 2 good choices).

The rest of the island was as advertised. We enjoyed the Pitons in Soufriere, the forts and view on Pigeon Island (we didn't relax on the beach there as there were probably 700 teenagers there finishing up a "walk-a-thon"). We also enjoyed the volcano tour and mud bath in the hot springs, and a dip under the Toraille waterfall (definitely worth it), and the "jump-up" in Gros Islet. You can read about those things in other posts.

The last thing I'll say is if you're like us, you don't like to tour in large groups. We like to do our own thing. We booked a transportation company for our transfers to and from the hotel and airport, and also used them for a private one-day tour of the island - The Real St. Lucia Tours: www.realstluciatours.com (they also do business under the name St. Lucia Airport Shuttle: www.stluciaairportshuttle.com). They were EXCLELLENT. They are affordable, on time, knowledgeable, polite, dependable, and professional. I cannot say enough good things about them. Book them immediately for your transportation and tour needs. In addition to them getting us to and from the airport, we booked a one-day island tour with them for just us. We had a driver, who was an excellent tour guide and a private air-conditioned car. He mapped out our day for us, and let us tailor it to the things we were interested in, and skip the things we weren't interested in. They pride themselves on being flexible with your itinerary. And it was nice to know we could leave our souvenirs and bags in a locked car throughout the day as we went sightseeing throughout the country. Book them today!

Overall, a good stay. There's lots to do. And there's also good space to do nothing if that's what you're looking for. And BGBR is a perfect place for just that.

Room Tip: Beach front, top floor is the ONLY way to go. We were first booked in 902, a beach front first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank TheSkoog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to review our property, your comments are very much appreciated and valued to us. We are glad that you choose Bay Gardens Resorts to celebrate your 20th Anniversary and once again congratulations.

Unfortunately as it is standard when booking a hotel, all requests can not be guaranteed but I am glad Olive was able to find you a top floor beach front room and once again we apologize if we couldn't meet your request right away. We make sure that every guest is comfortable and happy, and we go above and beyond to ensure if something isn't available right away, we will make it happen eventually.

We are glad that the rest of your vacation with us went well and we hope that we can see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Wonderful property with very nice pool and beach area. Staff was very nice and accomadating. We had a fairly large group and they were accomadating to our needs when asked. Bar staff was very attentive and nice as well as the service at the beach. Rooms were nice and property well maintained. Great locations and shuttle bus to downtown shopping area was a plus. Only negative was the slow food service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank RkyMtCCRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on our property and we are glad that your group had a great experience with us.

Our staff pride themselves in providing the best in comfort for all our guests and making sure everyone is happy. In keeping with that priority, we will be looking into the speed of our food service and what we can do to make sure its timely.

We hope that you can visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We recently stayed at the resort to celebrate our engagement. The room was a 1 bedroom suite and it was exceptional. It was always kept spotless for when we returned from our days out. The food at the hotel as well as nearby restaurants was really tasty and there were large varieties of dishes to choose from. The service at the hotel was excellent. Everyone made us feel right at home and we were treated like royalty. You can have your meals and drinks brought to you on the beach at the hotel if you so desire. Our every need was met. I would definitely recommend this resort and I can safely say that we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICARDO P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review on our property, we are glad that you had an amazing vacation with us and we appreciate your feedback.

Our service is based on making sure you are comfortable and happy and I am glad you got that exact experience. We hope that you can join us again in the near future and thank you once again for choosing us to celebrate your engagement. We wish you the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I stayed in late July and it was wonderful. My friend booked us a ocean view 3rd floor room. Very spacious immaculately clean. No one got eaten up by no-see-ums while there either. Friendly Staff. Bar called most of by name within 2 days. We ate there quite a bit as the Food very good and PLENTIFUL. Burger was so good I couldn't stop fast enough. Not being a big eater I slept it off most of the afternoon. Worth it though! Service is normal Caribbean style so relax and enjoy the surroundings and people. After the 1st day I had to pass on the breakfast buffet too. Excellent choices and cooked to order but for me too much food. The only thing I would consider an issue was that they are very picky about money. If it's wrinkled or worse has even the tiniest cut or tear, they wont' take it. I did not find this problem anywhere else on St. Lucia but here.

Room Tip: Dollars are fine although they didn't seem so worried about EC's. Also look for the service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sirius_Business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on our property, your comments are greatly appreciated and we are glad you had a wonderful stay.

We focus on guest comfort and happiness and remembering your name is essential to that process. Our staff pride themselves in making sure that you are well taken care of.

In regards to accepting wrinkled or worse currency notes, it is because our banks in Saint Lucia have advised us they do not accept the same and we must follow their guidelines.

We hope that we can welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
16.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
9.1 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
934 reviews
2.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $175 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing