We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exceeded Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I spent the week of June 7 at Bay Gardens Beach Resort. It exceeded our expectations. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Terrence and the rest of the staff are great. We were greeted with rum punch for an easy check-in. We mentioned it was our anniversary month, and they sent up a bottle of champagne with local flowers. The non-moterized watersports are included and we kayaked, paddle boarded, and peddle boated. There are snorkeling opportunities near the rocks on the right side of the beach. The constant view of sailboats at the beach is really nice to look at. The ocean is beautiful and calm at this location and the beach is very nice and large. The pool and hot tub are very nice. It's beautifully landscaped, and not crowded. Our room was huge with a kitchen, living room, 2 TVs and 2 bathrooms, with a deck having a terrific view. Happy hour each day from 11-3, and 530-630 is nice with 2 for 1 drinks and good sunsets at the evening one. The only improvement I'd suggest is a larger, better menu/food at the only resort restaurant.

The location near Rodney Bay is fantastic. A short, safe walk into town gives you tons of good dining options, a mall, a grocery, etc. There's even a free shuttle from Bay Gardens. We had really good meals at Big Chef, Blue Olive, Buzz, and twice at Spinnakers, next door to Bay Gardens. The resort has a Caribbean night buffett with entertainment, which is nice. Some nights there might be other entertainment during happy hour evenings.

I highly recommend booking the Tout Bagay excursion through the hotel excursion company, Cox, with Beatrice. We had a terrific day sailing on the Mango Tango catamaran to Soufriere for sulpher springs mudbaths, sugar mill plantation tour, waterfall, snorkeling, view of the Pitons, etc. I also highly recommend taking the $15 water taxi from Bay Gardens to Pigeon Island, where you can snorkle, tour British ruins, hike 2 peaks (1 with British fort ruins), and have lunch at the restaurant.

We loved St. Lucia. It's beautiful, the people are friendly, and this resort is good.

Craig and Sandy Alter

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincyBoiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled that we got the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Our number one priority is guest comfort and happiness and to know we reached that goal or went above it really makes us proud.

We would also like to thank you for giving such an extensive review so that other guests will know what to expect once they visit. We hope that you could join us once again in lovely Saint Lucia and at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    523
    72
    23
    18
See reviews for
448
848
50
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

To be honest I have not stayed here for well over 2 years but reporting on it because it would suit a lot of holiday makers to St Lucia.
This is a good value property with a great pool right but right on the beach if you prefer.
The superior rooms are huge by St Lucia standards and comfortable.
The food is honest and a great mix of local style with some unusual tasty dishes. Coming from 'down under' this food is an unusual treat for me.

It would make a great hotel for a family,...very relaxed and non stressed.
The beach is closeby, very clean, pure water,..... just beautiful.

Room Tip: Go for the superior large rooms which are on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We are glad that you decided to visit us again in Saint Lucia and chose the Bay Gardens Beach Resort as your accommodation. We are also glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Just returned from vacation in St. Lucia and Bay Gardens Beach Resort and Spa is the place to stay for those considering a visit to this beautiful island. The WOW factor was obvious among staff from the time of arrival and throughout our stay. Of particular note as well was the manner in which the staff, irrespective of their particular role, sought to engage all guests. The young lady at the tour desk is Also worthy of special mention, and which is a really nice touch to service as it made planning one's activities seamless. We occupied a deluxe beach front room and the view was simply amazing. The room was spacious, comfortable and housekeeping was efficient. I highly recommend this hotel for travelers. Thank you Bay Gardens team and keep it up!

Room Tip: Beach front for the breath taking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olveston, Montserrat
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Was the most impressive stay. Services, food and staff most outstanding. From the staff at Bay Gardens hotel the shuttle ride after we tried to check in at the wrong hotel to the morning at checkout, we were overwhelmed. I was very impressed with the service from the owner (I was told served a table enquiring if we were enjoying the occasion). Special mention of the most outstanding in the dining rooms - regret can't bring her name. Room was spectacular. I've stayed at next door hotel, never realizing what was next door. I know you can only get better. You've been my best.

Room Tip: If your needs require get a suite have company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bennette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property here on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate and value your comments. We are very thrilled that you had your best hotel stay with us. We pride ourselves in being the best at guest comfort and happiness and it looks like we have achieved that with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home and once again thank you very much for the kind compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I made our 4th trip to St Lucia in February 2014. This was the first time in Bay Gardens Beach Resort. We were welcomed by Jackie and Nal at reception and given a rum punch whilst our luggage was sorted. Taken to our room by Kevan where everything was explained fully and we were encouraged to contact reception if we needed anything. The room was very comfortable with a/c and free wifi. There was also a decent sized fridge.
During our stay a framed picture fell off the wall in our room. The maintenance and housekeeping staff could not have dealt with it more quickly or pleasantly. Moments when things go slightly wrong are a good indication of quality of service and staff.
We are familiar with Rodney Bay and always like to eat in several restaurants during our stay there...Lester the BGR consierge supplied us with discount vouchers for some of these and even arranged reservations on a couple of occasions. Lester was always around and ready to assist if necessary.
We ate at the BGR 'fine dining' restaurant Trios twice and found it excellent. The food was good but the stars were Rafilia and Nadia the two waiting and bar staff who were totally professional yet so friendly that we called in there most nights for a cocktail...I was quickly named (affectionately) as Mr Difficult as on our first visit I chose to sit on a different bar stool than the one I was offered. These two young ladies are a credit to the hotel and even came to say goodbye as we were waiting for our transfer to the airport.
All in all our stay at BGR could not have been better. A lovely room with a view across the pool to the Caribbean beyond...great staff, good food and service in all bars and restaurants. Thouroughly recommended. Mr and Mrs Difficult will be back! Thank you for a great holiday...John and Rosi.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harpersongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to review our property, your comments are very much appreciated and valued to our entire staff and management.

We are also very glad to welcome you back to Saint Lucia and that you chose Bay Gardens Beach Resort. We take great pride in providing the very best in guest comfort and happiness and it starts with our warm welcome.

I am happy to hear our maintenance and housekeeping staff were effective in resolving something slightly wrong and that our staff continued to display the type of friendliness that is always a staple for our resort.

We are already awaiting your next arrival to your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Carol and I went there for the first time based on Trip Advisor recommendations. We were not disappointed. The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly. They could not do enough for us. The beach was one of the best inthe world having pure sand bottom and very calm bay water. I would definitely rent a car while staying here to explore the island.
Food in the restaurant was terrific as well and reasonably priced.

We will definitely return to this place...for a honeymoon or anniversary, this is ideal.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review on our property. Your comments are very much valued and greatly appreciated.

Its very humbling to find out that someone decided to visit us through the TripAdvisor recommendations and we are glad that we did not disappoint. We pride ourselves in having an amazing staff that continue to push our number one priority of guest comfort and happiness and we are glad you were no exception.

The entire staff is already excited and ready to welcome you back soon to your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Well we went back to BGR at the end of May for our anniversary and it could not have been better,and we checked in with a big St. Lucia welcome by Jackie and Nal at the front desk. We reserved a beach front room on the second floor so we could look out at the harbor in the morning and enjoy a cup of excellent coffee on the balcony and watch the grounds keepers spiffy up the beautiful beach. On the way in from the airport we had our driver stop at the IGA market at Baywallk Center to buy beer,water,OJ and breakfast snacks we changed money at the airport so we had some EC dollars or "beewee" British West Indies as we jokingly call it witch makes it easier to pay for whatever you purchase. Now to get down to the beach which you can throw a stone into the water from the balcony and claim a good spot near the shade trees and get a little table with a shelter on a pole over it and bring a cooler bag with water,beer and ice. Now it's time to run into the 84 degree F. ocean for a quick first dip of the day, I always bring my Ipod with a small Bluetooth speaker system and play my collection of Calypso,Soca,Reggae and other music while chilling out and we do plenty of it. Close to lunch time Shirley strolls down the beach with a large see through basket of Roti's which is like a burrito but has chicken,potatoes and curry and is really tasty, but make certain you get one from Shirley and you won't be sorry. BGR has a great security staff that makes certain that you are safe, but can't stop some of the locals from asking if you want to buy handmade crafts or local herbs, all you have to say is "I'm not interested today" and you won't be bothered anymore. One of the locals comes by in a small 12 ft. boat and sells bananas,mangos ,oranges etc. and has cilantro,mint,basil and growing on the roof of the vessel so you can wade in the water and buy from him or just take photos. Around 3:00 we head for the big circular pool to enjoy a fresh water dip and have a cocktail at the bar and chat with some of the interesting guests and make new friends and find out where they come from. One thing that we like is that there is a nice class of people that do not wear their ball caps backwards and are not all "inked" out. We are not snobs and like to joke around especially me with a " Rasta" wig and zombie eyes and I like to do coin tricks and other silly magic stunts and after 2 days everybody knows me especially the security staff like Kimron and Margaret . Just ask Kimron to smile with his "special" teeth that Dick gave him if you want a good laugh everyone who works at BGR has a great attitude and a bigger smile. In the evening for dinner there are some fantastic places within walking distance of BGR just read the St. Lucia magazine in your room for what you may be in the mood for close by and near the center of town there is a knock your socks off gourmet food store called LG Foodmarket it is in the group of buildings that the casino is in. This market has a selection of items that rival any US fine food stores such as pate's ,cheeses,pastry,prepared food,wines,liquors,Florida OJ,and more my jaw dropped when I saw what they had to offer. So don't waste time going to other islands St. Lucia is by far the best with BGR shining like the brightest star in the sky,just tell them Dick the crazy guy from Florida sent you.

Room Tip: upper floor ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for visiting us again at Bay Gardens Bach Resort and taking the time to leave us a review on our property. I can assure you your comments are very much valued and appreciated by our entire staff.

We are glad that we can help in celebrating this momentous occasion and that we provided our expected warm welcome. Thank you as well for giving such a detailed review so that our other guests can have a feel and plan their options accordingly when they visit or those who are deciding where to go can understand exactly what our property provides.

It was also very nice to meet you and chat for a while and from the entire staff at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, we can't wait to welcome you back to your home away from home and catch up once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
16.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
2.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
23.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
East Winds Inn
East Winds Inn
#1 of 14 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Property: Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing