We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise indeed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Essex junction Vt
1 review
“Paradise indeed!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife and I stumbled upon this resort after spending a majority of our vacation in southern St. Lucia. We were looking for a change of pace and Baygarden is the place to do that. Everyone there is extremely friendly and helpful, and the accommodations are excellent. If you're looking to get away and relax and not worry about anything this is the place to be. We will definitely be coming back in the future :-)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    665
    110
    34
    26
See reviews for
575
1,074
60
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a room only basis for a fornight in January and thoroughly enjoyed most of our holiday.
The staff were generally most helpful, particularly our maid Marie and Jackie in reception, the plants and the grounds were well kept and the beach was brilliant.
We had garden room 403, on the ground floor next to the playing fields. We thought little of it until the mosquito bites began to appear and on enquiry we were told the room could be sprayed each evening while we were out. We tried this a couple of times - how healthy it is I do not know - but it did not make us immune from further bites though it did seemingly kill a cockroach! My advice if you are making your first visit to the hotel is to take mosquito remedies with you. We fortunately had some special soap we purchased in Turkey which takes the sting out of the bites.
The beach of golden sand is well worth a walk around 8am when it is deserted - at midday with the cruise ship clients bused in it is often overcrowded. The hotel has its own beach chairbeds - more comfortable than they look - and we always got a couple even though we did not generally go down there until around noon and clients from the Bay Resort sister hotels can also use them.
The happy hour with live music - 5.30-6.30pm - was fun though service was a little haphazard. At 20 East Caribbean dollars - around £5 - the two-for-one cocktails were great value.
We ate breakfast at the hotel on our first morning after arrival and my lukewarm omelet was most disappointing. We had read differing reports on the catering and ate out most of the time, but be warned - local prices are anything but cheap.
There are two good supermarkets in the town - ten minutes walk - or use the hourly shuttle bus. Bread and bananas are the value buys in these.
There is a big marina in Rodney Bay though facilities there were disappointing, but it is worth taking a trip to the daily market in Castries which features fruit and veg and souvenir sections. We used the local buses - 2.50 ECD each way. These are mini vans from the top of Rodney Bay town and are busy but perfectly safe for tourists. In fact ask any of the locals for directions etc and most will happily oblige.
Our Virgin trip to Soufriere was a disappointment. The Botanical Gardens were the highlight - see how big your house plants can grow in perfect conditions - while there were masses of other unbelievable species. The drive-in volcano was okay, but we never did get to the promised mudbaths (no explanation given) and were dashed back at uncomfortable speed to the hotel. Definitely not worth £60 a head!

Room Tip: From our experience with mosquitos try for an upper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derrick_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for providing such detailed feedback, we like to use all the points to work on improvements where necessary. It is always our recommendation to bring along insect repellent when visiting. While we can’t speak to the reasons for your tour being ended prematurely, we can definitely tell you that it is normally a great tour when you get the full experience.
We certainly hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were staying at the bay gardens hotel but got to use this resort as well. It is a fantastic hotel situated on the beach. We must make a special mention to Lester who gave us a tour on our first day so we knew where to go etc and he made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. Everyday he would check we were ok and if we needed anything and was able to provide us with vouchers for money off local restaurants too. The restaurant at the resort was great and Sophia who worked there was fantastic always making sure we had what we needed, great customer service from her. The restaurant was great for lunch but disappointing at dinner. We also went one evening only to find out it was British pub night food, not something I want to eat whilst I'm away and seeing as I'm from the uk it was not appealing! The bad points......well the beach, as two girls visiting we got pestered everyday day on the beach and could not relax. There are security from the hotel who watch your stuff etc but don't stop the guys trying to sell you things constantly. It was hassle and we could not relax on the beach! Also the managers cocktail party was very good but the buffet in the restaurant was a rip off and not worth the money, very over priced!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakiandlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a one bedroom self catering apartment, with a terrace overlooking the swimming pool. Our ten days at the bay Gardens Resort were filled with many different activities. We hired a car and explored the Island, wish we had hired for a longer period than just one day. Went on a Boat trip to the Pitons and the volcano and travelled around on the local buses. We also spent time on the fabulous beach, one minute from our room. Many days we sat at the beach bar at happy hour watching the sunset and enjoying a cocktail. The hotel staff were mostly fantastic. Our only disappointment was with the person responsible for organising the activities; although these were advertised on the daily activities board they didn't always happen as the organiser seemed to be absent at the appropriate time.
The Managers weekly drinks reception and entertainment evening is a must attend event.

Room Tip: Pool view or sea view rooms are the best. The high floor sea view rooms will allow you to watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maturegappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We recently stayed at Bay Gardens Beach Resort while at St. Lucia. The location was awesome and the hotel was beautiful. Right on the beach with beautiful views. The staff esp. security and the concierge were extremely friendly and helpful. Eldran at the bar was awesome and a lot of fun. Don't miss happy hour the views of the sunset were beautiful! We did not do all inclusive as we like to experience different restaurants while away but the night we had dinner at the hotel it was very good. Only complaint about the food was the portions were a little small but the taste was big! The pool area and hot tub were also great. Very good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaulauHake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
We’re proud of our team; they’re always so warm and friendly while delivering great service. Great tip with the happy our and sunset views – definitely shouldn’t be missed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I just got home from 5 days at Bay Gardens Beach resort and the only thing wrong was that we couldn't stay longer!

the Island - first of all, St Lucia is amazing. Its very lush and tropical and the mountains and rain forests are incredible.

the people - the people in St Lucia are great. They love their island and seem genuinely excited it to share it with us!

The resort - it was perfect. We stayed in a beach front 1 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor and the view was awesome! The staff was great - all over the resort from the restaurants, to the bar, to the front desk - they were all great. Beatrice booked our excursions for us and she was great. Housekeeping was very good, the room was always very clean. The pool and hot tub are very nice.

The location of the resort is perfect. Beautiful beach, within walking distance to tons of shopping, restaurants and grocery. It was also only a short drive to the harbor where most of the tours leave from.

From what we heard about a few of the other resorts we considered at staying at, we made the right decision. If we return to St Lucia (which hopefully we will someday) we will stay here for sure.

I also used the spa for an 80 minute massage and it was heavenly!

Room Tip: if you want the best ocean view, request the 3rd floor. We stayed in room 811 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sflewelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Could'nt ask for a better hotel.The rooms are clean and tidy and very spacious.All air conditioned
We stayed on room only basis which meant we could eat out at different restaurants each evening.Really good selection of eateries within walking distance

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank brianbh1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for staying. It’s great having so many diverse options in and around the resort to enjoy. Bring the family again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
16.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
0.1 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
9.1 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Property: Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing