We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We've had a wonderful holiday the past 12 days, next to a beautiful beach. The location is great, nice bedrooms and warm atmosphere. Full of charm.
But more than anything I appreciate the kind staff. Our flight has been cancelled today and the staff is helping me so much, I've rarelz seen such kind service and helpful staff; really...it's amazing!!
I recommend this place to anyone willing a relaxing holiday in a friendly place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind recommendation. Our team is always happy to take care of our guests, just as we would take care of our family! We hope you're home and re-adjusting well now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,429 - 1,435 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

This place is amazing, I have nothing bad to say. The staff goes above and beyond, from the desk staff, to the housekeepers everyone makes you feel appreciated. We took a tour and hands down the best beach available only steps away. Rooms and grounds are clean and updated. Couples massage at the SPA ... only took me 23 years to get my husband to do one and now he is hooked!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This place is amazing. The people are so friendly and really make sure you have a great vacation. The food was fabulous. The beach and sea were fantastic. We had a room just steps away from the beach. The gardens and grounds were so gorgeous. I hope we get back here next year.

Room Tip: Choose a beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Knowing that you travelled so far to stay with us, it makes us extremely happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the detailed review, readers will certainly appreciate all of the valuable information you and tips you’ve provided. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

TripAdviser Report on the Bay Gardens Beach Resort & Spa stay

We travelled from Ireland.

The time of final arrival was delayed as we had been re-routed from Toronto to St Lucia via Bridgetown in Barbados. As the Caribbean Airline Liat (Leeward Islands Air transport) company were having difficulties. our final leg of the journey was delayed almost 6 hours. The irony of the situation was that under normal circumstances this was only a 45 minute journey.

We were met at St Lucia’s Viji Airport near the capital Castries at 2345h by a smiling, but tired face. It was our personal driver.
When we finally arrived at the The Bay Gardens Resort and checked in at 0030h on Tuesday morning.
That is when the spirit of our intended visit began. At Reception a real gentleman Dylan quickly covered all the formalities and had us on our way to our rooms accompanied by a security guide who showed us the way.

Imagine our joy after such a journey to find a mini buffet meal waiting at our spacious rooms. A choice of 3 cold salad dishes along with drinks to accompany the meal.
A perfect end to a challenging day in room 710.

After a wonderful night’s sleep in a very comfortable Kingsize double-bed we assessed our bearings and saw that we had very lovely, spacious rooms. It included a large sitting room and kitchen with a big bathroom and bath/shower. All perfect for our needs.
This standard was maintained by a Housekeeper the lovely Chanelle. She was as quick, quiet and as unobtrusive as the Scarlet Pimpernel.

As we were on a third floor we had a panoramic view over the hotel swimming pool and nearby Rodney Bay and Pigeon Island. I took lots of photographs. The weather was superb with the sun beaming down from a blue sky. We used the patio with this lovely view often on our stay, to relax and chill out.

I needed to have some urgent laundry attended to. A simple phone call and very quickly I had a gentle knock on our door from Housemaid Maura. Within an hour she returned with the results. It was all excellently done. And what a lovely gleaming smile she gave. Already, the cobwebs of the previous day’s travel were blown away.

We then went off to have breakfast. The setting was comfortable, beside the warm sandy shore of Rodney Bay giving us a very different and beautiful view at sea level. All kinds of sailing craft dotted the bay.

The breakfast arrangements of the Bay Gardens Resort are self service buffet. The variety of choices from the hot or cold menu was a challenging but delightful experience. In addition there were chefs available to give your special hot order to. One just had to come back and collect the chosen dish 5 minutes later. It was simply an amazing experience.
On our table the lovely Hilaria came with a smile and welcoming chat offering tea or coffee? Later in the week we had Philipa who smiled just as much. So very friendly.

Dinner at the hotel a la buffet style was on offer in the evenings. The alternative was to go out occasionally to the Strip and see who was walking about in the balmy evenings? In this area there are a wide range of interesting places to eat close-by.

A great start to our day was a swim in the warm ocean between 6 & 7am, followed by breakfast. Every second day the plan was to go to the hotel gym. It is well equipped to cater for those who need to keep their fitness levels up. In addition though we never tried it, there is a fully equipped Spa at their La Mer Spa & Beauty Salon at the hotel resort.

The Executive Assistant Manager Cheryl Gustave could not have been more helpful. The two recommendations were superb. The first day by car seeing the sights from the north of the island to the south. The highlights were * eating freshly baked Casava bread at Plas Casav * a scrumptious lunch right beside the Pitons at the magnificent Dasheene Restaurant at Ladera Resort and * a swim at the sandy beach at Vieux Fort followed by a few beers and a chat with friends. The next day a similar trip was unique; this time by Catamaran From being * hit by a fierce 10 minute squall 15 minutes out of port to * snorkelling in Anse Chastanet near Soufriere over the coral reef was amazing.

Lunch at the fascinating Morne Coubaril Estate (Coffee bean plantation) was a learning experience and most enjoyable.

Shopping at the local markets on the morning of our return was a superb experience. We fell to the temptation to bring a consignment of local Mango fruit home.

A taxi driver ‘Tiger’ was efficiently organised by The |Bay Gardens to bring us to the International airport to catch our flight home.

And so ended a wonderful stay in St Lucia.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room overlooking Rodney Bay. Room 710 for us was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

First the negative points.
Now the positive points. (thats right there were not any negative points). The most memorable thing I can mention is the genuinely warm friendliness of the staff, from the managers right through to the security. I can only describe staying here is like staying with the family of some of your best friends. Any small issues we had were dealt with promptly not to be a problem.o
Beach can get busy on cruise days but hotel security ensure guests have enough beach space & sunbeds laid out for this not to be a problem. Hotel & surrounding gardens were well maintained.

LOCATION - situated in an ideal spot of the island, right on one of the best beaches, yet within close proximity to the shopping centres/town either on foot (casual 15 min walk) or using the hotels free shuttle service. There is more than enough variety of good restaurants nearby as well as the hotels dining facilities which can be competitively priced, (although a bit confusing as some prices are in US & some in ECD). I would particularly recommend the hotel's own fusion restaurant 'Trios' next door as well as Big Chef, Buzz & Spinnakers (on the beach).

ACTIVITIES -We experienced the aerial tram in the rainforest (organised trip), as well as visiting the Pitons, drive in volcano & mud baths (at the volcano). A local taxi driver (Lloyd) took us to these places. If you can get a group of 4 it is half the price of a tour organised trip. He will adjust the itinerary to what you want to do. Ask for him at reception. He also took us to one of the Friday fish fries. If you can get there would recommend lunch at The Ladera Hotel, near the Pitons, the views were amazing!.
In summary I have stayed at hotels with equally as good facilities as here, but never where the staff were as good.
I would finally like to say a thank- you to Cheryl, Nal, Jackie x 2, Siarran? (reception),Vidal, Marvin Kimrun, Kenroy, Wilbert, and last but not least Mrs Berthia Parle for inspiring such a great team and making our stay so wonderful & memorable. We home to come back to visit you.

Colin & Margaret

Room Tip: We stayed in a pool-view room which was fine. I think the view from some of lower sea view rooms ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank primateno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have been to 78 countries and stayed in hotels in about 60 of these (always 4 star or better). We have been to 10 of the Caribbean islands - this is the loveliest.

This hotel ranks among the best. Why? Simply the wonderful staff (for whom nothing was too much trouble) and the beautiful surroundings. All the staff (bar none) are terrific and it would be invidious to individually name any. The hotel's position is magical, in a quiet part of the area, right next to the beach, but with many outstanding restaurants only minutes away and a local village (with two malls!) just 10 minutes walk - or 3 minutes in the hotel's free hourly shuttle bus.

The rooms are well appointed. Ours had a large bathroom. There was a Queen-sized bed, large safe (which fitted my laptop!), large flat-screen TV with satellite, free wireless wi-fi (despite what it says on the website) and ours was west facing, with a balcony, overlooking the beach. The only downsides to the room were the awful foam pillows and tiny American style bath towels - not the European style bath sheets we are used to. But - hey - we had as many bath and beach towels as we wanted, anyway.

The pool area was mercifully quiet (most residents headed for the adjacent beach) - except for Sunday afternoons, when the locals came for lunch and then stayed by the pool for the rest of the afternoon, which they aren't supposed to do!

Breakfasts are awesome - well worth the extravagant price for the buffet, even though the fruit is a little restricted in variety because St Lucia does not import any from outside. But the chefs cooked almost anything you wanted (for a breakfast) - and a large selection of breads and pastries.

Dinners are different nightly, if you remain in the hotel for these (which we only did twice). Service is slow but who cares when you are sitting alongside the ocean. Anyway, there is a second first-class restaurant on-site.

One final point: if you are going to Gros Islet, St Lucia, then the catamaran trip down the west coast, to Soufriere and the pitons is a MUST.

Room Tip: Sea view room, first floor, not overlooking the pool are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We enjoyed 4 days here as it was handy for the beach and the resort of Rodney Bay. Hotel room was OK, pretty standard, but shower was useless, just a trickle and never warm. On asking about it the staff were very pleasant but just shrugged as nothing could be done. We ate twice in the restaurant but there were many better and cheaper restaurants close by. It could be noisy at night with bands playing till late.

Room Tip: Maybe the showers work better on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret13Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

It was a short stay, but we’re happy you enjoyed it. We’ve since resolved the issue you experienced. There certainly are many options for dining in Rodney Bay, and we stand by our restaurants being among the best in this area – both in terms of quality and price. Hopefully you’ll visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
1.9 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
0.1 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
17.6 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
743 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $181 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing