We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort and absolutely loved it! It's a private hotel, owned by a St Lucian lady, not a big chain, and everything was perfect. The room was spacious with a great view and the staff were so helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for us. Penny and Beatrice in particular were wonderful at organising trips out for us and providing maps and information when we wanted to 'take off' by ourselves. The hotel is in a perfect situation, right on the beach with lots of water sports on offer and a lovely pool. The restaurant overlooks the beach and the food was excellent. We also recommend Trios, the 'fine dining' restaurant, the food was superb. The town of Rodney Bay is within easy walking distance with plenty of excellent restaurants on the way. We will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are very proud of the fact that we’re St. Lucian owned and operated. Our size also helps us provide personalized service to our guests, which is exactly what you got to experience firsthand. We’d be very happy to have you as our guests again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    665
    110
    34
    26
See reviews for
576
1,074
60
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really enjoyed the stay at the Bay Garden Beach hotel. We were on a room only basis.
The location is ideal. Right on Reduit beach. Perhaps it was a quieter week - despite other reviews saying Reduit Beach is extremely busy I found in fact pretty quiet.
The hotel itself is lovely. Nice communal area, pool and restaurants.
The room was clean, comfortable bed, nice bathroom and a patio overlooking the pool.
The staff has been very nice, flexible warm and pleasant. They really made our stay more enjoyable.
All in all I found the Bay Garden Beach a fantastic choice and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MassiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We’re very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time out to leave this wonderful review and for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have just returned from two totally brilliant weeks at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort. Our beach front suite was spacious, spotless and had wonderful views from both the balcony and bedroom window. The room was cleaned thoroughly every day, with fresh nice quality towels ( beach and room) and all the staff were very attentive. The beach team of staff, led by Wilbert, were so friendly, making us feel very welcome and part of the 'family' as they chatted in a warm way, when encouraged to do so. They ensured you were 'left alone' to enjoy your holiday. The beach was gorgeous and we enjoyed our daily walk from one end to the other. It had welcome areas of shade/ trees and the water was like turquoise bath water! Snorkelling from the end of the beach by the rocks was fun along with watching or taking part in the numerous water sports on offer along the beach. The hotel is a matter of minutes walk from the town, with a wide range of restaurants ( we loved the Big Chef Steakhouse), a supermarket, bank and range of shops. The staff and locals were very friendly, gracious and made us feel very welcome in this most relaxing area of natural beauty. Paradise for sure !

Room Tip: The beach front suites are wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie299Cheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Paradise indeed. Our team is always up to ensuring that our guests have the best stay possible and we enjoy getting positive feedback to that end. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This little resort is great for a relaxing vacation if you don't need something too fancy. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Nothing special, but all your time will be spent outside, so who cares? We went over spring break and the pool was not crowded on any of the days. We were able to get chairs for our entire group of 13 every day. Beach wasn't crowded either. Kids loved the giant trampoline in the water! We rented kayaks and paddle boards for a good price right on the beach from the company affiliated with the resort.

At the end of the week, we rented a boat (from the same company that rented us kayaks) and took an all-day tour of the island. Saw all the big sites: walk in volcano/mud bath, waterfalls, Pitons, went snorkeling. Crew (Daniel and David) were great. Stopped in a few of the coves to show us around, tailored the trip to the needs of our group (we didn't want to stop for a big buffet lunch so we got a price break and packed a picnic).

Resort is near to town. Walked to dinner every night. Big grocery store (with GOOD brands of food) so we could buy food and eat breakfast/lunch in the kitchenette. Entertainment at the hotel on many of the nights was nice.

Best part was the fact that it wasn't crowded like the all-inclusives and we saved a bunch of money by having the kitchenette. Would stay here again if we come back!

Room Tip: The kitchenettes are well worth the extra money in savings on food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sindi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us; we’re very happy that your group enjoyed your stay with us. You are certainly welcome to stay with us again anytime you’re in St. Lucia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

stayed at bay gardens 4/4 thru 4/10. great hotel, very quiet after 9 pm, walking distance to many resturants and shopping area.very attentive staff , thanks jackie, nikki, many others. one big drawback is the hour and a half ride to the airport, going to be at least that for most hotels. the road from the airport is full of sharp turns, girlfriend got sick twice. cost about 100 us inc tip. best places to eat were buzz for sea food, and tapas for small meals. chef xaivier in the mall by casino has best lunch, also say hello to wilson the manager, he will make you feel welcome. best cab driver we had was kurtz from island man taxi , email him for airport pick up in advance. island.man@hotmail.com very honest man, knows island better than others we used

Room Tip: dont bother to upgrade room, not worth xtra cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
The best way to cut the travel time between the airport and the north of the island is a helicopter transfer. You also get some amazing island views that are available nowhere else.
Thank you for leaving this review, our team will be very pleased when they read it. We certainly hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

From SLU Airport it costs EC$80 to the Hotel by taxi and is about a 20mins drive. The check-in process is quick with friendly front desk staff. A fruit punch welcome drink was offered. They asked for passport and it was after I realised that they had photocopied our data page. They didn't mention that they were copying it.

We were shown to our room which was a pool view. The key cards didn't work so the guy went back to reception and returned with keys that worked.

Room was pool view and could even see the ocean and boats. Had a good view of the pool except for the palm that was planted near the pool and partially blocked the view....but I like trees so no big deal.
There was a laundry/ice machine room on floor of room I stayed.

(I make these comments to help better the place..not really as a complaint..it didnt affect my good stay here.) Room was fine except for one of the bed mattress that sort of collapsed in the middle. So when ever lay on it I rolled towards the middle where it had sunk in.
The toilet bowl although it was clean it was brown, so didn't look clean at first glance. Maybe the bowl could be replaced or something.

The Managers Cocktail was good. Had an hour of free drinks and hors d'oeuvres. And had entertainment until around 11pm.

Had orange beach/pool towels and pool chairs on the beach. There are Hotel employees who keep an eye out on your stuff and ensure only Hotel guest use the chairs. You will be recognised by your orange towel.

Saluna Watersports is next to BGBR and provides water sports and boat tours. They have water taxi to Pigeon Island and will drop you off and pick you up at the time you tell them.

Just an observation...am not a pool peson. But as my room faced the pool I noticed a couple of days people put towels on a couple of pool chairs before 7am and yet by 11am they were still nowhere around. The pool area is never crowded though so I guess they dont get complaints about these chair blockers much.

There are stray cats walking around the Hotel. I am not a cat person and didn't like them walking around while I had dinner at the Hotel restaurant but I kinda tried to ignore them. There was one missing a tail that decided to hiss at me one day :-/ A next day one decided to follow me from the pool area all the way to my room on the second floor.
There seems to be a stray cat problem in the area though. I encountered cats at Spinnakers and Buzz Restaurant too.

Overall I will stay at this Hotel whenever I visit St.Lucia again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poisonarrowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We agree, feedback is used to improve on our offerings for the benefit of our guests. We have noted all the great points you made and will certainly work on them.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you’re on island again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My fiance and I spent 7 nights here and we could not have been happier. The staff were friendly and bent over backwards to make sure we had a pleasant stay. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The location was perfect (right on the best beach on the island and within walking distance to a dozen restaurants and shopping). I cannot say enough good things about this resort. We will definitely stay again the next time we travel to Saint Lucia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Again congratulations to you. We’ve got double the confirmation for a return visit and we’ll be waiting to see you again. Thanks to both of you for taking some time out to leave these lovely reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
16.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
0.1 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
9.1 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Property: Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing