We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's not in castries” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“it's not in castries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

it's in gros islet. big difference.
our 6th carribean island and these are the most pleasant people we've met.
they make the trip extra special. beach is fantastic and make sure to get a beach view.
excellent restaurants within easy walking distance.
for the price, a fantastic value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    633
    100
    30
    22
See reviews for
529
1,010
57
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks to celebrate my 50th birthday. Resort was very busy due to Jazz Festival. Hotel is in an excellent position and very safe to walk around Rodney Bay at night. Breakfast was very good but only had dinner in the hotel once and wasn't overly impressed. Staff do everything they can to help you and sorted minor isssues with our room immediately. On my birthday we were given an upgrade to a pool view room (we'd only booked a deluxe room) huge birthday cake and champagne along with room decorations. They really spoilt me. We did the Friday night street party at Gros Islet with the entertainment team booked through reception. It was the best night we had in our entire holiday and for $10 each we were taken there, looked after and brought back again
The only negative comment I would make is that some deluxe rooms do not have a balcony - just a picture window with safety bars across it so I would request one with a balcony.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GO50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knaresborough
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

returned recently from a lovely holiday. The hotel more than met our expectations.All staff were welcoming , polite and always had a smile for you. We had a 1 bed suite and bed was huge as was the bathroom, our teenage son was comfortable on the sofa bed.
The food was excellent, we ate in every night and never had a rubbish meal.My tuna steak one night was devine, and the banana bread in the morning is very moreish (i wish i could have the recipe). The beach is great and safe. Any 'salesmen' on the beach can be politely declined, but some of their crafts are unique and worth having(the palm leaf bowls).Trips worth doing are rainforest zip lining and for the very energetic(or stupid),climb Gros Piton.
We have no hesitation in reommending this hotel, and we would love to return there one day

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaKnaresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Just returned from BGBR having spent our 10 day honeymoon there. What a fantastic holiday!

Our one bedroom suite was all that we could have wished for - a fully equipped kitchen, lovely lounge/bedroom and a wonderful oversized bathroom. The beach right outside the hotel was great for sunbathing and swimming.

We had breakfast and lunch at the restaurant a few times and all the food was good. We didn't eat there in the evenings as there are loads of nice restaurants within walking distance (the Fire Grill being our personal favourite).

What really made our stay special though was the staff at the BGBR, especially Donald and Ali in the bar; they were always cheerful, cracking jokes and generally looked after us brilliantly.

Will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coxy7465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Recently returned from this lovely hotel after 2 weeks of blissful relaxation. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and accomodating staff here. From the moment we were greeted with a welcome drink on our arrival to the moment we left, the hotel staff could not do enough for us. Our room was a beach front Ocean View room on the ground floor, which provided for great sunsets while nursing a pre-dinner drink on the terrace. The maid service was excellent with regular room turndowns and daily thorough cleaning. One of the outstanding features of this hotel was the service provided by the beach bed attendant who ensured that all customers obtained sufficient shade and space on the beach. There was none of the ridiculous competition for sun beds and shade that can be so unfortunately too common in many other hotels. Breakfast and lunch were mostly taken at the hotel which provided a tasty and varied selection of meals each day. We had dinner at the hotel's Trio restaurant a few times which provided good fine dinning at a very reasonable price. Most evenings were taken up with a visit to one of the several excellent local restaurants a short walk away along Reduit Beach Drive. Notable examples that we would highly recommend would be Buzz, Delerious which served a mixture of fine dinning and caribbean food as well as some interestesting and tasty takes on some old British favourites. Trips that I would recommend were the free daily shuttle bus to Pigeon Island which is worth doing if you wish to stretch your legs for an afternoon, an island tour to Soufrere (incluing the drive in mud volcano), and a day trip to Martinique that can be organised from the hotel. All in all a great stay at this marvellous hotel which is definately on the cards for a return visit.

Room Tip: Great for a quiet relaxing holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heatonspair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

On our first trip to St. Lucia we enjoyed a two week stay at BGBR. We have travelled to other islands in the Caribbean over the past 20 years and have a few favourites. Now St. Lucia is added to that list and definitely this resort. It has it all, with a perfect location on beautiful Reduit Beach, a western exposure to enjoy the sunsets, great proximity to Rodney Bay within walking distance to good restaurants, shopping malls, supermarkets etc..
In addition to all of this it is well run with friendly, conscientious staff. In all the resorts we've stayed, I would say what stands out at Bay Gardens Beach Resort is the way most staff go the extra mile. We enjoyed a beach front one bedroom suite which was absolutley lovely.
We like to do some of our own meals so really appreciated the well equipped kitchen . Hard to improve on perfection, but a gas barbeque/grill for guests to book, would do it. (we Canucks love our barbeque)
To be so close to a wide variety of restaurants was a bonus as well.
We would definitely consider going back....maybe next year??

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fenna50, Marketing Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Well I'm happy that we were able to play such a big role in making the decision to put St. Lucia on the top of your list as a Caribbean destination worth visiting. We know that you have many choices, and the fact that you chose to stay with us is very rewarding. It is even more rewarding to know that we were able to satisfy all your needs both in terms of our amenities and our service.

We look forward to welcoming you next year, and hope that we will be able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a two-week vacation in St. Lucia. We stayed at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort. We had a one-bedroom suite on the beach side. We had a beautiful view of Reduit Beach, Pigeon Island, and the many catamarans, sailboats, and yachts. Our kitchen was well equipped including a blender for libations. We were able to take a sunset picture every night and most were beautiful but so fast compared to the ones we have in Canada. The staff was very friendly and willing to please. There was air conditioning as well as a safe in the room. The bathroom was huge. We had a king-sized bed. There were no mosquito problems and we were able to have some of our evening meals on the balcony. It was very quiet after 10 p.m. There was a pool but we love the beach more. There are two restaurants and a real good bar. A spa is on the premises as well. A laundry room is avaialble should you wish to do your own. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want and you might get it - we dd
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fenna50, Marketing Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to outline our various amenities and giving us a breath taking image of your sunsets from your balcony. I don't believe that I could have given a better description. It is always better for persons to get a first hand account from other persons who have experienced what it is like to stay at our property. We hope to see you again and I'm sure you will be able to create even more lasting memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
16.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
23.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
2.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
1.9 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Property: Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing