We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Newly Taken Over And Reburbished Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We have just returned from this lovely resort after having visited the Almond Village in Barbados for the last few years.
This resort has the same feel as the Village (the bar staff is a bit more formal and reserved) but the 4 varied restaurants, the setting of the hotel and the standard of the rooms which are well furnished and spacious certainly exceeds all expectations. The watersports centre is excellent and again includes waterskiing and there is a lot to see by land and sea on and around the island. Well worth visiting if you are looking for an upmarket but relaxed all inclusive.

10  Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,205)
There are newer reviews for St. James's Club Morgan Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5,765 - 5,771 of 6,206 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2006

Our third All Inclusive family holiday in the Caribbean, St Lucia and the Almond Morgan Bay do not disappoint. Guests at Almond Bay are now benefitting from the very significant upgrades that Almond put into the old St James Club. Refreshed rooms - including new bathrooms all round, new pools and restaurants. Top marks for a-la-carte menus at dinner and lunch, rather than more usual wall- to- wall buffets, food was certainly a highlight for us. Child menus always available - though not really healthy options - no complaints from the children.
For our second week the hotel apparently reached above 80% occupancy and the strains on service began to show, particularly at breakfast, but also at dinner where the staff began to struggle to keep pace with demand. That said, we noted the genuinely friendly and pleasant atmosphere set by all the staff, waiters, bar tenders, watersports, cleaners. This is a great setup to allow for a relaxed and refreshing holiday.

Tips:
Don't get hung up on evening dress code, this is usual for these hotels and quite reasonable for sit-down meals as at home.
Daily booking for dinner and sports takes some getting used to, but at least is fair for everyone.
Excursions:
Brig Unicorn- Pirates day
Bit crowded for a full day trip, but very well organised with taxis neatly arranged at Soufrierre for the volcano and waterfalls visit. Pirates ideal for 10yr old boys. On reflection we might have preferred one of the large catamaran trips.
Golf
Absolutely excellent - wished we had done more. Free pickup, clubs and cart approx $50 but you may need to buy extra balls around the course. Polo-shirt dress code.
Horse riding
Excellent family report on this - rebooked for second go within two days.
Car hire
$95 for the day through the hotel. Brand new car and we made it independently down the west coast. Roads are a challenge but dramatic and we found a superb lunch at the Mango Bay hotel looking out on Petit Piton.
$$$ Helicopter return to airport from hotel.
Blew the last of our budget with a helicopter trip back to the airport ( main luggage picked up by the helicopter co.). Superb.

Enjoy your stay - we will certainly look out for the Almond Brand elsewhere in the Caribbean.

Stayed: August 2006
14  Thank Antiblackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2006

We have just returned from the Almond, what a lovely holiday destination. This was our first holiday in the Caribbean and also our first holiday in an all inclusive resort. We usually rent villas in the Med. so it was very different for us and I was a little concerned about it, as I thought it might be a little "hear we go, brits abroad" but not at all, there was no shouting around the pools, the holiday makers were lovely as were the staff. I had read the other reviews before we left as was prepared for the journey to the hotel, which was said to be "hard going" however I didn't think it was that bad, and the scenery was amazing, banana plantations, and people going about their business.
The hotel was lovely; the staff were very welcoming, offering us hot, minted towels and cocktails on arrival. The check in was quick and we were soon in our rooms. We were in the block of 200s which was fine, nice clean rooms, airy, quite large, good facilities, (iron, ironing brd, coffee machine, fridge, air con, tv.) very clean, good maid service with clean towels etc everyday.
The grounds are amazing, they are being attended to everyday, and the flowers are lovely.
Restaurants are great, especially the Morgan’s Pier, and La Jardin, good food, my only suggestion would be for more vegetarian options but I was told to have a word with the chef (which I never did as didn't want to make a fuss!) food was lovely, really well presented and certainly enough of it! Yes it's true the birds are bit of a pain in the Palms restaurant. As for the dress code, some complained that all the restaurants required the men to wear long trousers, but I think it's a good idea.
The Pools are kept clean. They could do with more sun umbrellas and beds, it's a case of putting a towel on the beds to save them, (we did see someone putting their towels out at midnight!! yes you know who you are!!)
The entertainment wasn't all that, and it got a bit repetitive. There is a piano bar in La Jardin from 11pm ‘til 2am, my girls went there and said it was great. The good thing was that there weren’t any disco or loud bars! This really was a place to relax and chill out.
The beach was nice, the water was a little disappointing as it wasn't as clear as I thought it would be, but it was very warm and inviting during the heat of the day. It did rain quite a bit during our first week, but there isn't much you can do about that, everyone usually gets in the pool!
We chose this holiday because we have teenage daughters, they thoroughly enjoyed themselves, met loads of new friends, and didn't feel they had to stay with us all the time, and when they were with the group of new friends they could just go to the bar for soft drinks etc unlimited!! So you don't have to worry about taking money out with you.
I had read the reviews about Joys Tour, we went along, what a great day, and you get to see all the "touristy" hotspots, well worth doing. On the whole it was a fantastic holiday, I think we have been spoilt in our first experience and will find it hard to match. Would do this sort of holiday again, although I do like the privacy of a villa!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank Violet_Essex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

I had been to this hotel when it used to be the St James Club and I was amazed with the improvements that had been made. This is now a fantastic hotel with excellent service and great choices of food. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank caribbeangirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

On the way there on the Virgin Flight we were given custom forms to fill in. When 200+ or so odd passengers got to customs at St Lucia they told us we had the wrong forms, so all 200 or so passengers were held up at customs whilst they filled in the right form! Not good. So Make sure you get the right custom forms !

We did read about the long journey from the southern airport. It was not as bad as people made out. We went round the right side of the island and yes it was hilly and bumpy but I quite enjoyed it. There was a lot of road works going on when we went and unfortunately we were driving through "rush hour". It took about 2½hrs but if you make sure you have a bottle of water with you its not too bad.

We spent the first 5 nights of our honeymoon at this hotel (see Blue Waters Antigua review for other 6 nights) and we had a magic time. On arrival you are greeted with a cold towel and refreshing drink. The free honeymoon extras we received were a room upgrade, champagne and fruit in the room, a free 30 minute massage each and a special romantic meal chosen at Morgans Pier. (This was better than the honeymoon offer we had the second week at 4* Blue Waters which was only a room upgrade)

The room was very very clean and well equipped. The A/C was good and quiet so you could leave it on at night. The room was in the block next to the sunset lounge, top floor overlooking the pool. What was excellent was the range of plug sockets. 3 pin UK ones as well as US and Euro. Only minor quibble was the remote control died and never got replaced.

What they dont tell you is about 6.30pm every night the Treefrogs (birds) start making a continous noise till about 2am in the morning. So its best to make sure you go to bed very tired for the first day or two until you get used to the din ! This is the same all over the island so you can not really escape from it.

The meals were excellent. Breakfast was the best at The Palms. Mainly as the buffet was tucked away at the side in its own room so the little pesky birds could not pinch the food. Unlike the other restaurant, The Bamboo, where the buffet is open. However the coffee is awful everywhere. I do not drink it but my wife does and many times it was stewed or just down right awful. Breakfast at the Bamboo was a little poor but the evening meal I enjoyed, I thought it was better than Le Jardin which is overrated.

We liked The Palms the best. We tried the Le Jardin once but it was nothing special. They got our dessert wrong too. Also Afternoon tea at The Palms was the best. Most refreshing. We hardly ever bothered with lunch after having a good breakfast.

It really is a good hotel and the refurbishment shines through. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We went during the World Cup and they set the TV's up in the Sunset Lounge. We booked to go on Joy's tours on the Wednesday but due to the weather we had to change it to the Saturday when England played. Actually I`m glad I missed that sorry match ! You NEED to go on Joy's tours. They are really friendly and it is excellent value for money. $75 each.

The evening entertainment was actually most welcome. There was a regular band and also a troop of dancers who were actually quite entertaining. It was caberat English seaside style, almost. The band were okay but one night they seemed to sing the same 3 songs over and over again. The dancers were really good and the excerpts from theatre shows night was good to watch and they even threw a little humour in. However I can see its not everyones cup of tea but to sit in the Sunset Lounge with a cool drink and just chill, it just seemed so right.

The only bad thing about the week was the weather for the first two days. It absolutely chucked it down. It quickly turned out into a little game, on the beach or by the pool when the sun came out and then a quick dash into the Sunset Lounge when the rain came. At the end of the second day you could see people getting a little fed up but by the third day the really good weather hit and the rest of the time it was very very hot.

So all in all a good first week of our honeymoon and it was excellent value for money and I would recommend this hotel. It is more family orientated but there were hardly any children and the ones there were well behaved.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank varkanoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

Welcome to heaven! The hotel is amazing and the rooms are really spacious (big enough for two king size beds) and are well equipt. The food is lovely and the presentation is very good. The staff are really friendly, although they have an obsession with refilling water at meals. (Bernard at the Pier Restaurant is a legend!) The pools are clean, although there aren't many sun umbrellas so be careful, but you can always seek shade in the sunset lounge. The beach and the sea are the best - they are just amazing. The watersports are great, especially the kayaks (double & single) and pedalos. Waterskiing is a must, its free so dont worry, and the instructors are brill.

You have to get out and see the island, if you don't you're missing out big time! You can go on one of the hotels tours or hire a car. We hired a car, which is easy to do, just ask at guest services (Robert at guest services is very helpful.)

THINGS TO SEE:
1. Cable car over the rainforest
2. Volcano, slightly smelly but amazing all the same
3. Water fall (near volcano) with an amazing garden and fantastic ice-cream!
4. If it's on when you there then you have to see the carnvial along the main street in Castries (mid-July)

The hotel is great for families with young children and the kids club is excellent, athough some of the staff are quite rude to teenagers. The teens club is ok and it's got the internet but the staff are rude to the teenagers and don't want to be there. The tennis, table tennis and table footie is great too. All in all a great holiday.

Stayed: July 2006
22  Thank beautifullytanbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2006

Visited the Almond Morgan Bay for one week in July 2006 having spent the previous week at the Almond Beach Village Barbados.
It is reputed that Almond spent USD 51 million refurbishing the place in 2005 and certainly the accommodation, restaurants and other public parts of the hotel were first class.

We enjoyed our stay, but found the booking in advance system for the restaurants a bit of a nuisance.

Overall, a really nice hotel and hard to find fault.

Stayed: June 2006
14  Thank GerryOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
947 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,159 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
15.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $257 - $718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing