We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff,accomadation,staff,food,staff - get the picture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff,accomadation,staff,food,staff - get the picture”
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Be sure to take Captain Joy's boat trip. Excellant value ,fantastic way to see the island, excellant snorkling trip. Nothing too much trouble for the crew !!
Hotel and staff out of this world, swim up pool great to get away from the kids ( my own that is) becareful of the "pussycat" it can cause damage !! Food great plenty of choice for kids as well as the adults. Great family location and beach activities - watersports !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlimWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,848
    2,160
    608
    243
    172
See reviews for
1,752
2,886
92
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

The best thing about this hotel has to be the staff, nothing is too much trouble, with only a few exceptions the staff were all lovely friendly people. The worst thing has to be the food in the restuarants at lunch time and evenings.
There are four al a carte restaurants, the nicest atmosphere is the adults only Le Jardin but unless you like fish or salad you wont be able to have a first course. Then there is Morgans pier FISH restaurant. The other two are bambou asian food, quite nice by the sea but only a restricted choice of menu or the Palms which again features a lot of fish starters and mains. If you want steak it costs 20 USD extra.
The Breakfast buffet was very good no complaints there, and the lunch time beach BBQ was ok if you got there early and things were still fresh or you had bagettes for lunch from the restaurant.
If one of the restaurants had an evening buffet it would have been packed solid, so many people were complaining about choice, portion size, variety. Some even ate off the children's buffet for some 'real food' as one guest put it. We heard a few say they were going out to a restaurant because they were so fed up with the hotel food.
The Bedroom was nice and airy with a small balcony. The adults only pool and swim up bar looked a bit dingy certainly not 4 star quality.
They try with the shows but apart from the african, fire eating, limbo dancing show the rest left a lot to be desired. The band were ok when the singers were on with them but left alone they turned it into a loud jammin session and most people left.
Joy's cruise is a must, great fun.
The drinks were very light on alcohol but quite nice especially the BBC's .
The gardens are very pretty and well kept, the beach is small and dark sand but quite nice and natural with good free water sports.
I would go to St. Lucia again because the people are genuinely friendly and sunny natured, but I would not go to this one again because of the food.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazza08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Just returned from a two week stay with our 2 year old and overall enjoyed the stay but the resort is a long way from perfect and does have some serious problems.

Good points

The restaurant and bar staff were all (excepting a couple of miserables so and so s) absolutely fantastic especially good with kids and very helpful

Food

Repetetive but reasonably good quality

Watersports

A good range of activities and very helpful staff

Rooms

A good size and well maintained

Joy's Trips

Fantastic guys and really really good days out

St Lucia

Beautiful island and really nice people, far far friendlier than Antiqua or Barbados


Bad Points

Kids Club

One of the main reasons we chose the resort was the Kids club. I have to say that this was hugely disappointing, the staff were uncommunicative and unclear about planned activities. On leaving my child for one morning, where the activites were supposed to include painting, a nature walk and a trip to the pool, we returned find a different member of staff who didn't know my childs name watching tv with the kids in silence. My child said that he watched tv all morning. Perhaps we were unlucky but this was a very poor experience and the staff appeared too young, bored and sullen, unlike the girls that worked in the restaurants who couldn't have loved kids more.

Drinks

All cocktails were made with cheap fruit syrups and very little alcohol

Beach

A little small and the sea is murky and the seaweed was a real issue on a number of days.

Sun Loungers

Very poor and very old and tired, made the lounging areas look a bit frayed and cheap

Overall

I would rate the hotel as a 3 star but loved the island and will return to St Lucia but perhaps not to this resort

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Excellent accomodation, perfect for children, wonderful staff. Shame about some of the other guests. For all inclusive the evening meals were excellent, no buffets and plenty of choice. Young children were made very welcome. The water sports staff were fantastic. It is a shame more parents did not make use of the child care facilities but allowed their children to sometimes run riot and were very lax in their supervision at the pools. However as some parents behaved as badly as their children what can one expect, especially the father who put his sun lounger across the steps into the childrens pool and spent his afternoon drinking beer with no regards to the children being able to safely enter or leave the pool!! Also shame on those parents who allowed their children to use the adults only pool with ball play and lilos. The staff did respond appropriately when appraised of the situation, however there should be stricter enforcement of the policy of not reserving sun loungers, one only had to ask and more were readily available. The main downside was the inability to obtain cash in the resort to pay for goods bought at the resort from local vendors, an ATM machine or cash advance facilities would have been useful.
The child care was a bonus but the staff should be more flexible in allowing the children to interact with other age groups. We had to ask for a 19 month old to be allowed to mix with a two year old so that they would not be alone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbufeiraGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We went to Morgan Bay for 10 days and loved every minute of it! The beach hasn't got clear water but the staff clear any seaweed away every day. My little girl of 8 was taught to waterski by Kerim who was so patient with her. We had no problems with cockroaches, flies or cleanliness and changed towels whenever we wanted to. We also went on hobycats and had a great time.
I have stayed in many hotels over the years and the caribbean is shabby chic and i can't understand why people expect anything else.
The weather was wonderful despite the forecast of showers. Take a lot of factor 50 as people were really burning and they don't sell very high factor in the hotel shop.The rain comes as a welcome respite from the heat and it lasts only a few minutes.
Go on Joys Cruise which you can book on the beach, it is a wonderful day out and shouldn't be missed!
Great hotel and wish we could go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coveBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Unfortunately parts of our holiday were very disappointing, I have listed below some points for your attention.

1. Lack of hygiene around the swim ( main Bar ) in bar, resulting in flies, rats, smells on a daily basis.
2. At the Gym poolside bar, whilst having a sun downer drink with friends, cockroaches started running & flying around us.
3. A glass was broken by the chamber maid in our room and not cleaned up properly twice, resulting in me getting glass in my foot and bleeding.
4. Air conditioner noisy and had to be turned off at night until fixed.
5. Repetitive & similar food in all restaurants, resulting in having to eat out several times.
6. Windsurfing equipment! Yeah right, water lodged heavy boards, with only one sail, a kids 4.0sq mtr.
7. Hobiecats boats, all rigged incorrectly and after showing them how they shoued be rigged; just ignored.
8. Morgans Pier fish restaurant, very poor and dreadful service.
9. Dirty sun loungers.
10. We had to plead to have our beach towels replaced several times.

At 56 years of age, and having travelled all over our wonderful world at every level, I feel that your company’s rating of 4 stars in most inappropriate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Seany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We were after a relaxing fun family holiday with our twin 5 year old sons and guess what..... That is exactly what we got! Along with hubby saying at the end that he would like to return again next year, which is very impressive because he just does not do hot weather!

Our holiday was booked independently through 'Dialaflight' who I can highly recommend not only for their wonderful price (some £1200 cheaper than other deals on offer) and the wonderful service by their staff. We had to make our own way to/from the airport to the resort but that was not an issues as taxis are everywhere (costing around US$80) and if you are lucky the taxi driver will double up as a good tour guide too!

Our holiday did not start off well as we were initially booked into Almond Smuggler's Cove but upon arrival were told because of a conference (which the taxi driver had said had been an annual event on the island) we were being moved to the sister hotel back down the road some 20 minutes. This obviously did not impress me or our 2 children who after a day of travelling were looking forward to a swim. Back down the road at Almond Morgan Bay the arrival staff seemed very vague but got us to our room eventually!

Our room was lovely, clean, spacious and all that we needed for a 1 week stay at the resort. The housekeeping staff ensured that the room was kept that way too during the duration of our stay which must of been a hard task when our boys seemed to bring the beach back with them everyday....

The restaurants were good and we enjoyed all the meals. Children were well catered for too and although our boys mainly ate from the adult menu they were happy with what was on offer on the kids menu. Sometimes staff were a little slow but as soon as you gave them a gentle reminder they were back up to speed. Think if we were staying there longer than a week the food may of become a little bit repetative though. Nice to be able to get snack food too from the grill at the top of the hill. Our boys enjoyed the Buffet Breakfasts too!

Bars were good, although there was only one open most of the time near the pool. It did have a bit of smell near the end of our stay but the staff did keep it clean. Staff were friendly and happy to make children mocktails, I recommend ordering 2 cocktails at once as if you order 1 there is always some left in the blender (also saves you going back to the bar and waiting).

Beach was lovely and any seaweed washed up was swiftly removed. Boys enjoyed water sport equipment (although there was an age limit 9yrs and above on some equipment).

Children and Adult pools were well maintained (there was a loose light and as soon as it was reported maintenance was on it). It would be great if there was a decent slide for the children at the pool at the top of the hill though.

Kids Club was a little disappointing but this was probably because there was not that many children utilising the service. However, they also offer a kids club during the evening (6pm-10pm) which is great because they even take the kids for dinner for you. This beats getting a baby sitter (@ US$10/hr), so keep this in mind if you want an evening out!

Organised Day Out - we only did one trip a day sail to the Pitons, Volcano and the Botanical Gardens. We had a great day on the Carnival III and the crew did everything they could to make it enjoyable. The rum punch, piton beer and mocktails for the kids, heaps of snacks and the wonderful lunch on board the catamaran were all fab along with the swim off the boat certainly made it a great day out. The resort tour organiser was good and got us on the tour as the resort leaflet does not detail that most of the catamaran trips are adult based. Although a very tight turn around of 45 mins from popping in to book a tour and being on a boat was a little stressful all was forgotten once on board.

We also made an independent trip to Casties on the Saturday to visit the market. (US$15 in taxi). Forget the first halls of the market unless you are after trinkets, head to the back of the market where you find the locals eatung their lunches and selling their wares, Don't forget to buy local nutmeg, cinnamon and cocoa to make you own cocoa tea when you get back home. Watch out for locals who encourgae you to go to the duty free with them (they will expect US$20 for their services). Duty free is not that great in Castries although I did pick up a great hand painted platter there.

Overall we had a great time and look forward to our trip back to Morgan Bay next year (although I want to go back at Christmas time). After our bad start I could of really judged this place badly but I kept an open mind and found it to be all that we wanted and much more.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funfamilyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Property: St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, West Indies, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing