We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2008

My wife and I spent 10 days at this place from 16th Oct, if you like crowds and everything that goes with it such as sunbed grabbers, unruly children and larger swilling louts then it's ok but not if you are after some peace and quiet. We changed rooms on account of problems. The smugglers lot seemed to have been upgraded generally to suites when transferred on account of issues at their resort - a burnt out kitchen - this boosted numbers from 30% to circa 90% occupancy. Generally the food was ok but you had to book your place early for a sitting. Staff were very helpful but generally understaffed on account of boost in occupancy. The beach was a mess with JCB's on site removing seaweed through the resort for 4 days! Not a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trefadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,207)
There are newer reviews for St. James's Club Morgan Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5,443 - 5,449 of 6,207 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2008

We returned a week ago from our stay with Almond Morgan Bay. We gor married there earlier on this month and I have to say that Jessica, the wedding co-ordinator and Kendal the hotel's wedding photographer were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for Jessica who has everything under control and Kendal was a joy to be around. He really took note of what we said we wanted our photographs to be like. We'd actually met him (quite by accident) on a night out in Rodney Bay, and I think because we'd established that rapport with him the pictures he took really captured the atmosphere of the day.

The hotel, itself is lovely, our room was lovely, the view from the room was fantastic. There are odd pockets of wear and tear but that's the same everywhere.

The meals were good in all of the restuarants and there was a good choice, the only thing I would say though is that they didnt open every restaurant every night. There is only one air con restaurant Le Jardin, which always seemed to be closed. The Pier was good for food though right at the end of our holiday there was some bad weather which caused damage to it. On the whole the weather was good, I suppose for that time of year. We had rain every day, but only for an hour......we were really lucky on our wedding as it stopped about half an hour before hand and it was gorgeous for the rest of the day.

Overall....a nice place, nice friendly staff, good food and branded premium booze !!! We will be going back, just perhaps not that time of year.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JemJem44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We stayed here at the Start of Sep 2008, We arrived after spending 1 week in Las Vegas, so were looking forward to relaxing!

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by a lady who told us our room and gave us our key, we wanted to upgrade to a suite which she organised. While we were waiting we were given some fruit punch and some cold towels!!! All the staff that passed us while we were waiting were saying hello and smiling.

We were taken to our suite in Golf buggy which was a godsend after seeing the hill we had to walk up!!

The room was excellent apart from a bath panel that had come off, which we just propped up by the side of the bath. I can't even remember whether it was fixed or not!! I wasn't really bothered!!
The view was excellent, the room was perfect and cool. It was a a little walk down to the beach/pool but nothing we minded.

The food and restaurants are excellent! All the food we had was excellent. Each restaurant should be booked at least the day before. Be warned though you are not allowed in them with shorts on! They say your not allowed to wear flip flops but I wore them without getting stopped. There were 4 restaurants and I would recommend all of them. At midday everyday they started a BBQ on the beach which served food for a few hours.

The bar staff weren't very friendly in our opinion and seemed to be friendlier towards the older guests (I'm 27 and the wife is 24). This was probably the only negative about the hotel.

The beach sports were all free and excellent, I went on a daily kayak off the beach!

The entertainment at night was better than any other all inclusive place we had stayed but did get a bit boring by the end of the week. The residents were a band/singers. They were good though. All entertainment outside stopped at 10pm and moved indoors until 2am, this wasn't all that good apart from one Karoke night!!

Ask for a banana milkshake with Amaretto at the bar, yum!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank adskin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

we have just returned from a wonderful holiday incorporating my stepdaughters wedding,how brilliant the co-ordinators were and nothing was too much trouble they put on a marvelous day, the resort itself is very good, however it would have been nice for one of the restaurants to do a buffet as it does get rather boring eating set menus all the time. If you intend to go on any sightseeing trips use Joys cruises on the beach there were 22 in our party they arranged 2 boats to take us on a great day out with interesting stops and home cooked food on the beach they even made a cake for Kelly and Paul they are brilliant and will offer discounts Joy and Cornealious are very friendly and approachable. We stopped in one of the luxurious beach front rooms which had magnificent views and were so quiet compared to the poolside ones the rest of our party were in, worth the extra cost. All in all a very good resort St Lucia is a lovely place despite the torrential downpours we experienced, we will certainly return maybe not in the rainy season though..

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank IANDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

We stayed at Almond Morgan Bay in March 2007 after we moved from Almond Smugglers Cove.

We returned in March 2008. We are not the sort of people to go anywhere twice, but Almond made us an offer we could not refuse in light of our disappointing experience the year before (we spent the first two days of our holiday at an unfinished and frankly shabby Smugglers Cove back in 2007.)

You would be hard pushed to find anywhere better to stay in the whole of the Carribean.

The Rooms are huge, nicely furnished and immaculately clean.

The Staff are friendly and welcoming and very professional.

The Restaurants are nice. Not fantastic, we were a little tired of the food after a few days.

The Resort is perfect. They have everything you could possibly need. There is no need to leave the Resort unless you really want to! The Island is beautiful - ask at Reception about the Tours.

A glorious place. A perfect holiday if you wish to lay on a Sunlounger and bake yourself or if you love Water Sports, Fishing etc.

St Lucia is God's own country.

I'm embarassed to say we shall probably return!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LondonMrsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We got married at the hotel and we seemed to spend our first week waiting around for the Wedding Coordinator, and the Registrar so we felt our first week was a bit wasted. Saying that the Wedding went well, because the weather wasn't that great they moved us from the garden to Morgan's Pier. Which was a nice venue, the Steel Band were great and Kendal and Jessica were very helpful. The Hotel also upgraded our room to an Ocean View which was really nice, and decorated the bed after our Wedding. Unfortunately our room flooded through the window everytime it poured and we were left having to put towels down to dry the floor otherwise we where slipping and sliding everywhere. Apart from that the room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

The Reception staff were helpful and friendly, but watch the Jewellery Shop as they try to make out you have grabbed a bargin, when it is not a lot of difference from home prices.

First week was good, no getting up at the crack of dawn for sunbeds at the pool or the beach. It got a bit confusing over having to book for dinner in the evening as they wanted 3 days notice, we couldn't understand that one as the hotel was only 30% full. The Palms and Bambou were the best restuarants. Morgan's Pier forgot our order and made us wait 40 mins, before they realised they had forgotten us. A couple of times at breakfast we had to keep asking for some water/tea/coffee but otherwise the staff were friendly. It would have been nice in the evening if they kept one of the resatuarants either The Palms or Bambou as a buffet, where you could just help yourself. They would have been able to deal with the amount of people easier.

The second week things changed ....it suddendely became very busy. We found out that they had shut the Smugglers Cove (sister hotel) due to poor hygiene, and all the people had been sent to AMB. We were talking to one couple who said that main restaurant had burnt down three months ago and they had been shipping food in from somewhere else lukewarm. Plus there was mould on the walls of there room.

AMB had completely changed, we heard that some people had been queing for breakfast as they only had one restuarant open to deal with all the extra people. Then they had run out of clean plates and cutlery.

Plus the place had turned into Lager Lout city, it seemed to be who could drink as much as possible, and ignore all signs for not jumping or diving in the pools, and watch football in the Sunset Lounge during the day. So many people had England football shirts and were really loud/drunk. It also seemed to turned into a massive Kindergarten, I don't know where all these kids had come from, but I think the review earlier on Trip Advisor was right about it being the "Butlins of the Carribbean". There were screaming brats everywhere, and the parents didn't seem to have any control (or didn't want to!) over their brats! One night in The Palms there was a kid playing his recorder (out of tune) while everyone was eating. No consideration for anyone else, the parents didn't say anything to him!

You had to be up at 07.00 hrs to guarantee getting a sunbed both on the beach and by the pools.

We also found it incredible that we couldn't eat in the restuarants before 20:30 hrs in the evening as all the places had gone. As we are quite earlier eaters at home by the time 20:30 hrs came we were not hungry anymore. The one night we did eat in Le Jardine (at 20:30 hrs), there was no table available for us even though we had booked, so we had to wait for a while. Our starters came and went then we were waiting nearly an hour for our main meals to turn up. When I questioned the waiter about where our food was, he said that ours was coming after they had served the table next to us. When it did turn up it wasn't very nice. After that we decided to eat out in Rodney Bay, as we couldn't be bothered with the hassle.

We do reccomend the Buzz Restuarant in Rodney Bay, and if you get fed up with the Hotel food there are quite a few restuarants there which cater for everyone. Watch out as my husband got proposition by a very "friendly lady" looking for business. She was harmless and left us alone after saying "No thanks!"

Also on our last day, it says you have to be out of the room 12:00 hrs, we were hassled by the cleaner from about 09:30 hrs to be out, so she could come in and clean it.

Otherwise St Lucia is a beautiful island with lots to see and do. We did the Dolphin and Whale trip and were lucky to see 20 Pilot Whales and loads of Dolphins swimming with our boat. We did the Jeep Safari, and the Zip Line in the Rain Forest, it was good even though I am scared of heights, I managed to do the 80ft zip. It is very safe and the guides are very helpful and will tamden down with you if gets too much.

We also went to "Jump Up" (which is the local street party)which is held on Friday nights in Gros Islet, the locals were friendly enough but watch where you buy drinks from as some people got a bit ripped off. Some of the locals and lots of dogs were begging for food, it made me feel really awful, but these people are very poor compared to us and I suppose it is a way of life for them. Also watch as some of them hassle you to buy drugs from them!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JamBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Well what can I say, we have just returned from a fab time in St Lucia with 20 family and friends for our wedding. We were married on the Pier which I suggest just in case you get a downpour or its too hot. They decorated it beautifully in all the colours that I requested, they need a bit of a push to make sure things are done in time but it was no problem. We used the hotel photographer and the pics were great, everybody back home could not believe the quality.

Joys boat cruises was a must and Phillip was a captain, full of info and a really nice chap.
Our room was massive, clean and the staff helpful, they kept my lot happy 99% of the time, I believe there is always room for improvement. I have travelled to many countries and will be returning to St Lucia. A great trip had by all. Don't just stay in resort go to the Friday night Jump Up and mix with the locals and head to Rodney Bay and check out the trendy new bars. Buzz was also fab for seafood, cheap and excellent quality.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
949 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,160 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
15.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $258 - $722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing