We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good tips to know”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good tips to know”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Our family vacation is always on mass with our group of 15, but St James' Club have accommodated for us really well.

We have 3 people who have mobility problems so rooms 600-700 are perfect, with short walks to the restaurants, pools and beach. Golf carts are on request to take you to your chosen destination too.

Dinners you have to book if you wish to dine in the other all inclusive restaurants rather than the buffet, so be mindful and think ahead to avoid disappointment as reservations go quickly. All the restaurants are tasty with a varied menu!

In terms of excursions, I cannot recommend Joy's cruises enough. This has made our holiday as he is so accommodating to every need. Your rep may try and convince you otherwise but with a simple chat to Joy under the almond tree on the beach you'll know they're lying. We took a boat trip to the volcano and mud baths, visited the piton waterfalls and of course visited the majestic Piton mountains, ending the day with snorkelling between the Piton mountains. Joy's beautiful daughter arranged a full buffet for is to each lunch on the beach and even made a lovely birthday cake for my mum. Thoughtful to say the least! And all for a price much cheaper than any hotel will tell you.

I hope this helps somewhat, I've had a great time and the evening entertainment is pleasant. I've read reviews saying the beach isn't that big, but to be honest in St Lucia you don't get long stretches of beach you may be used to in other Caribbean Islands. For longer beaches you may forfeit for pebbles in the water, which believe me hurt! The St James' Club beach is big enough to be content, choose a different destination otherwise!

Anyway all in all a stunning destination, the St Lucian's are lovely. The only down side was the 90minute transfer from the airport, that was tiring with the winding roads!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Iammissjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,830
    2,136
    605
    239
    166
See reviews for
1,740
2,853
90
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,088)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for one week in December 2013 as a break before christmas. The food was great and was always something somewhere available. Really relaxed place and the staff where absolutely brilliant, always smiling laughing and seem genuinely happy when speaking to you. Dined at Le Jardin twice which incurs a charge but was well worth it. We dined in the treetop restaurant the first night it opened and again was all impressed with the food and the service we recieved. Always got a place on the beach or by the pool but presumably this is because we ant in december, the weather was great all week the odd shower in the daytime but nothing to worry about. The taxi ride from the airport was about 1 hourish off long winding roads not great for me as i get travel sick. We will most certainly be returning to this hotel and St Lucia, great place and i can't emphasise how great the staff were, also there was security on the beach and in the complex which made it feel really secure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swfc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I would like to start by saying that when we booked this trip as always we read lots of revues, and on balance seemed quite positive,a few bad ones but reading between the lines thought they must be very picky.
So imagine my surprise when I found myself in that category, I don't consider myself picky,yes I like and expect value for money.
So with this revue you are getting just the facts not opinions. We did the on-line check-in and everything went smoothly,we were welcomed with a freshen up towel and a very nice glass of rum punch given our keys and taken to our room.
The room.
Large and clean but very tired bathroom same .Furniture whicker old and worn and painted white to give it a face lift,the draws didn't shut,however on the plus side large cosy bed and plenty of hanging space, electrics are a bit iffy.
We showered and changed, and went to the bar and found two bars no more than fifty feet apart
one was the pool bar which was swim-up on one side and sited between two pools.
The other bar called ''The sunset lounge'' an open sided building with a stage and a bar set in one corner,no more than 20 feet from the pool, these are the only bars.
The sunset loung is furnished with very cheep green plastic patio tables and chairs and all drinks are served in grotty frosted plastic beakers.
The only place to get drink in a glass was in a restaurant .
Music.
Music from the pool bar was constant and loud always a heavy beat, rappers and such,you will need to shout to make you'r self herd.
At 11am the staff bring out a second sound system for pool aerobics this is played even louder
and is only 30 ft from the pool bar, but nobody thought to turn off the pool bar,so for 1hr every morning there is this mess of noise and as the resort is so small there no place to run.
Staying with music after changing for dinner, come down to the bar for a pre dinner drink in a plastic beaker now both bars are open,still loud music from the pool so we sit at the other bar strike up a conversation with some people, when a member of the bar staff walks in and turns on his own tinny portable speakers connected to his Iphone as loud as possible,end of chat for us and now we have 2 lots of conflicting music again.This was a regular thing.
On 1 night when the ''manager'' was trying to impress 50 Thomas Cook holiday reps [who themselves took over the resort in the evenings, ruining it for the other guests] we had a third lot of music adding to the mix in the shape of steel band,and that was the manager!!
Entertainment
Maybe 4 nights out of 14 were just about ok,the rest was terrible
Food.
Breakfast was the meal of the day,the ladies cooking the eggs and omelettes were great the rest was fairly average, lunch and dinner were another matter how thy managed to turn good ingredients into such a disaster over cooked mostly cold badly seasoned.
The other restaurants were little better, Le Jardin with a charge of 25$ was better so they can do it if thy want to!
Management.
After 2 days I spoke to the ''manager'' about my feelings and found him to be arrogant un professional and scruffy, and the lack of visible management around the site and staff doing what ever they want tells the same story.
The managers answer to me was '' This is what we do if you don't like it the doors over there''
I hope this is of some help to those wanting to book this hotel.

Room Tip: without wishing to be funny i would tell them to find another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Davefuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at The St. James's Club. We greatly appreciate the time you too to share your feedback with us.

We are quite disappointed that the resort did not meet your expectations. We monitor our online forums and guest surveys daily as it is our goal to deliver a memorable vacation experience that our guests will talk about for years to come. We strive to achieve 100% guest satisfaction by always going the extra mile to ensure that occurs.

We host hundreds of very happy guests each week where we earn excellent reviews for our accommodations, outstanding dining options, wide variety of activities and our incredibly gracious and hospitable staff. The resort boasts six restaurants serving a wide variety of local and international favorites carefully prepared to please any palate. With complimentary watersports, tours and excursions, a spa, tennis, and a Kidz Club there is truly something for everyone.

With reference to your comments about plastic cups. Please note that both bar/lounge areas are open to pool areas where our guests are barefoot. To ensure the safety of all of our guests we do not use glassware as in the event of breakage our guests would be at risk of injury.

The St. James's Club is a a vibrant, colorful beachfront resort distinguished by its romantic setting set amidst 25 acres of beautiful tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea.

If you are looking for a fantastic Caribbean getaway in St. Lucia then St. James's Club is a perfect choice for a sun-filled memorable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were celebrating our honeymoon at St James's club, St Lucia and couldn't complain about anything, we had champagne in our room on arrival! The Caribbean is an amazing place to visit and I would recommend it to anyone! The resort was quiet but with enough activities throughout the day to keep you entertained, and all the staff are so friendly and welcoming making sure you have everything you want or need. All he restaurant serve good food and I would recommend trying them all during in your stay. If you want to visit St Lucia, make sure you stay at St James's Club!!

Room Tip: Definitely book a beach front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katiej149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I would have rated this resort higher if it hadn't been for the appalling customer service my husband received from the reception staff. They do not automaticlly give a receipt. We paid cash for one of the hotels excursions and at the time of settling the bill they said they had no record of payment being received.
So be warned . . . MAKE SURE YOU GET WRITTEN CONFIRMATION IF YOU BOOK & PAY ANY EXCURSIONS THROUGH THE HOTEL WITH CASH.

Room Tip: Beach/sea facing rooms are worth the additional money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at The St. James's Club. We value our guests feedback as a way to continuously improve the vacation experience.

We are sorry that you felt you did not receive the warmth and hospitality that our staff is known for. The vast majority of our guests let us know in online forums and surveys that our staff is one of the many outstanding attributes of our resort.

We do hope that when considering a sun-filled Caribbean Vacation that we can once again host you and share our St. Lucian smiles and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is utterly awesome, we went for a week at the beginning of june, and it was perfect.
The food was simply delicious with a great selection at the buffet and the a la carte restaurants were also awesome with a great selection, breakfast was great from pancakes to omlettes, continetnal to full breakfast so much choice.
I feel that the magic bit of this resort is the staff, the manager mark has great passion and this reflects in his amazingly happy willing to do anything staff.
The hotel had a nice feel it didnt feel big but wasnt overcrowded there was plenty of room for everyone and you never fought for a sunlounder.
The activites on offer are fantastic pilates at sunset on the beach to banana boat rides, there is just something for everyone - you could easily do 2 weeks and do a different activity every day.
The rooms were gorgeous, I was lucky enough to have a beachfront room, which were colonial style and very spacious. I was lucky enough to see a One bedroom suite oceanview, which I though was simply breathtaking. All the rooms are beautiful and the maid service is fantastic!!
The grounds are well kept.
A brilliant selection of drinks at the bar - its not often a all inclusive includes pimms as part of its all inclusive!!! The cocktails were awesome and also all included on the all inclusive - pina colada, strawberry daquiris are readily available, but they will make anything I personally recommmend the bob marley.

The spa is lovely too, great treatment rooms with very reasonable prices for treatments.

Overall the resort will suit anyone the kids club was awesome with again so many activites for them. I would happily recommend this hotel to solo, couples, families or a group of friends.

I cant wait to return myself.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the beachfront room, easily accesible to everything and a gorgeous view of the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xLenaLoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Having travelled the caribbean i love the hospitality of its residents , this hotel certainly didnt dissapoint. I stayed at this hotel the first week in June and loved the fact the hotel didnt seem overcrowded because its spread out, plenty of sunloungers on the beach and by the pool which meant i could have a lie in !!!
The pools and grounds of the hotel were spotlessly clean and you never had to go far for a friendly hello or smile.
The food was really good and plenty of choice, the breakfast especially good, i urge anyone travelling seek out agnes the omlet lady ive never had such warm service than from agnes so much so you really wanted to see her for your breakfast.
le jardin the a la carte was probably my favourite with the champagne ice cubes a real treat.
I wouldnt hesitate in recommending this hotel, mark the general manager and his team do a fab job and make you feel like the only guest in the hotel the service was so personal. great time had.

Room Tip: for larger families ask about booking a interconnecting family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyriacouj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
6.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Property: St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, West Indies, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing