We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Slice of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Slice of Paradise”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at Morgan Bay for 5 days last week and had a wonderful time. The room and grounds were extremely clean and the staff--as was everyone we met in St. Lucia--was exceptionally friendly. The restaurants offer a wide variety, so there should be something for everyone. Our favorites were breakfast and the popcorn at The Plum Tree Grill. The highlight of our visit was Joy's catamaran cruise down the West Coast of St. Lucia. In addition to taking in the spectacular scenery, we visited the mud baths, had a delicious lunch on the beach prepared by Joy's family, and swam in the clear blue waters of the Caribbean. We definitely plan to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 600 range have great ocean views and low noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,848
    2,160
    608
    243
    172
See reviews for
1,752
2,886
92
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have just returned from St James, Morgan Bay with my family. We had a great holiday. The Rooms are cleaned every day, food was very good, especially on the pier. The staff are fantastic, all friendly and happy. They can't do enough for you. The activity's during the day are non-stop, from water-skiing to tennis coaching, all free. My children had a great time. The gym staff are very professional, the stretch classes at 8 in the morning got you ready for the day. The only down side was the night entertainment, although most people seemed to be on the free Wi-Fi.
We done a boat trip from the beach by Joy, this was a great trip, volcanos, mud baths, BBQ on the beach and snorkelling. Must do if you go. We are looking to go back in a couple of years ( fingers crossed).

Room Tip: Most rooms face the sea. See if you can get the block facing the pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Well needed holiday for our family we had a great time. Holiday rep Natasha very good she sorted the trip we went on an organised diet coke for my son as he is diabetic she also sorted our seats for our return flight. The hotel rooms were big and spacious huge bath and great views but on our last day we noticed the blind did not move and when we moved it we noticed the window cracked and broken look as if not been cleaned for years lots of dust and dirt on it. i do think that the swim up pool should have a sign up no children aloud in as we were told when we sat at bar and the kids were in the pool.Long drive from airport to hotel great to see the island but very windy roads and lots of hills to go up and down if troubled with motion sickness perhaps take tablets before going but the location was lovely when there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed there in march 2014.
If your not sure which hotel to stay at in St Lucia let me help!
The room was cleaned every day to a high standard,the five restaurants serve a good variety of food. If your not sure which one to go to you can always pick the Palms which has a buffet with something for everyone. If you miss the opening times of the restaurants you can get food at the Plum Tree bar. Our favourite was the Bamboo where you can just sit and look out to sea.
The pool and pool area is kept clean and there is always drinks on hand from the bars.
The staff are friendly and very attentive.
The evening entertainment was at best poor, but that seems common at all the hotels.
I've never been back to the same hotel ever! But we will defiantly go back to St James Club.
Book it you'll love it.

Room Tip: Ocean view is best, but don't get to hung up on rooms! You only sleep there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I just got back from St. Jame's Club Morgan Bay. We went there on our honeymoon this past week. Let me start out by saying that I read many reviews before we left and found that there were very mixed reviews on the rooms and the food.

We arrived late afternoon on a Sunday after very little sleep and a very long travel day as we had just gotten married the day before. I emailed the resort months in advance to let them know we were coming there for our honeymoon. I requested a room with a king size bed, as it was our honeymoon. So, when we checked in I asked the woman to make sure we were not in a room with two double beds. She was very annoyed at that request but checked with two different people to see what type of bed was in the room. She assured me it had a king bed. We were carted off with our luggage up to our room. Opened the door, and there were two double beds! The gentlemen who escorted us called to the office and took us to a new room on the ground floor two doors down. We opened the door and it smelled very strongly of mildew. Again another phone call and we moved one floor up. All was resolved at that point.

As for the food, it was edible at best. The Pier restaurant was horrible!!! We only ate there one night. We ended up paying extra to eat at Le Jardin restaurant on the property, because they had the best food at the resort.

The staff were pretty nice overall. We encountered attitude just from the staff that checked us in. When we asked to be upgraded she told us she was too busy and we would have to come back another time. We were willing to pay for this, but she couldn't be bothered.

The water sport staff was awesome!!! The best part of the whole week was Joy's tours! This is a must. Joy is an absolutely wonderful person and his family gave us a great tour of the island. Their lunch for us on the beach was great!

We had a nice time but would not go back primarily because of the food. It was way overcooked and sometimes cold when it was served to you.

One other suggestion I have is that there should be some thought put into having a family section of the property for rooms. There was a baby on one side of us who cried everymorning and every night at the same time. Kids in the other room who were pushing around chairs on the tile floor at 6 a.m. every morning. They have an adult only pool, maybe there could be a section of rooms seperated from the families with little children.

Room Tip: If you are up on the hill, you are right next to the very noisy highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachbumCC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a wonderful time at St James Morgan Bay. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is the lack of good nightly entertainment. The restaurant had good to excellent food. The grounds were beautiful, especially the sunsets. The staff were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you enjoy quality food at all, stay somewhere else. Each restaurant was a buffet of mystery dishes. My favorite thing was the fresh bananas at breakfast, that was it. The restaurants will close certain hours, so good luck getting food if you wake up late because you'll get nothing except maybe a Snickers bar or Pringles from the gift shop. You need a reservation every where you go to eat too, so if you forgot, good luck eating anywhere but the buffet. They upcharge you for finer foods, then drench them in sauce to ruin the food anyways. Few fresh foods available, so we kept spending the money to go into Rodney Bay to Spinnakers, which was excellent. The spa was very relaxing, I would recommend that. Joy's cruises were fabulous, do a private tour with your partner, it is well worth it to avoid going in a group. Have them take you to Sugar Beach, or better yet stay at Sugar Beach or Jade Mountain. Take a day trip to Martinique or Union Island if you have time. Only go to Martinique if you speak French though. We would never stay here again mostly because of the food, but that's because we are eat very well at home.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view room for an upcharge if you want to guarantee a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the St. James's Club. We value our guests' feedback as a way to continuously improve our guests' experience.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the dining options at the resort. The resort boastssix distinct restaurants each serving a wide variety of local and international favorites. We have reviewed our guest comment cards and customer service reports, and we received very high marks for our dining and bar service this year. We understand that dining is subjective, and everyone has their preferences, which is why we work so hard to provide excellent menu selections, varied dining venues, and terrific service.

Please take the time to read the other very positive reviews left by recent guests, and know that we are always working to maintain our usual high levels of guest satisfaction. This includes constantly improving and monitoring all aspects of the St. James's Club experience for consistent quality assurance.

Again, we greatly appreciate your business, and the fact that you took the time to provide us with your thoughts. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future, and to meeting and exceeding all of your expectations going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Property: St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing