We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were two couples in our 40's-50's and had a fabulous vacation!
We were met in the lobby with cold drinks and cold wet cloths to refresh!
The resort is very well maintained with lush trees and flowers everywhere around
the resort.
Room
We were blown away when we were brought to our room!!!! It was on a hilltop
and was amazing! It was a 1 bdr room suite with a large private balcony. The
room was spotless and very nice. It also was very quiet, we never heard any
noise/conversation from the adjoining rooms. The room included a combination
safe, mini fridge, modern bathroom, and a nice cold air conditioning!
Meals
The food was great.. My fav was Morgans Pier, grilled lobster twice in one week!!!
Le Jardin was elegant and the food was excellent. All of our service was friendly and
very accommodating. Everyone was very gracious and helpful. Never waited in line
for anything food or drinks.
Beach/Pool
Beautiful with plenty of shade and loungers. Received wonderful lessons on sailing
the catamaran, water skiing, and kayaking, (all included).
Spa
The absolute best massage I have ever had... my husband and I had the couples massage twice that week, I would highly recommend.
The resort and staff were wonderful, we never left the resort once we were completely
satisfied enjoying the bliss.
Oh yes, we will return and btw I am a travel agent and I will be recommending this resort and its gracious staff to others!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank sea2seetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,625 - 3,631 of 6,242 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at St. James Club in at the end of January for (sadly) only 5 days. It was such a good trip we were very close to extending our flight and hotel reservations! The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. There was one issue we had with our room, however. I had made it clear, multiple times that it was a KING SIZE bed needed. However when we arrived our room had 2 doubles. When we took it up with reception they said to come back the following morning to switch rooms. We didn't though as I find it such a hassle to re-pack all your stuff just to move but that was just my laziness (lol) they were definitely willing to move us. Food is great at all restaurants. I must point out that at Le Jardin (may be spelling that wrong) was hands down one of the best meals ive ever had.. better than anything ive ever gotten in Canada! Amazing service. All in all, a fantastic week!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CherylAndAnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It was our first time to St. Lucia and decided on St. James Club Morgan Bay for a few reasons. We were 12. 10 adults and 2 teenagers as a wedding group.

We wanted a smaller resort with a great beach & pool, water activities and close to town for day trips. We also read wedding reviews and did our homework before choosing. We loved the vignettes for the wedding ceremony and reception and ended up booking with them.
Even though there were a few glitches, the group of us had a tremendous week of fun and relaxation.

When we arrived the girls ended up at the opposite side of the resort from the adults due to overbooking. We managed to get them beside us but extremely frustrating. I think this may have been a mis-communication between travel agent... to Air Canada... to the resort.

We booked the Deluxe Ocean View rooms up on the hill. I didn't mind the hike...it was good exercise after eating the amazing food all week. The sleep quality of the bed was great. Bring an extension cord, as the bathrooms only have the European outlets and the American outlets are behind the TV/dresser.

Joy's Cruises Day Excursions is the best! He and his family members made our day memorable. Joy knew we were getting married the day before our day trip and he had fun T-Shirts made up, champagne and his daughter even baked us a wedding cake for the beach BBQ. Great family. Highly recommend going to see Joy or JJ on the beach and book a trip to the Pitons.

After a few issues with the wedding planner regarding our plans that were emailed months in advance, everything was finally confirmed for the wedding. If you are getting married here, please make sure you get confirmations, as the emails and server were causing issues. She and her assistant did a phenomenal job with our wedding - it was perfect. Forbes the photographer is absolutely amazing. We had so much fun on our photo shoot - truly creative.

Please don't listen to the petty negative reviews that were recently posted....they are obviously too uptight to have a good time and enjoy the island and its people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OntarioWhere2next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We just spent a week at the St. James's Club. There were four of us traveling together. I hope this information will help you with your planning:

Resort Location:

The location on the island is nice and the beach is well maintained. However, the proximity to the airport is challenging and takes between 1.5 – 2.5 hours (depending on traffic and time of day). Make sure to arrange a taxi transfer from the hotel staff. They have their own taxi services that they use and it is good price. It is best to use them so you do not get mis-charged by some of the other taxis. You are near the town of Castries and Morgan Bay. The Cruise ships are docked close by here as well. The resort is also about 1.5 hours one way from the town of Soufrière and the Pitons.

Rooms:

We (two couples) purchased and upgraded to ocean view suite rooms before our trip. Our first night, we checked into two rooms which were on the bottom floor of the tenth building and we were disappointed to see that in fact we had a “partial view”. We could only see a small sliver of ocean and that was if we stood at our window in just the right place. We had to speak with several people and worked very hard to plead our case that we had paid for the upper floor rooms. It took quite a bit of time and effort (unfortunately marring the beginning of our stay) to convince the front desk that we paid for these views. We were eventually transferred to two other rooms. However, the couple we were with received the top level room (which was good) and we had to settle for just a slightly better view than what we originally had. Disappointing! The bathtub was nice and oversized and the bathrooms were roomy. The rooms are tired and could use some renovating. Though the rooms were clean the tiredness made them seem unclean. Housekeeping needs to be commended however, because the rooms were kept very clean and towels and linens were changed often.

Grounds:

The property was beautifully landscaped. It was obvious that they had a wonderful staff to maintain the pools and beaches and all the exterior areas of the resort. Every day we could see staff members working very diligently to maintain the grounds. We were always greeted with smiles and cheerful greetings from the grounds people. The management has done well with this.

Security:

The Resort has excellent security and staffed well. We felt extremely safe and we noticed that at every turn around the property there were Security guards posted for the guests well-being and safety.

Beach Amenities:

There were several beach amenities offered and we felt that it met our expectation. However, the staff members in the beach hut could be a little more polite. The two young men that we were working seemed to address people very abruptly and at times verging on being rude. I witnessed a young couple asking for an extra towel as they had forgotten theirs in the room. The young man on staff said to them “Well, you better go get it, because your can’t get another one here”. Sadly, I saw this attitude more than a few times.

Beach Bars:

Wonderful! There were plenty to be found and all the staff seemed friendly. Especially, at the pool top bar near the suite buildings. Theresa is simply incredible. She is a wonderful lady that works there had the most contagious laugh and exuberance about her. Be sure to make your way to this pool bar for the best sunsets on the property. It is near the spa area and the “infinity like” pool is perfectly situated for early evenings. It ended up being our favorite place to spend the afternoons. If you like Pina Colada’s, request the BBC drink. It is truly a treat! I would personally was grateful that they offered Champagne. It was a modest one, but good, and I was thrilled that it was available.

Tour Desk:

We found the tour desk to be helpful and used their services. We organized a private catamaran tour that ended up being the highlight of our stay. See our review on Trip Advisor for Carnival Sailing Catamaran tours. Their website: http://www.carnivalsailing.com/ . This was the most amazing day for us and we were thankful for the tour desk arranging it for us. Everyone we spoke to highly recommended all the tours that they offer at the Resort.

Entertainment:

There is nightly entertainment near the middle pool bar every night. We found the entertainment to be fun and some of the musical performers to be talented. The entertainment is different every night, which was perfect.

Resort Planned Activities:

We all felt there was a variety of different planned physical activities every day. We noticed that the tennis courts were perfectly maintained. The workout room is small but adequate and has enough equipment to keep with your workout routine. The staff offered different fitness classes every day and we joined in on a few. We especially enjoyed the stomach 30 minutes exercise.

Restaurants:

They have five restaurants to choose from. Our favorite was Morgan Pier. The dinner was excellent. The staff at this restaurant by far the best on the resort. Especially a big grateful shout to Mullan for being our favorite. He always made our dinners special with his delightful personality. For breakfast we always went to Bambou buffet. The Palms restaurant we did not like and avoided eating there for most of our trip. We were told that we had to eat their our first night. I recommend that you make your dinner reservations three days in advance. Also, we enjoyed the Le Jardin (you will need to pay extra for this) as it is their fine dining restaurant. I would suggest that most of the staff seemed friendly at lunch and especially dinner…the breakfast staff at Bambou were not very good. They always seemed a little put off and annoyed. We noticed this attitude was consistent for most of our stay. The breakfast buffet was the same every day. This was fine at the beginning of our stay, but by the end we were ready for something different.

Spa:

The spa is very nicely located with exceptional views. The spa is small and does not have locker rooms, robes, amenities, relaxation area. It is simply a reception area and massage rooms. The rooms are nice. The treatment was priced reasonably (look for their weekly specials) and they masseuse staff is very good. A very nice treat for yourself after a day of snorkeling and hiking.

All in all, I would recommend this resort. It is important to emphasis that this is a Caribbean location and as such it will not meet your expectation if you are seeking 4-5 star luxury (which is usually what I prefer). The professional review of 3.5 stars is accurate.
However, if you are seeking a beautiful location, wonderful friendly people, and an all-inclusive, this is a good value! Go with the ideal of enjoying the Resort grounds, meals, drinks, and this beautiful island with an emphasis of relaxation and you will have a good time.

Must do’s on the island: Hike the Gros Piton, Catamaran tour, Pidgeon Island – hike the small island, Visit the Ladera Resort in Soufrière and have cocktails at sunset at their restaurant Dasheene.

Room Tip: Request a Ocean View Suite in Building 12 and ask for level 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Always5Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I just came back from a week at St. James, and we loved it. It was our first time to St. Lucia, and we loved the island and the people. The staff is amazing, the food was very good, there is no limit on the a la carte restaurant, so we had diner at one of them almost every night. We are beach people but we did enjoy a lot the pool at the top, it was very quit and very good service. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were able to get wifi from room 443.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCNP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Spent a wonderful week here, the St Lucian staff we all so very polite, happy & friendly, especially Vanessa, Teressa, Sharon, Kennith @ Elijha. The food was consistently good. The entertainment & the water sports were very good. Thank you all for making our stay in your country so memorable, we will return again to your lovely resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindsayhmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Wow just got back at the end of Jan. We were a group of 10 there for 2 weeks. St lucia is a beautiful island with beautiful people. St james Morgan bay is fantastic. The staff are all wonderful especially Jacqueline, Mervin, Eli, Passionfruit, Joycelyn ( our maid) Denver, Sharon and Hyacinth. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. All the staff go out of their to help you and are really happy people. (sorry if I missed any). We arrived a were greeted with a rum punch. When I told Jacqueline No thank you as I could not have pineapple she had one made special for me. Check in was a breeze. Then we received a phone call to the room to make sure we were happy!!!! That does not happen often. Free water sports was a bonus. We did zip lining, boat tour snorkel, Segways a MUST so much fun. Thank chad and Changalanga!! did jump up party on Friday night and fish fry street party in Anse le Rae, Just to list a few. We allways felt safe. Back to hotel. Food is great. I do not see how anyone could complain such a variety. Home made soups the best. You could find something delish no matter how fussy you are. Lots of loungers always available pool or ocean side and hotel was full. Was great not to have to wear a bracelet and take care of a towel card. I would highly recommend this hotel. Staff food room are all excellent. If you went into the lobby and stood for 2 min someone would come up and ask if you needed anything, such attentive staff. What I liked also was the size of the property, not a 900room complex...never stood in line waiting for anything. Service at all resturants was fabulous. I have travelled extensively and St James Morgan bay is one at the top of my list. There is doing a job and they certainly do their job well. Nadine and Anika our ocean front massages were awesome Thank you. On our last day I met the owner of the hotel. What a terrific gentlemen was really interested in our views and if we needed anything. That sure does not happen usually. All in all another great vacation only bad thing was I had to come home. Could have stayed another week in that paradise. Oh well will save for next year. I understand St James has a hotel in Antigua. Would love to try it there. Would be awesome if it is as good as this property is. Book this you will have a wonderful time.

Sherry
winnipeg

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mexiladywinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,173 reviews
15.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.6 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $262 - $805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing