We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“holiday of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Staplehurst, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“holiday of a lifetime”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

couldn't fault anything with regards our holiday.I would recommend st james club morgan bay to my friends
Staff made the holiday so friendly and polite nothing was to much trouble for them.The views from the rooms were splendid especially the sunsets.
\the choice of food and where to eat was great. It made you feel lije yo were going out to a different venue without going out of the bay

Room Tip: the only thing I would say that the suites where up a hill and any elderly person may find it a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,848
    2,160
    608
    243
    172
See reviews for
1,752
2,886
92
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very good holiday with drinks thrown in. Especially enjoyed the daily non alcoholic cocktails. Nice beach close to the pool as well with swim up bar at the pool. If going off season book early for the restaurants. Take local buses instead of taxis for island experience. Recommend the trip to the mud baths at Soufrai via the boat trip from Castries. BA staff stay at the hotel so you know it's ok. staff very helpfully and polite. Do try the sailing on the hobbies cats, free, but ask about the prevailing winds or you may take a while to tack back. Market at Castries also interesting, locals very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the St. James's Club. We appreciate the gift of feedback in our continuous effort to provide exceptional accommodations, facilities, activities, dining and service,

We are sorry that you were disappointed in the dining options. The vast majority of our guests truly enjoy the varied cuisine in all the restaurants. Our five distinct Restaurants and Bars are designed with their own unique charm, setting, and delicious menus-to enhance your Caribbean holiday experience.

We have not received any food poisoning incidents at the resort. The Plum Tree is a favorite for the guests at lunch, It has an open kitchen and all items are fresh, handled with great care and are prepared in view of the guests.

St. James's Club Morgan Bay is a vibrant, colorful, beachfront resort distinguished by its romantic setting. It is set amidst 25 acres of beautiful tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, minutes from Gros Islet, Rodney Bay, and the capitol city of Castries. We hosts hundreds of very happy guests each week, and we consistently earn excellent reviews amongst our guests. This is because we work very diligently to deliver a relaxing, stress free vacation in a beautiful setting, with some of the friendliest staff in the Caribbean.

If you are looking for a fantastic Caribbean get away in St. Lucia; than St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice and we stand by that. St. James's Club Morgan Bay embodies the true Caribbean beach experience and it is all just steps from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I must say our recent 7 night stay at the St James was Relaxing and enjoyable. The staff were friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in block 1100 (1123) and the views over the bay and sunsets were stunning. There are two seperate ways of walking up the hill and we found each not too much trouble. Ruth looked after us extremely well and the room was always clean and fresh. The food was excellent and varied with a different theme in the Palm every day. We had no problems in booking tables at the Morgan Pier and Bamboo restaurants. We would certainly recommend this resort to anyone and we will certainly be returning in nrear future.

Room Tip: Choose a suite in blocks 900-1200 for views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas50_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just back from 10 days at St James Club - we had a suite (1122) on top of the hill - highly recommend a room in this block (900-1200 blocks) as the views are spectacular ! the walk up the hill is not that tiring and is well worth it.
suite was lovely and clean and our maid Ruth that we bumped into most days was always smiling and laughing!
our favourite meal of the day was breakfast in Bambou by the beach - cant beat it !
we dined in all the restaurants and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food...its true Morgan pier service was slower than the others but the food was worth the wait and the staff were always very pleasant.
Le Jardin also worth the extra money - it does lack a little atmosphere however the fabulous pianist makes up for it and the food was delicious.
Was a bit hesitant about leaving my 4 year old at the Kidz Club ( for which amazingly there is no extra charge !) however after leaving him for an hour he was desperate to go again and loved it - great for the days when it poured with rain !
the waterspors guys are also great (and this is also included !!) and very patient and helpful with novice water skiers (like me !).
all in all a great experience and we would definelty recommend it !

Room Tip: Go for the 900-1200 blocks (up on the hill with spectacular views).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StefHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just arrived home from our third visit to this lovely hotel and with its new ownership it just gets better,we spent most of our time at the Peartree family pool and it was great fun because we were looked after so well by waitress's Sharron and Phillo.The food in the all inclucive resturants was pretty good, thou the choices of main coarses could be a little wider.A special thanks must go to the chiefs at the Bambou and Peartree for their breakfast and lunches provided with great smiles and chats.It appears that a new Italian resturant is under construction which will make dinning choices even wider.There were only a few dissapointments and they were: the usual cocktail smile and towel were missing on arrival,and some of the bar staff were a little (grumppy).Overall a great holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cathy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We are frequent travellers and recently vacationed at St. James Club from Oct 10-17.
Positives: Nice room, usually friendly staff, beautiful clean pools, great adult pool with a great view, nice quality food and a small but lovely beach.

Negatives: 1. Upon arrival we were disappointed with the reception. There was no reception desk and we were given a three sheet form to fill out after a very long day to get there. We were seated at a small cocktail table which had dirty drink glasses...we weren't even offered a rum punch! Out of all of the resorts that we've been to, we've never had to fill out our own forms!
2.Although we were quite pleased with our room, a suite with a great view, there was a fridge with was empty. If you were smart enough to bring your own alcohol for an in-room drink, there was no water, soft drink or ice...no ice machines anywhere!
3. The swim-up bar was a major disappointment! It was the rear of another bar and there was no regular bartender...the bartender from above would come down to fill your drink order.
4.Internet: no rooms had any internet hook-up. Free internet was available in the main lobby and the lounge. We could not get reception in the lobby and the lounge, especially in the evening , was loud and smoky. There were no pay phones so we decided to get a phone card at the resort store but were told that they didn't have any and might get some in 4 days...we would have left by then!
5. Lounge: the Sunset Lounge was it. This is not the resort if you like night life. There was entertainment there every night but there was no other choice and everything shut down at 11.
6. Trolley: we were told that the trolleys came by regularly and you could call for one.....never worked for us and our suite was at the top of the hill...
7.Restaurants: Although the buffet was generally very good quality and selection, the a la carte restaurants were a disappointment. We were told that we could only book for three days at a time, but when we went to book for the next three , we were told that they were all filled....we realized that one restaurant was closed each night . Morgan's Pier was very nice but an extremely long wait. The Bambou was also nice but when we asked about sitting outside where there were lots of tables , we were told "NO" and were seated the opposite of where we wanted to be. As others came in, some were seated at those tables but they never filled up. We felt "punished" because we asked! Le Jardin had great food but the restaurant definitely needed updating.
The resort could definitely do with an upgrade !

Room Tip: We had suite 1138...very nice room with a large balcony and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetotravel525354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you first and foremost and tell you that we do appreciate our guest sending in their comments. We see the gift of feedback as an opportunity to consistently improve our guests' experience while with us. We pride ourselves on providing guests with accommodations in a genuine, unpretentious environment where they can enjoy a one of a kind Caribbean experience.

We’re concerned about the range of problems you experienced at our resort during your visit. We accommodate many guests, and strive to make their stay a most satisfying one. The vast majority of our guests truly enjoy every aspect of the resort.

Please be assured that the issues you have mentioned have been reviewed and addressed. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from reoccurring. Again we are sorry you did not feel you experienced Morgan Bay's genuine hospitality which we are known for, and can only hope you give us the opportunity to do a better job in the near future.

We do hope the next time you seek the sun, you will allow St. James's Club Morgan Bay's genuine staff create for you a timeless memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The service here was absolutely fantastic. No matter what your needs, the staff was super accommodating. The rooms are comfortable if in need of a little updating. The main restaurant serves basic fare that most everyone will find OK. If you are looking for something special, go to the other restaurants though. Bambou was exceptional. Food was excellent and so was the service. Beach was nice if a little seaweed on the sand in the water doesn't bother you. I have no complaints with the watersports, etc. Did this as a solo trip and felt perfectly safe and accommodated on all trips outside the resort. The Land/Sea day trip was very nice and Rainforest Adventures zip lining was super fun with all the great staff!! Hoping to go back for another visit :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Gottagorun20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Property: St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, West Indies, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing