We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heavenly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“heavenly”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just arrived home from our third visit to this lovely hotel and with its new ownership it just gets better,we spent most of our time at the Peartree family pool and it was great fun because we were looked after so well by waitress's Sharron and Phillo.The food in the all inclucive resturants was pretty good, thou the choices of main coarses could be a little wider.A special thanks must go to the chiefs at the Bambou and Peartree for their breakfast and lunches provided with great smiles and chats.It appears that a new Italian resturant is under construction which will make dinning choices even wider.There were only a few dissapointments and they were: the usual cocktail smile and towel were missing on arrival,and some of the bar staff were a little (grumppy).Overall a great holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cathy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,848
    2,160
    608
    243
    172
See reviews for
1,752
2,886
92
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We are frequent travellers and recently vacationed at St. James Club from Oct 10-17.
Positives: Nice room, usually friendly staff, beautiful clean pools, great adult pool with a great view, nice quality food and a small but lovely beach.

Negatives: 1. Upon arrival we were disappointed with the reception. There was no reception desk and we were given a three sheet form to fill out after a very long day to get there. We were seated at a small cocktail table which had dirty drink glasses...we weren't even offered a rum punch! Out of all of the resorts that we've been to, we've never had to fill out our own forms!
2.Although we were quite pleased with our room, a suite with a great view, there was a fridge with was empty. If you were smart enough to bring your own alcohol for an in-room drink, there was no water, soft drink or ice...no ice machines anywhere!
3. The swim-up bar was a major disappointment! It was the rear of another bar and there was no regular bartender...the bartender from above would come down to fill your drink order.
4.Internet: no rooms had any internet hook-up. Free internet was available in the main lobby and the lounge. We could not get reception in the lobby and the lounge, especially in the evening , was loud and smoky. There were no pay phones so we decided to get a phone card at the resort store but were told that they didn't have any and might get some in 4 days...we would have left by then!
5. Lounge: the Sunset Lounge was it. This is not the resort if you like night life. There was entertainment there every night but there was no other choice and everything shut down at 11.
6. Trolley: we were told that the trolleys came by regularly and you could call for one.....never worked for us and our suite was at the top of the hill...
7.Restaurants: Although the buffet was generally very good quality and selection, the a la carte restaurants were a disappointment. We were told that we could only book for three days at a time, but when we went to book for the next three , we were told that they were all filled....we realized that one restaurant was closed each night . Morgan's Pier was very nice but an extremely long wait. The Bambou was also nice but when we asked about sitting outside where there were lots of tables , we were told "NO" and were seated the opposite of where we wanted to be. As others came in, some were seated at those tables but they never filled up. We felt "punished" because we asked! Le Jardin had great food but the restaurant definitely needed updating.
The resort could definitely do with an upgrade !

Room Tip: We had suite 1138...very nice room with a large balcony and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetotravel525354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you first and foremost and tell you that we do appreciate our guest sending in their comments. We see the gift of feedback as an opportunity to consistently improve our guests' experience while with us. We pride ourselves on providing guests with accommodations in a genuine, unpretentious environment where they can enjoy a one of a kind Caribbean experience.

We’re concerned about the range of problems you experienced at our resort during your visit. We accommodate many guests, and strive to make their stay a most satisfying one. The vast majority of our guests truly enjoy every aspect of the resort.

Please be assured that the issues you have mentioned have been reviewed and addressed. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from reoccurring. Again we are sorry you did not feel you experienced Morgan Bay's genuine hospitality which we are known for, and can only hope you give us the opportunity to do a better job in the near future.

We do hope the next time you seek the sun, you will allow St. James's Club Morgan Bay's genuine staff create for you a timeless memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The service here was absolutely fantastic. No matter what your needs, the staff was super accommodating. The rooms are comfortable if in need of a little updating. The main restaurant serves basic fare that most everyone will find OK. If you are looking for something special, go to the other restaurants though. Bambou was exceptional. Food was excellent and so was the service. Beach was nice if a little seaweed on the sand in the water doesn't bother you. I have no complaints with the watersports, etc. Did this as a solo trip and felt perfectly safe and accommodated on all trips outside the resort. The Land/Sea day trip was very nice and Rainforest Adventures zip lining was super fun with all the great staff!! Hoping to go back for another visit :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Gottagorun20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My family and I stayed from the 10 to 13th October we were not greeted with any drinks but that did not spoil our stay its was fantastic from the time we register the staff was most help and accommodating rooms were clean all the time food was great wide variety to choose from and the resort itself was just wonderful , My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and we were treated to champagne in our room which was romantic , w2e would recommend this resort to anyone

Room Tip: the garden view have a fantastic view of the ocean which i loved
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Guys wen you visit St James Club Morgan Bay, be sure to look out for a bartender name Marlon, he has long "Ras" He is the most friendly person you can meet on staff. Even tho he works in the bar he would take care of your any and every need. Thanks Marlon!

Room Tip: Room are great, but there is no internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What can I say? It was absolutely amazing once again. We got married at the hotel in 2009 when the hotel was Almond Morgan Bay & all 12 of us on this holiday fell in love with the hotel and Island. The husband and I have now been to morgan Bay a total of 4 times and we will definitely be returning in the future!

Every year we have found the hotel to be very clean & tidy, the restaurants have offered delicious & well presented food, the pools have been immaculate, the rooms we have been given have been superb, the gym & water sports have been good but most of all the staff have been extremely helpful & friendly. Each year we have always said it couldn't get any better at Morgan Bay, but I have to say, this year it really did get much better. Simple little things such as putting a buffet on in the palms every night made a big difference even though we loved to eat on the pier or in bamboo at every opportunity. Along with the pool bars in the day & sunset bar in the evening, there are 2 drinks machine available in sunset lounge throughout the day/evening offering hot & cold drinks. You must check out the cocktails at the bar (non-alcoholic & alcoholic options) & give them a try. The St James special (non-alcoholic) and the Dirty banana and melon colada (alcoholic) are delicious!

Every day they display the days activities that are happening at the hotel and the activities team & waterspouts team are excellent. Give it all a go as you'll come away wishing you had whilst you had the opportunity!

Being an active couple this hotel is great as you can do as much as you want to as you have the water sports, aqua aerobics, swimming pools, gym with stretch classes etc, or as little as you want by just relaxing on the sun loungers by the pool or sea.

I work in the hospitality industry so I know the importance of getting everything right for the guests & I have to congratulate the management & every staff member for the impeccable service they give all the time. Nothing is every any trouble & it is such a pleasure to see them enjoying their jobs & engaging with all the guests.

Trips.... Before you book up on any trip on the island you must go on one of Joys tours as this really is the best value trip & you get to see so much of the sights in a day. Go & see Joy by the water sports hut for petals & you won't be disappointed. We've been 4 times & each time has been fantastic.

I can't wait to visit again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank suziebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My hubby and I travel a fair bit. We have stayed and fancy schmancy places and basic two stars as well. We travel for the experience :)

We were at Morgan Bay Oct. 19-26th booked through Air Canada Vacations. We paid $2800 Cdn for both of us go so keep that in mind a bit with my review :)

Hotel:
We stayed in room #125.
Clean, bright room
Comfy bed with lots of extra pillow.
We could see the ocean and pool from our room
rooms are pretty standard..nothing fancy..but it had a fridge, safe and a/.c..and satellite tv. All in all I'd give the room a 6/10.

The grounds:
Pretty well maintained
pool was super clean
You could see where places need work..a hangin light in one place, chipped paint in other areas,..but honestly I didn't care about that...overall they were nice

Food:
I liked Morgan Pier...super slow service the night we went...over 2 hours ugh! but overall my food was yummy.

Bamboo was good. portions are smaller if you're a guy but no complaints on taste

Palms was generally good. I'm a vegetarian and always found enough to stuff my face lol.

There was also great food up by the gym/kid pool...amazing wraps, sweet potato fries, grilled cheeses and ice cream every day...this was our fav spot.

Tours:
Like everyone we booked the full day with Joys tours on the beach...$100 US each for a full day boating, snorkelling, volcano, mud bath, waterfall...full meal and drinks included as well...good value for the money

Bars:
Opened at around 10
Nothing outstanding but no complaints

Staff:
Best staff of anywhere I've stayed.

Tips:
$1 bus ride for 15 min right at the resort gates takes you to Rodney Bay for shopping, pubs and a great white sand beach...we went there twice and it's totally safe to go on your own...very friendly, non pushy people.

Lunch was 1230-230..if you go at 2 things are pretty picked through..we went early 1ish and always got things fresh.

A little bad:
We had a few room issues. Oct. 24 power was lost in half our room which affected a/c. It was fixed pretty quick but a bit annoying. On Oct. 25th we couldnt' get in our room...they re programmed the cards twice and then had to have maintenance come and actually take apart the log, put a new battery in and reprogram...took just over 1.5 hrs to get it all done...so not devasting but when you pay $1400 each for the week I did honestly expect more.

Overall i think if you can get a vacation here for under $1000 cdn you will be SUPER satisfied.Its'a solid 3 star...no where even close to a 4...because we didn't shop around ( no fault of the resort's) i feel I could have gotten better value elsewhere..ie. we spent that at the Riu Guanacaste in Costa Rica last year and it was top notch service/accommodations. I'm a true believer in you get what you pay for and I think we paid a little too much for this one for what we got.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Everhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Property: St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, West Indies, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing