We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
blu St Lucia(Gros Islet)
$144
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$559
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$751
$314
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Haven Hotel(Gros Islet)
$156
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$372
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ginger Lily Hotel(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Cleopatra(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
$696
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Winds(Gros Islet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Palm(Gros Islet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (6,672)
Filter reviews
6,672 results
Traveler rating
3,187
2,363
677
263
182
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,187
2,363
677
263
182
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle jardinplum treebanana boatsunset loungecalypso catwater sportsadult pooljoy's cruisepalms buffethilltop pooljoy cruiserum barchoc baywater skiingtennis courtskids clubdays in advance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,538 - 4,543 of 6,672 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I just returned from a week at St James Club with my boyfriend. This was our first holiday together and we had the most amazing time. When we first arrived we were greeted with a gorgeous glass of rum punch, given our room number and were asked to fill out a form while a member of staff explained all about the resort and how to book dinner reservations etc. we were then took to our room by golf buggy. We stayed in room 1045 which was beautiful and had an incredible view over the sea. We wasted no time in making use of the pools and bar. We spent a lot of time sunbathing on the small but gorgeous private beach and in the pool with swim up bar.
All of the restaurants have a good selection of food and you could not fault the service from the staff. Morgan's Pier was our favourite - very romantic.
We did the tour by land and see which was amazing!! If you chose to do this ask for Richard, he made our trip!
Don't be put off by the 1 1/2 hour transfer time from the airport, the island is beautiful and our driver pointed out things on the way and even stopped to get us a bottle of beer!
Overall we had a lovely stay at this resort with no complaints at all.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Jemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our stay overall was very nice with the food being to a high standard given our stay was all inclusive. Please note however you do need to book the restaurants in advance as they do become full quite quickly. My suggestion would be to book your chosen restaurant ahead to avoid disappointment which can be done up to three days in advance.

The hotel has four restaurants; The Palm, The Bambou, The Pier and the Le Jardin. The Palm restaurant is the main buffet restaurant which you do not need to book for. The food offered was very good with different themes during the week. The Bambou was our least favourite restaurant due to the slow service which was a shame as the food was very good. We made both our tour rep and the General Manager (GM) aware of our experience and they were very appreciative of the feedback. The Pier restaurant offered amazing views over the sea and was the best situated restaurant out of the four. The menu offered a variety of fish dishes, most of which my husband and I tried, and we were very impressed with the quality and freshness. The only downside was on some occasions the service was a little slow. The Le Jardin is the a la carte restaurant of the hotel which costs USD27 per person (as of May 2013). The food and service was very good and worth the USD27 you pay for.
For lunch you have the option of either eating at the Palm restaurant or eating at the Plum Tree snack bar which was our favourite. The Plum Tree offered a variety of lunches from a set menu and offered a change of scenery if you fancied a change from the Palm restaurant. The location of the Plum Tree is situated near a kids pool. We found this fairly quiet but I can imagine it can get quite noisy in peak season.

The nightly entertainment didn't cater to our tastes most nights and we thought it was a little disappointing and poor in our opinion. The GM did however tell us that they are trying out new acts to see who would be suitable for the resort. With the exception of one or two the majority of staff were very friendly and nice and couldn't do enough for you. Despite the photos in the brochures we thought the beach was a little small. The water isn’t crystal clear due to it being continuously stirred by the waves. We have a theory that this is caused by the construction of the Pier restaurant which doesn’t allow the water to move freely. I went to this hotel before the Pier restaurant was built and the water was much clearer. If you do fancy a nice beach we heard Rodney Bay beach is the place to go which is approximately a 10-15 min taxi ride away.

The wi-fi offered in the resort is very quick and you can access it in the lobby and around the pool. Unfortunately it is not available in the hotel rooms yet but the GM mentioned this is something they are looking this roll out for specific rooms in the near future.

Room Tip: 900-1200 block offers larger better quality rooms but are a few mins walk to the pool and restaurants.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShannonPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just writing this on the beach as it has full wifi under the palm trees!
Just completed 8 nights and we feel very relaxed and rested,tanned and very full!
Water sports are great lots of sun loungers but not so many umbrellas.The staff are wonderfully friendly and the restaurants are of a good standard.
Morgans pier restaurant is a great location as is the bamboo restaurant get in early with your bookings if you wan a early slot say 19:30.
The girls enjoyed the aqua aerobics every day and the a pools are nice and large.The rooms are slightly dated but very clean and functional we had 231 which was just behind the bar nice short walk back if you wanted to go back to the suite.
The pool bars close very early around 17:30 which was a shame if you where looking for a sunset drink and a cool off.
Evening entertainment was not good the fashion show was terrible the drinks where sometimes a bit slow but it is the Caribbean.
All in all very good value for money but there is room for improvement,it has recently changed hands and there are things that can make their ratings go up,ie more decent up to date music piped through the resort, I had enough of Bob Marley's greatest hits and out of date Rihanna.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank DUNNSTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is the third time I have visited Morgan Bay.
Once was in 1995 when there was a hurricane, BWIA were overbooked so Wyndham Morgan Bay was selected for us overnight.
I then visited in 2006 when it was Almond Morgan Bay and had a great time - magnificent room and good food
This time, I was disappointed as, what could easily be a five star hotel, is just a three star hotel with potential. However this is meant as constructive criticism only.
I must admit that the unseasonal 11 days' rain out of 14, was more than disappointing when out of hurricane season, but of course bad weather happens.

1. Accommodation
It is not clearly explained that to access the new part of the hotel, it is a tedious climb through beautifully kept gardens, or alternatively wait for one of the buggies to collect and return.
Some of the drivers were great and had no hesitation in taking us down to the Pier for dinner on wet evenings, others drove like lunatics, reversing into walls and driving very close to the drains, refusing to go any further than reception!
The room and balcony were great.
Also our maid was excellent and housekeeping attended to any minor requests very quickly.
2. Sun loungers
This definitely spoilt the holiday when guests behaved like Germans in Europe by arriving at the pool at 6.30a.m. to reserve the best spots. My partner could not sit in the sun, so a parasol was a necessity!
3. Dinner reservations
This is a definite no-no for the hotel! Having to queue for dinner reservations 48 hours in advance was another disappointment. More disappointing however is that on the day you make the reservation, you are not shown the menu for that particular evening as the menus are changed every two days, then (as happened to us) you end up eating the same menu two nights consecutively just to access the choice of restaurant.
4. Bambou
A definite disappointment with selection of food - why do you not consider offering West Indian cuisine, which is one of the reasons for visiting the Caribbean. If guests wished to eat European food, then I am sure they would visit Europe for their vacation.
5. Le Jardin
We did not eat in this restaurant purely due to the restricted view - I understand that guests sometimes wish to eat in air conditioned comfort when it is very hot, but there is no view whatsoever!
6. Wi-fi
Excellent - this was a great bonus not having to search for a signal. Our internet access was fantastic and I cannot praise this facility highly enough! Being an award winning travel agent for Barbados it is imperative to keep in touch with the outside world.
7. Nightly entertainment
Major disappointment. I have travelled extensively in the Caribbean and have never had to endure such abysmal hotel entertainment at night. After a promising start upon our arrival, the entertainment diminished until there was only a DJ most evenings. Guests were going to their rooms just out of sheer boredom!

I must praise the General Manager who we saw around the pool and was impressed with his great professionalism.

Please St James Club, bring the hotel up to standard and this can be a great resort again !

Room Tip: The rooms in the new part of the hotel are lovely but not to be recommended for elderly, infirm etc.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bajangold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a great time, we were met with a cocktail then shown to our room in a golf buggy. Our room was spacious and always kept clean. The staff were always very friendly and efficient. We loved the variety of beautiful plants that were constantly being tended in the fabulous grounds. We found the food to be of a very good standard and especially enjoyed the Morgan's Pier restaurant however you do need to book in advance to get in. The bars were well stocked and we never had to wait long to be served. We found the range of watersports available excellent and enjoyed trying a few new things. We did Joy's tour which was a fantastic day. We also went on a whale and dolphin watching trip which was a waste of money as we didn't see anything. It was our first time in St Lucia and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintnick76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews