We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I just returned from a week at St James Club with my boyfriend. This was our first holiday together and we had the most amazing time. When we first arrived we were greeted with a gorgeous glass of rum punch, given our room number and were asked to fill out a form while a member of staff explained all about the resort and how to book dinner reservations etc. we were then took to our room by golf buggy. We stayed in room 1045 which was beautiful and had an incredible view over the sea. We wasted no time in making use of the pools and bar. We spent a lot of time sunbathing on the small but gorgeous private beach and in the pool with swim up bar.
All of the restaurants have a good selection of food and you could not fault the service from the staff. Morgan's Pier was our favourite - very romantic.
We did the tour by land and see which was amazing!! If you chose to do this ask for Richard, he made our trip!
Don't be put off by the 1 1/2 hour transfer time from the airport, the island is beautiful and our driver pointed out things on the way and even stopped to get us a bottle of beer!
Overall we had a lovely stay at this resort with no complaints at all.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Jemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,205)
There are newer reviews for St. James's Club Morgan Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,077 - 4,083 of 6,205 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our stay overall was very nice with the food being to a high standard given our stay was all inclusive. Please note however you do need to book the restaurants in advance as they do become full quite quickly. My suggestion would be to book your chosen restaurant ahead to avoid disappointment which can be done up to three days in advance.

The hotel has four restaurants; The Palm, The Bambou, The Pier and the Le Jardin. The Palm restaurant is the main buffet restaurant which you do not need to book for. The food offered was very good with different themes during the week. The Bambou was our least favourite restaurant due to the slow service which was a shame as the food was very good. We made both our tour rep and the General Manager (GM) aware of our experience and they were very appreciative of the feedback. The Pier restaurant offered amazing views over the sea and was the best situated restaurant out of the four. The menu offered a variety of fish dishes, most of which my husband and I tried, and we were very impressed with the quality and freshness. The only downside was on some occasions the service was a little slow. The Le Jardin is the a la carte restaurant of the hotel which costs USD27 per person (as of May 2013). The food and service was very good and worth the USD27 you pay for.
For lunch you have the option of either eating at the Palm restaurant or eating at the Plum Tree snack bar which was our favourite. The Plum Tree offered a variety of lunches from a set menu and offered a change of scenery if you fancied a change from the Palm restaurant. The location of the Plum Tree is situated near a kids pool. We found this fairly quiet but I can imagine it can get quite noisy in peak season.

The nightly entertainment didn't cater to our tastes most nights and we thought it was a little disappointing and poor in our opinion. The GM did however tell us that they are trying out new acts to see who would be suitable for the resort. With the exception of one or two the majority of staff were very friendly and nice and couldn't do enough for you. Despite the photos in the brochures we thought the beach was a little small. The water isn’t crystal clear due to it being continuously stirred by the waves. We have a theory that this is caused by the construction of the Pier restaurant which doesn’t allow the water to move freely. I went to this hotel before the Pier restaurant was built and the water was much clearer. If you do fancy a nice beach we heard Rodney Bay beach is the place to go which is approximately a 10-15 min taxi ride away.

The wi-fi offered in the resort is very quick and you can access it in the lobby and around the pool. Unfortunately it is not available in the hotel rooms yet but the GM mentioned this is something they are looking this roll out for specific rooms in the near future.

Room Tip: 900-1200 block offers larger better quality rooms but are a few mins walk to the pool and restaurant...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShannonPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just writing this on the beach as it has full wifi under the palm trees!
Just completed 8 nights and we feel very relaxed and rested,tanned and very full!
Water sports are great lots of sun loungers but not so many umbrellas.The staff are wonderfully friendly and the restaurants are of a good standard.
Morgans pier restaurant is a great location as is the bamboo restaurant get in early with your bookings if you wan a early slot say 19:30.
The girls enjoyed the aqua aerobics every day and the a pools are nice and large.The rooms are slightly dated but very clean and functional we had 231 which was just behind the bar nice short walk back if you wanted to go back to the suite.
The pool bars close very early around 17:30 which was a shame if you where looking for a sunset drink and a cool off.
Evening entertainment was not good the fashion show was terrible the drinks where sometimes a bit slow but it is the Caribbean.
All in all very good value for money but there is room for improvement,it has recently changed hands and there are things that can make their ratings go up,ie more decent up to date music piped through the resort, I had enough of Bob Marley's greatest hits and out of date Rihanna.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank DUNNSTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is the third time I have visited Morgan Bay.
Once was in 1995 when there was a hurricane, BWIA were overbooked so Wyndham Morgan Bay was selected for us overnight.
I then visited in 2006 when it was Almond Morgan Bay and had a great time - magnificent room and good food
This time, I was disappointed as, what could easily be a five star hotel, is just a three star hotel with potential. However this is meant as constructive criticism only.
I must admit that the unseasonal 11 days' rain out of 14, was more than disappointing when out of hurricane season, but of course bad weather happens.

1. Accommodation
It is not clearly explained that to access the new part of the hotel, it is a tedious climb through beautifully kept gardens, or alternatively wait for one of the buggies to collect and return.
Some of the drivers were great and had no hesitation in taking us down to the Pier for dinner on wet evenings, others drove like lunatics, reversing into walls and driving very close to the drains, refusing to go any further than reception!
The room and balcony were great.
Also our maid was excellent and housekeeping attended to any minor requests very quickly.
2. Sun loungers
This definitely spoilt the holiday when guests behaved like Germans in Europe by arriving at the pool at 6.30a.m. to reserve the best spots. My partner could not sit in the sun, so a parasol was a necessity!
3. Dinner reservations
This is a definite no-no for the hotel! Having to queue for dinner reservations 48 hours in advance was another disappointment. More disappointing however is that on the day you make the reservation, you are not shown the menu for that particular evening as the menus are changed every two days, then (as happened to us) you end up eating the same menu two nights consecutively just to access the choice of restaurant.
4. Bambou
A definite disappointment with selection of food - why do you not consider offering West Indian cuisine, which is one of the reasons for visiting the Caribbean. If guests wished to eat European food, then I am sure they would visit Europe for their vacation.
5. Le Jardin
We did not eat in this restaurant purely due to the restricted view - I understand that guests sometimes wish to eat in air conditioned comfort when it is very hot, but there is no view whatsoever!
6. Wi-fi
Excellent - this was a great bonus not having to search for a signal. Our internet access was fantastic and I cannot praise this facility highly enough! Being an award winning travel agent for Barbados it is imperative to keep in touch with the outside world.
7. Nightly entertainment
Major disappointment. I have travelled extensively in the Caribbean and have never had to endure such abysmal hotel entertainment at night. After a promising start upon our arrival, the entertainment diminished until there was only a DJ most evenings. Guests were going to their rooms just out of sheer boredom!

I must praise the General Manager who we saw around the pool and was impressed with his great professionalism.

Please St James Club, bring the hotel up to standard and this can be a great resort again !

Room Tip: The rooms in the new part of the hotel are lovely but not to be recommended for elderly, infirm etc.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bajangold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a great time, we were met with a cocktail then shown to our room in a golf buggy. Our room was spacious and always kept clean. The staff were always very friendly and efficient. We loved the variety of beautiful plants that were constantly being tended in the fabulous grounds. We found the food to be of a very good standard and especially enjoyed the Morgan's Pier restaurant however you do need to book in advance to get in. The bars were well stocked and we never had to wait long to be served. We found the range of watersports available excellent and enjoyed trying a few new things. We did Joy's tour which was a fantastic day. We also went on a whale and dolphin watching trip which was a waste of money as we didn't see anything. It was our first time in St Lucia and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintnick76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We attended the Saint Lucia Jazz and Arts Festival and returned this past weekend. When I arranged our hotel stay, I was looking for a moderately priced all-inclusive resort on the North end of the island.

The Property: The grounds of the St James Morgan are well manicured with a variety of flowers and tropical plants. You are met in an open-air lobby where you are asked to complete paperwork and given a rum punch. When we first arrived, we were initially a little disappointed in our Garden View room, even though it was very clean. We had double beds and the room felt like it was in need of an update. There were only three drawers in the entire room for storage beside the closet. There was a power strip (US) tacked onto the wall behind the dresser, which made for some effort in reaching it. That was the only power outlet (none in the bathroom)! There is a safe in the room and you are given your lock and key when you check in. There are sections on the other side of the resort that were either ocean view or beach front that are obviously newer buildings.

You could tell they were working where our room was located as they were laying concrete in the walkways and wiring for lights. It was very dark in the area at night and I think they should have installed some type of lighting, perhaps solar, until the wiring was complete along the pathways. I nearly tripped a couple of times.

My one pet peeve is you are given a business card sized beach towel coupon upon check-in and it is your responsibility to make sure you give it back to them when you check out. If you do not turn it in, your account is automatically charged $20. This is an unfair burden on the guests, as we did not come to the resort to lie on the beach. I can only assume that there has been some pilferage of the beach towels; however, they need to come up with a better way to account for them.

Restaurants: We ate in all of the restaurants except LeJardin, which costs an extra $25 per person. I felt we’d paid enough. The food was good, some better than others. I have comments about 2 of the restaurants.
Morgan’s Pier – this is a seafood restaurant on the pier. We had dinner here the second night and had booked it for a third, but cancelled. Our reservation was for 7:00 p.m. and we were seated near a light. We had so many bugs land on the table that we asked to be moved.

The Plum Tree Bar and Grille – this is casual food such as hamburgers, hot dogs, pizza, fish and chicken but it is arguably some of the best food and atmosphere on site. If they’d served breakfast, I wouldn’t have gone to any of the other restaurants.

• Please note that no chardonnay or cabernet is included in your ‘all-inclusive’ fee. These are available for purchase.
• If you go off property and want a late night snack, you are out of luck. The food is cut off after 9:30 p.m.
• Grilled means it is covered in barbeque sauce.
• Fish is served with marinara sauce on it. You have to tell them if you don’t want it.

The best asset that this property has is its staff. They were helpful and accommodating in every way. I hope they are taking care of them.

Room Tip: Look for the newer buildings - ocean view or beachfront.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mamanem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Arrived in St Lucia in torrential downpour and then had a landslide in the hotel grounds which resulted in no water on our first day.
Apart from this shaky start, this was a great holiday, in a great hotel, in a beautiful country!
Hotel was excellent, rooms spacious and clean, was in block 200 great position, garden view.
Restaurants - Palms was great for breakfast, ok for dinner but would have liked more choice although everything was cooked great. The Pier was great setting and lovely food. Le Jardin which cost extra was a fine dining experience and we went twice and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and service and the brilliant piano player.
Pools and beach were great, could always find sunloungers but need more umbrellas.
The Pumtree pool and bar, meant to be childrens pool but there were not many children so was a lovely chill out area on better sunloungers and had the best food (had lunch here nearly every day) A special thanks to Vaughn and the staff here who were all lovely and worked very hard. Didnt even need to ask for our drinks as they appeared as soon as we sat down.
I would say that 99% of the staff here were fantastic and always up for a chat and a laugh with you.
Joys boat trip (on the beach) is a MUST! Do not go home without experiencing this trip. Joy's son made this day for us, was so informative and looked after us all brilliantly.
Would definately come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
947 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
15.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $255 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, West Indies, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing