We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St Lucia is beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“St Lucia is beautiful!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Everything was great at the resort. The island and it's people were all around wonderful! The only drawback is the lengthy ride from the airport. We went on the horseback riding and ATV tour which were great times. I would recommend this island and resort to anyone. My families memories are fond and will last forever.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,849
    2,160
    608
    243
    172
See reviews for
1,753
2,886
92
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

After a long day travelling and queueing at customs we arrived at st james's to be greeted with a man at a table with a long line of keys giving them out like a car hire recep'tion, and we could not go anywhere unless we give them our credit details .We was then taken to block 400 with white painted wicker furniture everywhere and painted shiplap cellings I thought where is the magic. And then I opend the balcony dore and there it was lapping waves on a lonely shore swaying palm trees and a wonderful view of the rain forest and thats when I realised all I had to do all week was chill out and soak up the sunshine ,but dont be fooled by the cloud and rain we got burnt on the first day.The whole complex is compact with the small beach and pools all together and restaurants and bars around the edges.Book three days in advance to choose the pier or bamboo for fine dinning.The palms is the main restaurant where you dont book, the food area is small and there is not a lot of choice but its good and you are there to be fed not fattend . If you go to the plum tree for lunch you will be looked after by the wonderful Maria, and say hello to my special friend Vaughn who lookes after every one like he is there personal butler he remembers your choice of drink and nothing is to much trouble for him . All the staff were happy and smiley and every day got better so thank you st james's .(I will return)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank contentedKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The biggest disappointment at this resort was the murky water, sand swirling around so that you couldn't see the bottom and seaweed wrapping around your ankles. Go to Reduit Beach to see what a St Lucian beach should look like. The second disappointment was the front desk staff who were not very accommodating with any of our concerns about our room. The a la cartes were good, but the buffet selection was one of the smallest I've ever encountered and the food was often cold.

The grounds were beautiful and the majority of the staff were very friendly and helpful, although some of the serving staff were a little bit slow and forgetful. The resort had the best water sports program I have ever seen.

I highly recommend taking Joy's Tour, but a warning to wear an old bathing suit when in the mud bath as the mud doesn't come out after washing your bathing suit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganBayStLucia, General Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your very posiitive feedback about your recent stay at the The St. James Club. It is our goal to deliver a stellar vacation experience and we appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

With regards to the seaweed that you experienced, this is a natural phenomena which is effecting many Caribbean islands. The seaweed is sargasso and is being washed down from the Sargasso Sea. Our team are working tirelessly to clear the beach effected and ensure that disruption to guests is kept to a minimum, we are sorry that this impacted on your vacation.

Here at St. James's Club Morgan Bay we believe in 100% guest satisfaction is what we strive for and we always try to achieve this standard by all means possible. If you are looking for a fantastic Caribbean get away in Antigua this is an excellent choice St. James's Club Antigua is the true Caribbean beach experience and it is all just steps from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Expect very long line ups at thee airport! St James Club was nice. We had a personal isssue with our room and the staff were very accommodating and put us in a lovely room.
The food was very good for a resort and Le jardin was fantastic ! (well worth the 27$ US)
For folks looking for a vacation without children there were LOTS of kids..
Joy tour was nice..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We took our 18 month old daughter to Morgan Bay in December. The staff were lovely, always helpful, cheery and very accommodating.
The pools weren't overly busy. The pool by the grill restaurant was more suitable for smaller children as it had a shallow paddling pool.
The food was very good for an all inclusive. Lots of variety.

There is a wide choice of watersports that are all free.

It was a lovely relaxing holiday and we would definitely go back to Morgan Bay again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms away from the bar are quieter. We were in block 400, which was a short distance to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We arrived at Saint Lucia and loved the beautiful country sides we had plenty of views since the ride from the Hewnorra airport was about 1hour and 45 min long. When we got to the hotel we were taken to our room and were disappointed . This resort needs to do alot of updating to stand up to the rating they claim to have of 4 star. The room we stayed in was dated back to the 90's and the refrigerator in the room did not work very well for and all inclusive i was surprised that they did no have any water bottles in the room for there guests. They had an iron in the room that must of been very old with wires exposed at the plug area very dangerous . The rooms were kept very clean . As far as the restaraunts go all i can say is Cheap!! Cheap !! Cheap !! there food in the Palms restaraunt was very poor with food that was very spicy , most foods were fried, they kept running out of things in the restaraunt like wheat bread and the fruit at times was not alot. my husband who is a diabetic could not eat these foods it took them four days and lots of complaints to finally be able to accomidate his needs . In the restauranut birds would fly all over and drink out of the cups that had the cream for the coffee and then other people would sit there and use the cream, I told the one server that the bird drank out of the cup and it did not phase her at all, The birds would go to the dessert tables and pinch at the cakes and then poeple would go and eat them, I guess it is common there but to my standards very unsantairy and very unhealthy you do not know what those birds carry as far as diseases. The restaraunt used placemats on the tables and when people were done all they did were wipe them down with a dry cloth and reset the table and place utencils on the placemats that were not even cleaned properly. To get reservations at the other restaraunts was very hard unless you did not mind eating at 8;45 pm . and the one day that we ate at Morgan's Pier the food portions were very small and the pork we ate was very tough. What can i say about the beach , the water was very murkey you could not even see your hand under water and the sea weed as you went into the beach wrapped around your feet it felt awful. This must be the worst beach that I have visited in the carribean, forget the crystle clear blue water that you would expect to find there. All togeather this hotel was a great disappointment we spent our money hoping to have a wonderful vacation and it was everything except that. I found that this resort seemed to cater to the people of the UK more and it seem to forget that it also had people from other parts of the country to accomidate also. As far as the island it is a beautiful island and the people were very nice. Some people say other parts of the island have better beaches sorry to say we did not experience that. We would never go back to this island because we love the beach and to have crystal clear blue waters is very important to us. As far as the Saint James Club thumbs down hope you can improve your resort and make it a better place for people to stay at.

Room Tip: don't know since we did not have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganBayStLucia, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

In our continuous goal of providing an extraordinary vacation to our guests we appreciate any and all feedback on vacation experiences. When a guest encounters any kind of difficulty we immediately address the situation and fix any problems that may arise.

We host hundreds of very happy guests each week, and we consistently earn excellent reviews from our guests based on guest surveys, online forums and guests who visit us based on the recommendations of family and friends. In fact, many of our guests are repeat visitors who come to the resort because they know they will have a stellar experience. This is because we work very diligently to deliver a relaxing, stress free vacation in a beautiful setting, with some of the friendliest staff in the Caribbean.

We strive for 100% guest satisfaction iand we always try to achieve this standard by all means possible. If you are looking for a fantastic Caribbean get away in St. Lucia; than St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice and we stand by that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The resort was wonderful! I loved all the activities that were scheduled each day. The food was great. I tried all of the island specialities. The staff was helpful and quick to make sure our requests were fulfilled. Taking the sailing boat out on two days to explore the island was an extra special experience. The suite was beautiful. Waking up to a rainbow on the last day of our vacation was a very special gift. The hotel connected us with Hilary Moise (www.moisehilary.com) for all of our transporation services. He was helpful, informative, and very reasonable. I highly recommend his company.

Room Tip: Our suite was in the 1000 building. It was high up on the hill and we could see over the whole reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkMusicCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Property: St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing