We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks All Inclusive in St Lucia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We just returned today after 2 weeks in this resort which is in the north west of the islans. A bit of a trek to get there after an 8 hour flight but it was overall worth it when we got there.
There are 4 restaurants which are well very good although you have to pay a small supplement in one of them, i would recommend it at least once during your stay..
All of the staff are courteous and friendly but some in particular like : Kevin, Germain 1 and 2!, Emma, Theresa, Vitalis and Denver were outstanding.
The Gen Manager has a welcome party every monday and i told him we were disappointed that the daily features like beach volleyball, night entertainment etc were not displayed anywhere visible. They were advertised at the front of the main retaurant from wednesday so we done for that. I saw a previous review which criticised everything about this place. The reviwere must have been having a bad day! We will go back there again

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe garden or pool view which wont break the bank but will place you closer tpo the mai...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jim2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,208)
There are newer reviews for St. James's Club Morgan Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,444 - 4,450 of 6,208 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Recently renovated is a bit of a stretch, a long way to go to completion. You can't get near the pool bar if you are a non smoker. Not all restaurants were open when they said they were. GM Charles is trying his best but not communicating with the front desk, that is the front line who desperatley need training and people skills.
On the other hand Jannel, Kids club mgr, Theresa form Tommy's Rum Bar, Agnes from the Garden restaurant and Jonny from watersports were all outstanding and made the trip worthwhile.

Room Tip: To me ocean view means just that, we were in room 530 facing a full grown tree blocking out the ocea...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hammer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and i took a late sun holiday for a week at Morgan Bay at the beginning of Oct. We knew about the ownership change and refurb work but just felt we would be able to find somewhere to relax in the sun. What a wonderful place!
After the transfer we were pretty tired and not being offered the reported reception drink was a bit disappointing. We were however taken quickly to our room which was a beach/pool view in block 700. The room was clean, tidy and the view was fantastic. It was great to have uk Elec sockets and the AC was effective, although our room was very cool.
We found the food was varied and good quality, if you want mcdonalds or pub grub it's not good, but we found it nice to try a taste of local cuisine.
I didn't like the birds flying round the restaurant at breakfast but got used to it after a couple of days and it wasn't a problem at dinner.
We didn't do welcome meetings and the only trip we joined was Joys Boat Trip, a fantastic view of the island and well worth a day out, thoroughly enjoyable. Definitely recommended.
We booked the restaurants and preferred the fish menu at the pier which we returned to despite sending our main course back twice on our first visit.
There was a great sense from all the staff that they were working hard to ensure everyone enjoyed their stay, but it was clear that a few were inexperienced and some of the operation was not running as smoothly as everyone would have wanted. The bar staff were very friendly and accommodated all guests very well.

We experienced only one rude staff member, at the pool bar, who was clearly on a bad day and had probably wisely not worn her name badge.

The pools were great but the in pool bar tended to be occupied by keen drinkers in the afternoon, which could be entertaining at times. The beach is not the best we had experienced in the Caribbean but was well stocked with good sun beds, clean and well kept. The water was pretty murky but I think that was really down to the volcanic sand under the imported beach sand and the stream outlets into the bay.
The water sports were great fun and the team were so helpful especially with beginners and those wanting to give something new a go. The most helpful team I have met and at 51 I have been fortunate to do many holidays.

When on holiday i enjoy seeing how other people do things differently and recognise that health and safety isn't the same on the other side of the world. Just take care and be sensible.

The Morgan Bay has a great staff team and the owners are clearly investing to improve the facilities. I am confident the place will only get better.

If there was one thing I would ask to change it's the small plastic glasses at the bar. Understandable during the day but would be nice to have a larger glass of beer at the bar in the evening. (probably too close to the pools!)

Given the choice I would be back tomorrow for another thoroughly enjoyable week in the sun. Thank you Morgan Bay.

Room Tip: Block 700 pool view appear to have been refurbished recently. The ocean view room are more modern bu...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikem1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Anyone who complains about Morgan Bay is a wrong un! I'd suggest you complain for sport! As our dear friends Sue & Richard have said we would look forward to going back as soon as possible. It is outstanding for the money, we went there 20 years ago & it cost 2.5k back then! All staff were fabulous, except those who had a hangover. Must give praise to those that shone, Bar staff - Germain (big G), Kevin (Keegan), (too tall) Alex, Kennyson (Kenny). Activities - Germain, Metreen & Janice. Restaurant - Nadia, Rachel, Adrian, Kenneth, Metreen. Water sports - Jonny.

We did get sight of all the wildlife including the less pretty ones but, they did not bother us so, we didn't bother them. The owners and managers of Morgan Bay should be proud, those people considering a visit must go & ignore the professional complainers eg the sun is too hot, the planes kept me awake at the airport hotel!

Stayed: October 2012
7  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked the holiday with virgin holidays. The flights were ok but we had to stop on the way in Barbados for 1 hour which we were informed of before hand.

When we arrived at the hotel after the 1 1/2 hour transfer it was chaos the checkin process was disorganised and we had to wait over 20 minutes to go to our room and only got there because we decided to sit on one of the carts taking people around. If we hadn't we could have been there forever. It was then 1 hour later our luggage was brought to the room.

You could not fault the hotel on the cleanliness. The staff were very friendly and happy to spend time talking to you and asking questions about your holiday.

We had a double room with one large bed, it was a very nice big room and we could see over most of the resort from the balcony, which was private and quite large. We had an issue with our safe but this was fixed within 30 minutes of telling them about it which was great. The room on up a large hill like most of the rooms at Morgan bay but it had decent paths to access it. The odd couple of nights they forgot to turn on the lights to the paths but again once altered it was done quickly.

The beach & pools were very nice and clean. The watersports were great and free. If you fancy a go at water skiing or sailing then this is a great place to dpgo. We tried the sailing and after being taught how to do it we were allowed to go out on our own. The watersports staff were friendly, knowledgable and advised on how to stay safe.

The only negative I have about the whole holiday was the food. The buffet restaurant was mainly average and did some good meals on occasions but overall it was pretty average. The worst food seemed to be in the two menu restaurants ( the pier and the banboo ) when you book you can see the evenings menu but when you get there it was not the same menu. The food you would think from the menu to be fine dining but this is true if you miss off the fine. The food was very average and tried to be dressed up as fine dining but it just did not work. We saw numerous couples walk out of them after being given their food or being informed that the food they had ordered was not available. It's not what I would expect to see.

When we arrived it was not busy in the resort so only one restaurants was open which was the buffet one. They did open the others later in our holiday once it was a little busier.

Overall I would say it was a good place with a nice Room and very friendly staff. We had a great time but in my opinion they need to improve checking and the overall quality of the food to improve the experience.






Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Morgan Bay was chosen as the venue for our wedding and our arrival was straight after the complex had been closed for refurbishment. After a disappointing start which I guess were due to the pressures of getting the facility up and running again on schedule I have to say I was very happy with our stay. There were limited eating opportunities as not all the restaurants were open every day (which is probably to be expected as the complex was nowhere near at full capacity) which was a bit of a disappointment as not everyone wants buffet style dining but we did get to try each restaurant a couple of times and on the whole what was available was very good so it did not detract too much from our stay. The staff are the key to its success, from Charles the GM, Arthur, Nadia, Mertrene, Germain (G), Kennyson, Kevin, Vitali and Johnny in the Beach Hut, they made the trip memorable. Pamela the wedding planner was 100% professional and she made sure we had a fantastic wedding day. If you visit the Morgan make sure you take the boat trip with Joys cruises. Joy is a true gentleman and the trip is great value and was one of the highlights of the week. Overall the venue represents very good value for money if compared to similar destinations, a similar inclusive visit to Mauritius as an example, for a group of 19 as we were would have cost significantly more. All things considered I would definitely go back and we hope to do so sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Block 6 and 7 will save you a walk to the poolside and bars etc.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stopped here to decompress after two stressful weeks on the road. Turned out to be a very good choice. Minutes from Castries airport. Most roooms newly re-done. Mine was very nice. Spacious & comfortable. Meticulously maintained grounds. Very attentive staff. Above average food for all-inclusive facility. Good selection of water activties provided free with room. Didn't get off the property but close to town. Only negative - the house wines are poor. The white is undrinkable.

Room Tip: Ocean views but upper floors offer better vista.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rgbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
949 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,160 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
15.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $258 - $722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing