We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice relaxing stay at Morgan Bay Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Charles Town, WV
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing stay at Morgan Bay Beach Resort”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just got back from a 4 day 3 night stay at Morgan Bay Beach Resort in St. Lucia. We had a nice time for a quick stress reliever get away. Thanks to LB and Vanessa for making us their specialty drinks. :) The food: breakfast was ok, the omelet station was great; lunch was ok, the food at the grill was very good especially the pizza; the specialty restaurants Le Jardin and Morgan's Pier were really good; the port wine was excellent. I think the resort should probably cover all dishes for lunch or install fans in the buffet area at the Palms Restaurant to prevent the birds from coming into that area. It also would've been nice if the Plum Tree Grill was open late at night. After 9:30 pm all the kitchens shut down,however they do bring out late night snacks at the Sunset Lounge. Our room was great, we had no issues with ants our view was spectacular we were in room 1234 with an ocean view. The staff was great, very helpful and friendly. We really liked the fact that the resort had certain pools designated for adults only. That was definitely a plus since we do not have kids. The beach was kinda small but still relaxing. One think we did not find was a jacuzzi, I don't think they have one at this resort. It did rain while we were there but it was quick and the rain dried quickly so everything wasn't soaked all day typical for the islands. Compared to other all inclusive island vacations, this was a nice, average, short relaxing get away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wvnovatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,848
    2,160
    608
    243
    172
See reviews for
1,752
2,886
92
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed at the morgan bay with my wife and two children 12 and 11 and thought the only good thing about the hotel was the watersports.
The restaurants were poor and had a bad selection.
Most staff were freindly but never went the extra mile.
For the two weeks our room had a cleaner visit but never topped up items like shampoo etc..
You couldnt get a decent coffee apart from 6pm to 10pm and that never seemed to have any custom.
The watersport team were great and a really freindly bunch of guys.

On one night it was like a party town with a stag party and hen night and the management did nothing about it.

I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manwering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

WOW - This resort is old Carribean- most incrediable people we have ever meet A true relaxing vacation. We went to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Our two teens came also 18,16. Amazing family trip. Joy's Cruise which you sign up with him at the beach was "THE BEST"!!!!! we met wonderful friends from LA and had a blast! Joy's offers a great package for all to enjoy. It makes your trip even more special. A must to do while at the resort. Good food - Morgan Pier was just ok.... We enjoyed Bamboo and the Palm for the fresh fruits and veggies and different variety all day long. Le Jarden was very good also. The only thing we worried about was what time do we eat, or what drink shall we have now. We did encounter some rain but it never ruined our trip. We even took a taxi into town to shop it was well worth it. Everyone working at the resort smiles all day long and makes you feel special. The nightly entertainment not that great but It was a very wonderful vacation and we have wonderful memories to hold in our hearts forever. The only negative it that the resort is an hour and a half away from the airport. And the ride is crazy. The taxi drivers pass out people and it can make you dizzy, take dramamine before - but besides that Great Trip...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lemrac333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at Morgan Bay Resort from Jan 8/12 - Jan 15/12. 2 adult parents and 2 adult children......It was quiet after the Christmas rush and thankfully as the beach is not huge but nice. First impression I was not impressed for the money spent but as the week went on I grew to love it. Water sports were awesome and great variety! We never had a problem getting a chair anywhere. The staff is SO friendly and helpful. The resort was in the process of changing hands and they were doing some upgrades and changes. Food was good and always enough but not those crazy buffets where so much is wasted. A la carte restaurants were great as well. Rooms were always clean.....take face cloths as they were not replenished often. Bus is available just outside resort and cheaper than taxis .....however taxi drivers are very punctual and helpful. We went to the local street party Friday night and our driver stayed with us the whole time! Deep sea fishing and zip lining a must!! Overall nice resort but it did need a facelift and I am sure they are in the process of that now as it had already started when we were there. Not a lot of pool side activities like other resorts but we enjoyed the quiet so we were fine with that. There is a games room with pool tables and other activities as well as an on sight gym. Both were very close to our room. St. Lucia is a very lush, scenic beautiful island with very friendly people! I would highly recommend going there. I've been to a lot of the Caribbean and this was one of my favorites.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjden_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We spent 12 nights at Morgan Bay at the beginning of April 2012. Two adults two children ages 14 and 9. Arranged by Virgin. Loved every second of it! Food quality very good, room standard very good. Some rooms were in the process of being repainted whilst we were there. Had easy access to all watersports, all day, every day, even water skiing included. Played "family" tennis every night before dinner (you may want to take your own balls as these keep going missing). Everything well managed. Excursion to spot dolphins and whales well worth it, saw loads, Staff all lovely. Had a phone call from resort rep before we left home wishing us a good journey and to answer any questions!!! May want to consider helicopter transfers or at least take a travel sickness tablet - roads a bit hairy!! Best trip ever, will go again.

Room Tip: pool rooms will be noisier as they are near the evening entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I travelled with my husband and family to the Morgan Bay Beach Resort in March 2012.

We flew with Virgin who were brilliant. There was a slight queue at St Lucia (Hewanorra) airport to get through security - it took about 45mins. Our suitcases had been unloaded and were waiting for us when we got through security. Outside the terminal a few locals asked us if we needed taxis, but when we said 'no thank you' they simply left you alone. The people here did not hassle us in the slightest, everyone was very laid back! We had booked a transfer with Virgin and as there were 5 of us we had a minibus to ourselves. The drive was lovely, got to see some amazing scenery, and the driver never went crazy round the bends so felt completely safe.

We arrived at the hotel late afternoon and our rooms were ready for us. On arrival we got a rum punch which was very nice! The rooms were ok, probably only 3* as they needed a re-paint, but were clean and had everything you needed in them. The bed was comfy too. It looked like the hotel was working its way round re-decorating all the blocks, so I guess the rooms are in the process of being updated.

The beach is lovely, you can't walk along the beach to the next resort as the hotel is contained within a cove. Most people put their towels on sun loungers before breakfast, but there were always some left. The hotel could do with a few more umbrellas though. The sea was lovely, watch out for the small fish in the shallows - they don't bite but you can feel them bumping into you! Also if you're sunbathing under the tress watch out for the red ants... they bite! Got bitten twice but they certainly weren't a nuisance. Also look out for hummingbirds. All watersports were free, you just need to book them in advance.

The food at all of the restaurants at the hotel was lovely. It was really nice to be able to have a served meal if you wanted to. There was a little cafe at the back of the hotel (Plum Tree I think) which served pizza, chips and burgers from lunch until 6. IThe food was good, but the other restaurants had more local cuisine. We ate at all the restaurants:

Morgans Pier: In the evenings this is a fish restaurant but with a chicken option. The menu here doesn't change but it's lovely to sit out over the sea. Your food is served to you here. During the day there is an excellent BBQ.

Bambou: This was sometimes open for buffet breakfast and lunch (alternate to The Palms) which was lovely, always enough food. We didn't eat here in the evenings as we weren't keen on the menus - the dishes were all Thai influenced.

The Palms: This was the restaurant that was open most for the buffet breakfast. There was so much to choose from: full english, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, breads and pastries and freshly cooked pancakes/eggs/omlette while you waited. In the evening this was buffet style, with a different theme each night. You can't book at table at this restaurant, but we never had to wait long to be seated. Again, food was great.

Le Jardin: This is open in the evenings only. This is an indoor restaurant with a set menu which doesn't change, but the food is very good and it's nice to be able to have a 'posh' meal on holiday.

For Morgans Pier, Bambou and Le Jardin you need to book your table in advance. You can book a table 3 days in advance (so if you're staying a week, you only actually need to go and make reservations a couple of times). This absolutely isn't a hassle, and all the menus are displayed next to where you book.

Our Virgin rep (Natacha) was excellent - she had a wealth of knowledge about the trips and the local area. We went on the Virgins Ahoy catamaran cruise which I cannot recommend enough. It was brilliant, and as it was Virgin customers only it wasn't crowded like the other catamarans we saw. Lunch on board was tasty too and enough to go around. The Botanical Gardens were really amazing. We also went to the 'Rainforest Adventure' again this was brilliant, was great to walk through the rainforest and have a go at zip-lining! It is suitable for all the family, and you go round in a group of 8 with 2 guides. My husband and I went to Pigeon Island for the morning. We walked up to Fort Rodney and the views from up here were amazing. There was hardly anyone about so felt like we had the place to ourselves. There is a small restaurant on the island, we had 2 lemonades which came to 2 american dollars. There were a couple of really nice beaches here too, but you had to pay for the sunbeds.

We took American Dollars with us to St Lucia - they are accepted everywhere, but sometimes you get your change in Eastern Carribean Dollars which is a bit confusing! We'd never been to the Caribbean before and the thing that made the holiday was the friendliness of the staff and locals. Nothing was too much trouble, and tipping wasn't expected. The bar got a busy in the evenings, but whats the rush?!

Overall a fantastic holiday. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We were in the '300' block, nice and quiet and not up the hill! Rooms on the ground floor ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank querty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We loved morgan bay, it was the best holiday ever! We stayed for 7 days and loved every second of it. This was our first trip to the Caribbean and was an amazing one. The staff were extremely helpful and kind especially Marie at the plum tree.
The water sports were fantastic you can do water skiing, kayaking, sailing, windsurfing, pedal boating, take a trip on the banana boat and even snorkelling (which is not brilliant as the water in choc/morgan bay is quite murky).
The entertainment in the evening was slightly disappointing as it was not very varied but the limbo was great and a member of my family won it!
The restaurant were nice we ended up going to the palms most of the time because it was most varied and for lunch we usually went to the plum tree.
The pools and beach were great, the beach was quite large a very clean. We would defiantly go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Property: St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, West Indies, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing