We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life saving food”
Review of Tapas On The Bay

Tapas On The Bay
Ranked #12 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: With its Spanish-inspired decor and menu of 'little dishes from around the world', Tapas On The Bay is tucked into a breezy corner of Rodney Bay marina lagoon, where a steady breeze blows across the calm waters and cools its spacious covered deck. The long, Soufriere stone clad bar is perfect for enjoying a quick lunch or dinner, and the secluded location makes Tapas On The Bay a great place to relax and chill out. Taking traditional tapas as a base, Chef Rosie incorporates Caribbean and international influences, creating innovative new bite-sized dishes with local ingredients and flavours, serving them on sharing platters for a very social eating experience. There are also plenty of delicious entrees and yummy desserts to round out the menu. Throw in some excellent wines, three different types of sangria and boozy cocktails by the jug, and Tapas On The Bay could be your next favourite dining spot in Saint Lucia. Open for brunch from 10am to 3pm, happy hour from 4pm to 6pm and dinner from 6pm to 10pm (11pm Saturday and Sunday). Closed Tuesdays.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at an all inclusive hotel on Rodney bay that had terrible food I even got runnings. Until we ventured out to try tapas. The food is amazing the staff is helpful and always happy. We returned a couple times after and their food and service was consistent. The chorizo burger , steak sandwhich and the garlic bread would be my top favorites. Everything cooked to perfection the price was excellent the ambience is great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AFTous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We're so glad that Tapas on the Bay changed your experience of food in Rodney Bay, and thank you for taking time out to post your review. With Lil' Chef all-day breakfast & lunches, and incredible tapas in the evening, we hope to offer something for every taste, so hope you'll come again if you're in town again. Happy New Year! Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
There are newer reviews for Tapas On The Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 473 of 617 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

had breakfast here one morning, when the heavens decided to open. The service is not great and had to wait for a long time for guava juice while others got theirs and they came after me!! Apart from that when my breakfast came it was hot and very generous, great value

Thank Capricorn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We're glad you found Tapas on the Bay as a port in the storm, although please accept our apologies for the lapse in service - the terrible weather played havoc with staff over Christmas and at times we were stretched. Thank you for the positive review of breakfast however, and we hope that you'll visit again soon. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We tried Tapas on the Bay serveral times. It is located on the end of the Marina with an excellent view. You have your choice of inside or outside tables. We went there for breakfast 4 times and once for dinner. The omelets were very good and the price was great. 2 omelets, 2 coffees were $22.00. We also had the fruit bowl which was excellent. Our server SHERMEIN from our breakfasts arranged for the Singer to sing to us on Thursday night which was our Anniversary. She even came in to make sure we had a wonderful evening. You could not ask for a better server. Thanks Shermein.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luannNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We think Lil' Chef at Tapas on the Bay is the best place to have breakfast - but we might be biased! Thanks so much for your lovely review, and we're delighted that Shermain made your visits to Tapas very special. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas! Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We walked through the smell of sewage, we got past that. We were seated out at the waterfront and had to move inside due to the same smell. Our wine was great, nice temperature and still the smell came inside. We ignored it and ordered our tapas.....bread and dips.....the hummus was rancid! We told our waitress who returned to our table with the container of hummus that had been purchased at the grocery store. Do you not check the food coming out of your kitchen before serving it? I should not have assumed that care would be taken to make sure food was worthy of serving to customers and I certainly should never have thought that a restaurant would make their own homemade hummus.....And to top it off we were charged full price. We will not return to Tapas on the Bay even though we are here for another 5 months. :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are also disappointed that your experience was not what we expect from Tapas. The day of your visit there was a burst sewage pipe at a building not connected to Tapas or Big Chef (our other restaurant adjacent), however the problem affected our location as it ran past the buildings into the sea. It was a one off issue, and not something we are used to at the restaurant. As you are in St Lucia for another five months, we would be glad to welcome you back to Tapas for a complimentary meal, so please inbox us or email bigchefsteakhouse@gmail.com. Thank you. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Honestly felt like they found the best breakfast chefs in the world to cater their breakfast. I wanted everything on the menu and almost had it.. French toast, Lucian breakfast, eggs, bacon... all sooo good!

And nothing tops off good food better than fantastic service! Thank you for a memorable bfast!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nesa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thanks for taking time out to review Lil' Chef All Day Breakfast at Tapas on the Bay. We're so glad you found everything you wanted, and hope you'll visit again often to have breakfast on the deck. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas On The Bay also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Tapas On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing