We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tapas with stunning view of Marina”
Review of Tapas On The Bay

Tapas On The Bay
Ranked #13 of 83 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: With its Spanish-inspired decor and menu of 'little dishes from around the world', Tapas On The Bay is tucked into a breezy corner of Rodney Bay marina lagoon, where a steady breeze blows across the calm waters and cools its spacious covered deck. The long, Soufriere stone clad bar is perfect for enjoying a quick lunch or dinner, and the secluded location makes Tapas On The Bay a great place to relax and chill out. Taking traditional tapas as a base, Chef Rosie incorporates Caribbean and international influences, creating innovative new bite-sized dishes with local ingredients and flavours, serving them on sharing platters for a very social eating experience. There are also plenty of delicious entrees and yummy desserts to round out the menu. Throw in some excellent wines, three different types of sangria and boozy cocktails by the jug, and Tapas On The Bay could be your next favourite dining spot in Saint Lucia. Open for brunch from 10am to 3pm, happy hour from 4pm to 6pm and dinner from 6pm to 10pm (11pm Saturday and Sunday). Closed Tuesdays.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tapas with stunning view of Marina”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Family had lunch here, food and service fantastic! Great views! Will certainly return, recommend the Sangria Blanco!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GillyAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Tapas on the Bay, and your description hits the nail on the head for us! Hope to welcome you back again soon, and please remember to say hi. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    206
    84
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great ambiance and wonderful food and staff. Not the traditional tap pas style of Spain but the restaurant gives this new twist to the traditional Tapas offering.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irvine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for your short and sweet review - we enjoy reinventing the original tapas theme in our 'little dishes from around the world', so it's great that you appreciated the new twist! Hope we'll welcome you back again in future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely place to eat and relax”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had lunch at Tapas on three occasions during my visit to St Lucia this time. It is very relaxing
and cooling in the hot sun.
I had the normal lunch menu on two visits and to my delight on my final visit there was a
Carnival Tapas Platter
My daughter and granddaughter(aged 9) were with me and we all ate our fill and enjoyed
a helping of everything.
I suggested to the Management that this Platter should be kept even after Carnival as the
quality and price was very good. I can't wait for a return visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We're so pleased you liked Tapas on the Bay so much you came back three times, and glad to know that everyone enjoyed the Carnival platter which was a very popular special. Thanks so much for posting your comments and we look forward to having you back in St Lucia again soon. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eh.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place was getting rave reviews from the staff at our resort, as well as other travelers. We finally went for dinner on our last night and thought it was OK. The bruschetta was good, as was the fried calamari, but everything else was a bit bland to tell you the truth. I was disappointed. It was an OK meal, but I probably wouldn't return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rock solid dining experience”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

While I can't say the food was as outstanding as Spice of India - watching the "supermoon" rising over pitans while sitting outside on the water kinda made this a 5 star restaurant. The Goat Cheese bread appetizer was to die for. The rest of it was solid, well made food and I would go back again. Very international clientelle - locals, germans, French, British, Muslims and ..little old country boy me sharing a great view and great food

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank happycampersfromva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas On The Bay also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Tapas On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing