We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First experience with tapas”
Review of Tapas On The Bay

Tapas On The Bay
Ranked #9 of 85 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: With its Spanish-inspired decor and menu of 'little dishes from around the world', Tapas On The Bay is tucked into a breezy corner of Rodney Bay marina lagoon, where a steady breeze blows across the calm waters and cools its spacious covered deck. The long, Soufriere stone clad bar is perfect for enjoying a quick lunch or dinner, and the secluded location makes Tapas On The Bay a great place to relax and chill out. Taking traditional tapas as a base, Chef Rosie incorporates Caribbean and international influences, creating innovative new bite-sized dishes with local ingredients and flavours, serving them on sharing platters for a very social eating experience. There are also plenty of delicious entrees and yummy desserts to round out the menu. Throw in some excellent wines, three different types of sangria and boozy cocktails by the jug, and Tapas On The Bay could be your next favourite dining spot in Saint Lucia.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Tapas on the Bay is under the same ownership of the Big Chef Steak House, which I have also reviewed. As such, the quality and the experience is top notch. We had a table right by the water. We sampled a platter of six different dishes, which was excellent. We had a chocolate fondue with fruit for dessert, which was to die for. The owner came out when we were done and when we told her how much we enjoyed it she offered us another plate of fruit to finish up the chocolate sauce. We were very impressed.

I have had no experience with tapas bars but I can say that it was a great experience and would highly recommend it over much pricier ocean front restaurants such as The Edge, which I have also reviewed. I definitely thought that the value was there.

Thank imsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

What a great review and we are delighted that your first experience of tapas was at Tapas on the Bay. Our Chocolate Brandy Fondue is a great favourite with guests, and it was our pleasure to make sure you made the most of every mouthful with a little extra fruit. Hope we will welcome you back again sometime soon. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

559 - 563 of 631 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lovely setting, looking over the Rodney Bay marina, the setting is comfortable and intimate. The service is quick and very friendly. We went there for a light snack, ordered 3 small dishes to share. They were all excellent; beef kebabs, tuna carpaccio and the bruschetta were all equally delicious. Great place to share food if you not too hungry. But there are much bigger platters at good prices if you are. This place is a must if you in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We like to think of Tapas on the Bay as a must-do restaurant because there is nothing else like it in Rodney Bay so thank you very much for your positive review. We hope you'll come back and try many other tapas in future. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had the seafood platter to share and there was plenty for two. The freshwater shrimp and the octopus salad were particularly delicious. We were lucky enough to get a table by the water and the view as the sun went down was stunning. Service was great too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dewberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We appreciate your review and thanks for taking the time to post. Chef Olivier will be delighted thast you enjoyed our signature Seafood Platter, and we hope to welcome you again soon to Tapas on the Bay. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

As someone who lives in Spain the tapas were excellent.We ate here twice during our holiday. Flatbread with caramelised onions and goats cheese was superb. Patatas bravas, pinchos, meatballs and all the other dishes were great. Service and staff really good. Nice interior and overlooking the water. Good value. Give it a try, you won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mhairi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Wow - it means a lot when tapas afficionados appreciate our menu, as the cuisine is relatively new in St Lucia. Thanks so much for the great review, and we're delighted you enjoyed your selections - the Goats Cheese & Caramelised Onion Flatbread is a real favourite with everyone who tries it! Hope you'll visit Tapas on the Bay again when you next visit St Lucia. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The food at Tapas on the Bay is to die for! The chorizo in red wine is the best I've had.The selection of wines is also commendable. We got the chance to meet Chef Olivier. You can tell that he loves what he does and it shows in the food. I would recommend Tapas to any one visiting St. Lucia.The view is great and service is excellent!It's great for a night out with the guys or with your significant order.Well worth the price. And be sure to say hello to the Chef!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kheera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We appreciate your wonderful review and are glad that Tapas on the Bay was a great experience all around. Chef Olivier is indeed very passionate about the food he creates and always enjoys meeting satisfied guests - we'll make sure to pass on your kind comments. Hope you'll visit us in St Lucia again in future. Rosie and Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas On The Bay also viewed

Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Tapas On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing