We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Tapas On The Bay

Tapas On The Bay
Ranked #7 of 85 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: With its Spanish-inspired decor and menu of 'little dishes from around the world', Tapas On The Bay is tucked into a breezy corner of Rodney Bay marina lagoon, where a steady breeze blows across the calm waters and cools its spacious covered deck. The long, Soufriere stone clad bar is perfect for enjoying a quick lunch or dinner, and the secluded location makes Tapas On The Bay a great place to relax and chill out. Taking traditional tapas as a base, Chef Rosie incorporates Caribbean and international influences, creating innovative new bite-sized dishes with local ingredients and flavours, serving them on sharing platters for a very social eating experience. There are also plenty of delicious entrees and yummy desserts to round out the menu. Throw in some excellent wines, three different types of sangria and boozy cocktails by the jug, and Tapas On The Bay could be your next favourite dining spot in Saint Lucia.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had the seafood platter to share and there was plenty for two. The freshwater shrimp and the octopus salad were particularly delicious. We were lucky enough to get a table by the water and the view as the sun went down was stunning. Service was great too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dewberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We appreciate your review and thanks for taking the time to post. Chef Olivier will be delighted thast you enjoyed our signature Seafood Platter, and we hope to welcome you again soon to Tapas on the Bay. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 592 of 660 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

As someone who lives in Spain the tapas were excellent.We ate here twice during our holiday. Flatbread with caramelised onions and goats cheese was superb. Patatas bravas, pinchos, meatballs and all the other dishes were great. Service and staff really good. Nice interior and overlooking the water. Good value. Give it a try, you won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mhairi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Wow - it means a lot when tapas afficionados appreciate our menu, as the cuisine is relatively new in St Lucia. Thanks so much for the great review, and we're delighted you enjoyed your selections - the Goats Cheese & Caramelised Onion Flatbread is a real favourite with everyone who tries it! Hope you'll visit Tapas on the Bay again when you next visit St Lucia. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The food at Tapas on the Bay is to die for! The chorizo in red wine is the best I've had.The selection of wines is also commendable. We got the chance to meet Chef Olivier. You can tell that he loves what he does and it shows in the food. I would recommend Tapas to any one visiting St. Lucia.The view is great and service is excellent!It's great for a night out with the guys or with your significant order.Well worth the price. And be sure to say hello to the Chef!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kheera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We appreciate your wonderful review and are glad that Tapas on the Bay was a great experience all around. Chef Olivier is indeed very passionate about the food he creates and always enjoys meeting satisfied guests - we'll make sure to pass on your kind comments. Hope you'll visit us in St Lucia again in future. Rosie and Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The venue is beautiful; well set up & obviously lots of thought put into design, but while we enjoyed the food, we thought the portions quite small (even for Tapas!) and very overpriced. A shame really, because we definitely would have returned more than once, to try other menu items!

Thank Laurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review Tapas. We base our portions on the traditional tapas principle of 4-5 bites, and have also had comments that they are larger than normal - however every customers' experience is different and we value all feedback. Hope we will welcome you back to Tapas on the Bay in future. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We found this little gem by accident. What a wonderful surprise. It's just the perfect little cozy spot to stop for refreshments. We enjoyed out chicken kabob selection with an ice tea and the local beer-Piton- while we sat on the patio watching the boats in the harbor.

Thank OMAonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thanks for not keeping Tapas on the Bay a secret!! We love our secluded location, which seems to be off the beaten track even though we're in the heart of Rodney Bay - watching the boats on the breezy deck is a favourite pastime of ours too (when time permits!) Hope you'll be back to visit us again soon. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas On The Bay also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Tapas On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing