We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of blu St Lucia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
blu St Lucia
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good hotel, clean rooms. Centrally located, tourist area, many restaurants within walking distance.
the bar wasn’t bad either. Breakfast was good. Fitness, tennis court, and free internet.
Friendly staff. Surely to revisit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    140
    97
    41
    23
See reviews for
56
206
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Recently returned from this small friendly hotel, my first tip is ‘Read all the Reviews’ they all give a very good view of what to expect – the good and the bad! The transfer from the airport takes an hour and a half, the roads are very windy and hilly. The hotel does not look very inviting as you approach it, but as soon as you are in Reception and welcomed with a Fruit Punch and a warm smile the journey is forgotten and the holiday starts. The rooms are pleasant but the bathrooms are dire, the refurbishing of the rooms has started but is far from complete, there is a sample room which is very nice and when all the rooms are brought up to this standard they will be exceptional. The beds and sun-loungers are probably the most comfortable in the world! The food for the first half of the holiday was excellent but not so good during the second half, although the chef will prepare any alternative to the menu you want. We did not experience noise at night as mentioned by other reviewers. The pool is great for cooling off, but no good if you’re an Olympic Swimmer. The staff were fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and every one of them is prepared to put themselves out to make your holiday special. We have stayed at a Harlequin Hotel before (Buccament Bay, St Vincent) and that is why we chose Blu – Buccament Bay it isn’t – but after a total refurbishment it could be a smaller version.
Reduit Beach was a disappointment, the waves were more suited to Surfing than Snorkelling and the vendors are very prolific and persistent, but a polite no thank you will usually have the desired effect. The loungers are laid out for cruise ship clients used to being in lines and no space between them. Rodney Bay village is lively and the locals very friendly. The staff who made our holiday special are; Cathy (Oh yes!), Cindy (in control & a kola tonic), Louis & Remy (any cocktail including experiments), Martha (extra cleaning/laundry), Marvin (“how’s your day – great!), Samantha, Tyler, Tessa, Chanta, Casha (gangnam Caribbean style), Charles (great driver, banana lesson & site sighting), Erin (good luck with ‘the bump’).
Overall, if you’re looking to just relax in the sun with very good food and friendly helpful people at hand – go!

Room Tip: Read ALL the reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo-Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Most of the previous reviews of the Blu hotel are exactly right, it was exactly as we expected and came away with wonderful memories after our first time in the Caribbean. The staff are brilliant in each role it would be difficult to name anyone in particular. Food was super and cooked for you, we were there for 16 nights and were never disappointed at any meal at any time of the day, all chefs were attentive and made great efforts to proved a special each day in addition to a well presented a la carte.
Table service what could I say, always served with a smile by Cathy, Casha, Tyler (great voice),Samantha, Tessa, Chantra what a team, oooooooooooo yes, if you go there you will soon know who this relates to, thank you all of you.
Great bar service managed by Remy and Lewis plus anyone else who was around, great cocktails and no limit on quality of spirits, not just local spirits and beers.
Rooms were of a good standard as previously described by everyone else, new furnishings, good storage facilities nice deep drawers to store clothes in, good TV and the coffee machine a really nice touch. The bathrooms are in need of some work but don't expect this to be carried out soon in our view, this will be a really big undertaking, but don't let it put you off at all, they are very well kept by housekeeping as are the rooms and ultimately you only go in there for a very small part of your holiday. If you feel the bathrooms are poor have some time in Greece people!
The walk to the beach is easy if you want to use it, as is the walk to the village where for those on B& B or half board will find lots of good places to eat with a wide choice, but this is second hand information from others we met who did eat locally. We were on all inclusive and did not feel the need to go from the hotel to eat as we thoroughly enjoyed the variety of food on offer in the hotel.
Car hire was taken using the facilities in the hotel, with taxes etc £125 for two days which we thought good VFM, fuel is reasonable and you can see most of the island in that period, be warned the journey from Hewannara to Rodney Bay is torturous if you are not a good traveller, try and book a car, not a minibus, it takes 1.5 hrs approximately, but can feel like a lifetime.
Overall we would recommend this hotel to anyone, it was our first visit but we would seriously consider a return just to enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and the people, o ooooooooo yes we would Cathy.
Many thanks to everyone at the Hotel Blu.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank IanLincolnEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This little gem is truly one of the nicest holidays that I've had. A quaint boutique hotel that's the perfect place to simply relax. Nothing is too much to ask. The staff are super when it comes to service. From Cindy, Chanta, Samantha, Kasha, Cathy, Tyla, Remy Martin.... super people eager to make the experience awesome. The rooms were very clean, newly renovated. The bathrooms will be gorgeous when their renovations are complete. Thanks again everyone at the blu! We had a lovely time. Jennie and Sydney

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one week and it is truly a lovely hotel, the staff; Chanta, Samantha, Kasha and Kathy to name a few, are brilliant they're always happy and nothing is too much trouble.

The food and restaurant is five star. We fully relaxed and can't thank them enough, can't wait to go back.
They are having the bathrooms refurbished and once done it will be top class.

Many thanks to Erin, for all her efforts and for making our stay one of the best holidays.

Colin & Dani

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cph6467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a small intimate hotel with fantastic service and great food don't think twice about booking this hotel. After day one all the staff knew our names, made polite and friendly conversation and nothing is ever any trouble. We were greeted with cold towels and rum punch and that set the scene for the rest of the stay. Molton brown toiletries, the worlds most comfortable bed, sumptuous sun loungers, great food the list is endless! All meals al a carte, cooked to order and selected premium brands included on the all inclusive. An excellent stay in a great location will certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mad4h0ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very nice staff. And very comfy and modern rooms. Showers could use modernising, but were ok. Pool was lovely. Good location too, about 10 mins to the shopping mall and 5 mins from the beach. Good hotel, would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danny213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
#5 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 stars 1,506 reviews
2.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to blu St Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about blu St Lucia

Property: blu St Lucia
Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — blu St Lucia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rodney Bay in the quieter part of Reduit beach yet close to all the vibrancy of Rodney Bay Village, blu St Lucia is the perfectly placed to offer the very best of this precious Caribbean island for both vacation and business. Just 100 yards walking distance to the beach, furnished to provide beauty,style and comfort, coupled with offering a nice range of facilities, this newly refurbished hotel provides the ideal base from which to discover the riches of St Lucia. We offer from our exceptionally friendly staff to the most comfortable beds on the island, fantastic Coffee and home made cake bar, wonderfully appointed Alia Spa with Espa products, tennis court, business center,fitness center, kids facilities and baby sitting services, prayer room, pool room, tour Desk and rental car service, and to add just an overall special environment, we look forward to welcoming any visitor to our shores with open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your blu St Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu St Lucia St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing