We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Stay would go back but since my last stay the price is much higher!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of blu St Lucia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
blu St Lucia
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Stay would go back but since my last stay the price is much higher!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I ended up at this hotel after checking out of the hotel I booked in advance; a local suggested it, I was a little spectikal, however upon my arrival I was satisfied.. The food was great, the staff even better the ambiance was great we met a lot of vibrant people. its literally 1min from the ocean.. all in all lovely stay, oh yeah, if u love breakfast u gotta wake up super early!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeltheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    146
    100
    42
    25
See reviews for
58
211
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whiteley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days over the Christmas period with my other half. Staff were very friendly upon arrival and showed me to our room (my partner had arrived earlier, having taken part in the ARC).
The room decor was bright and airy, the other half was very much impressed with the espresso coffee machine - fresh coffee on tap. The bed was just the most comfortable thing I have ever slept on, the pillows were like giant marshmallows.
The pool was clean and very quiet - just like I like it. The poolside beds were very luxurious - no plastic sun loungers!
Christmas dinner was a delight as was all the food we had there (mainly lunches) we were on a B&B package.
The location of the hotel was perfect, enough of a distance to most restaurants and bars that would enable you a little stroll back to work off what you had just eaten. Also very handy for the shopping malls and banks.
My only negative was the bathroom, the decor was dated and the shower was all but a dribble however the complimentary Molton Brown toiletries were a definite plus to putting this negative right. Don't let this little negative put you off staying here as they are refurbing all the bedrooms and bathrooms and I was lucky to see a newly refurbed room and if one word could sum it up, it would be WOW! If I am fortunate enough to return to St. Lucia, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Difficult flight conections to get to st lucia, Poor quality food, bathrooms not up to standard. Staff where poorly trained but nice people. On the plus side good location. Still needs work to make it a decent hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jetsetdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gros Islet hotels

Georgetown, Guyana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, romantic hotel that wasn't overpriced and we stumbled across Blu. It wasn't crowded, the decor was very sophisticated and it was recently renovated. The service was great, they told us about places to visit and even made fried green plantains that my husband likes for breakfast (even though it wasn't on the menu!) Our room had an Ipod dock, gourmet coffee maker, flat screen TV with cable, wifi and they had electrical outlets for non-European devices. (unlike another hotel that we left, where we had to leave our laptop and devices at the front desk to charge because they were out of adapters.) We enjoyed our week long stay at Blu and our honeymoon in Rodney Bay was unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

After reading excellent reviews on trip advisor, we decided to give the Blu a shot. They say it's been upgraded to 4 stars, but clearly this is not the case. First of all, this is an open air hotel. Room doors open to the outside. It kind of feels more like a motel than a hotel. Doesn't feel very safe. Door locks have manual keys, doorknobs are very old. We had to jiggle our door lock to open it. Once in the room, all looks nice. Room looked clean, furniture was new, bed was comfortable. TV quality was not great, but it had a lot of channels (you watch a lot of tv here considering there's little to do at night.) Room safe was not bolted to the wall, somebody can actually pick it up and walk out with it. Needless to say, we never used the safe. Bathroom was the worst part of the room. It was old and dingy, and the shower was extremely tight. Toiletries were Molton Brown, but were in large dispensers screwed to the wall as if you're in the gym. Not very chic. All of this we were able to deal with. It was decent considering the price and distance to the beach. What was extremely difficult to deal with was the severe mosquito infestation. We were up hours in the middle of the night tracking and killing mosquitos. Every time we'd fall asleep, we'd hear buzzing in our ears again. Disaster. The service and staff of the hotel happened to be excellent. Very courteous and accommodating. From front desk to restaurant to security staff... All were incredibly nice. As I said earlier, beach is very close - we walked right across the street through the Bay Gardens hotel. It's a 2 minute walk. All things considered, it was a nice relaxing vacation. Room was decent enough. We probably won't stay here again, but if you're on a budget and don't mind mosquitoes buzing in your ears at night, then the Blu St. Lucia is for you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Hotel is located in close distance from a newly opened music bar with Karaoke. So don't expect a quiet night. And at 6:30 the night is over since the staff will arrange for the breakfast near the guestrooms shouting and turning on the music.

Staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are quite nice, but I would not recommend the place to anyone who wants to relax or is on a business trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Detlef L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We returned last week from 3 weeks at this absolutely superb, small, very friendly hotel. We had stayed there for the previous 10 years through 2 different owners, but Blu has now taken it and boy what a change. Very upmarket redesigning of the rooms, lovely Molton Brown shampoos etc. in the bath room, fabulous furniture on the balcony, and an all round serious upgrade.
It is literally 3 minutes walk from the beach, there are beach chairs provided through a token system. Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Cindie who organizes bookings etc. is a 'lifer' there and cannot be bettered. The real star of the show for us was young Samantha who worked in the restaurant/bar, always friendly, always had time for us, sge deserves a pay rise. Everybody - please visit - you will not be disappointed - we are returning, and have already booked next year - Wonderful!!!

Room Tip: Top Floor room 314 - excellent views of Pigeon Island and Gros Islet and away from all hotel noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.1 mi away
The Ginger Lily Hotel
The Ginger Lily Hotel
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#4 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
#5 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
2.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
0.4 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to blu St Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about blu St Lucia

Property: blu St Lucia
Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — blu St Lucia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rodney Bay in the quieter part of Reduit beach yet close to all the vibrancy of Rodney Bay Village, blu St Lucia is the perfectly placed to offer the very best of this precious Caribbean island for both vacation and business. Just 100 yards walking distance to the beach, furnished to provide beauty,style and comfort, coupled with offering a nice range of facilities, this newly refurbished hotel provides the ideal base from which to discover the riches of St Lucia. We offer from our exceptionally friendly staff to the most comfortable beds on the island, fantastic Coffee and home made cake bar, wonderfully appointed Alia Spa with Espa products, tennis court, business center,fitness center, kids facilities and baby sitting services, prayer room, pool room, tour Desk and rental car service, and to add just an overall special environment, we look forward to welcoming any visitor to our shores with open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your blu St Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu St Lucia St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing