We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't go there!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Italian Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Italian Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 14 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
Orient Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“don't go there!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Far from the beach and Rodney Bay when you are walking!
Impossible to go there without a 4x4, and some taxi drivers also refuse because of the road conditions.
I had the misfortune to be there during the Christmas storm and the water cut lasted a week. The owners have not remedied the lack by providing water, they were not there!
Delia, the maid did his best, but it can not fill in the gaps of a deficient management and a blatant lack information.
Many people left the guesthouse during my stay ...

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoreol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyBi89, Public Relations Manager at Italian Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello Karroline, I'm sorry about what happened during your Christmas holidays but the tropical storm really caught us unprepared. We can manage the lack of water with our tanks but for Christmas the guesthouse was full booked and the tanks weren't enough for all guests. It's very difficult to pleased everybody in these circumstances, we also moved some people to a more approachable partners hotel because also the road was damaged by the storm (we can't do anything for it) but they complained because they wanted to stay by us.
Anyway, as you wrote in the beginning, the place is very nice, quiet and with a stunning view; we have had bad reviews only in those days, the others guests hopefully were really satisfied and we are happy of that. I apologise again for the disconforts and I learn from this mishap to continuously improve our hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    2
    4
    15
See reviews for
9
10
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I made a reservation at the Italian Guest House in April 2013 for three nights, December 24th till December 27th 2013 and i paid already in April. A couple of Days before arriving, I received an eMail from Martina in Italy, that there are two Guesthouses belonging together and that they put me into the second one called Stephanies Hotel: "we reserved to you a room nearest the city, so you will not need to rent a car to move around, because you'll have everything you need near you!" was the argument in the mail.

Because I had to leave the island on 5 am in the morning the last day, it was at the beginning ok for me to be closer to the main road. Later on I found out, that the two places do not belong together, as mentioned in the mail. Stephanies Hotel is a totally different place, only my bill was paid by the Italian Guesthouse. Maybe the reason to put me off was, that I wanted to spend too little time there? I was not the only one this happened to, at least two other people had to make the same experience.

I booked the Italian Guesthouse because of the pictures I saw in the Internet and it has a great view over Gros Islet (but you need a taxi for shoppingin a supermarket, if you dont want to walk for about 4 kilometers). Stephanies Hotel is not that bad (if you are familiar with low budget places), but there is no view at all. You can read the comments about Stephanies here on TA.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianDuque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyBi89, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Italian Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Adrian, I am so sorry you think that you had to stay by Stephanies for reasons other than those that I told you. The month of December has been tremendous in St. Lucia, there have been many storms and the way to reach the guesthouse were damaged, so, to reserve the best possible treatments to my clients, I thought to ask you if was fine for you stay by Stephanies, closer to all the facilities . You agreed to this solution .. I'm sorry if you have not enjoyed .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gros Islet hotels

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the Italian Guest House. Delia (housekeeper) was a real gem, friendly and helpful. Outstanding as budget self catering accommodation with fantastic views. Consists of 4 chalet type buildings in a big garden and feels like a community when you meet the other guests. Different sizes so make sure you get what you need. Only downside was the road up the hill which is like a dirt track in places and taxis don't like it. However, Floyd always managed to get someone to take us up at night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank corteferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

In all offers there is not the truth mentioned about distances, location and facilities! You may save money with the daly rates, but you need more to get a taxi to get there when there is a willing driver to drive this mountain and gravel roads. As nice as the houskeeper is, she can't do anything about bad organisation of the mainoffice in Italy and fake information.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Locationit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Comfortable, friendly place with a very nice view and simple but clean and adequate views. And despite the name, not just for Italians.The garden area was pleasant and it was good to hang out and meet others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Italian Guesthouse for four nights. It is a beautiful property that is impeccably maintained. We stayed in a private cottage with an attached kitchen. It is very cozy and has a hostel-like feel in that you can interact with the other guests easily. The staff was very helpful and the housekeeper does an excellent job at keeping the place looking good. The view of Rodney Bay is fantastic. The garden is very nice and the barbecue pit is a great bonus.

The owner was very helpful when our plans changed at the last minute, and we were able to extend our stay without any hassle.

The only drawback about this place is that it is on the top of a very large and steep hill, and the road up is quite rough. If you are going out, make sure you don't forget anything, because going back can be a daunting prospect.

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay somewhere other than a resort.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cgerbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
1.3 mi away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#4 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Breeze Guest House
Tropical Breeze Guest House
#3 of 14 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Terrasse Inn
La Terrasse Inn
#13 of 14 in Gros Islet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Italian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Italian Guesthouse

Property: Italian Guesthouse
Address: Haxted Road, Gros Islet 00124, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is built in wood and volcanic stone, structured as a typical colonial house with a beautiful view on Rodney Bay. In the tropical garden you find mango, banana, papaya, cherries trees and a well organized barbeque area. There is also a cottage which hosts, besides the laundry where you can give your clothes to the housekeeper, a relaxing area with double Jacuzzi and an outdoor shower dip in the nature. The property has two separate apartments with their private kitchen and four cozy apartments with an airy shared kitchen. The property is located into Rodney Bay Marina area, in the north of Saint Lucia island, on the top of a sweet hill which overhang the world famous Marina and Gros Islet village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Italian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italian Guesthouse St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing