We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view and space ..... needs preventative maintenance”
Review of Villa Cleopatra

Villa Cleopatra
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Cleopatra
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Villa Cleopatra – Rodney Bay, St. Lucia, December 16th – December 23rd, 2012

I could write a small book about my displeasure with Villa Cleopatra but instead I will list the pros and cons so that future vacationers will know what to expect. I rented the entire villa for a week for our family’s annual vacation and we were all quite disappointed. We are seasoned travelers and have deep knowledge of what to expect when renting a villa and Villa Cleopatra under delivered in our opinion.

PROS: the villa has a lovely oceanfront view and is large enough to house a large party.
The housekeeper was very nice and did her best to make us comfortable.

CONS:

The villa is in need of basic upkeep overall and the villa is not adequately manned with personnel to clean the unit after a full rental or during a full rental. The entire villa was supposed to be ready for our use by 2:00 on Sunday and by 5:30 the housekeeper had to leave because the remainder of our party was arriving and did so leaving the oven filthy from the previous guests. It would have been much more efficient to have at least 3 housekeepers clean up the entire villa after a full villa rental. The housekeeper did come in and clean the oven the next day.

The first impression near the front gate is that the place is in desperate need of repair. The outside of the villa is dirty and needs painting and the gate is rusted with peeling paint. It looks terrible. The vegetation was overgrown but was cut while we were there. This did not appear to be a weekly or even bi-weekly trimming.

We rented the entire villa for 7 days checking in on Saturday in the 1 bedroom unit and the remaining units from Sunday – Sunday. The pool was not operational until Friday.

There was no hot water in the 1 bedroom on Saturday evening and absolutely no water on Sunday morning. Additionally on Monday and Tuesday there was no hot water for the entire property. We had 3 senior citizens with us and it was very uncomfortable for them. After discussion with management we were informed that the water was heated with solar power and that the switch was off. The water was never truly hot but bearable after the switch was turned on for us. The 1 bedroom is not adequately lit outside at night. After a call to management, a new bulb was provided for the motion sensor but it never worked.

There were no washcloths provided. We were informed that because of prior issues with previous vacationers that washcloths are not provided. I was informed that they would be ordered for my party. After Wednesday I gave up and purchased washcloths for my family. They were never supplied.

1 Bedroom unit – ant infested. I understand that because of the vegetation surrounding the unit that there will be occasional ants but the unit had ants everywhere and for the entire time even after asking for and having the unit sprayed. A second coat of paint overall would have made this unit more appealing. The walls were dirty.

2 Bedroom unit – there was mold in the kitchen sink, the top of the refrigerator was atrocious and don’t even look in the cabinet underneath the kitchen sink. The TV didn’t carry many channels and light bulbs were missing. The air conditioner did not work in one of the bedrooms but an engineer was sent to fix it after it was reported. It was dirty as well. Caulking in the kitchen and bathroom would go a long way in this unit.

Studio apartment – the ceiling fan was extremely noisy and wobbly and should be replaced. For our own concerns of safety my family member did not use it. The air conditioner and TV didn’t work initially but after a phone call management did come over and replace a battery, which fixed the air conditioner and we were told to use a firmer hand on the TV remote. There was electrical tape holding the remote together. The lampshade in the studio was raggedy and should be replaced.

3 Bedroom apartment – was the nicer unit only because of the view. However the walls are in need of painting, the shade at the kitchen window was raggedy and behind the refrigerator it appears that an animal may be chewing from the outside in. There was rope holding the lattice to the veranda structure….. that was a bit tacky. The light fixture in the kitchen needs to be replaced. There was also the air conditioner/remote issue similar to the studio in two of the bedrooms. The housekeeper fixed this issue.

There is a lot of old equipment and trash underneath the steps leading to the 3 bedroom unit which should be stored elsewhere. One of the family members inadvertently locked her bedroom key in the bedroom on our last night and there was no spare key available, after waiting almost 2 hours she was informed that a locksmith would have to be called to assist and would not be available until 9:00AM the next morning. After push back because of her diabetic needs a locksmith was sent over at 7:30AM the next day to open the bedroom door. She and her boyfriend had to sleep on the veranda.

Rodney Bay, St Lucia is a beautiful island with reasonably priced excursions, a wonderful beach, some pretty decent restaurants and beautiful people. As mentioned earlier my family travels as a group to a different location annually so we have experience and deep knowledge of what to expect when renting a villa. In my opinion Cleopatra Villas is worst place that we have vacationed in. The villa has a lovely view of the marina and sailboats but the villa itself is not really in a desirable location. The villa is dirty and needs painting everywhere with more than just one coat of paint.

The villa has a lot of potential and I hope that someone takes care of the cleanliness and preventative maintenance upkeep issues so that future renters do not experience what my
family experienced during our vacation in St. Lucia. We plan and save for an entire year to vacation together and unfortunately we got a lot less than what we paid for at Villa Cleopatra. The issues encountered are fundamental and can be easily addressed. Overall cleanliness, working remotes, clean lampshades, clean blinds, clean ceiling fans and light fixtures, caulking between rentals, spare keys, washcloths, a fully operational pool for the entire stay and fresh (clean) paint overall would have prevented this negative review.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2012SkyClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Villa Cleopatra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 24 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not sure if this is quite the right place for this as the Villa Cleopatra is (I think) one specific villa let by Cleopatra Villas at The Harbour in Rodney Bay. However, it's all part of the same gated development and most of my comments are relevant to all CV villas in The Harbour.

This is a lovely place to be based in St Lucia. The location is great (in the north of the island, some 90 mins by cab from the international airport) - Reduit Beach is just a couple of minutes walk away, Your villa will face onto the harbour, all of the best Rodney Bay restaurants are within 2-10 minutes walk and the small pool on the property is almost always quiet. Three different supermarkets are all within a 3-5 minute walk.

We stayed at 14a The Harbour for 4 weeks. The villa itself is great - big, comfortable and with a gorgeous deck just in front of the water, complete with sun beds, chairs and a hammock. The beds are a little soft and the lounge furniture is just a little tired but it is all very comfortable. The kitchen is fine if you want to do a bit of self-catering but after a month where we mainly ate in (just our preference) we missed things like a better blender than the rather sad one provided, but this is being really picky. We were away from home for a month and there was nothing we had real difficulty in preparing.

The manager of the site is Robert Joseph, a thoroughly nice guy who clearly does a fine job of overseeing the place. The grounds team are in every weekday keeping the grass and vegetation looking great, the pool is always clean and any issues get sorted immediately and with no fuss (for us they ranged from a broken tin opener to, more critically, malfunctioning air-conditioning, all of which were addressed immediately). Kerstine, who is responsible for the upkeep of 14a (among others) is a star - a lovely lady who is unfailingly cheerful and happy to fit in her tasks around your needs. Robert will also offer advice on practical things as well as helping you arrange tours.

The place is secure. Two gates in and out controlled by key fob; security guards on at night (don't be put off by this statement - Rodney Bay is very safe to walk around after dark); room safes in the villas. Plenty of parking for cars if you hire (use the bus - cheap, regular and reliable!). Mix of holidayers and some permanent residents. Can't comment on what it is like in high season (we were there in November) but we rarely saw others around the pool or harbour front.

Other stuff -
(i) For Brits this is a electronics-charging delight as St Lucia's colonial heritage means that the power supply is as in the UK - 240v and 'square' pin plugs. Americans and others will need adapters.
(ii) If you want a gym, the best bet is Sportivo, just along the highway towards Gros Islet and above a pizza restaurant. I'll get around to doing a full review but in a nutshell this is a really friendly gym which does what seemed to me to be excellently run classes throughout the day. It also has an aged but working collection of resistance machines and a good set of free weights. Cardio equipment is poor - running machines are ok but just one poorly working bike and a space where the elliptical used to be. For cardio other than a class, run on the beach and swim in the sea!
(iii) Take (or buy) beach towels as the ones in the villa are for pool use only.
(iv) If you want to hire a boat (or if you sail to St Lucia) there is a private mooring a stone's throw from the villa.

Room Tip: 14a is on the ground floor, at the northern end of the complex. It is therefore fairly quiet and get...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank englandrugby2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights in Villa 1 at the Harbour, a one bedroom property which was ideal for the two of us. Robert Joseph, the owner could not have been more helpful and the villa had everything we needed. The kitchen was very well equipped and there was a very large fridge and freezer.
The housekeeper Kerstine came every weekday and was very cheerful and efficient.
The main advantage of staying at the Harbour is its close proximity to the two excellent supermarkets and a whole range of interesting restaurants. In addition the beach is only a few minutes walk away.
There is a video of the Villa on You-tube which is entirely accurate.
For those who want to avoid crowded tourist hotels or complexes this is an ideal spot and we would have no hesitation in rebooking on our next trip to the Island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinofWorgret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at the 1 bed studio in the Harbour for our 4 nights trip in St. Lucia. The place was actually nicer than in pictures. Really clean, safe, beautiful and the staff was helpful. 1 bed studio was large enough for three or four persons, because there were good convertible sofa downstairs at the living room. For three adults, Harbour was actually cheaper than two separate rooms in hotels. Location was also really good, near to beach, restaurants, mall and large grocery store. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elli124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Mr. Robert Johnson did everything he could to make a hoilday be rememberd, the location is located in a very good spot right next to the beach and town where the views are great. The housekeeping did a good job tidying the villas, The harbour villa also has a pool which was great for the children.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleksandr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We truly enjoyed our Studio apartment at Cleopatra Villas. Loved our patio and the swimming pool a few feet away. It was always clean and well maintained. Our room was exceptionally clean thanks to Shelly who came in Mon-Fri and was excellent. Also very personable - I feel like I have a new friend. When ever we needed anything she arranged for it as did Robert the Manager. Absolutely no issues. The only reason I rated Sleep Quality lower is the first 3 nights we had a dog in the neighbourhood barking, but that quickly subsided and a roaster would awake use most nights in the beginning but we seemed to get use to that. We never did use the AC as the breeze and ceiling fan was more than enough. Grocery stores (IGA) and beach are a 10 min walk and we enjoyed the Memories of Hong Kong restaurant, Dellirious Restaurant, and Rituals Diner (opened while we were there). Loved the beach and see Tall/Troy or Levi for a great day on the ocean in Levi's boat or water taxi Pigeon Island.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy155043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Large extended family stayed at Villa Cleopatra Jan 2011 to celebrate a special birthday. We had the whole villa which included 3 separate rental units. It is located on a hill overlooking the bay, great views and wonderful breezes. The units are very clean, the housekeeper Shelly is fantastic, the best feature of the villa's she is a real sweetheart and our group of 15 loved her and would have liked to bring her home with us. There were a number of issues with the villa but the manager Robert was quick to deal with issues, like air conditioning not working in one of the units, he got us a full size coffee pot when we requested it. The water is a bit of a challenge, often no hot water and when more than one person is showering quite the variation in temperature. The bedrooms are air conditioned but the main rooms were not, not an issue but we did have 2 people on the pull out beds in the rooms with no air, it did not seem to bother them. The kitchen is very large, actually the unit is much bigger than it looks in pictures, there was plenty of room for out group. You are required to provide your own toilet paper, soap, dish soap, in my opinion they should be provided for the price you pay, it was a nuisance. The pool was on the smaller size but relatively clean and very refreshing, loved the outdoor shower, a few more loungers would be great. The town of Rodney bay is close by, with lots of grocery stores, we liked the new grocery store at the mall, more like home. The town itself is not clean, people just throw their trash at the side of the road and we did see lots of rats running around. Food is expensive in St Lucia, we liked the restaurants at the Marina the best, the Starfish was fantastic, no rats in this area much cleaner. The beach at Pigeon Island was our favorite, cheaper to rent chairs, not crowded at all. The St Lucian people are wonderful and friendly

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayleighgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.4 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
470 reviews
9.2 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.4 mi away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ginger Lily Hotel
The Ginger Lily Hotel
#5 of 13 in Gros Islet
252 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casa del Vega
Casa del Vega
#8 of 12 in Castries
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cleopatra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cleopatra

Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Price Range: $78 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Cleopatra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Cleopatra is a very large 6 bedroom villa, providing guesthouse type facilities. Full-time housekeeping staff look after the villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Cleopatra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cleopatra St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing