We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleopatra Villas - Great Place to Stay”
Review of Villa Cleopatra

Villa Cleopatra
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Cleopatra
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cleopatra Villas - Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not sure if this is quite the right place for this as the Villa Cleopatra is (I think) one specific villa let by Cleopatra Villas at The Harbour in Rodney Bay. However, it's all part of the same gated development and most of my comments are relevant to all CV villas in The Harbour.

This is a lovely place to be based in St Lucia. The location is great (in the north of the island, some 90 mins by cab from the international airport) - Reduit Beach is just a couple of minutes walk away, Your villa will face onto the harbour, all of the best Rodney Bay restaurants are within 2-10 minutes walk and the small pool on the property is almost always quiet. Three different supermarkets are all within a 3-5 minute walk.

We stayed at 14a The Harbour for 4 weeks. The villa itself is great - big, comfortable and with a gorgeous deck just in front of the water, complete with sun beds, chairs and a hammock. The beds are a little soft and the lounge furniture is just a little tired but it is all very comfortable. The kitchen is fine if you want to do a bit of self-catering but after a month where we mainly ate in (just our preference) we missed things like a better blender than the rather sad one provided, but this is being really picky. We were away from home for a month and there was nothing we had real difficulty in preparing.

The manager of the site is Robert Joseph, a thoroughly nice guy who clearly does a fine job of overseeing the place. The grounds team are in every weekday keeping the grass and vegetation looking great, the pool is always clean and any issues get sorted immediately and with no fuss (for us they ranged from a broken tin opener to, more critically, malfunctioning air-conditioning, all of which were addressed immediately). Kerstine, who is responsible for the upkeep of 14a (among others) is a star - a lovely lady who is unfailingly cheerful and happy to fit in her tasks around your needs. Robert will also offer advice on practical things as well as helping you arrange tours.

The place is secure. Two gates in and out controlled by key fob; security guards on at night (don't be put off by this statement - Rodney Bay is very safe to walk around after dark); room safes in the villas. Plenty of parking for cars if you hire (use the bus - cheap, regular and reliable!). Mix of holidayers and some permanent residents. Can't comment on what it is like in high season (we were there in November) but we rarely saw others around the pool or harbour front.

Other stuff -
(i) For Brits this is a electronics-charging delight as St Lucia's colonial heritage means that the power supply is as in the UK - 240v and 'square' pin plugs. Americans and others will need adapters.
(ii) If you want a gym, the best bet is Sportivo, just along the highway towards Gros Islet and above a pizza restaurant. I'll get around to doing a full review but in a nutshell this is a really friendly gym which does what seemed to me to be excellently run classes throughout the day. It also has an aged but working collection of resistance machines and a good set of free weights. Cardio equipment is poor - running machines are ok but just one poorly working bike and a space where the elliptical used to be. For cardio other than a class, run on the beach and swim in the sea!
(iii) Take (or buy) beach towels as the ones in the villa are for pool use only.
(iv) If you want to hire a boat (or if you sail to St Lucia) there is a private mooring a stone's throw from the villa.

Room Tip: 14a is on the ground floor, at the northern end of the complex. It is therefore fairly quiet and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank englandrugby2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights in Villa 1 at the Harbour, a one bedroom property which was ideal for the two of us. Robert Joseph, the owner could not have been more helpful and the villa had everything we needed. The kitchen was very well equipped and there was a very large fridge and freezer.
The housekeeper Kerstine came every weekday and was very cheerful and efficient.
The main advantage of staying at the Harbour is its close proximity to the two excellent supermarkets and a whole range of interesting restaurants. In addition the beach is only a few minutes walk away.
There is a video of the Villa on You-tube which is entirely accurate.
For those who want to avoid crowded tourist hotels or complexes this is an ideal spot and we would have no hesitation in rebooking on our next trip to the Island.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinofWorgret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at the 1 bed studio in the Harbour for our 4 nights trip in St. Lucia. The place was actually nicer than in pictures. Really clean, safe, beautiful and the staff was helpful. 1 bed studio was large enough for three or four persons, because there were good convertible sofa downstairs at the living room. For three adults, Harbour was actually cheaper than two separate rooms in hotels. Location was also really good, near to beach, restaurants, mall and large grocery store. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elli124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Lucia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Mr. Robert Johnson did everything he could to make a hoilday be rememberd, the location is located in a very good spot right next to the beach and town where the views are great. The housekeeping did a good job tidying the villas, The harbour villa also has a pool which was great for the children.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We truly enjoyed our Studio apartment at Cleopatra Villas. Loved our patio and the swimming pool a few feet away. It was always clean and well maintained. Our room was exceptionally clean thanks to Shelly who came in Mon-Fri and was excellent. Also very personable - I feel like I have a new friend. When ever we needed anything she arranged for it as did Robert the Manager. Absolutely no issues. The only reason I rated Sleep Quality lower is the first 3 nights we had a dog in the neighbourhood barking, but that quickly subsided and a roaster would awake use most nights in the beginning but we seemed to get use to that. We never did use the AC as the breeze and ceiling fan was more than enough. Grocery stores (IGA) and beach are a 10 min walk and we enjoyed the Memories of Hong Kong restaurant, Dellirious Restaurant, and Rituals Diner (opened while we were there). Loved the beach and see Tall/Troy or Levi for a great day on the ocean in Levi's boat or water taxi Pigeon Island.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy155043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Large extended family stayed at Villa Cleopatra Jan 2011 to celebrate a special birthday. We had the whole villa which included 3 separate rental units. It is located on a hill overlooking the bay, great views and wonderful breezes. The units are very clean, the housekeeper Shelly is fantastic, the best feature of the villa's she is a real sweetheart and our group of 15 loved her and would have liked to bring her home with us. There were a number of issues with the villa but the manager Robert was quick to deal with issues, like air conditioning not working in one of the units, he got us a full size coffee pot when we requested it. The water is a bit of a challenge, often no hot water and when more than one person is showering quite the variation in temperature. The bedrooms are air conditioned but the main rooms were not, not an issue but we did have 2 people on the pull out beds in the rooms with no air, it did not seem to bother them. The kitchen is very large, actually the unit is much bigger than it looks in pictures, there was plenty of room for out group. You are required to provide your own toilet paper, soap, dish soap, in my opinion they should be provided for the price you pay, it was a nuisance. The pool was on the smaller size but relatively clean and very refreshing, loved the outdoor shower, a few more loungers would be great. The town of Rodney bay is close by, with lots of grocery stores, we liked the new grocery store at the mall, more like home. The town itself is not clean, people just throw their trash at the side of the road and we did see lots of rats running around. Food is expensive in St Lucia, we liked the restaurants at the Marina the best, the Starfish was fantastic, no rats in this area much cleaner. The beach at Pigeon Island was our favorite, cheaper to rent chairs, not crowded at all. The St Lucian people are wonderful and friendly

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleighgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill NH
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2005

My husband and I went to St Lucia in May of 2004.The Island iself is just stunning as far as scenery goes,the pitons are a must see.We stayed in the Rodney bay area,very nice studio apt that was part of Villa Cleopatra.It was small but had exellent managment as well as a nice small swimming pool,within walking distace to grocery store ect...My husband and I love to dive as well as snorkel and I have to say I was a little dissapointed in the under water area of the northern part of the island,it was very dirty,I mean diapers on the bottom of the bay other trash to numerous to mention,and this we just saw snorkeling!The beaches were nice but not as good as st john in the USVI the beaches there are tops.The other drw back was the beach peddlers they were too much,I feel like we were bothered all the time .One guy even so much as came over to us and had the gaul to say to me I know your not sleeping and tried to sell us a conch shell.We did go on 1 two tank boat dive while we were there it was pretty nice we did a drift dive around some underwater seamounts,and it included pickup from hotel and a nice lunch.driving in st lucia is a little hairy espesilly driving to the other end of island where the famous pitons are hair pin turns no guard rails ect... But very beautiful.If any of you are familiar with the white mountains of Nh driving from one end of st lucia to the other is allot like that but with views of the sea.one of the beaches that was clean and gin clear was at the anse chastenet resort,but the road to get there was rougher then a cob not for the faint of heart.overall though like I said beautiful island just a few drawbacks.Someday Im sure we will go back after we do some more exploring of other islands.

Helpful?
10 Thank 1goat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.4 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ginger Lily Hotel
The Ginger Lily Hotel
#5 of 13 in Gros Islet
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.4 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cleopatra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cleopatra

Property: Villa Cleopatra
Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Cleopatra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Cleopatra is a very large 6 bedroom villa, providing guesthouse type facilities. Full-time housekeeping staff look after the villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Cleopatra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cleopatra St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing