We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much noise to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ginger Lily Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too much noise to sleep”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

On our arrival, one of the staff gave us the keys. As soon as we went inside of the room, there was a musty smell. It seemed run down.... The T.V didnt work, one of the fan didnt work. That night we went to Spinnakers which was a very nice restaurant. When it was around 11pm we decided to go to sleep. The only problem was, all night long there was this chirping noise.... We thought it was birds! It was actually frogs! We couldnt fall asleep and we didnt get any sleep that night....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    93
    23
    7
    10
See reviews for
36
134
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

On our arrival my girlfriend cut her finger, the hotel didn't have any bandages or first aid kit available at the front desk and the receptionist wouldn't call the duty manager to unlock the office because it was "after hours" @ 17:30. It was also a public holiday that day so we had no alternatives available to us.

The second letdown came at breakfast the next day. I had specifically booked this hotel because the price included a continental breakfast in the price. When we sat down for breakfast and the lady serving breakfast presented us with three options.
Option 1 - Tea/Coffee & Toast (Included in the price I paid but the lady serving proceeded to argue with me that this was complimentary for about 10 mins. When I pay a bit more for a room with breakfast included I really don't think the hotel should have the cheek to try and say they are giving it away for free as complimentary.)
Option 2 - An additional EC$22 per head for the breakfast I thought I was getting when I booked.
Option 3 - An additional EC$33 for a full meal.

Room score 7/10
Location score 8/10
Value score 7/10
Staff Score 2/10 (the housekeeping and cleaning team were very friendly - just front desk / admin not up to scratch)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTravellingAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a great experience at Ginger Lily. Pros: cleaning was impecable. Housekeeping staff is very friendly. Hammocks in every room. Cable TV with American local news stations and international stations. Large rooms and large bathrooms with walk-in showers. The rooms also have a small kitchen area with a kettle, sink, refrigerator/freezer, and coffee pot. A/c works fine, just put it on high power at night so you can sleep. Bed was comfortable, though if you are 3+ people, consider a second room. You will be more comfortable than on the fold out bed.
Cons: none really. But a couple tips: We couldn't use the phone in the room, and one of the younger girls at the front desk would not let us use the front desk phone (not sure if it wasn't working, or if it was for some other reason), so we had to go to harmony suites, which is a 5 min walk, to make a local call. The other staff were very friendly and always smiling, and allowed us to make several calls. The pool is small, but you will likely have it all to yourself. Mosquitos are always a problem in the Caribbean, so bring some repellent for night time. Breakfast is included and was what we expected: toast, yogurt, and coffee and juices. If you want a big breakfast, Rituals Diner has pancakes and eggs and the like at reasonable prices, and is walking distance. Same for coffee: if you want espresso or latte, Rituals is just 5 mins away walking.

The hotel is just across from Reduit beach, which is one of the most popular on the island. There are ample restaurants to choose from that are all walking distance, including the restaurant at Blu hotel, which is always open. There are some big hotels on the same street, but I wouldn't call them resorts. Definitely not like the Sandals mega-operation, where you aren't even allowed on the property if you're not staying there. The neighborhood is probably one of the more advanced on the island, with clean streets and sidewalks.

We felt secure, being across from the police station, and also having the evening guard. No watersports on site, but go to reduit beach across the street and you can do jetskis, parasail, kayak, catamaran, boat diving, and whatever else you want. There are plenty of watersports stands that will gladly accomodate you even if you are not staying at their resort.

Summary: quiet, calm, small, clean bed and breakfast hotel in a great location with friendly staff.

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottom level, but it looked like rooms on the top level were a little bigger and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We're not fans of all-inclusive hotels as we like to get away from the hubbub and get out and explore a place, so the Ginger Lily suited us perfectly. We stayed room only and were glad we did as there is so much choice right on the doorstep for breakfast and all your other meals. Walk across the road and you're on the beach, walk up the road and you're at the supermarket or Casino, stay on property and it's peaceful for reading. The room was a good size, we had a sea view first floor room, and very clean and comfortable. Not much of a sea view, but it's okay as it's a 30 second walk to the beach to watch the sunset. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and we felt perfectly safe here. But most of all, the location is just perfect. You have everything you could ask for within walking distance, so hire a car and explore or stay closer to home and relax, the Ginger Lily works for both choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Picked the Ginger Lily as we wanted a little boutique hotel instead of a large all inclusive. It is very small, but that definitely adds to the charm. Its about a 1 minute walk away from the beach, with loungers to hire and a great beach bar (spinnackers) for drinks and lunch. Our room wouldn't cool down even with the aircon on, so we got used to be being pretty warm in the room and using the pool or sea to cool off. The rooms were really large and spacious, much bigger than I was expecting and we could even see the sea, over the hotel rooftop from our balcony. Beware when it rains if you are on the top floor, the sound of the rain bouncing off the roof in the middle of the night gave me a fright the first time, but after that I pretty much slept through it. The hotel is a short walk away from a supermarket and the room has a fridge so you are easily stocked up with essentials, including my favourite Piton sorrell shandy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed staying here for 6 nights. We opted for the continental breakfast. A little disappointed that we only got a few slices of toast, tea and a concentrated juice of our choice. I guess it was wrong of me to assume we'd get a croissant and some fruit too. Sometimes the simple breakfast took a while to deliver, even when we were the only guests to be dining at the time. The receptionist, a moderate a speaker, was responsive as opposed to forthcoming. She was expected to be chef and waitress too so communication skills were the least of her priorities. Other than that, our stay was very relaxed. The maids were calm and sweet. They provided mosquito spray for the room once we told them about our bites. Opposite a police station made our stay a very safe one. Also across the road is access to Reduit Beach - the best on the island. We opted for a massage on the final day - 2 for the price of 1 - you can't go wrong! The sand was gorgeous and soft while the lull of the warm waves was awesome as they embraced our toes.
Good eating places within walking distance. Spice of India is deservedly number 1. Service at Buzz is a bit hit and miss. If you prefer to spend money on excursions and dining out then this is the best to stay. Definite value for money!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jats80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We did the bed and breakfast stay for x6 nights. We ordered a standard garden view room.

If like us, you're here to do your own organised tours, you have everything within a short walking distance. The supermarket, clubs and restaurants are really close by. The nearby Reduit beach is truly a breathtaking with gentle waves and soft sands. You have bars very close by.

The hotel staff is friendly and will try to accommodate to your needs. We asked the staff at the front desk to call up various tour operators to check what their rates would be.

Complimentary breakfast that comes with the hotel, will be a continental breakfast which consists only of toast, jams, n butters,tea,coffee, and juice, so do not expect your full English breakfast. You can however get the a bit more at an extra cost should you want the full works.

We had room no.1 which was very accommodating for a couple. The showers were huge. There is a kitchen area with a fridge, kettle and sink for general use.

At the most, a very pleasant stay, and you felt rest assured of where you were in safe hands with the Ginger lily. (Especially with a police station right opposite).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemabuho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.1 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 12 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
9.0 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
2.0 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 12 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ginger Lily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ginger Lily Hotel

Property: The Ginger Lily Hotel
Address: Rodney Bay | P.O. Box cp 6013, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ginger Lily Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel cushions the seafront of one of the island's most exotic beaches, Reduit Beach located within Rodney Bay Village. The hotel comprises of eleven luxury rooms. Four superior deluxe, four sea view rooms and three executive suites. Each are superbly furnished with fridge, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, ceiling fan and wall-to-wall shower, queen and sofa bed, clock radio and an in room safe. The executive rooms are fully furnished with separate dining and kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ginger Lily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Lily Hotel
Ginger Lily Gros Islet
The Ginger Lily Hotel St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing